April 18, 2024, 05:49:15 PM

Author Topic: Post ah movie thread  (Read 276893 times)

Re: Post ah movie thread
« Reply #150 on: February 17, 2009, 01:58:49 AM »
Connery is Bond.  End of story. 

Moore was a decent stand in... but he was no different from his Simon Templar persona... except with the concomitant Licensed to Kill.

Dalton was an underrated replacement... is an underrated actor, period.

Brosnan was the absolute worst... a total waste.  I was thrilled when he was selected, nobody better personified the dashing, debonair, vagabond renaissance man more than he did.  But he flopped in the role... and to be honest, he was plagued with horrible writing.

Daniel Craig is the most realistic Bond.  Sean Connery, because of his talent, personality and the particularities of the period may edge Craig in my book, but in terms of embodying what an international state assassin, double-agent realistically should be... the role as re-written in Casino Royale (incidentally, the first in Fleming's Bond books) was perfectly updated for the contemporary world... and Craig was perfectly matched for the role.

Still haven't seen Quantum of Solace though... that getting done soon as ah find some time.

« Reply #151 on: February 17, 2009, 07:59:00 AM »

I didn't see this one yet but I hear plenty people was disappointed when comparing it to Casino Royale. Red flag for me because because I didn't find CR as good as everybody else.

people like CR because u got to see bond as a "bad ass", some suggest that that's what Flemming truly intended, cant say for sure , never read any of the books, but, besides Connery and maybe Dalton no one has really filled that billing until Craig.

Yeah I didn't have a problem with Craig, damn good Bond IMO but the movie itself was a disappointment. Good opening and middle but from the time the torture scenes ended I feel the movie was meandering. I guess now that it was to set up QOS and was probably a part of the book but it seemed that it was just an unnecessary 30 minutes added on to the movie after the dramatic climax.

Incidentally another book adaptation that gave that feeling was the LOTR-Return of teh King. A full 20 minutes after the destruction or Sauron trying to tell some of teh stories that occurred in the book after that point. It wasn't afithful because they couldn't capture everything that happened after so why bother. For movie goers it was just having them sit through multiple endings long after the "story" was done.

« Reply #152 on: February 19, 2009, 09:37:24 PM »
underworld,rise of the lycans was ah pack ah tata.

« Reply #153 on: February 20, 2009, 03:06:14 AM »

Oh gawd... doh say so.  ah vex  :rotfl:

Saw Lakeview Terrace... decent flick.  Ending was weak.

Samuel Jackson plays this overbearing nutty cop who lives next door to an interracial couple (Kerry Washington and some white fella) who are new to the neighborhood.  All manner of disturbed psychopathy manifest themselves in Sam's character but these airheads either pawn it off as something else or juss indulging him in he nonsense.

One final act takes the madness too far and Sam's character finds himself on the brink of losing everything... including he sanity and he po-po job.  He reacts the way any sane person would... he decides to kill everybody, lol... needless to say this one doesn't end well for him.

It have ah young ting playing he daughter... lawd... what ah nice chocolate smallie.  Ah was shame tuh be peeping she bamsee and tot tots in de bathing suit 'cause in de movie she's only 15.  Ah was on mih way upstairs tuh pray fuh forgiveness fuh mih sinful toughts about de young ting when ah stopped by mih computer and discovered on IMDB dat smallie (Regine Nehy) is 20.  Mih thoughts still immoral, but at least they ent illegal anymore... mih career safe  :rotfl:

« Reply #154 on: February 20, 2009, 08:36:31 AM »
nah i eh know bout de daughter but washington sweet,she was in little man with de wayans.

« Reply #155 on: February 20, 2009, 10:22:44 AM »

Better dan de first 2 or 3 wait I lost count.....

« Reply #156 on: February 20, 2009, 05:41:18 PM »
changeling with angelina was absolute class.eastwood is really ah genius.ah must see............ah soundin like siskel and ebert.

« Reply #157 on: March 07, 2009, 08:22:38 PM »
Nah lycans was a bess flick...when the man shoot the two arrow and graze the helmet...dat is action scene dey.

I really really enjoyed slum dog millionaire...is long time i ent see a feel good show so.

Lake view terrace was upsetting...I was annoyed in the show.

« Reply #158 on: March 15, 2009, 06:15:31 PM »
We watched "Australia" last night
Was VERY VERY surprised with the movie

That actor, Brandon Walters, who played Bullah should have got an oscar for sure
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #159 on: March 15, 2009, 07:35:58 PM »

That actor, Brandon Walters, who played Bullah should have got an oscar for sure
not really ah kidman fan,last movie i saw with her was cold mountain.boss flim.

