April 29, 2024, 08:19:59 AM

Author Topic: Hundreds turn out for Kenwyne  (Read 7940 times)

Hundreds turn out for Kenwyne
« on: February 21, 2008, 10:03:56 AM »
Hundreds turn out for Kenwyne
By Martin Walker (SAFC.com)

A massive number of Sunderland supporters turned out to meet star striker Kenwyne Jones last night.

The Trinidad and Tobago star spent three hours signing autographs and posing for pictures in the club's official retail store in Sainsbury's, Washington, from 5pm until 8pm.

Jones was happy to stay well beyond the advertised 5-6pm slot due to the massive turn-out, with an estimated 500 fans queuing up to meet the £6m striker.

Some waited patiently for up to three fours in a queue which snaked outside the Galleries centre and into the car park!

Jones has captured the imagination of Black Cats fans with his performances and his acrobatic, over-head goal celebration, and proved as ever popular among young supporters last night.

"I couldn't believe how many people were actually here!" admitted the former Southampton star.

"But it was great to meet them all - it's always nice to speak to supporters and there were so many at Sainsbury's, it felt like I'd met all of them!"

Supporters who also spotted Sunderland defender Paul McShane at Sainsbury's last night would be forgiven for thinking he was there to give his team-mate a helping hand with the signing session - the Republic of Ireland star was, in fact, just getting a spot of shopping!

Click here to view our image gallery of supporters meeting Jones.

Were you at Sainsbury's last night? If so, your face may appear in some of our pictures from the signing session - you can convert them into prints, t-shirts or even mugs and key-rings, click here for more details.

Meanwhile, fans have another chance to meet one of their heroes tonight - Carlos Edwards will be at the SAFC store in Debenhams, Sunderland, from 5pm.

Offline Verteidiger

Re: Hundreds turn out for Kenwyne
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2008, 10:34:44 AM »
Kenwyne luv the kids :)

Good Job

Offline THETRUFF

« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2008, 11:07:59 AM »
This is what an impressive player can bring...absolute adoration by his fans..note key word impressive...this little post is just an example of what i consider to be impressive....a quality that has been loosely used by particularly one of the forum members on average players.. :beermug:

« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2008, 11:08:19 AM »
Good stuff KJ
 :applause: :applause:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2008, 11:10:22 AM »
Real niceness

« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2008, 11:11:15 AM »
why dont the TTFF have stuff like this and a retail store???.  Someone please don't tell me all the smart trini's went abroad

« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2008, 11:15:40 AM »
why dont the TTFF have stuff like this and a retail store???.  Someone please don't tell me all the smart trini's went abroad
:whistling:

;D Just Kidding ;)
« Last Edit: February 21, 2008, 11:19:37 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2008, 11:26:56 AM »
It's really nice to see how foreigners/fans appreciate our players,if we can only get that at home our stadiums will be filled not only for international games but our club and all,i wonder how many autographs he signs when he at home,this is what makes players play the way they do,it's the fans,they can either make or break you,we are very quick to put down our players instead of lift them up,if players are to become stars they need encouragement,players that leave our shores improve because of the treatment they get out there,we take everything for granted,the fans are addicted to the game they grasp at anything a player has down to his Jockey shorts as a souvenir.

« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2008, 11:32:27 AM »
Coops u on pt

Offline fivers

« Reply #10 on: February 21, 2008, 11:41:36 AM »
It's really nice to see how foreigners/fans appreciate our players,if we can only get that at home our stadiums will be filled not only for international games but our club and all,i wonder how many autographs he signs when he at home,this is what makes players play the way they do,it's the fans,they can either make or break you,we are very quick to put down our players instead of lift them up,if players are to become stars they need encouragement,players that leave our shores improve because of the treatment they get out there,we take everything for granted,the fans are addicted to the game they grasp at anything a player has down to his Jockey shorts as a souvenir.
Well said man

« Reply #11 on: February 21, 2008, 11:56:58 AM »

I dont know if its a matter of taking them for granted, but Trinis have never been a star struck people.  Thats why many celebs like to come to our shores cause then can walk around amongst the people and feel regular.  No setta papprazzi, or autographer seekers to bother you.
I remember back in the day when Tom Selleck was big in Magnum PI, and it had pictures of him on some beach from the weekend prior.  The man was in town jus chillin normal normal.

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #12 on: February 21, 2008, 12:01:52 PM »

I dont know if its a matter of taking them for granted, but Trinis have never been a star struck people.  Thats why many celebs like to come to our shores cause then can walk around amongst the people and feel regular.  No setta papprazzi, or autographer seekers to bother you.
I remember back in the day when Tom Selleck was big in Magnum PI, and it had pictures of him on some beach from the weekend prior.  The man was in town jus chillin normal normal.

