March 28, 2024, 10:09:53 AM

Author Topic: MLS to annouce Philadelphia expansion  (Read 4471 times)

MLS to annouce Philadelphia expansion
« on: February 28, 2008, 01:08:44 PM »
MLS to annouce Philadelphia expansion
Feb 27, 3:59 pm EST

NEW YORK (Ticker) - Major League Soccer will on Thursday award its 16th franchise to the Philadelphia market.

The league has called a press conference for 2 p.m. ET in Chester, Pennsylvania, to make the announcement.

Joining MLS commissioner Don Garber at the event will be the new ownership group of the team, as well as Pennsylvania Governor Ed Rendell, who last month gave the bid a major boost by providing backing for a soccer-specific stadium to be built on the Chester waterfront.

Rendell committed $47 million of state money to a revitalization project worth around $500 million, with the stadium as a centerpiece.

Philadelphia had been battling St. Louis to become the league’s 16th city. Rendell’s announcement on January 31 appears to have been decisive in tipping the balance Philadelphia’s way.

During his State of the League address prior to the MLS Cup in November, Garber had said that, as it stood then, St. Louis was ahead in terms of its stadium proposal, but the league preferred the ownership setup in Chester. With the stadium plan now in place, Philadelphia’s bid has satisfied the league.

An added attraction of choosing Pennsylvania is the rivalries it can create. Both DC United and the New York Red Bulls are a relatively short distance away, which should quickly create additional fan interest.

The new team is likely to begin play in 2010, with the new stadium then ready for its second season.

MLS is expanding to 14 teams this season with the addition of the San Jose Earthquakes, while Seattle will join in 2009.

Garber has stated a desire to have 18 clubs in the league by 2011, with Miami hoping it can join alongside St. Louis in the next round of expansion.

Re: MLS to annouce Philadelphia expansion
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2008, 01:11:24 PM »
After years of supporting the New York team I will know support this team Chester is one of the poorest city in the US there’s a race track and casino this will be a great place to visit ever so often
« Last Edit: February 28, 2008, 01:13:07 PM by Bally »

« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2008, 02:00:05 PM »
After years of supporting the New York team I will know support this team Chester is one of the poorest city in the US there’s a race track and casino this will be a great place to visit ever so often
Yuh beat mih to dis.  DeSoWa whey yuh?

I go root fuh dem, but still pull fuh DC over any others.   I want this franchise tuh make it, plenty good soccer player in the state of PA and this will be one more option not only to see a MLS game or two...but maybe some national fixtures as well seeing that it will be a Soccer Only stadium.

Big up Rendell and the new mayor.

« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2008, 02:10:30 PM »

I go root fuh dem, but still pull fuh DC over any others.   I want this franchise tuh make it, plenty good soccer player in the state of PA and this will be one more option not only to see a MLS game or two...but maybe some national fixtures as well seeing that it will be a Soccer Only stadium.

Yeah, when ah saw it, ah think bout you one time...ah kinda surprise you were not first to it...guess you too busy with all dem battles u got going on here  :D

But ah happy for u guys...I am # 300 on the Seasoned ticket list here in Seattle  ;D  :beermug:

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2008, 02:11:26 PM »
good work philly. keep the expansion going mls...........

i was just thinking, but how come Miami aint have a team, i mean with the weather they have, all them soccer fields all over de place and d s.american and caribbean community being so stronge down dey i say them would of been one ah de first to have a team......i've seen a couple of the USL games dey play and most of d time they have a large turn out of support......
Glory, Glory MANUTD.

« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2008, 02:19:57 PM »
Would not mind making the trip up there, since I wukk in Philli sum times  ;D

I go be a die hard when they start pulling trinis 2 boot.

Miami had Miami Fusion but they folded...

I think Tallman or Supa could shed light (I think Supa or his family was good enough to play for dem or along them lines)

« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2008, 02:38:41 PM »
I don't understand why MLS dislike Florida so.

Miami Fusion didn't fold it was shut down by MLS.  Frankly a lot of the decision making at the Fusion off the field was poor which led to the poor state it had become but I still feel that with the proper management in place the Fusion still could have been a success and MLS were too quick to pull the plug.

The whole thing left me with plenty bad feeling towards MLS and I haven't followed any MLS team since.

« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2008, 02:53:43 PM »

Miami Fusion didn't fold it was shut down by MLS.  Frankly a lot of the decision making at the Fusion off the field was poor which led to the poor state it had become but I still feel that with the proper management in place the Fusion still could have been a success and MLS were too quick to pull the plug.

