April 25, 2024, 04:00:25 AM

Author Topic: The Russell Latapy Story  (Read 7021 times)

Offline Pur_Trini

The Russell Latapy Story
« on: August 16, 2007, 05:53:15 AM »
I dunno if anybody post this before (I eh see it on de site) but a Falkirk fan do a real cool video called "The Russell Latapy Story" and put it on youtube.  Look it here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=74zTbGDNn8o

Real good video - it make mih heart swell wid pride.  We love yuh, Latas...... :beermug: :beermug:

« Last Edit: August 16, 2007, 06:52:23 AM by Tallman »
.........and may God bless our Nation.

Offline Pur_Trini

Re: Latas
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2007, 05:55:41 AM »
And for good measure, watch dem Falkirk boys real biggin' up Latas on dey forum

http://www.onefinfalkirk.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=15095
.........and may God bless our Nation.

« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2007, 06:10:56 AM »
bring tears to mi eyes yes...

1990 could have opened so many doors.

as ah see this clipi am wondering........ has there ever been a detailed documentary of latas.....with clips of his time in portugal

« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2007, 06:37:45 AM »
What ah way to start dis mornin, ah beg all who have de resources to geh ah latas clip together, all dat he has done on the field from 88 and before to now mus be compiled and archived, would be a treasure to any footballer, but especially younger ones comin up from TT, blessins

Re: The Russell Latapy Story
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2007, 06:54:39 AM »
All yuh know how to get man real emotional in de morning. Meh personal assistant rush in meh office to see why ah bawling so.....

growing up we did not have many positive role models to really aspire to be like. Latas (Big Magician for me too in music) gave us hope, to dream big dreams beyond the borders of our shores in a Tiny dot on the Globe.

Thanks Latas.....

(Lets honour de man and please doh ruin it by commenting on the 23 mins beenie give him)
The king has and is giving us a lifetime worth of memories.  :beermug:

« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2007, 06:59:42 AM »
the guy is pure class

« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2007, 07:00:04 AM »

.............A MILLION Thanks Latas.....

(Lets honour de man and please doh ruin it by commenting on the 23 mins beenie give him)
The king has and is giving us a lifetime worth of memories.  :beermug:

De DAMNED  corbeaux-sweat hadn't even flashed before my tear-filled eyes until you mentioned it!  Thanks ALOT!!  

« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2007, 07:04:02 AM »
Sorry Mango, that is de double edged sword I was wielding. But Big up to the King!

« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2007, 07:14:10 AM »
Russell De Great will live on in de hearts of ballers all around de world.I will not talk about de cobeaux. Can I talk bout beenhakker??  I guess not he either. Hip Hip hooray for de best footballer I ever know and undoubtedly an unsung hero who should be seated with the likes of Valdarama, Zidane, Ronaldhino, Ballack, Deco and so many others that I am sure would be happy to call this man dey friend.

« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2007, 08:02:02 AM »
I dunno if anybody post this before (I eh see it on de site) but a Falkirk fan do a real cool video called "The Russell Latapy Story" and put it on youtube.  Look it here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=74zTbGDNn8o

Real good video - it make mih heart swell wid pride.  We love yuh, Latas...... :beermug: :beermug:

Extreme....

Niceness!

I will never forget the support that the Scottish fans gave to TnT in Germany, a lot of that due to the respect earned by Latas, and the love he engendered in their hearts.  Great montage clip.

« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2007, 08:11:20 AM »
long live the king

...and thanks DCTRINI....to be mentioned in the same line with the King is quite an honour....

Offline Consultant

« Reply #11 on: August 16, 2007, 08:12:04 AM »
I have been thinking about getting a no. 10 'latapy' tt shirt for the longest while. I already have a 19 yorke, but after seeing this video - it reminded me why i wanted it in the first place.

a tribute to the magician......the unsung hero. :beermug:

« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2007, 08:24:50 AM »
man i too big to have tears welling up in meh eyes.de man is ah genius.

« Reply #13 on: August 16, 2007, 08:27:28 AM »
hear nah....i cant take this now nah..... i have real things to do........will we ever see another...i doubt

allyuh doh know nah....i moving to Falkirk...i have to see his last match...have to....

