March 28, 2024, 11:22:43 AM

Author Topic: Crime in the Caribbean  (Read 4595 times)

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
Crime in the Caribbean
« on: February 19, 2008, 10:57:12 AM »
In light of what has occured in the past few weeks with reference to Trinidad and Guyana, this article presents a perception of what outsiders may think.  Please take note this was printed 4/2/08 - before the shootings in Independent Square, police shooting in south and Guyana's trama.

The Caribbean's crime woes

The Economist says the Caribbean has become a world leader in violent crime
An unflattering portrait of crime in the Caribbean is painted by the Economist magazine in its latest edition.
The Economist’s article pulled no punches.
It says the Caribbean, better known for its blue skies, cricket and rum punch, was the world leader in violent crime.

It quoted a joint United Nations-World Bank study last year, as saying the region had a murder rate of 30 per 100,000 inhabitants - four times the North American figure and 15 times the West and Central European average.

Jamaica, according to the Economist, is the world's most murderous country. But it notes that the rest of the Caribbean was catching up fast, irrespective of size or wealth.

Prosperous Bahamas, it points out, was far more dangerous than impoverished Guyana. In Trinidad and Tobago, the murder rate has quadrupled over the past decade, despite a fall in unemployment to five percent last year.

The Economist paints an unflattering portrait of crime in the Caribbean 

The respected international publication says the illegal drugs trade was largely to blame but it added out that since the 1990s, cocaine shipments in the Caribbean have stabilised while murder rates have soared - pointing to a complex picture.

Tourism has largely escaped the violence but last May's UN-world bank report cited by the magazine, had warned that crime had the potential to curb the region's economic growth.

The report also acknowledged that murder statistics in small countries were often problematic because a relatively small number of incidents can result in high rates.

But what is clear is that homicides are a growing problem in the Caribbean.

If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

« Last Edit: February 19, 2008, 11:25:59 AM by dcs »

Re: Crime in the Caribbean
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2008, 11:52:33 AM »
We worse than Mexico yes. Laaarrddd!

Some people say "blacks" have a genetic propensity for violent crime. Is this so? How come we so fortunate in T&T yet have such a high murder rate?
Or is it because the "white man" oppresses "blacks"?

When we see images of South Africans, Kenyans, Hutus etc. killing each other, people in Sierra Leone and Liberia slaughtering each other, why is that?
Is it the same media bias that reports that black people loot, while white people "salvage". Or is extreme violence a Pan-African /Diasporic cultural behaviour that needs to be curtailed, and how do we curtail it?

« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2008, 12:00:10 PM »

Some people say "blacks" have a genetic propensity for violent crime. Is this so? How come we so fortunate in T&T yet have such a high murder rate?

When we see images of South Africans, Kenyans, Hutus etc. killing each other, people in Sierra Leone and Liberia slaughtering each other, why is that?
Is it the same media bias that reports that black people loot, while white people "salvage". Or is extreme violence a Pan-African /Diasporic cultural behaviour that needs to be curtailed, and how do we curtail it?
you want ALL dem questions answered now fa now ;D

seriously......I ent kno nuh, but if ya look at Serbia/Kosovo area of europe, those people does do wicked things too each other also, eh
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2008, 12:05:34 PM »

we only 'worse' on paper because the population in T&T lower.....but on a average day it have waay more murders in mexico than probably the whole carribean

look how small antigua & barbuda population is and even tinier st kitts...and check their killings per 100,000

all still bad I know...but the scourge of drugs and deportees wrecking havoc all over caribbean man lands
oddly enough...suriname seem to be duckin low from dis ting
« Last Edit: February 19, 2008, 12:07:28 PM by Dutty »

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2008, 12:05:48 PM »

To tackle a problem such as this requires a change of our way of thinking, starting from the home.  I know there is a breakdown of family structure - no longer extended or nuclear but single parent is the norm.  No longer can a "village raise a child" since this is a me and not we society.  I think a parent(s) need to lay the foundation for the child to follow - no matter how daunting it maybe at times.  School, church and other institutions play a huge factor as well but it all starts in at the homefront.  
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2008, 12:19:24 PM »
But the question is WHY do predominantly black nations have the worst crime and poverty statistics in the world? Is is that some blacks perhaps simply cannot cope in the modern,  competitive world with the Chinese, Japanese or Europeans? Are black people destined to kill each other out or just die off from AIDS because they could do no better to enrich their lives than the neanderthals could?