The whole thing left me with plenty bad feeling towards MLS and I haven't followed any MLS team since.

Florida also had the Tampa Bay Mutiny if i remember correctly, im sure south fl could sustain at least 1 mls team, especially now that the league is more popular

« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2008, 02:59:04 PM »

Yeah, when ah saw it, ah think bout you one time...ah kinda surprise you were not first to it...guess you too busy with all dem battles u got going on here  :D

But ah happy for u guys...I am # 300 on the Seasoned ticket list here in Seattle  ;D  :beermug:

De S/O ketch it on de news this morning and mention it to mih..ah say soon as ah get ah chance ah coming and post it.  Next thing yuh know I reach whey ah going and bury behind ah pile ah books whole day...in between peeping of course  :D

« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2008, 03:00:19 PM »

Florida also had the Tampa Bay Mutiny if i remember correctly, im sure south fl could sustain at least 1 mls team, especially now that the league is more popular

Yeah man SoFla had both the Fusion (with the baddest jersey's in MLS at de time) and the Tampa Bay Mutiny...Roy Lassiter ole team.  Was really sad and plenty surprised when both teams folded/were contracted.

« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2008, 03:19:59 PM »

Yeah man SoFla had both the Fusion (with the baddest jersey's in MLS at de time) and the Tampa Bay Mutiny...Roy Lassiter ole team.  Was really sad and plenty surprised when both teams folded/were contracted.

Wat happen now bakes, yuh did not like Mutiny Stripes (jersey) after all dem rebels like Valderama play fuh dem and not to mention a fella called Evans  ;D

« Reply #11 on: February 28, 2008, 03:31:41 PM »

I think Tallman or Supa could shed light (I think Supa or his family was good enough to play for dem or along them lines)

a go tell yuh part of the reason - they couldn't pull a crowd.

why? because they want to call demself miami fusion and play all de way in fricking lockhart stadium in ft. lauderdale.

their fanbase (de miami spanish) was in miami-dade county. back then (in the late 90s) the crew from dade didn't invde broward county yet (like they taking over now). we (i was living in north dade at the time) eh going all the way to broward (over 20 miles to the stadium) for no game.

i was disappointed when they put the team there. was planning to get season tix and all put then they put de team in blasted fort lauderdale. scheups.

« Reply #12 on: February 28, 2008, 03:36:06 PM »
That is a good move by the MLS. Kendal Walkes who coaching a West Chester would be delighted.

« Reply #13 on: February 28, 2008, 03:43:37 PM »

why? because they want to call demself miami fusion and play all de way in fricking lockhart stadium in ft. lauderdale.

their fanbase (de miami spanish) was in miami-dade county. back then (in the late 90s) the crew from dade didn't invde broward county yet (like they taking over now). we (i was living in north dade at the time) eh going all the way to broward (over 20 miles to the stadium) for no game.

i was disappointed when they put the team there. was planning to get season tix and all put then they put de team in blasted fort lauderdale. scheups.

I wasnt here in them days but i also think the times the games were scheduled might have been a problem.
lock hart is like 15 min from me now, i woulda real be liking myself.

« Reply #14 on: February 28, 2008, 04:31:11 PM »
The  year  Miami and tamper  get kicked out or dissolved which ever way they want to put it they were runs up in the MLS CUP Ray Hudson was the coach he would always say if he had only won the MLS cup it would have completely different. I’m looking forward to some good game in Philly they have good supporters and with every other team getting licks they mite jump on the band wagon 

« Reply #15 on: February 28, 2008, 04:40:59 PM »
Wait til dem footballers geh ah wif ah the air out dey! Jus think exit 13 off the NJ turnpike!

« Reply #16 on: February 28, 2008, 05:46:42 PM »
Wait til dem footballers geh ah wif ah the air out dey! Jus think exit 13 off the NJ turnpike!
what are you talking about Philly is south exit 3or 4 not sure what you mean by exit 13

« Reply #17 on: February 28, 2008, 06:45:52 PM »
what are you talking about Philly is south exit 3or 4 not sure what you mean by exit 13
It trying tuh say Philly smell like de refinery area off Exit 13.

Of all the times I visit Philly, especially the Delaware Ave./South St. areas where the stadium will be...I never smell anything foul, so me eh know what it trying to say.