« Reply #160 on: March 15, 2009, 07:38:12 PM »

not really ah kidman fan,last movie i saw with her was cold mountain.boss flim.
yeah I am not a fan of her's either but this movie I Highly recommend
there was Lots of aboriginal stuff that I did not know about
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #161 on: March 16, 2009, 09:49:47 AM »
seven pounds i thought was good, gospel hill, the lucky ones also was good :beermug:

« Reply #162 on: March 17, 2009, 07:46:20 AM »
saw tropic thunder last nite,was ok.story line was crap but funny as hell.tom cruise was de hardest.

« Reply #163 on: March 17, 2009, 09:33:28 AM »
Tropic Thunder was REAL funny.

1.All scenes with Tom Cruise.
2.Downey Jr.'s quips as a black man
3.Booty Sweat man want to ask Lance out on a date and drug addict jack black ready to do anyting for him if he will untie him
4.The demolitions expert

That movie was boss.

RocknRolla was good too.
The rocker character was real good but he's a copy of turkish from Lock Stock and 2 Smoking Barrels.
Ah mean Turkish from Snatch.  My bad.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2009, 09:16:36 AM by Peong »

« Reply #164 on: March 17, 2009, 10:51:25 AM »
I really enjoy Tropic Thnder. I just watch supabad (funny no arse). Max Payne (I don't know what to say) Transporter 3(not bad, decent) and Midnight Meat Train(Check it out, it was good).
« Last Edit: March 17, 2009, 06:46:22 PM by pass(10trini) »

« Reply #165 on: March 17, 2009, 12:41:06 PM »
I really enjoy Tropic Thnder. I just watch supabad (funny no arse). Max Payne (I don't know what to say) Transporter 3(not bad, descent) and Midnight Meat Train(Check it out, it was good).
midnite meat train soundin like ah blues

« Reply #166 on: March 17, 2009, 06:45:30 PM »
I really enjoy Tropic Thnder. I just watch supabad (funny no arse). Max Payne (I don't know what to say) Transporter 3(not bad, descent) and Midnight Meat Train(Check it out, it was good).
midnite meat train soundin like ah blues

Nah is real gruesome killing. The guy from Condemned who was Stone Cold's nemesis played the part good.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2009, 07:24:47 AM by pass(10trini) »

« Reply #167 on: March 18, 2009, 12:45:47 AM »
I really enjoy Tropic Thnder. I just watch supabad (funny no arse). Max Payne (I don't know what to say) Transporter 3(not bad, decent) and Midnight Meat Train(Check it out, it was good).

Super Bad was funny... but Role Models was funnier.  "McLovin' " from Super Bad was in it, along with Sean William Scott, from those American Pie movies.... along with "America's Funniest Doctor"... Ken Jeong.

Good stuff.

Motor Cycle Diaries was a boss flick... finally watched it.

« Reply #168 on: March 18, 2009, 07:21:04 AM »

Super Bad was funny... but Role Models was funnier.  "McLovin' " from Super Bad was in it, along with Sean William Scott, from those American Pie movies.... along with "America's Funniest Doctor"... Ken Jeong.

Good stuff.

Role Models, Motor Cycle Diaries. I will put these on my list.

« Reply #169 on: March 18, 2009, 07:24:04 AM »

Good stuff.

supabad was damn good,mc lovin is de hardest.role models i will takeen soon,that lil fella look bad fuh days.

« Reply #170 on: March 18, 2009, 07:31:16 AM »
I see Touches mention LakeView Terrace. That was some serious acting from Samuel. A lot of the parts in that Movie was hard to digest. Is longtime I eh feel so uncomfortable in a movie.

« Reply #171 on: March 18, 2009, 08:15:31 AM »
I see Touches mention LakeView Terrace. That was some serious acting from Samuel. A lot of the parts in that Movie was hard to digest. Is longtime I eh feel so uncomfortable in a movie.

Lakeview Terrace was weak...

Samuel Jackson plays this overbearing nutty cop who lives next door to an interracial couple (Kerry Washington and some white fella) who are new to the neighborhood.  All manner of disturbed psychopathy manifest themselves in Sam's character but these airheads either pawn it off as something else or juss indulging him in he nonsense.

One final act takes the madness too far and Sam's character finds himself on the brink of losing everything... including he sanity and he po-po job.  He reacts the way any sane person would... he decides to kill everybody, lol... needless to say this one doesn't end well for him.

It have ah young ting playing he daughter... lawd... what ah nice chocolate smallie.  Ah was shame tuh be peeping she bamsee and tot tots in de bathing suit 'cause in de movie she's only 15.  Ah was on mih way upstairs tuh pray fuh forgiveness fuh mih sinful toughts about de young ting when ah stopped by mih computer and discovered on IMDB dat smallie (Regine Nehy) is 20.  Mih thoughts still immoral, but at least they ent illegal anymore... mih career safe  :rotfl:

« Reply #172 on: March 18, 2009, 10:14:52 AM »
Yeh Role Models is good ting. Is a guy comedy, real dotish kicks and some eye candy thrown in.

