March 28, 2024, 03:52:58 AM

Author Topic: Happy Independence Thread  (Read 56322 times)

Re: Happy Birthday my fellow Trinbagonians
« Reply #30 on: August 31, 2006, 10:54:26 AM »
God Bless my country.

Add Flex to that list, he making we country proud too, we never had such a wonderful, kicks-e and useful T&T football website in history and still going strong.

Offline dyansie

Re: HAPPY 44TH INDEPENDENCE!!
« Reply #31 on: August 31, 2006, 01:10:03 PM »
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Happy Independence Trinidad and Tobago

« Reply #32 on: August 31, 2006, 07:08:41 PM »
To all the hard working people who love up the Country. Especially the good fathers who do not abdicate their responsibility and to all the Seniors who sacrificed for this Gimme Gimme generation. They are the true heroes as well as the celebrities that was mentioned

« Reply #33 on: September 01, 2006, 07:06:58 AM »
It was a great year to be a trini no doubt, in my lifetime I have been blessed to live to see history unfold. HAPPY INDEPENDENCE T&T you will be forever my place I call home

« Reply #34 on: September 01, 2006, 07:24:20 AM »
new heroes in Quow and Watkins gold medallists !!!

« Reply #35 on: September 01, 2006, 08:41:50 AM »
my birthday is also on Independence Day  ;D yes and I still feel de government should give meh ah gift since i was small  :(

Well....Happy Independence....
« Reply #36 on: August 30, 2007, 11:09:17 PM »
Well is the 31st of August home.....and while i might not take on a thread about some other country's independence......I will always be mindful and respectful of mine.

Happy Independence Day Trinidad and Tobago.

And as a side question.......what stage of life would you consider our blessed country to be? Toddler...Adolescence......Adulthood....Geriatric.....what? and why?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Re: Well....Happy Independence....
« Reply #37 on: August 30, 2007, 11:45:18 PM »

Happy Independence Day.

45 years and going strong.

May we all continue to say.

Home is where we belong.

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

God bless our nation
« Reply #38 on: August 31, 2007, 05:40:35 AM »
God bless our nation
By Marjorie Padmore

God bless our nation
Of many varied races
May we possess that common love
That binds and makes us One.
Let it be known around the World
That we can boast of Unity
And take a pride in Our Liberty.

God bless our isles
Of tropic beauty rare
Of flaming poinciana
And shady immortelle
The warm and sparkling waters
That beat upon our shores
Beat out a tune that seem to tell
We take a pride in Our Liberty.

God bless our leaders
Give them grace to guide
Bestow on them thy judgment wise
To rule our land aright
To keep the flag of freedom high that we may sing most lustily

« Reply #39 on: August 31, 2007, 06:24:13 AM »
Happy Independence ..  :beermug:

« Reply #40 on: August 31, 2007, 06:24:29 AM »
my I also add

All the best TnT.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #41 on: August 31, 2007, 07:08:26 AM »
Physically Independent Mentally Fettered
« Last Edit: August 31, 2007, 07:14:03 AM by Organic »
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #42 on: August 31, 2007, 07:15:06 AM »
Happy Independence all!!
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #43 on: August 31, 2007, 07:44:46 AM »
Fresh of my trinpad copy book

The Trinidad & Tobago National Pledge.
By: Marjorie Padmore.

I solemnly pledge
To dedicate my life
To the service of my God
And my country.

I will honour
My parents, my teachers,
My leaders and my elders
And those in authority.

I will be
Clean and honest
In all my thoughts,
My words and my deeds.

* I will strive
In everything I do
To work together with my fellowmen
Of every creed and race
For the greater happiness of all
And the honour and glory
Of my country.

*A remainder for us all especially the politicans.

Happy Independence to all, where ever you are,

We reach 45
« Reply #44 on: August 31, 2007, 08:50:39 AM »
ah reach here late expecting tuh see some Happy Birthday messages to Trinidad and Tobago...but nutten. Anyway ladies and gents is Independence Day....leh we enjoy.  :)  :beermug: :beermug:

Re: We reach 45
« Reply #45 on: August 31, 2007, 09:00:57 AM »
Last year when man bawl happy bday T&T some soldiers start tuh hype up the thread wid ole talk about Trinidad being born b4 1962, and slavery, and emancipation, and Caribs and Arawaks and Columbus, and Colonialism, and who hornin' who and this, that and the other yadda yadda....... so that mus' be why men duck the topic...

