December 02, 2023, 12:25:45 PM

Author Topic: Danish Cartoons and Freedom of Speech  (Read 4066 times)

Danish Cartoons and Freedom of Speech
« on: January 15, 2008, 06:35:23 AM »
Remember two years ago there was a big hue and cry from the Islamic world when a Danish cartoonist published cartoons depicting the Prophet Mohammed?

The cartoon had been published some months before they became a global story.  The cartoon were republished by a Canadian conservative magazine know as the Western Standard.  The publisher name is Ezra Levant.

Anyway, the magazine is now defunct and Ezra Lzva has been brought before the Alberta Human Rights Commission because of a complaint by Syed Soharwardy of the Islamic Supreme Council of Canada about Levant publishing the cartoon.

Here is Soharwardy's complaint:

Religious Belief

The offending cartoons are posted on Levant's website (look in the lower right hand corner of the home page for the relevant links)

WARNING WARNING  If you find depiction of the prophet Mohammad offensive, please do not follow this link:

http://ezralevant.com/

So my QUESTION:  when does freedom of speech cross the line?  I know we have argues this before in the past, but I find Levant's predicament troubling.

On the basis of a complaint to a quasi-legal body, a man's life has been put on hold.

Is cases like this that gives mucho support for TT's arguments against religion.

Re: Danish Cartoons and Freedom of Speech
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2008, 07:09:15 AM »
burn in hell
ya Infidel ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2008, 07:43:37 AM »

Today is SMURFS 50th Birthday.

Who is Papa Smurf children or all the other SMURFS is he offspring?
 Then is serious incest.

« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2008, 11:05:30 AM »
muhammad was ah man...he is not god...steups

more religious shit!

« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2008, 02:10:58 PM »
desmond tutu weighing in on the subject. (full version)
« Last Edit: January 15, 2008, 02:16:50 PM by ribbit »

« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2008, 08:35:59 AM »
in a related vein .....

here is a Arab-American Psychologist woman, Wafa Sultan,  who calls herself a Secular Human Being on Al Jerreza TV expressing her opinions (which might very well get her killed) on Feb 21, 2006!!

It is about 5 min long, but if you want to fast forward, go to 3.5 minutes . she makes some very forceful comments about what Muslims do or do not do.

http://switch3.castup.net/cunet/gm.asp?ai=214&ar=1050wmv&ak=nul

« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2008, 09:30:09 AM »
she MAD no asss
what a waste of a nice human being eh
she go have to lime wid Salmon oui
« Last Edit: January 16, 2008, 09:43:30 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #7 on: January 16, 2008, 10:02:42 AM »
she MAD no asss

Here are her comments on the Mohammad Cartoons

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Negt6IzxPTo

in dis video, she say she receives death threats everyday   :o

Salmon might not want she near him

read de comments for this YouTube video
« Last Edit: January 16, 2008, 10:08:25 AM by pecan »

« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2008, 10:23:12 AM »
she MAD no asss

i rest my case!

« Reply #9 on: January 16, 2008, 10:26:56 AM »
in a related vein .....

here is a Arab-American Psychologist woman, Wafa Sultan,  who calls herself a Secular Human Being on Al Jerreza TV expressing her opinions (which might very well get her killed) on Feb 21, 2006!!

It is about 5 min long, but if you want to fast forward, go to 3.5 minutes . she makes some very forceful comments about what Muslims do or do not do.

to be fair, the muslims doh have any monopoly on "incivility" which is what this woman seems to be suggesting. look at what the hindu nationalists did in gujurrat or ayodhya.

« Reply #10 on: January 16, 2008, 10:49:36 AM »
she MAD no asss

i rest my case!

really? ... yuh have de discipline never again to espouse your views that "Religion is lame...science is the greatest!"  ;D

« Reply #11 on: January 16, 2008, 10:51:04 AM »
in a related vein .....

to be fair, the muslims doh have any monopoly on "incivility" which is what this woman seems to be suggesting. look at what the hindu nationalists did in gujurrat or ayodhya.

true ... but i dont think she is necessarily suggesting that .... this debate is within the context of fundamentalist Islam I believe .

