March 28, 2024, 07:02:14 PM

Author Topic: Post ah movie thread  (Read 275214 times)

Re: Post ah movie thread
« Reply #1200 on: July 29, 2013, 05:55:15 AM »
Dred... escrima is a weapons-based artform, two bamboo sticks.  There are empty-handed defensive techniques and counter strikes but it is primarily a two-stick artform.  In the scene where Bourne is encountered by two French cops, he uses the escrima defenses and counters.  That is essentially it.  Throughout the movie and in all of the subsequent sequels is primarily Krav Maga he using... I eh care what Wikipedia say... I telling yuh dat is Krav Maga... this was the film that put it on the map and Casino Royale/Quantum of Solace/Skyfall, along with the two Takens continue in fashion making it the trendy martial artform in Hollywood these days.

dred wah ah go tell yuh......d fight choreographer say so heself on video no less......and he certainly didn't let on that Krav was d foundation upon which they built .....they generally tend to blend many styles anyways

and I am well aware that kali generally is stick fighting, but I have seen it fought without the sticks and looks alot like krav 360 defense, so it would be very easy to see only krav IMO.

as for wikipedia well......diaz why ah say "I know I know"
« Last Edit: July 29, 2013, 06:28:23 AM by lefty »

« Reply #1201 on: August 02, 2013, 12:41:03 PM »
The Colony - good build up, extremely anti climatic ending.
Thank God I watch a download and didn't pay to see it. I mighta cuss for such a tame ending. Is only with about five minutes to go, I realize the movie really going to end.

Woverine - not bad. Expected more in the ending. But then again anything associated with the X Men or Comic Heroes these days, you have to have a helluva climax.

The fight scene at the funeral and on top of the train was good. So was the sword play at the end.

SPOILER ALERT
- but how the hell nobody question the father stopping the girl from helping his daughter during the fight scene, worse yet, he just stand up and watch while other ppl try to help her.

Finally took in Dark Shadow. Damn Johnny Depp could act.
The scene where he see a car and then a tv for the first time had me in stitches.
the man see the car headlights coming down the road and thought it was the Devil coming for him yes. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #1202 on: August 02, 2013, 01:17:31 PM »
I think I wrote about Dark Shadows last year... I loved it, Johnny Depp is a boss.  It got panned though, and didn't do well at the Box Office.

« Reply #1203 on: August 02, 2013, 01:19:17 PM »
I think I wrote about Dark Shadows last year... I loved it, Johnny Depp is a boss.  It got panned though, and didn't do well at the Box Office.

Yes, you did talk about it. I remembered your post and from what I can remember you were dead on.

I nearly dead when the man see Karen Carpenter on TV and thought it was a witch and attack the TV.  :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #1204 on: August 02, 2013, 03:29:15 PM »

Yes, you did talk about it. I remembered your post and from what I can remember you were dead on.

I nearly dead when the man see Karen Carpenter on TV and thought it was a witch and attack the TV.  :rotfl: :rotfl:

I just watch it again two weeks ago... and have it saved on the DVR to watch again.  High comedy... without even trying too hard.

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #1205 on: August 02, 2013, 04:17:13 PM »

I loved that movie also.  Boss movie.  :beermug:
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #1206 on: August 13, 2013, 08:01:23 PM »
The Iceman starring Michael Shannon.
Damn good film. Look for Shannon to get an Oscar nomination.

Shocked by the following:
Movie was made for only 10 millio, co starring Wyona Ryder and Ray Liotta.
Grossed less than 2 million.
Shannon is only 39.

« Reply #1207 on: August 14, 2013, 09:25:46 AM »
took in elysium last night, it was average, i find too many movies are using that dystopian future with segregated communities.

i like neil and what he did with district 9, it kinda felt like district 9 all over again but that was the problem...

« Reply #1208 on: August 14, 2013, 09:31:04 PM »
The Iceman starring Michael Shannon.
Damn good film. Look for Shannon to get an Oscar nomination.