Are blacks, at this rate of dysfunction destined to become an extinct people?
« Last Edit: February 19, 2008, 12:21:00 PM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2008, 12:59:05 PM »
But the question is WHY do predominantly black nations have the worst crime and poverty statistics in the world? Is is that some blacks perhaps simply cannot cope in the modern,  competitive world with the Chinese, Japanese or Europeans? Are black people destined to kill each other out or just die off from AIDS because they could do no better to enrich their lives than the neanderthals could?

Eh?.....come nah man zando.....dem black fellahs around since people discover dey could walk on two legs, dem eh goin no whey

my opinion.... these 'issues' you allude to is ah tempest in a teapot as compared to the course of human history
AIDS is fairly new...carribbean crime fairly new
Prior to the industrial revolution..and maybe even during ww1&2...you could have easily asked the same question of europeans
Tribal warfare goin on on every corner of the planet since the dawn of time. Empires rise and fall, everybody gets their shot at the brass ring of 'civility', I guess you happen to be born in the wrong era you should hve been scribbling yuh question on papyrus during the time of Akhenaton or Hannibal or one ah dem fellahs

Either way I feel you just throw out dat big boy philosophical question to see if bees does swarm ;)

« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2008, 01:16:27 PM »

Either way I feel you just throw out dat big boy philosophical question to see if bees does swarm ;)

Me sah?  :angel:

I eh realize ah so damn transparent ;D. No wonder I eh get sting yet.

BUT in all seriousness I sometimes do wonder what will be the consequences of a new rise in facist sentiment directed at the African diaspora

« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2008, 08:15:23 AM »

My take on it is that everything under the sun is subject to natural cycles. There is no hiding the fact that currently black nations are the most murderous and poverty stricken, however turn back a few centuries earlier in Europe and Asia, where they were hacking and slicing up each other for the silliest of reasons. There are a host of factors that many believe is the reason for this.

« Reply #10 on: February 20, 2008, 08:25:03 AM »

maybe eastern europeans have a genetic propensity for violent crime too.

this data a lil old but check it out - The Seventh United Nations Survey on Crime Trends and the Operations of Criminal Justice Systems (1998 - 2000) (http://www.unodc.org/unodc/en/data-and-analysis/Seventh-United-Nations-Survey-on-Crime-Trends-and-the-Operations-of-Criminal-Justice-Systems.html)

http://www.nationmaster.com/graph/cri_mur_percap-crime-murders-per-capita

Murders (per capita) (most recent) by country
Rank     Countries     Amount  (top to bottom)   
#1     Colombia:   0.617847 per 1,000 people    
#2     South Africa:   0.496008 per 1,000 people    
#3     Jamaica:   0.324196 per 1,000 people    
#4     Venezuela:   0.316138 per 1,000 people    
#5     Russia:   0.201534 per 1,000 people    
#6     Mexico:   0.130213 per 1,000 people    
#7     Estonia:   0.107277 per 1,000 people    
#8     Latvia:   0.10393 per 1,000 people    
#9     Lithuania:   0.102863 per 1,000 people    
#10     Belarus:   0.0983495 per 1,000 people    
#11     Ukraine:   0.094006 per 1,000 people    
#12     Papua New Guinea:   0.0838593 per 1,000 people    
#13     Kyrgyzstan:   0.0802565 per 1,000 people    
#14     Thailand:   0.0800798 per 1,000 people    
#15     Moldova:   0.0781145 per 1,000 people    
#16     Zimbabwe:   0.0749938 per 1,000 people    
#17     Seychelles:   0.0739025 per 1,000 people    
#18     Zambia:   0.070769 per 1,000 people    
#19     Costa Rica:   0.061006 per 1,000 people    
#20     Poland:   0.0562789 per 1,000 people    
#21     Georgia:   0.0511011 per 1,000 people    
#22     Uruguay:   0.045082 per 1,000 people    
#23     Bulgaria:   0.0445638 per 1,000 people    
#24     United States:   0.042802 per 1,000 people    
#25     Armenia:   0.0425746 per 1,000 people    
#26     India:   0.0344083 per 1,000 people    
#27     Yemen:   0.0336276 per 1,000 people    
#28     Dominica:   0.0289733 per 1,000 people    
#29     Azerbaijan:   0.0285642 per 1,000 people    
#30     Finland:   0.0283362 per 1,000 people    
#31     Slovakia:   0.0263303 per 1,000 people    
#32     Romania:   0.0250784 per 1,000 people    
#33     Portugal:   0.0233769 per 1,000 people    
#34     Malaysia:   0.0230034 per 1,000 people    
#35     Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of:   0.0229829 per 1,000 people    
#36     Mauritius:   0.021121 per 1,000 people    
#37     Hungary:   0.0204857 per 1,000 people    
#38     Korea, South:   0.0196336 per 1,000 people    
#39     Slovenia:   0.0179015 per 1,000 people    
#40     France:   0.0173272 per 1,000 people    
#41     Czech Republic:   0.0169905 per 1,000 people    
#42     Iceland:   0.0168499 per 1,000 people    
#43     Australia:   0.0150324 per 1,000 people    
#44     Canada:   0.0149063 per 1,000 people    
#45     Chile:   0.014705 per 1,000 people    
#46     United Kingdom:   0.0140633 per 1,000 people    
#47     Italy:   0.0128393 per 1,000 people    
#48     Spain:   0.0122456 per 1,000 people    
#49     Germany:   0.0116461 per 1,000 people    
#50     Tunisia:   0.0112159 per 1,000 people    
#51     Netherlands:   0.0111538 per 1,000 people    
#52     New Zealand:   0.0111524 per 1,000 people    
#53     Denmark:   0.0106775 per 1,000 people    
#54     Norway:   0.0106684 per 1,000 people    
#55     Ireland:   0.00946215 per 1,000 people    
#56     Switzerland:   0.00921351 per 1,000 people    
#57     Indonesia:   0.00910842 per 1,000 people    
#58     Greece:   0.0075928 per 1,000 people    
#59     Hong Kong:   0.00550804 per 1,000 people    
#60     Japan:   0.00499933 per 1,000 people    
#61     Saudi Arabia:   0.00397456 per 1,000 people    
#62     Qatar:   0.00115868 per 1,000 people    
   Weighted average:   0.1 per 1,000 people 