« Reply #12 on: January 16, 2008, 11:30:20 AM »
in a related vein .....

true ... but i dont think she is necessarily suggesting that .... this debate is within the context of fundamentalist Islam I believe .

her comment @5:05 was:

Only the muslims defend their beliefs by burning down churches.

i don't think this is the case.

in trying to understand her method - are her comments confined to fundamentalist islam? it seems that she's drawing comparisons (ceteris paribis ?) of the actions of fundamentalist islam with the actions of jews, buddhists and christians - groups that islam has interacted with in the middle east and afghanistan. not sure why the interactions of islam in other places (india for instance) are out of scope.

just trying to understand what her point is.

« Reply #13 on: January 16, 2008, 12:03:55 PM »
in a related vein .....

in trying to understand her method - are her comments confined to fundamentalist islam? it seems that she's drawing comparisons (ceteris paribis ?) of the actions of fundamentalist islam with the actions of jews, buddhists and christians - groups that islam has interacted with in the middle east and afghanistan. not sure why the interactions of islam in other places (india for instance) are out of scope.

yeah  I see what yuh saying

if indeed her comments are being seen as slamming all Islam, no wonder she is is being threaten.

« Reply #14 on: January 16, 2008, 03:58:26 PM »
in a related vein .....

yeah  I see what yuh saying

if indeed her comments are being seen as slamming all Islam, no wonder she is is being threaten.

pecan, here's my attempt to answer the question that you originally posed: when does freedom of speech cross the line?

i don't have an answer to the question as originally posed in the abstract. applied to this situation, has "a line" been crossed?

part of the brief filed by soharwardy details remarks made by levant in an interview. if levant had kept his mouth shut instead of playing lawyer, then the case would have dealt solely with the issue of the cartoons on which he would have had ample legal protection. now the complaint also involves levant's defense of his editorial decision. he made his own bed.

« Reply #15 on: January 16, 2008, 05:16:13 PM »
No doubt in my mind that Mr. Syed Soharwardy has received hateful e-mail/letter from ignorant Canadians.  And that is truly unfortunate.  Perhaps the senders of these emails should be included in the complaint.

Is Mr. Levant to blame?  did his comments incite these people to attack Mr. Syed Soharwardy ?  The emails were sent after the cartoons were published, but around the same time, this was global news.  Did Levant mention Soharwardy by name? how did the sender of the hateful emails know of Soharwardy.

Mr. Soharwardy claims direct descendecy from Mohammad. So any insult to Mohammad is an insult to him.

I have skimmed the complaint and supporting documents.  I eh no lawyer, but if Mr. Soharwardy wins, then I would suggest that many of us (Christians, Jews, Muslims and a myriad of other ethnicities and cultures) will have valid claims under the Human Rights laws in Canada.

I think we on a real slippery slope with this complaint.

another comment

One of his complaints is the use of Sacred Words in the cartoons.

Maybe as a Christian, any time I hear the hymm "Silent Night, Holy Night" blaring from the speakers in a shopping mall during Christmas, I should get offended and file a complaint against the store or mall.

The hymn "Silent Night, Holy Night" is considered to be a very sacred hymn, and should not to be used in a commercial setting.

If he wins, I go file a complaint against TT aka Jack_Manday for making fun of religion  ;)
« Last Edit: January 16, 2008, 05:20:57 PM by pecan »

« Reply #16 on: January 16, 2008, 06:16:00 PM »
No doubt in my mind that Mr. Syed Soharwardy has received hateful e-mail/letter from ignorant Canadians.  And that is truly unfortunate.  Perhaps the senders of these emails should be included in the complaint.

Is Mr. Levant to blame?  did his comments incite these people to attack Mr. Syed Soharwardy ?  The emails were sent after the cartoons were published, but around the same time, this was global news.  Did Levant mention Soharwardy by name? how did the sender of the hateful emails know of Soharwardy.

i thought soharwardy is associated with the islamic supreme council of canada? - this is why he was mentioned by levant. perhaps levant made comments about soharwardy personally rather than his role in that organization? i didn't see the program.

Mr. Soharwardy claims direct descendecy from Mohammad. So any insult to Mohammad is an insult to him.

maury povich flying in just for this...