« Reply #18 on: February 28, 2008, 06:51:38 PM »
Philly is my home So I will support any team from there..

OH PHILLY PHILLY , PHILLYS WHER I'M FROM

« Reply #19 on: February 28, 2008, 07:11:04 PM »
Chester is nowhere close to Delaware Ave or South street or a stone throw away from the city of Philadelphia, Chester is not located in Philadelphia County which is where the city is located. Chester possesses some of the most pollouted air around and has been known to pose a few health risk.

« Reply #20 on: February 28, 2008, 07:15:18 PM »

I don't think the people running the franchise had a clue.  Playing as the MIAMI Fusion is Ft Lauderdale ensured that they got little support from football fans in either city.  Rather than fix the problems MLS took the easy way out.

I don't how you could have a football league in the US and not have a team from Miami.

« Reply #21 on: February 28, 2008, 09:25:22 PM »
Chester is nowhere close to Delaware Ave or South street or a stone throw away from the city of Philadelphia, Chester is not located in Philadelphia County which is where the city is located. Chester possesses some of the most pollouted air around and has been known to pose a few health risk.

I lived in Chester for three year and work at a power plant there I never smell anything foul at your statement is need some kind of source with such a statement are these facts or opinion

« Reply #22 on: February 29, 2008, 12:32:55 PM »

I lived in Chester for three year and work at a power plant there I never smell anything foul at your statement is need some kind of source with such a statement are these facts or opinion

This article documents some of the health issues related to Chester, they are things that have been spoken about for many years. I was exposed to the issues due to my education, occupation and those I have interacted with. Today attempts are being made to undo and or limit the damage that has been done. It does not mean the problems I sated do not exist.

Environmental Racism in Chester
by Mike Ewall, Campus Coalition Concerning Chester (C-4)

The worst case of environmental racism he's ever seen. This was the reaction of Charles Lee, chairperson of the National Environmental Justice Advisory Committee to the Environmental Protection Agency. Mr. Lee has been active in Environmental Justice issues for over 17 years. He was talking about the city of Chester, Pennsylvania.
Residing in Delaware County, just 15 miles southwest of Philadelphia, Chester is home to 43,000 residents and one of the largest collections of waste facilities in the country. Sixty-five percent of Chester residents are African-American as are 95% of residents in neighborhoods closest to the facilities. The poverty rate lies at 25%, which is 3 times the national average.

The largest garbage-burning incinerator in the state (and the 7th largest in the nation) is located directly across the street from residential houses in Chester's west end. The incinerator was originally operated by Westinghouse, but was turned over to American Ref-Fuel in early 1997. Over half of the waste burned there is from out of state and comes from New York, New Jersey, Maryland and Delaware as well as from all over Pennsylvania. The plant has had several air emissions and odor violations but few penalties have been assessed by the state. In 1993, a highly radioactive pellet of Cesium-137 was lost. The community wasn't notified until many months after the fact. The pellet was either vaporized in the incinerator or melted down in the steel plant of one of Westinghouse's contractors. This means that it's either in the air and ash from the incinerator or is now a part of the metal consumer products that were manufactured by Lukens Steel Co. No fines were assessed.

Literally next door to the incinerator lies the largest infectious and chemotherapeutic medical waste autoclave in the nation, Thermal Pure Systems. The plant, recently resold, has been shut down for a few years now and Thermal Pure has been near bankruptcy. While operating, Thermal Pure brought in about three times the amount of medical waste as is produced in the state of Pennsylvania. Waste was trucked in, sterilized and shipped back out to a landfill near Harrisburg. While operating, it wasn't unusual to find medical waste lying in the grass outside the boundaries of the plant, where children are free to play. Multiple workers at the plant have been stabbed by needles while handling the waste. Some have been fired after the incidents, leaving the workers with recurring rashes and other health problems that medical personnel cannot identify. In one case, the worker's wife divorced him for fear of being infected by him.

In July 1995, Thermal Pure left 33 trucks of medical waste sit, unrefrigerated, in the baking sun for 4 days. Legally, they are only allowed to leave such waste in those conditions for 24 hours. Also against regulations, Thermal Pure failed to notify the state Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) that they had a shutdown. When residents notified the Department, officials claimed that trucks could not be moved because doing so might constitute a health hazard.

