March 28, 2024, 04:59:21 AM

Author Topic: Flamengo has the world's biggest club fan baseAssociated Press  (Read 2885 times)

Flamengo has the world's biggest club fan baseAssociated Press
« on: February 27, 2008, 01:54:43 PM »
Flamengo has the world's biggest club fan baseAssociated Press
Updated: February 27, 2008, 2:00 AM EST 19 comments RSS digg blog email print SAO PAULO, Brazil (AP) - Brazil's Flamengo has the biggest club fan base in the world, ahead of Mexican teams Chivas and America, a Brazilian magazine reported on Tuesday.

The five-time Brazilian champion has 32.6 million fans, according to the Web site of Mundo Estranho magazine.
Chivas has 30.8 million supporters, and America 26.4 million.

The magazine's report was based on individual surveys in Britain and 10 other countries: Brazil, Argentina, Spain, Germany, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Portugal, France and the Netherlands.

The surveys were conducted by respected polling institutes in each of the countries and most analyzed figures from the past two years. Only Portugal had older numbers, from 2003.

The surveys did not take into consideration multinational fans, "like Chinese people who support Manchester United," the magazine said.

Brazil's Corinthians was fourth on the list with 23 million fans, followed by Argentina's Boca Juniors (16.4 million), Italy's Juventus (16.3 million), Brazil's Sao Paulo (15.3 million) and Italy's AC Milan (13.4 million).

Spain's Real Madrid and Argentina's River Plate came next with 13.2 million supporters each.

Re: Flamengo has the world's biggest club fan baseAssociated Press
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2008, 02:01:11 PM »
I though Man U marketed themselves as having a 50 mil fan base... world wide... ???

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2008, 02:30:14 PM »
I though Man U marketed themselves as having a 50 mil fan base... world wide... ???

You have to qualify this survey. This line is key

The surveys did not take into consideration multinational fans, "like Chinese people who support Manchester United," the magazine said.

So the survey has two limitations:
1) That is not an exhaustive list of countries
2) You have to vote for a team from your native land.

So a Trini in London would have to vote for a PFL side for example. So all it telling you is that when Brazilians in the 11 countries are polled, the most popular club was Flamengo. Furthermore, there are more Brazilians who support Flamengo in those 11 countries than there are any other nationals that support a team from their native land..ie Argentines that like Boca, Mexicans that like Chivas etc..

Kinda jokey survey. If you allow people to vote for a team in any country and you exapnd the survey to Africa, Asia, Middle East etc..teams like ManU, Real Madrid, AC Milan etc..would be tops
« Last Edit: February 27, 2008, 02:32:28 PM by Filho »

« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2008, 02:33:47 PM »
You see many of the Hispanics  (central america) I use to play ball in DC, VA, MD and PA was either Barca or Madrid fans... or fans of their local national clubs... so Flamenco was a far guess from me.  :D

« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2008, 02:36:50 PM »
plenty ah them fans insane and go kill yah .

« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2008, 02:41:40 PM »

plenty forumites insane and go kill yuh too
dat doh mean yuh wouldnt run ah lil ball wit dem ent?

« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2008, 02:49:55 PM »

true but u could take ah break leg from forever trini ,for he to say daiz part of d game nah nah .

« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2008, 03:10:43 PM »

true but u could take ah break leg from forever trini ,for he to say daiz part of d game nah nah .

ah know one man to stay away from when hard tackle passin ;D

« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2008, 03:17:16 PM »

All in all ah hope we go drink ah little after de game, diaz part of the game too right  :devil: :beermug:
« Last Edit: February 27, 2008, 03:21:39 PM by forever trini »

« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2008, 03:32:35 PM »
I am a big Flamengo fan. I saw some videos about them. Its totally crazy. That red and black hoops jersey and socks playing in the Maracana is toyally bombastic.I think most of their fans are in Brazil and as someone said it appears that most Brazilians abroad tend to like Flamengo. Right now they going thru a lean period, but slowly on the upswing.

« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2008, 05:59:20 PM »

ah know one man to stay away from when hard tackle passin ;D

Wha d  :rotfl: ...but daiz ah pretty tackle eh and clean too rite experts .No broken bones no hands just pure shouder ,ball still in the pic it was between his legs ,but it kept going while he stopped  :rotfl:.

« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2008, 07:36:43 PM »
VAI CORINTHIANS!!!!!  :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

« Reply #12 on: February 27, 2008, 08:06:53 PM »
I was a big Flamengo fan when dey use tuh show Brazilian ball regularly on TV in de early 80s. Zico and Junior was on de side when dey came to T&T IN 1982 to play ASL.