Shocked by the following:
Movie was made for only 10 millio, co starring Wyona Ryder and Ray Liotta.
Grossed less than 2 million.
Shannon is only 39.

Michael Shannon is an absolute boss in Boardwalk Empire. 
His is the best character on the show.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #1209 on: August 15, 2013, 11:18:18 AM »
I watched the movie "Accepted"...it had me cracking up. 

Saw it around 2006 when it first came out and found it hilarious, and still found it just as funny when I caught it again the other day.   If you haven't seen this one as yet, it's good for quite a few laughs. 
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #1210 on: August 15, 2013, 11:26:54 AM »
I caught the trailer for the movie "BAD GRANPA" the other day --- it looking real hilarious.  I still can't get over the scene towards to end of the trailer...the damn thing had me on the floor in tears laughing.  :rotfl:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tctgUr147zA
« Last Edit: August 15, 2013, 04:01:08 PM by OutsideMan »

« Reply #1211 on: August 21, 2013, 09:49:23 PM »
Anyone see "The Butler"?

« Reply #1212 on: August 23, 2013, 04:14:05 PM »
Anyone see "The Butler"?

Yeah - I thought it was weak; could have been a lot better.

« Reply #1213 on: August 23, 2013, 06:22:15 PM »
Anyone see "The Butler"?

I thought it was only me. Still an important movie for documentation and for having it Black made . . .  but I expected more.
Except for the opening scene, I wasn't moved as you'd expect. Forrest Whitaker was outstanding as usual, though.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2013, 09:09:46 PM by Cocorite »

« Reply #1214 on: August 28, 2013, 03:38:33 PM »

Frozen Ground, based on a true story. Good film.

Make sure to watch after the end. Had a sobering effect on me.

« Reply #1215 on: August 28, 2013, 09:56:56 PM »
Anyone see "The Butler"?

I thought it was only me. Still an important movie for documentation and for having it Black made . . .  but I expected more.
Except for the opening scene, I wasn't moved as you'd expect. Forrest Whitaker was outstanding as usual, though.

http://movies.yahoo.com/blogs/movie-talk/president-obama-tears-during-lee-daniels-butler-163908974.html

« Reply #1216 on: September 07, 2013, 04:05:31 PM »
12 Years A Slave getting real hype at TIFF. Check it out. Chwitel is a fantastic actor.

« Reply #1217 on: September 07, 2013, 10:17:50 PM »
Fast and Furious 6 has some ludicrous action. Everybody doin superman jumps!
It was fun to watch though.

« Reply #1218 on: September 08, 2013, 05:10:48 AM »
Fast and Furious 6 has some ludicrous action. Everybody doin superman jumps!
It was fun to watch though.

Boy it was amazing even by James Bond standards.

I refused to watch any of the FF movies after the first one becz I thought how much more can they do with a car.
Well I was wrong. FF 5 and 6 was good so I go go back to ketch 2-4.

« Reply #1219 on: September 08, 2013, 12:23:04 PM »
Boy it was amazing even by James Bond standards.

I refused to watch any of the FF movies after the first one becz I thought how much more can they do with a car.
Well I was wrong. FF 5 and 6 was good so I go go back to ketch 2-4.

I saw 1 and 2, liked them enough but didn't think the story progression and the trailers from Tokyo Drift was enough to keep my interest.  4 barely even register.  Saw the trailer for 5 and the inclusion of the Rock, plus the whole Brazil storyline was enough to pique my interest.  Best of the series in my book.  6 was a very close second, the chase scene on the Spanish highway is boss.

« Reply #1220 on: September 09, 2013, 01:34:36 PM »
when "12 years a slave" comes out, check it out, Steve McQueen, another brilliant Director of West Indian heritage making a mark in Hollywood...

« Reply #1221 on: September 11, 2013, 12:59:29 PM »
when "12 years a slave" comes out, check it out, Steve McQueen, another brilliant Director of West Indian heritage making a mark in Hollywood...

Yes, I heard it got, excellent, excellent reviews. And it has Benedict Cumberbatch in it which just settles the matter for me.