Only a stone's throw away from the Thermal Pure plant lies the DELCORA sewage treatment facility. DELCORA treats about 90% of the sewage from Delaware County, but this only accounts for 20% of their capacity. The other 80% comes from local industries in Chester, like the Sunoco and British Petroleum (now Tosco) refineries which span the western horizon and from Scott Paper and Witco Chemical. This highly toxic industrial sludge is then burned in DELCORA's sludge incinerator, releasing many pollutants, including high levels of arsenic which the EPA found to be at unsafe levels in the community. Sludge from 3 other county sewage plants is also sent to be burned in DELCORA's incinerator.

As if this weren't enough, Chester is also home to many other chemical companies, hospital incinerators, trash transfer stations, and hazardous waste treatment facilities. Just east of Chester lies PECO Energy's Eddystone coal plant and on the west side lies the Marcus Hook refineries and more chemical companies.

In recent years, two new companies have proposed to bring contaminated soil into Chester. Soil Remediation Services (SRS) and Cherokee Environmental Group planned to treat 900 and 960 tons per day, respectively; the first burning the soil and releasing the pollution into Chester's air, the second using a bio-remediation technology. Thankfully, SRS's air pollution permit expired in November, 1996, effectively killing the project unless they reapply.

One might think that these two largest plants (American Ref-Fuel and Thermal Pure) were part of the same company, due to their close proximity to one another. In a way, they are. The citizens group, Chester Residents Concerned for Quality Living (CRCQL or "circle") figured out, about 2 years after being formed in 1992, that there is one company connected to a string of facilities bringing waste to Chester. Careful research uncovered that the land under the American Ref-Fuel and Thermal Pure plants, as well as the LCA Leasing trash transfer station, a rock crushing plant, and the proposed SRS soil burner is owned by the investment firm, Russell, Rea, and Zappala (RR&Z), based in Pittsburgh. Corporate officers, Andrew Russell and Donald Rea serve as executive officers of some of these various facilities. Officer Charles Zappala's older brother, Stephen Zappala, serves as a Supreme Court justice in Pennsylvania. This came in handy when the Chester residents took Thermal Pure to court for taking over 10 times what is allowed by law (although DEP gave them a permit for this volume). When the citizens won this suit, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court used an archaic law called King's Bench Rule to use their power to overturn the lower court's ruling, allowing the facility to run again.

So does all of this constitute racism? Is it just a matter of classism, where poor communities tend to end up with most of society's waste?

Many studies have shown that waste facilities (particularly hazardous and nuclear waste facilities) tend to be located in communities of color, above and beyond class considerations. When factoring out the economic class of a community, race is still shown to be a significant factor. Middle class communities of color will end up with more waste facilities than poor white communities tend to.

The CRCQL office has been broken into twice, coinciding with the group's involvement with opposition to RR&Z's plants. Once the walls inside their office were magic-markered with graffiti, including "KKK." Threats and obscenities have been left on the group's answering machine. Activists routinely fine their tires slashed or must deal with other acts of intimidation. These types of harassment are typically not felt by white environmental groups.

Chester has a zoning ordinance that is the first of its kind in the nation, banning industrial facilities from doing business in Chester unless they can prove that they will not create a net increase in pollution. Ogborne's plans clearly violate this ordinance, yet the DEP is considering granting them a permit, anyway. The Soil Remediation Services plant (to be built on the RR&Z trash complex) was permitted by the DEP in 1995, even though the permit violated the unenforced ordinance as well. Unfortunately, this ordinance has been weakened in recent years by the city government and has gone unenforced.

Fed up with the DEP's complicity with industry and lack of enforcement in Chester, CRCQL sued the state in May, 1996 for environmental racism under the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Since the DEP receives money from the federal EPA, they must comply with a rule stating that they "shall not use criteria or methods of administering its program which have the effect of subjecting individuals to discrimination because of their race, color, national origin, or sex." The lawsuit contends that the state of Pennsylvania discriminated against the black community when the DEP did not consider the racial makeup of Chester or the number of existing facilities when permitting the city's 5th waste treatment plant. This is the first lawsuit of its kind. Two previous suits in Michigan and in North Carolina were against single facilities rather than a group of them.

The lawsuit, while still in the courts, has provided pressure on DEP for them to prove that they aren't systematically approving any waste facility targeted for Chester. In October, 1997 (CRCQL's 5th year anniversary), DEP denied a permit to Cherokee for their proposed contaminated soil bioremediation plant. This is the first time that DEP denied a pollution permit to a corporation targeting Chester. The official reasons for their denial depended heavily on corporate non-compliance history exposed by citizen activists.

