March 28, 2024, 08:09:26 AM

Author Topic: Post ah movie thread  (Read 275108 times)

Re: Post ah movie thread
« Reply #180 on: April 02, 2009, 08:00:17 AM »
see they advertisin ah new flick called GOMMORRAH.movie lookin real good.think is scorcese.

« Reply #181 on: April 03, 2009, 10:48:23 AM »
this fast and furious they advertising is ah new flick or de same old shit from few years back.

« Reply #182 on: April 03, 2009, 11:19:11 AM »
this fast and furious they advertising is ah new flick or de same old shit from few years back.

New shit...

emphasis on shit.

« Reply #183 on: April 03, 2009, 12:35:39 PM »
see they advertisin ah new flick called GOMMORRAH.movie lookin real good.think is scorcese.

Gomorrah is a rel good film. came out a while now tho, unless it had a re-release in the US. Out on DVD in Europe a while now.

Its not scorcese, its an italian director. i cud get up an check d name on my DVD but I'm lazy  ;)
« Last Edit: April 03, 2009, 12:37:55 PM by Ryan »

« Reply #184 on: April 03, 2009, 12:36:50 PM »

Gomorrah is a rel good film. came out a while now tho, unless it had a re-release in the US. Out on DVD in Europe a while now.
only saw de ad last week.

« Reply #185 on: April 05, 2009, 07:29:43 PM »
if you like politics and particularly italian politics, il divo is a good flim. man, dem italians have style for days. it covers the political life of giulio andreotti. if you've seen godfather iii you might recognize one of his quotes:

power wears out those who don't have it.

« Reply #186 on: April 06, 2009, 07:32:27 AM »

New shit...

emphasis on shit.

U are a madman
The movie not only was the best one yet, but it broke real records for a non-sumemr opening

« Reply #187 on: April 06, 2009, 09:18:22 AM »
"Fast & Furious 4"

Part 1: http://www.zshare.net/video/58234691cefcaa9f/

Part 2: http://www.zshare.net/video/5823479735c60d36/

I watched it last night, not to bad of a movie, I give it 3 out of 5. The sound is not so good but it shows fine and if you pay attention you will hear what they are saying just fine. Enjoy :beermug:

« Reply #188 on: April 06, 2009, 09:31:24 PM »
Watched "SlumDog" today, not bad. Watched dubya (W) had a laugh. Now watching "Body of Lies" it going good, so far.

« Reply #189 on: April 06, 2009, 10:21:39 PM »
I'm expecting a lot from this Movie Fast and Furious. I liked those other episodes as they always have some nice scenes. Just looked at Death Race wasn't a bad flick atall.

If you really want enjoy a race flick you will have to get the right sound system to carry over the effects for a good time. Your Audio receiver makes the whole movie really jump at you.

« Reply #190 on: April 06, 2009, 11:22:39 PM »
Finally saw Quantum of Solace... not bad, but the story line meanders too much, still not sure what going on dey.  Definitely no Casino Royale.

If allyuh get a chance check out a flick called Kicking It, an ESPN original documentary about the Homeless World Cup.  Boss... boss flick.  Along the way they highlight a couple stories, one fella, Craig Holley on the US team, young black hothead dude from NY; another dude the Kenyan captain, who can't score a penalty to save his life... but keeps defying his coach and taking them against his wishes... to the point that he's suspended from the team. 

Two interesting stories on the Irish team... two guys trying their best to overcome Heroin addiction and become contributing members of society.  There's a nice story about Jesus... the 62-year old Spaniard who's trying to recapture some youthful glory of when he spent 2 1/2 yrs with Real Madrid... and now battling alcoholism. 

Then there's the story of Slava and the Russian team, hoping to win a trophy and bring media attention to the plight of Russia's homeless.  Then the feelgood story of Nagib, the Afghan goalie who recalls terror under the Taliban, and finds love (Nilsa the Paraguayan hottie) at the World Cup.  South Africa serves as the backdrop... but the real action takes place on the court (street soccer) and in the lives of the players.  Boss flick is all I could say.

« Reply #191 on: April 07, 2009, 08:14:23 AM »

New shit...

emphasis on shit.

U are a madman
The movie not only was the best one yet, but it broke real records for a non-sumemr opening

Yeah I see it make plenty money which surprised me. I haven't been following movies so I don't know what is out there or what it was up against. It also remains to be seen how the word of mouth does and what numbers it will get next week.

That being said, big money don't mean the movie was good. The other movies weren't good and this one look like a retread. I will reserve comment until I actually see it.

« Reply #192 on: April 07, 2009, 10:33:59 AM »
The whole Fast & Furious line of movies is shit. The man eh lie. Not because it make money means it wasn't shit. I did enjoy the first one, but it was a real shit movie as far as movies go.