I have skimmed the complaint and supporting documents.  I eh no lawyer, but if Mr. Soharwardy wins, then I would suggest that many of us (Christians, Jews, Muslims and a myriad of other ethnicities and cultures) will have valid claims under the Human Rights laws in Canada.

another comment

Maybe as a Christian, any time I hear the hymm "Silent Night, Holy Night" blaring from the speakers in a shopping mall during Christmas, I should get offended and file a complaint against the store or mall.

The hymn "Silent Night, Holy Night" is considered to be a very sacred hymn, and should not to be used in a commercial setting.

If he wins, I go file a complaint against TT aka Jack_Manday for making fun of religion  ;)

;D @TT

well imagine if the court find levant guilty. what punishment would they impose? i mean, if they go by sharia law i could well imagine levant losing a hand or so. i don't see why any court would put themselves in this position - ruling for the plaintiff in this case sets up a bigger problem.

« Reply #17 on: January 17, 2008, 09:39:49 AM »

i thought soharwardy is associated with the islamic supreme council of canada? - this is why he was mentioned by levant. perhaps levant made comments about soharwardy personally rather than his role in that organization? i didn't see the program.

another comment

;D @TT

well imagine if the court find levant guilty. what punishment would they impose? i mean, if they go by sharia law i could well imagine levant losing a hand or so. i don't see why any court would put themselves in this position - ruling for the plaintiff in this case sets up a bigger problem.

I looked at the complaint again and I did not observe any claims that Levant attacked the complaint directly. Rather Mr. Soharwardy claimed that the attack on Mohammad, to whom he is a direct descendant,  was an attack on him and his family.

Therefore he was personally hurt ... :thinking:

It would also appear that the hate emails he received was a result of Mr. Soharwardy's public outcry regarding Mr. Levant and the various media that reported the story.

The hate emails he received were downright nasty and continues to show how humans cant seem to get it right in how we treat each other, regardless of our differences.

« Reply #18 on: January 17, 2008, 09:57:52 AM »

another comment

;D @TT

I looked at the complaint again and I did not observe any claims that Levant attacked the complaint directly. Rather Mr. Soharwardy claimed that the attack on Mohammad, to whom he is a direct descendant,  was an attack on him and his family.

Therefore he was personally hurt ... :thinking:

It would also appear that the hate emails he received was a result of Mr. Soharwardy's public outcry regarding Mr. Levant and the various media that reported the story.

The hate emails he received were downright nasty and continues to show how humans cant seem to get it right in how we treat each other, regardless of our differences.

Section F, point 4:

On Monday February 13, Mr. Ezra Levant insulted me on air on CBC Radio at 7:00 AM and called me "<illegible>". .... I have attached a few of his statements but his on air statements can be obtained from CBC, CTV and other media organizations.

« Reply #19 on: January 17, 2008, 09:04:44 PM »

Section F, point 4:

On Monday February 13, Mr. Ezra Levant insulted me on air on CBC Radio at 7:00 AM and called me "<illegible>". .... I have attached a few of his statements but his on air statements can be obtained from CBC, CTV and other media organizations.

Hmmm .. I attempted to look for the Exhibits that were attached but did not see them in what was posted by Levant (selective posting perhaps?).

Ribbit .. did you see anywhere else what Levant actually said about the complainant?

« Reply #20 on: January 17, 2008, 09:35:35 PM »

Section F, point 4:

Hmmm .. I attempted to look for the Exhibits that were attached but did not see them in what was posted by Levant (selective posting perhaps?).

Ribbit .. did you see anywhere else what Levant actually said about the complainant?

it's in this link that you posted:

http://ezralevant.com/Soharwardy_complaint.pdf

It is on page 4 of 27 of the PDF. The question and part of the response is:

What made you believe you were discrimnated against? How were you treated differently from the way others were treated? Who treated you this way? For each ground that you checked in section E, please give details. For example, if you checked race, please indicate your race. Explain how you were discriminated against based on each ground.

On, Monday, February 13 Mr. Ezra Levant insulted me on air on CBC Radio at 7:00 AM and called me "Raghead". He also Said that the hateful cartoons are justified to be Published in his magazine Western Standards [sic]. I have attached a few of his statements but his on air statements can be obtained from CBC, CTV and other media organization.

« Reply #21 on: January 18, 2008, 06:38:54 AM »

Section F, point 4:

What made you believe you were discrimnated against? How were you treated differently from the way others were treated? Who treated you this way? For each ground that you checked in section E, please give details. For example, if you checked race, please indicate your race. Explain how you were discriminated against based on each ground.