2 things...his TnT debut was versus St.Mirren   and he went to Porto "Then" Boavista....but well done to the Mitchell guy that did the DVD....

« Reply #14 on: August 16, 2007, 08:39:50 AM »
Words can't express.... This is real emotional stuff. What a blessing for the rest of the day!

« Reply #15 on: August 16, 2007, 09:48:14 AM »
A true Trinidadian icon.  Thanks for everything Latas.

« Reply #16 on: August 16, 2007, 09:52:09 AM »
I wish I could see his goal against Mexico again. It really doh have enough video of him online.

« Reply #17 on: August 16, 2007, 09:59:28 AM »
I am just angry that we were not able to see more of him locally....we not even gettin a chance to see him coach..although he has asked

« Reply #18 on: August 16, 2007, 10:24:59 AM »
nice documentary by that fella.  10 Long Live The King 10

Offline ANC2

« Reply #19 on: August 16, 2007, 11:30:57 AM »
Latapy was we genius. The type of player every Trini love, for me it is a shame he did not make a bigger impact on the World stage at a club level. It would have been nice to see him in the EPL, La Liga or Seria A. None the less  :applause: :notworthy:

« Reply #20 on: August 16, 2007, 11:38:52 AM »
Sorry Mango, that is de double edged sword I was wielding. But Big up to the King!

....and weild it you did, but, ah will GLADLY take the bad that came with the immeasurable good that is "LATAS", who is istill, to this day, one of the most humble, likeable and down-to-earth icons our country has ever produced..........apology accepted.  ;D  BIG UP LATAS! 

« Reply #21 on: August 16, 2007, 11:40:19 AM »
Hail to the Chief that is not for Bush and them is for Latas

« Reply #22 on: August 16, 2007, 12:52:02 PM »
Amazing stuff

Whatever happened to these documentaries:
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=28434.msg322627#msg322627

Starting on June 17 will be a special segment on Russell Latapy after Harm visited the player at Falkirk nearing the end of the season. There will also be features on Edwards as well as Jason Scotland and Marvin Andrews.

Did they air? Anyone have them recorded?

« Reply #23 on: August 16, 2007, 01:27:04 PM »
I only remember to watch the first 1. It have so much local channel now it hard to keep up. I remember to watch last Sun but it was the wrong station. This week I have to remember it is on Win Tv

« Reply #24 on: August 16, 2007, 01:33:18 PM »
Words can't describe the feeling nah....I will be watching this at least once ah week from now on  :beermug:

« Reply #25 on: August 16, 2007, 02:02:35 PM »
Nice compilation by the producer  :applause:...very well done

Imagine eh?, it take ah scot to put ah lil tribute to de man on de web....TTFF should get bombed

Offline scooby

« Reply #26 on: August 16, 2007, 06:08:02 PM »
big up to the producer of that video well done and thank you very much sir it brought tears to my eyes. Russell is a football genius and when he becomes coach of the soca warriors he will bring out the best in TnT footballers something which the present coach Wim can`t not do. Latas is the best we have ever produce not to take anything away from Dwight or any others but it is what it is latas is the boss .............................................

« Reply #27 on: August 16, 2007, 06:59:09 PM »

I will never forget the support that the Scottish fans gave to TnT in Germany, a lot of that due to the respect earned by Latas, and the love he engendered in their hearts.  Great montage clip.

and the rest of it due to their absolute hated for England...  ;D
« Last Edit: August 16, 2007, 07:01:19 PM by kicker »

« Reply #28 on: August 16, 2007, 07:46:40 PM »
Latas accomplish somethings but he lacked discipline in his youth and as a professional. He could have accomplished so much more but he allowed a lifstyle that was not always conducive to him always being a professional. Just like Gazza did. Could have been so much more. So if you are going to praise him think about how much better he could have been and missed opportunities due to his undiscipline and unprofessional behaviors.  I doh care who vex wit meh. Just look at the big picture not what makes you fel good.

« Reply #29 on: August 16, 2007, 08:40:04 PM »
What ah way to start dis mornin, ah beg all who have de resources to geh ah latas clip together, all dat he has done on the field from 88 and before to now mus be compiled and archived, would be a treasure to any footballer, but especially younger ones comin up from TT, blessins

You could believe I get cuss for saying something to this effect ?