On average, since CRCQL's inception, one new polluter per year has proposed to build a plant in Chester. Earlier in 1997, CRCQL defeated a proposed pet crematorium. Combined with the defeat of both proposed soil remediation plants, this represents three defeated facilities in the span of a year. 1997 also brought the aforementioned legal victory and a settlement with the DELCORA sludge plant. The DELCORA settlement requires extensive plant improvements and also will fund a new children's lead poisoning prevention program in the community. Despite this banner year of victories, the community must still fight the newly proposed expansion of the Ogborne plant and plans by the American Ref-Fuel incinerator to expand their waste storage capacity and to burn more hazardous types of waste.

In February 1996, students from Delaware County's Swarthmore College held a conference about environmental racism in Chester. Close to 60 students from 15 universities spanning 5 states attended. By the end of the weekend, the Campus Coalition Concerning Chester or "C-4" was born. C-4 members have brought protests to the headquarters of the RR&Z firm in Pittsburgh, against the DEP and State Capital on Earth Day '96, and against the Delaware State Solid Waste Authority (for sending most of their state's waste to the single Westinghouse plant in Chester). C-4 has helped the Chester residents with research, computer and technical support, lobbying for environmental justice legislation, door-to-door canvassing in Chester, and increased awareness on campuses. Schools that are sending garbage or medical waste to Chester are focusing on waste prevention and recycling on their campuses. C-4 has also set up webpages on the Internet explaining what's going on in Chester. Some schools have helped by bringing Zulene Mayfield, chairwoman of the Chester Residents Concerned for Quality Living to their schools and having her speak to their students.

Students at Drexel University have done an excellent documentary on Chester called "Laid to Waste - A Chester community fights for its future." It's 52 minutes long and has aired on PBS. It functions as a great education tool in the classroom and in presentations to groups. It has been helpful in getting African-American and anti-racism groups involved in this issue. For information on how you or your students can become involved in the Chester campaign or with the Student Environmental Action Coalition (SEAC) from which it grew, contact:

Mike Ewall catalyst@actionpa.org; 215-743-4884

C-4 has a web page at: http://www.ejnet.org/chester/

Reprinting permission is granted to anyone wanting to help stop environmental racism in Chester.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sidebar:
90% of all toxic releases in Delaware County are from Chester area sources
Chester has the highest infant mortality rate in the state (more than double that of Delaware County)
The highest percentage of low-weight births in Pennsylvania is in Chester (almost double that of Delaware County)
Chester's mortality rate and lung cancer mortality rate are 60% higher than those of Delaware County 60% of the children in Chester had unacceptably high levels of lead in their blood

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Return to the Chester Articles Homepage
Return to the Environmental Racism in Chester Homepage
Last modified: 23 July 1999

http://www.ejnet.org/chester/ewall_article.html

« Last Edit: February 29, 2008, 12:38:50 PM by giggsy11 »

« Reply #23 on: February 29, 2008, 02:34:31 PM »
Too much free time : Remedy is To go to Croatia and give aloo pie, drop bombs, find a slovac, take in de sights, walk through a mine field etc....

on a serious note:-

Wonder what the Phila, phila, Philadelphia's team go be name??? Since there is already the Philadelphia Kixx..
« Last Edit: February 29, 2008, 02:49:51 PM by forever trini »

« Reply #24 on: February 29, 2008, 02:38:17 PM »

Wonder what the Phila, phila, Philadelphia's team go be name??? Since there is already the Philadelphia Kixx..

Ah hear it might be the Phillly Independents...

« Reply #25 on: February 29, 2008, 03:30:51 PM »
Too much free time : Remedy is To go to Croatia and give aloo pie, drop bombs, find a slovac, take in de sights, walk through a mine field etc....

Not really, ah had second thoughts about even postin about it because ah really didn't feel like geh tin into no ole talk. But say wah what has been done has been done!
Ah wish dem well in their endeavors.

« Reply #26 on: February 29, 2008, 03:47:11 PM »

Not really, ah had second thoughts about even postin about it because ah really didn't feel like geh tin into no ole talk. But say wah what has been done has been done!
Ah wish dem well in their endeavors.

No scene bredda  ;) Good read though  8)

« Reply #27 on: February 29, 2008, 07:45:26 PM »

Ah hear it might be the Phillly Independents...

gawd...dem shitty eh? lol