April 24, 2024, 11:11:58 PM

Author Topic: Lunar Eclipse  (Read 5716 times)

Lunar Eclipse
« on: February 20, 2008, 08:10:18 PM »
any body watching the eclipse tonight?

De moon is now about 25% in shadow.. :o :o

Re: Lunar Eclipse
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2008, 08:13:59 PM »

« Last Edit: February 20, 2008, 08:16:10 PM by pecan »

« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2008, 08:16:50 PM »
steupss, it's cloudy here  >:(

« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2008, 08:24:12 PM »
Its awesome..

« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2008, 09:09:08 PM »

wow

we are seeing the aurora boreolis as well in our part of Ontario.

wow

« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2008, 09:10:38 PM »
finally getting to see it, clouds are gone  ;D

« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2008, 12:47:15 AM »
I didn't hear anything about an eclipse...but as I got out of class tonight I looked up and noticed the partial eclipse.  At first I was confused b/c I remember the moon was full/almost full just a couple nights ago, so I knew it wasn't Last Quarter or a crescent moon...at 9:30 when I got out it was only about 2/3 eclipsed. 

Looking closer I saw that it was a shadow, as the Umbral shadow left a reddish color on the moon.  I was stunned, first time since I was a child I actually witnessed one in person...but alas it was 26F and icy out tonite so I wasn't into being out and staring into space for too long.

I haven't seen the Auroras yet, but I plan on travelling and hopefully witnessing them in person one day.  Did see a meteorite shower about 5-6 yrs ago though...very cool experience.

« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2008, 07:16:23 AM »
i get some pics from home i go try to post them

« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2008, 08:06:15 AM »
ok, i had too zoom in on them because the pics was too large too post enjoy

« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2008, 08:34:36 AM »
Nice .. what time what time was total eclipse in Trinidad?

« Reply #10 on: February 21, 2008, 08:49:12 AM »
I guess any planet could have a lunar eclipse .But did u know that only earth could have a perfect solar eclipse ,because the size of the moon is perfectly proportioned to the size of the sun ,factoring the distance between both ,it fits almost hand chafted like .No other planet could have that,if the moon was a little bigger ,we would not see the ring .

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #11 on: February 21, 2008, 09:40:18 AM »
Hear this ass in the office this morning.  Oh he watch it last night and the reflection hurt his eyes.  Boy, ah buss out one laugh.  f**kin dunce white boy.
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #12 on: February 21, 2008, 09:52:28 AM »
Hear this ass in the office this morning.  Oh he watch it last night and the reflection hurt his eyes.  Boy, ah buss out one laugh.  f**kin dunce white boy.

:rotfl:  he was joking, right?

« Reply #13 on: February 21, 2008, 09:59:05 AM »
I guess any planet could have a lunar eclipse .But did u know that only earth could have a perfect solar eclipse ,because the size of the moon is perfectly proportioned to the size of the sun ,factoring the distance between both ,it fits almost hand chafted like .No other planet could have that,if the moon was a little bigger ,we would not see the ring .

i think there is actually are large margin for a total eclipse to happen as illustrated below

all the planets and moons, if I recall incorrectly from my orbital mechanics classes (lol), orbit the sun on more or less the same elliptical plane.

So eclipses are relative common in the overall scheme of things

Bake n Shark will correct me if I wrong  (he know everything   ;D)

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #14 on: February 21, 2008, 10:08:31 AM »

:rotfl:  he was joking, right?

No, the man was serious. 
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #15 on: February 21, 2008, 10:14:50 AM »

i think there is actually are large margin for a total eclipse to happen as illustrated below

all the planets and moons, if I recall incorrectly from my orbital mechanics classes (lol), orbit the sun on more or less the same elliptical plane.

Bake n Shark will correct me if I wrong (he know everything ;D)
Yeah any planet could have a lunar eclipse but not a perfect solar . They is a more scientific way to state my point ,but yeah our moon is like perfectly scaled down to exactly blot out the sun ,so as to just show the carona .
 So if the moon is really a big rock and not some ancient discarded metal satilite .God had to have made that ,cause the chances of it being perfectly porprotioned like that by chance are astronomical .
If am wrong TT will correct me( he doh like god  ;D )
« Last Edit: February 21, 2008, 10:18:16 AM by Quagmire »

« Reply #16 on: February 21, 2008, 10:27:07 AM »

Bake n Shark will correct me if I wrong (he know everything ;D)
Yeah any planet could have a lunar eclipse but not a perfect solar . They is a more scientific way to state my point ,but yeah our moon is like perfectly scaled down to exactly blot out the sun ,so as to just show the carona .
 So if the moon is really a big rock and not some ancient discarded metal satilite .God had to have made that ,cause the chances of it being perfectly porprotioned like that by chance are astronomical .
If am wrong TT will correct me( he doh like god  ;D )

right .. I see what you saying ...

chance or God? .. TT, yuh care to respond? :devil:

« Reply #17 on: February 21, 2008, 10:39:11 AM »
yeah thats my proof there is a god ,cause all the maths have to be perfect ,for it to work . The size of the sun ,the size of the moon ,the distance of the sun from the moon ,and the  distance of the moon from the earth .Any one not right and the entire eclipse will not look rite .

« Reply #18 on: February 21, 2008, 10:47:43 AM »
yeah thats my proof there is a god ,cause all the maths have to be perfect ,for it to work . The size of the sun ,the size of the moon ,the distance of the sun from the moon ,and the  distance of the moon from the earth .Any one not right and the entire eclipse will not look rite .

Yeh but iz not only our planet out there.
The chances that at least 1 out of all the billions of planets would have the required conditions for a solar eclipse like that are much greater than the chances of any one particular planet having them.

« Reply #19 on: February 21, 2008, 10:50:25 AM »
yeah thats my proof there is a god ,cause all the maths have to be perfect ,for it to work . The size of the sun ,the size of the moon ,the distance of the sun from the moon ,and the distance of the moon from the earth .Any one not right and the entire eclipse will not look rite .

Yeh but iz not only our planet out there.
The chances that at least 1 out of all the billions of planets would have the required conditions for a solar eclipse like that are much greater than the chances of any one particular planet having them.

so what you saying ,some snow flakes could be the same .

« Reply #20 on: February 21, 2008, 10:51:44 AM »
You startin to sound crazy there.

« Reply #21 on: February 21, 2008, 10:52:02 AM »
pecan you would be right if the moon didn't wobble.  I think I read somewhere it wobbles about 5degrees in (??) so not every full moon is an eclipse.  And Die hard, thank you very much for the pictures...they are very, very beautiful and I was missing it b/c last night was one of the 3 cloudy days in the desert for the year (bad timing eh!)

« Reply #22 on: February 21, 2008, 10:57:17 AM »
You startin to sound crazy there.
lol sorry ,no its just an ole saying no two snowflakes are the same . Just like everybodies DNA is different ,but according to what u said ,it have a greater chance of having an axact copy rather than having no two alike .But I understood what u meant ,maybe it does .

« Reply #23 on: February 21, 2008, 02:15:21 PM »
pecan you would be right if the moon didn't wobble.  I think I read somewhere it wobbles about 5degrees in (??) so not every full moon is an eclipse.  And Die hard, thank you very much for the pictures...they are very, very beautiful and I was missing it b/c last night was one of the 3 cloudy days in the desert for the year (bad timing eh!)

:beermug:  ;D

Nice .. what time what time was total eclipse in Trinidad?

it was from around 9:45pm to after 11 pm