« Reply #173 on: March 18, 2009, 09:28:48 PM »

Lakeview Terrace was weak...

You eh easy.  :rotfl:

I wasn't impressed with the darkie too much. 

« Reply #174 on: March 19, 2009, 12:51:45 PM »
Ex-mobster of 'Goodfellas' fame wanted in Calif.
SAN BERNARDINO, Calif. – A mobster-turned-FBI informant whose life inspired the movie "Goodfellas" is wanted for failing to appear in court on tickets alleging he was drunk in public in San Bernardino.

Henry Hill, 65, faces two $25,000 arrest warrants. He says he wasn't aware he needed to be present in court Wednesday and had asked for a new hearing date because he was having hernia surgery.

"I was hoping the court would understand," Hill told The Press-Enterprise of Riverside from his San Fernando Valley home.

The cases stem from two public intoxication arrests in May 2008. Hill said he was in alcohol rehabilitation at the time.

Hill was again arrested in Los Angeles earlier this year and released before his arraignment because of jail crowding.

"I don't remember much of all that, but I've been sober a month now," he told the newspaper. "I don't want to drink anymore."

The "Goodfellas" movie ends with Hill, played by Ray Liotta, entering federal witness protection after implicating fellow mobsters in murders and the 1978 heist of $5.8 million in cash from a Lufthansa Airlines vault in New York.

Drug arrests led to Hill being removed from the federal program in the early 1990s.

« Reply #175 on: March 23, 2009, 11:19:08 AM »
Mall Cop was utter la la.

I ent get one chuckle...I vex I waste $10 to watch this. 

« Reply #176 on: March 23, 2009, 11:39:45 AM »
Mall Cop was utter la la.

I ent get one chuckle...I vex I waste $10 to watch this. 
fuh real,kevin james dissappoint meh in this one

« Reply #177 on: March 23, 2009, 01:37:45 PM »
DON'T WASTE ALLURE MONEY ON "WATCHMEN''  that movie was ah pack ah sh*t..... ''Race to Witch Mountain'' is ah ok movie for kids.

« Reply #178 on: March 23, 2009, 01:40:07 PM »
Taken was a more than decent movie..

i was interested to see how Liam Neeson would work in a cold hearted kinda role but i think he did a pretty good job. some of the gunplay was a lil unbelievable, like ah man spray bullets at him while he not looking and miss.. but all in all, an enjoyable film.

that human trafficking scene is really something else yes.
Good movie. It's crazy how people does really traffic other people in this day and age.

« Reply #179 on: March 26, 2009, 11:23:44 AM »
'Three Stooges' coming together at MGM
Wed Mar 25, 2009, 02:54 PM ET • Source: Hollywood Reporter

(WireImage.com/Sony Pictures)Nyuk-nyuk-nyuk.

MGM and the Farrelly brothers are finally slapping together their high-profile cast for "The Three Stooges," a comedy project the filmmakers have been developing for years. Sean Penn is set to play Larry, and Jim Carrey is in negotiations to play Curly. Benicio del Toro is a rumored possibility for the brothers' taciturn leader, Moe.

The studio is looking to start production in the fall for a 2010 release slot.

The project was originally set up at Columbia, which produced the 1930s Stooges shorts. C3 Entertainment Inc., which holds the licensing rights to the Stooges brand, then sold the feature rights to Warner Bros. in 2001 for the Farrellys to write and produce the movie. Eventually, Warner Bros. let the rights lapse and MGM's Mary Parent scooped them up along with the Farrellys' continuing participation.

Peter and Bobby Farrelly wrote the script, which Bobby has referenced as "Dumb, Dumber & Dumbest," and will produce with Bradley Thomas and Charlie Wessler. Earl and Robert Benjamin of C3 will executive produce.

The film is not a biopic but a fictional treatment that maintains the Stooges' gleeful slap schtick updated for a modern milieu.

Originally constructed as four separate shorts, the feature screenplay has since been streamlined into a single narrative. Included in the story line is an opening that shows the Stooges as kids in an orphanage, a device that will require some "Benjamin Button"-style visual trickery to place the adult actors' heads on child actors' bodies.

The Stooges maintain remarkably global brand recognition, and their shorts, films and cartoons are still broadcast in 30 countries. The Farrelly brothers' latest comedy "The Heartbreak Kid" grossed $124 million worldwide.

Penn is repped by CAA, Carrey by CAA and the Miller Co.