X-Men 4 looking interesting.

« Reply #193 on: April 07, 2009, 03:45:57 PM »

New shit...

emphasis on shit.

Well you callin a movie shit without even watching it.
You hadda be a psychic
Daz like me callin you ugly and i never even see you
U are a madman

Yeah I see it make plenty money which surprised me. I haven't been following movies so I don't know what is out there or what it was up against. It also remains to be seen how the word of mouth does and what numbers it will get next week.

That being said, big money don't mean the movie was good. The other movies weren't good and this one look like a retread. I will reserve comment until I actually see it.

« Reply #194 on: April 08, 2009, 06:28:57 AM »
You hadda be a psychic
U are a madman

Marcos yuh serious?

Your analogy is way off because movies have previews, and this is part of a series.

If the preview, the best parts of a movie, intended to entice viewers is shitty, it is not a stretch to assume that the movie is shitty as well. Not to mention that it is a sequel in what is a shitty set of movies. They aren't the worst movies ever made but it is basic popcorn fodder. Very formulaic, with a "trick" ending, and more cars and ending.

I am sure that the scene where - two people racing and one press the Nitrous button, and then the next one press the nitrous button and then one of them win, and the next one lose -  is classic movie making.

Perhaps you'll feel better if instead of "shitty" I say "not to my taste". I imagine that if you are into colourful cars with neon lights and street racing it would have appeal, and it will definitely get a  lot of kids going to it. And I would even watch it and find it entertaining for its campiness and humour (I like Tyrese and I watch the second one and catch good kicks). But none of that makes it a "good" movie. If somebody ask for a recommendation I would say it is shit because they could easily be disappointed by it.

« Reply #195 on: April 08, 2009, 06:30:13 AM »
The whole Fast & Furious line of movies is shit. The man eh lie. Not because it make money means it wasn't shit. I did enjoy the first one, but it was a real shit movie as far as movies go.

Ditto. Good to pass time on a slooow day but not a memorable movie.

« Reply #196 on: April 08, 2009, 08:40:45 AM »
You hadda be a psychic
U are a madman

Marcos yuh serious?

Your analogy is way off because movies have previews, and this is part of a series.

If the preview, the best parts of a movie, intended to entice viewers is shitty, it is not a stretch to assume that the movie is shitty as well. Not to mention that it is a sequel in what is a shitty set of movies. They aren't the worst movies ever made but it is basic popcorn fodder. Very formulaic, with a "trick" ending, and more cars and ending.

I am sure that the scene where - two people racing and one press the Nitrous button, and then the next one press the nitrous button and then one of them win, and the next one lose -  is classic movie making.

Perhaps you'll feel better if instead of "shitty" I say "not to my taste". I imagine that if you are into colourful cars with neon lights and street racing it would have appeal, and it will definitely get a  lot of kids going to it. And I would even watch it and find it entertaining for its campiness and humour (I like Tyrese and I watch the second one and catch good kicks). But none of that makes it a "good" movie. If somebody ask for a recommendation I would say it is shit because they could easily be disappointed by it.

Horse i dead serious.
And you are judging a book by it's cover.
Iz one thing to say all the other movies you saw in the series were real shit. But to comment on it without even seeing it?
I now starting to feel that real plenty of y'all comment on football too without ever watching the matches. Saying a side or a player is shit, this time you never even see them play...just reading match reports and watching scores.

I can't even discuss the merits of the movie with you because you haven't seen it brodda. This discussion doesn't even make sense

« Reply #197 on: April 08, 2009, 09:39:24 AM »
Horse i dead serious.
And you are judging a book by it's cover.

Absolutely. And giving a subjective opinion. Which is not to say that you can't think otherwise. How is it different to saying that a movie looks good based on its preview?

"Never judge a book by its cover" is a great code for treating people equally and not making generalizations about important things in life. It does not have much bearing on choosing to spend $20 dollars and 3 hours of your time at a movie. You are best advised to judge a book by its cover in that case. In fact that's what the previews are for.

I now starting to feel that real plenty of y'all comment on football too without ever watching the matches. Saying a side or a player is shit, this time you never even see them play...just reading match reports and watching scores.

This is spectacular jump in logic unless you have examples of me commenting on players or teams where you think my opinion might lack substance to support it. You have no way of even beginning to know how I describe football related subjects.

I can't even discuss the merits of the movie with you because you haven't seen it brodda. This discussion doesn't even make sense

Marcos it ent no scene. Nobody would take my statement as a definitive judgement of the movie. It was clearly a reference to the previous ones being shit and the fact that sequels tend to get worse as a series goes on.