On, Monday, February 13 Mr. Ezra Levant insulted me on air on CBC Radio at 7:00 AM and called me "Raghead". He also Said that the hateful cartoons are justified to be Published in his magazine Western Standards [sic]. I have attached a few of his statements but his on air statements can be obtained from CBC, CTV and other media organization.

I saw that but as you pointed out earlier .. "raghead" was illigible.

If Levant did call the complainant a "raghead" on air then he deserves to be held accountable ... but at this level?

I go follow this case and will await the outcome

« Reply #22 on: January 19, 2008, 11:39:05 AM »

Section F, point 4:

I saw that but as you pointed out earlier .. "raghead" was illigible.

If Levant did call the complainant a "raghead" on air then he deserves to be held accountable ... but at this level?

I go follow this case and will await the outcome

pecan, you might like this guy: check "pat condell" on youtube. here's his latest on this particular issue in canada:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XUTFcgE1F7w

« Reply #23 on: January 19, 2008, 03:20:19 PM »
Yeah ..

I read the column by these students who were complaining about McLeans's magazine. The National Post printed the rebuttal by these student a few weeks ago.  All they wanted they said, was a chance to express their views in McLean's and were objecting to McLean's refusal to publish them.

Well you have me pegged man ..  I agree with his sentiments, but not necessarily with his actual comments... lol  as always there has to be a balance in things
« Last Edit: January 19, 2008, 03:26:01 PM by pecan »

Syed Soharwardy to drop case
« Reply #24 on: February 17, 2008, 08:11:05 AM »
Syed Soharwardy say he will drop his human rights commission complaint against Ezra Levant.

The small matter of legal costs
Human rights defendants liable, even for dropped cases
Calgary Herald
Published: Friday, February 15, 2008

It came as a surprise to hear Syed Soharwardy say he will drop his human rights commission complaint against Ezra Levant.

We applaud it, of course, and also that he says he's prepared to work with Levant to have Alberta's human rights act modified, so that it sticks to its original purposes -- eliminating discrimination in employment and rentals -- and can't be used to silence opinions some groups don't want to hear.

Soharwardy is apparently serious. He attributes his complaint nearly two years ago to a misguided attempt to encourage Muslim youths who he believes felt alienated, after Levant's Western Standard published controversial Danish cartoons depicting the prophet Muhammad.

Of course, it is not the government's job to mend anybody's feelings, only to decide whether they have been bona fide victims of discrimination in a fairly narrow area of jurisdiction. And that Soharwardy could so easily use the law for a purpose other than that for which it was intended, vindicates those who have complained that it favours frivolous or malicious complaints.

At the time, he says, he didn't fully appreciate what free-speech rights meant to people in this country. Now, having listened to Canadian Civil Liberties Association general counsel Alan Borovoy on his recent visit to Calgary, and some close friends, he says he gets it.

Soharwardy told the Herald editorial board Tuesday, "I think freedom of speech is one of the most important benefits of living in Canada, and we should protect it. I think the mandate of the Alberta Human Rights Commission should be limited -- Section 3 (1) (that makes it an offence to publish something likely to expose a person or class of persons to hatred or contempt) should be gone."

Well, well.

There could be an element of enlightened self-interest of course, Soharwardy having made a few borderline statements himself. To compare Palestinian people's travails to the Holocaust, or to characterize Christian relief efforts after a tsunami hit Indonesia as kidnapping Muslim children, is to drink deeply from free speech's well. Those who do so, should by no means try to keep others from the water.

It does leave one bit of unfinished business, though.

Even if Levant feels he has won the argument -- he has, in our view -- it has cost him a lot of money to do it. (Human rights complaints are free to the complainant, but defendants are obliged to fund their own counsel.) As he has remarked, the process is as much the punishment as the ruling.

No less of a chill to the free expression of opinion is the possibility that even if the case is later dropped, it might still be costly to prepare for a defence that will ultimately not be required.

Striking Section 3 (1) from the act should be a priority for the provincial government, whose creature the legislation is. Until that is done, it seems elementary justice that defendants should expect their costs to be met, if the case fails to proceed -- or, if they are exonerated.

© The Calgary Herald 2008