« Reply #11 on: February 20, 2008, 08:34:31 AM »
TnT did not make that list?
some good news ;)
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #12 on: February 20, 2008, 08:50:39 AM »
WC,

again - that data from 2000. it didn;t have as much guns on the streets of t&t back then. if the economist data above was right and applicable to 2000, we mos def be on de list.

« Reply #13 on: February 20, 2008, 08:54:31 AM »
WC,

again - that data from 2000.
fair enough
did not realise
that graphic that DCS put up is more up to date then

« Reply #14 on: February 20, 2008, 11:55:51 AM »
WC,

again - that data from 2000.
fair enough
did not realise
that graphic that DCS put up is more up to date then

yea...it was before PNM got back into power.  They make sure we right up there are the top.  I think they would say it has been shown that a high murder rate is an indicator of strong economic growth....and the likelyhood of finding more natural gas. Real high level logic so doh try to figure it out.

« Reply #15 on: February 20, 2008, 12:20:25 PM »

The Economist paints an unflattering portrait of crime in the Caribbean 

The respected international publication says the illegal drugs trade was largely to blame but it added out that since the 1990s, cocaine shipments in the Caribbean have stabilised while murder rates have soared - pointing to a complex picture.

ah sure someone post this somewhere else before but when did USA start "repatriating" criminals to trinidad? i've in central america - the mara gangs in particular - that gang members that spend time in USA and return to central america are far more violent and criminally minded. is like the US prisons are a finishing school for the wayward.

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #16 on: February 20, 2008, 08:19:58 PM »
I read in Trinidad Express (2/21/08) that we will be offering assistance to Guyana by way of helicopter and 'special weapons."  Question is who will help us?

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #17 on: February 20, 2008, 09:20:03 PM »
I read in Trinidad Express (2/21/08) that we will be offering assistance to Guyana by way of helicopter and 'special weapons."  Question is who will help us?

Panday and Dookeran coming to the rescue, they have ALL the answers but have thus far offered NONE!

« Reply #18 on: February 21, 2008, 11:18:55 AM »

Panday and Dookeran coming to the rescue, they have ALL the answers but have thus far offered NONE!

that definitely not true if u following the news.

« Reply #19 on: February 21, 2008, 11:50:48 AM »
62 countries with worse crime rates than us I am shocked!!!

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #20 on: February 21, 2008, 01:54:52 PM »
What does Panday and Dookeran have to offer?  UNC had their can and were not successful.  I am not favouring any political power but neither has a good record when it comes to crime.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #21 on: February 21, 2008, 07:03:06 PM »
what ketch meh eye is no. 28.dominica.yuh sure they eh mean dominican rep.

« Reply #22 on: February 21, 2008, 07:44:36 PM »
 this is how Trinidad and Guyana may come if things ain't put place.A badman culture would develop

Gangs Part 1
Part2
Part 3 in the Garrison
Part 4
Part 5 Meeting the Don

« Last Edit: February 21, 2008, 08:07:36 PM by Trini _2010 »