« Reply #198 on: April 08, 2009, 10:26:42 AM »
"You have no way of even beginning to know how I describe football related subjects."

You judge movies without actually seeing them.
I think it is reasonable to assume that you comment on things without true knowledge of the subject, no?
Then it is not illogical to suggest that you comment on football without actually watching it.
Nothing spectacular about that jump bro.

And of course this is subjective, which is why I wanted to hear people's opinions on the movie. I didn't want to hear people's opinions on a movie they hadn't seen. If you want to discuss the trailer, fine...but to discuss the movie?

Nobody is asking you to go see the movie. You don't like the preview, then by all means skip this one. But don't talk with any kind of authority about something you really have no knowledge about.

« Reply #199 on: April 08, 2009, 01:09:48 PM »
If the movie hasn't come out why bother to have any kind of discussion on it at all since apparently we have to wait to see it to have an opinion on it?

Didn't think this would have turned out to be a serious discussion. Who cares if the movie is actual shit or not? What one man would like another may not. It's not that serious to be going back and forth over.

I will end by saying if the first and then the rest in the sequel are shit do I really have to see the next one in the line to have a fair idea of what it will be like?

« Reply #200 on: April 08, 2009, 02:31:08 PM »
Iz one thing to say all the other movies you saw in the series were real shit. But to comment on it without even seeing it?

That movie lookin like shit.

Real shit.

« Reply #201 on: April 08, 2009, 04:15:01 PM »
No problem if you think it lookin so. But don't say something is shit without seeing it.

Too many people on this site llike to authoritatively talk about things they know nothing about...especially football.

And wolfman, you don't think there can be a more fruitful discussion if ppl actually see the movie before discussing it?
You ever notice in book clubs they actually READ the book before discussing it?
And even critics WATCH a movie before bashing it?

Wow

« Reply #202 on: April 08, 2009, 07:42:30 PM »
No problem if you think it lookin so. But don't say something is shit without seeing it.

Too many people on this site llike to authoritatively talk about things they know nothing about...especially football.

And wolfman, you don't think there can be a more fruitful discussion if ppl actually see the movie before discussing it?
You ever notice in book clubs they actually READ the book before discussing it?
And even critics WATCH a movie before bashing it?

Wow

Marcos we seem to have a disconnect. Capo aks if it is new shit. I said "new shit, emphasis on shit". In no way was this a detailed review of the movie. It wasn't even a discussion of the movie. The post was before the movie was even released so I didn't expcet anybody to take it as such. It is merely the expectation that the movie will be shit based on the previous movies and a ridiculous trailer.

Drawing direct comparison between that and football is a stretch. If you read my posts you will see that in the past few years I have rarely commented in a game thread, on players performances or even on Maturana because I have not been seeing the games. To generalize about how I post on football and then to extend that to how the rest of the forum posts, based on me classifying a sequel in a series of shit movies as shit, is a stretch.

« Reply #203 on: April 09, 2009, 08:36:33 AM »
Bro doh study it. I just talkin. I really haven't followed your football posts too much so I am just as guilty of jumping to conclusions.
Just enjoying the back and forth and was hoping to get some dialogue going on a movie i actually enjoyed.

Honestly parts 1 through 3 really were pretty shitty, with 1 and 3 having their moments and ultimately pffering some entertainment value.
This last one is actually superior to the 3 previous ones with a tighter script and better performances.

« Reply #204 on: April 09, 2009, 11:52:45 AM »
hey guys you all will love this movie It is a football movie I just found on the net.. dl it .. name of the movie is called goal 2
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=VMG2CGZZ
« Last Edit: April 09, 2009, 11:57:13 AM by warmonga »

« Reply #205 on: April 09, 2009, 01:40:07 PM »
Anyone watch "Doubt"? What do you think, in terms of the outcome. Did he do it, or was it because of all the doubt?

« Reply #206 on: April 09, 2009, 02:02:47 PM »
Anyone watch "Doubt"? What do you think, in terms of the outcome. Did he do it, or was it because of all the doubt?

i eh see it yet but everybody who saw it said it was boss

« Reply #207 on: April 09, 2009, 07:29:35 PM »

i eh see it yet but everybody who saw it said it was boss

I've heard it's worth watching, but it's not on my must see list.

« Reply #208 on: April 09, 2009, 08:52:05 PM »
I took in the Wolverine movie last night, it was ok, not what i expected though. I would post it on here but I see a big bachannal on the news for this movie being leaked so I'll wait ti it dies down to post it.

« Reply #209 on: April 15, 2009, 08:19:44 AM »
take meh daughters to see de hannah montana movie over de weekend.surprisingly i enjoyed it too.