True dat. You see how many of those american celebs coming down for carnival every year? It only going to get worse/better (depending on where you ketch your flight from to get home for carnival  :devil:)
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #13 on: February 21, 2008, 12:07:05 PM »
yeah that would be a nice change from some places these celebs go to

« Reply #14 on: February 21, 2008, 12:19:27 PM »
yeah that would be a nice change from some places these celebs go to

is nice to know when i move back home i can walk de streets in peace. ;D

« Reply #15 on: February 21, 2008, 12:22:25 PM »
Coop's......I understand what yuh saying eh.....

But I don't think is dat we take we footballers for granted...I feel is more like dey from yuh home town or school or club and it kinda hard to get all starry eyed over some one yuh know from long before de rest ah de planet (or at least football world) know dem...

For example as big as Dwight got, I still remember him as a regular guy around Compre...of course I got a photo op chance and I took it but ah still doh feel starry eyed....yuh understand where ah coming from?.....

I remember Chris Birchall making a comment to that effect too....that back home in de UK...he's just another regular Joe, but down here he getting Police escort and is treated like a celebrity...

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
« Reply #16 on: February 21, 2008, 01:07:38 PM »
Nice of him to take the extra time needed to see the fans, a lot of players would of done the expected hour and left. 

Well done KJ

« Reply #17 on: February 21, 2008, 01:10:38 PM »
nah man....remember he only worth $5000 TT....

« Reply #18 on: February 21, 2008, 01:31:00 PM »
Coop's......I understand what yuh saying eh.....

But I don't think is dat we take we footballers for granted...I feel is more like dey from yuh home town or school or club and it kinda hard to get all starry eyed over some one yuh know from long before de rest ah de planet (or at least football world) know dem...

I totally understand and agree with what you said here but could this be one of the reasons why people not going to see Football at home?it's my reasoning that most times people home going to see Football they more going to see who come to play us than our own heros,if you ever played for T&T it's a feeling you get sometimes because when you having a bad game you wonder if those are the same people you representing. 

« Reply #20 on: February 21, 2008, 01:46:20 PM »

Boss, that wasn't really Tom Selleck. I remember them pictures in The Bomb. Was an impostor telling people he was Magnum. It take about a week before somebody point out that Tom Selleck doh have slick back blond hair.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2008, 01:48:08 PM by Well Yes »

« Reply #21 on: February 21, 2008, 01:50:44 PM »

Boss, that wasn't really Tom Selleck. I remember them pictures in The Bomb. Was an impostor telling people he was Magnum. It take about a week before somebody point out that Tom Selleck doh have slick back blond hair.

doh make joke!!!
i always wondered why he spelt his name wrong on the autograph he signed for me  "Sellick"  ;D

« Reply #22 on: February 21, 2008, 01:58:44 PM »
Oh lord Mr. MC....ah nearly fall out de chair!!!..

« Reply #23 on: February 21, 2008, 02:06:10 PM »

doh make joke!!!
i always wondered why he spelt his name wrong on the autograph he signed for me  "Sellick"  ;D

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #24 on: February 21, 2008, 02:20:24 PM »
I remember the Guardian had a pic of the short guyl from Fresh Prince of Bel Air walking on Frederick Street (I think it was Tatiyna Al).  I remember the pic b/c she was holding on to her purse tight, tight, tight..Sign of the times back then???i

Apart from that, good job KJ and always keep humble.
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

Offline Cartman

Kenwynne Jones is a very nice bloke
« Reply #25 on: February 21, 2008, 02:28:42 PM »
JUst heard our chairman Niall Quinn on the radio singing the praises of big Kenwynne, he was at an autograph signing session yesterday and was only supposed to be there for an hour, so many people turned up to see him that he stayed 3 hours so that all the kids got their autographs.

Kenwynne is becoming a bit of a cult figure at Sunderland and has improved so much as a player under Keano, I hope he is still at Sunderland in ten years time

Big respect to big Kenwynne
Roy Keane's Red & White Army

Re: Kenwynne Jones is a very nice bloke
« Reply #26 on: February 21, 2008, 03:10:52 PM »
Yeah he is a very cool guy

Re: Kenwynne Jones is a very nice bloke
« Reply #27 on: February 21, 2008, 03:13:07 PM »
Yeh but he need to score some goals.

« Reply #28 on: February 21, 2008, 03:28:48 PM »

doh make joke!!!

« Reply #29 on: February 21, 2008, 06:33:47 PM »