Either that or it's in the general discussion  ;D

Happy Birthday T&T!!!!!!

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #46 on: August 31, 2007, 09:02:36 AM »
Well is the 31st of August home.....and while i might not take on a thread about some other country's independence......I will always be mindful and respectful of mine.

Happy Independence Day Trinidad and Tobago.

And as a side question.......what stage of life would you consider our blessed country to be? Toddler...Adolescence......Adulthood....Geriatric.....what? and why?

go answer dat tomorrow...not today.

Re: God bless our nation
« Reply #47 on: August 31, 2007, 09:03:55 AM »
God bless our nation
By Marjorie Padmore

God bless our nation
Of many varied races
May we possess that common love
That binds and makes us One.
Let it be known around the World
That we can boast of Unity
And take a pride in Our Liberty.

God bless our isles
Of tropic beauty rare
Of flaming poinciana
And shady immortelle
The warm and sparkling waters
That beat upon our shores
Beat out a tune that seem to tell

God bless our leaders
Give them grace to guide
Bestow on them thy judgment wise
To rule our land aright
To keep the flag of freedom high that we may sing most lustily

Great song....I remember learning it in cubs scouts... ;D

Happy Independence Day T&T

« Reply #48 on: August 31, 2007, 09:04:14 AM »
anybody have a copy of Our Nations Dawning

« Reply #49 on: August 31, 2007, 09:08:24 AM »
anybody have a copy of Our Nations Dawning
Our Nation's Dawning
By G. Carlton Sampson

Come, come away, hail to the day
This is our land's great morning
Birds in the trees waft to the breeze
Songs of our nation's dawning.
Hummingbird bright, lend your delight,
Ibis your scarlet feathers;
Kiskadee call, summon them all
This is a day of wonders!

O land of fairest beauty
We pledge our lives to duty
And vow this day to serve thee.

Flambouyant gay, make glad the day
Colourful blooms resplendent
Hibiscus hedge witness our pledge
And honour this day transcendent.
Fireflies bright, shine through the night:
Illumine our thanksgiving
Of this great day each heart can say
This is our Nation's Dawning!

Three sister hills, list to the trills
Echoing to high heaven
And from the sea, the blue Caribee
Breezes will join the revel.
Palm trees on high reach to the sky
While bells aloft are pealing
Man, bird and beast, earth, sea and sky
Raise chants of joy excelling.

« Reply #50 on: August 31, 2007, 09:16:33 AM »
Happy Independence Day to all of you.

Offline Trinitim

« Reply #51 on: August 31, 2007, 09:18:51 AM »

LOVE YOU TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HAPPY INDEPENDENCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MAY GOD CONTINUE TO SHOWER HIS BLESSINGS ON OUR SWEET T&T !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THE BEST IN THE WORLD HANDS DOWN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #52 on: August 31, 2007, 09:39:15 AM »
happy independence day everyone...hope everyone has a good one

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #53 on: August 31, 2007, 10:01:29 AM »
happy independence Ierie(Trinidad & Tobago)
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #54 on: August 31, 2007, 10:26:33 AM »
neva mind crime rate high,corrupt officials,muslim extremist and ah jackass runnin de country,happy independence. :beermug:

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #55 on: August 31, 2007, 02:58:17 PM »
neva mind crime rate high,corrupt officials,muslim extremist and ah jackass runnin de country,happy independence. :beermug:

as they say "no place like home" and "home is where the heart is".

« Reply #56 on: August 31, 2007, 04:30:36 PM »
bring back licks in school..........and borroughs

« Reply #57 on: August 31, 2007, 06:12:02 PM »
Happy Independence Day sweet T & T.  I really have to go home in a better time yes because years now I only going home in between some significant celebration in Trinidad.  Well say wah I feel boss man go have to suffer come February yes. ;D

« Reply #58 on: August 31, 2007, 08:19:34 PM »
Happy Independence Trinidad and Tobago
Ah know ah late but Sista Marvis does bring it home to meh  :'(

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=brAjR9rkThQ

allyuh sid down and take ein this for 4 mins.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2007, 08:21:12 PM by Dorrel Melda Claris »

« Reply #59 on: August 31, 2007, 08:20:18 PM »
Thanks for the video

Dorrel Melda Claris
 ;D ;D
« Last Edit: August 31, 2007, 08:23:06 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.