« Reply #1222 on: September 14, 2013, 04:59:54 PM »
May have posted this before.

Rebound - the legend of Earl the Goat Manigault.

I doh follow basketball but it's a helluva story. So many fellas like this in every sport.
Full movie here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMPJouBxk0M

« Reply #1223 on: November 08, 2013, 08:43:50 AM »
Thor was great! And of course there are the traditional post-credits scenes.

« Reply #1224 on: November 08, 2013, 09:56:47 PM »
12 Years a Slave

Powerful Movie.
Chiwetel Ejiofor, Michael Fassbender and Lupita Nyong'o stand out.
Steve McQueen has made a masterpiece.

I needed a drink after it was done though, it never lets you get comfortable.

« Reply #1225 on: November 09, 2013, 09:44:03 AM »
I thought 12 years a slave rang kind of hollow...I wasn't moved by it; it was very disjointed...kind of all over the place.

« Reply #1226 on: November 09, 2013, 10:46:05 AM »
I thought 12 years a slave rang kind of hollow...I wasn't moved by it; it was very disjointed...kind of all over the place.

that is an interesting take, care to share why?

I was speaking to guy after I saw it and he said it didn't hit him, i told him the reason he felt that way was because he expected to see justice at the end, but in reality Solomon didn't receive it, so mcqueen chose to highlight his reuniting with his family as the climax/resolve..

maybe some were expecting a more hollywood ending, steve is not that director, he doesn't adhere to the hollywood twist and formula... he goes with feel and realism.. i personally loved the brutality he showed and the fact he didn't hold back.. the acting was superb, CE, fassbender, the young Lupita... the cinematography i also liked...

if you didn't like hunger or shame, then you're probably not into his style of directing... it's not for everyone.. i personally think he's an upcoming top Director in Hollywood...

« Reply #1227 on: November 10, 2013, 11:17:26 PM »

that is an interesting take, care to share why?

I was speaking to guy after I saw it and he said it didn't hit him, i told him the reason he felt that way was because he expected to see justice at the end, but in reality Solomon didn't receive it, so mcqueen chose to highlight his reuniting with his family as the climax/resolve..

maybe some were expecting a more hollywood ending, steve is not that director, he doesn't adhere to the hollywood twist and formula... he goes with feel and realism.. i personally loved the brutality he showed and the fact he didn't hold back.. the acting was superb, CE, fassbender, the young Lupita... the cinematography i also liked...

if you didn't like hunger or shame, then you're probably not into his style of directing... it's not for everyone.. i personally think he's an upcoming top Director in Hollywood...

It wasn't any of those things, I jut wasn't as moved as I expected to be and the story did not flow smoothly together and rang hoollow - kind of like they were trying to hard - it just felt exaggerated, not "real".

« Reply #1228 on: November 10, 2013, 11:22:36 PM »
Has anyone ever watched this documentary?

"Salute"
http://www.snagfilms.com/films/title/salute#!

Saw this on Netflix. Some good insight into what went on during that time.

I think they should have included Norman as part of the statue on campus.

« Reply #1229 on: November 17, 2013, 11:55:29 PM »
The Best Man Holiday was boss... my personal bias (I know the writer/director personally) aside.  There were a couple cliched moments, and a couple eye rollers in the movie, requiring a bit of a suspension of reality for a minute... but overall the movie was well-written, well-acted and well-directed. In short... it WORKED!

I loved that there was such depth to the characters this time around... much more multi-dimensional, Harper (Taye Diggs) and Lance (Mo' Chestnut) in particular were incredibly conceptualized, written and acted. Even the football scenes were realistic. I loved the arc that the characters travelled these past 14 years.

As much as Monica Calhoun's, Mia was perhaps my least favorite character in the original, this time around she was central to the storyline, and MC did an amazing job mining the rollercoaster of emotions the character understandably travels. I haven't always loved Lee'scommercial efforts, But he has restored my faith in black film, after a decade of being subjected to the typical fare offered by say, Tyler Perry.