March 28, 2024, 09:15:00 AM

Author Topic: Post ah movie thread  (Read 275115 times)

Re: Post ah movie thread
« Reply #210 on: April 15, 2009, 11:14:28 AM »
take meh daughters to see de hannah montana movie over de weekend.surprisingly i enjoyed it too.

Nah Capo I cah look at you de same way......Den again I couldn't look/talk to you anyway LOL :rotfl: :devil: 

« Reply #211 on: April 15, 2009, 11:44:19 AM »
take meh daughters to see de hannah montana movie over de weekend.surprisingly i enjoyed it too.

Nah Capo I cah look at you de same way......Den again I couldn't look/talk to you anyway LOL :rotfl: :devil: 
u more into high school musical and the cheetah girls. ;)

« Reply #212 on: April 15, 2009, 03:12:15 PM »

u more into high school musical and the cheetah girls. ;)

Sh*t........ :rotfl: :beermug:

« Reply #213 on: April 18, 2009, 11:05:23 PM »
wanted is ah pack ah crap.de most enjoyable part was when i hear morgan freeman cuss.

Absolute sack ah shit movie.

Shoulda call it "Wanting" instead... b/c daiz exactly how I found it.

« Reply #214 on: April 18, 2009, 11:59:55 PM »
I was watching a few previews for a movie I  borrowed(Zack and Miri make a porno movie) and noticed a flick advertised with the Towers in Trinidad as the back ground. The movie called Contract Killers and was shot in Trinidad. Anyone seen this movie as yet? How was it?

Edit: Just did a search on Netflix and it popped up. Will be adding it in my queue.

Edit : 22/04/09

Got the movie today(Contract Killers) and it was so so. Nothing great or outstanding. It was mostly done in Trinidad and the scenes was Port Of Spain and Chaguaramas. This look like it was the same crew who directed Flight Of The Ibis. The main star of Flight Of The Ibis seem to be the bad guy in this movie. As usual they put in a few White Ppl to get some billing but not bad for a low budget.

In some of the Street chases I see they real bang up ah old 626 and Corolla. All the cars in the chase them was ah set ah old car and a few nice car for the back drop. In the car chase they move from down town to chaguaramas in the blink of an eye. The best is when they describe Chaguaramas as the Chaguaramas Jungle. The Movie eh no best flick but it is a little better put together than the previous Flight Of The Ibis II.

Over all I would give it ah 2.5 out of 5.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2009, 10:05:58 PM by pass(10trini) »

« Reply #215 on: April 19, 2009, 02:29:57 PM »
Got the slumdog DVD a couple weeks ago and finally watched it.

Good movie but not what I expected. I found that it did not really use India as anything other than a backdrop. The story was pure Hollywood, Forest Gump style storytelling but the could have set it in any country and it would have been the same. That being said I liked Forest Gump so I could get into the story.

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #216 on: April 19, 2009, 03:16:42 PM »
aye,whoever could please give me ur take on the godfather part III... i just watched it for the 1st time, b/c when it came out i wasnt potty trained and i didnt get interested in mafia movies until 2 yrs ago... before i watched it tho i read some reviews on it.most were positive but stated that b/c of the 1st 2 there was alot of pressure on the 3rd,that the plot was too unbelievable and sophia coppola acted like shit... after watching it i dont get what the ass they were talking abt... the movie was real badass, the girl acted well as far as i was concerned... i love the 1st two and same w/ this one... somehow it reminded me of how critics bashed the dark knight... great movie, but ppl want to kill it

« Reply #217 on: April 20, 2009, 09:50:26 PM »

Good movie but not what I expected. I found that it did not really use India as anything other than a backdrop. The story was pure Hollywood, Forest Gump style storytelling but the could have set it in any country and it would have been the same. That being said I liked Forest Gump so I could get into the story.

It is an English film based on an Indian book (Q&A, but I think it's been renamed to Slumdog Millionaire since the movie). It is also inspired directly by Bollywood movies such as Black Friday and Deewaar. There are filming styles that are also based on Bollywood themes or tropes.

Rags to riches themes are not soley a Hollywood theme, many Bollywood films have similar storylines and folk tales the world over also carry similar themes. What is the difference in movies with sport themes like Rocky, Mighty Ducks or Bad News Bears to Chak De! India or Lagaan?

To continue with Hollywood and Bollywood themes overlapping in sport (in this case) we can even compare Like Mike to Chain Kulii Ki Main Kulii. Incidentally, both were rubbish!

My point is that Slumdog Millionaire was not an Indian movie (vague since there are different kinds outside of Bollywood) in writing, but was inspired by an Indian storyline. The second point is that the themes for movie do not vary that much in a general sense so the fact that India (Mumbai) was the back drop for the movie is more significant in its identity than the rags to riches theme.

« Reply #218 on: April 21, 2009, 08:21:47 AM »
aye,whoever could please give me ur take on the godfather part III... i just watched it for the 1st time, b/c when it came out i wasnt potty trained and i didnt get interested in mafia movies until 2 yrs ago... before i watched it tho i read some reviews on it.most were positive but stated that b/c of the 1st 2 there was alot of pressure on the 3rd,that the plot was too unbelievable and sophia coppola acted like shit... after watching it i dont get what the ass they were talking abt... the movie was real badass, the girl acted well as far as i was concerned... i love the 1st two and same w/ this one... somehow it reminded me of how critics bashed the dark knight... great movie, but ppl want to kill it

i liked gf 3. the final days of michael corleone was a story worth telling. pacino does a good job with this. the first two won oscars, so the bar was always going to be too high.

« Reply #219 on: April 21, 2009, 05:53:11 PM »

to me gran torino and changeling much better than slumdog.

« Reply #220 on: April 22, 2009, 10:07:10 PM »
I was watching a few previews for a movie I  borrowed(Zack and Miri make a porno movie) and noticed a flick advertised with the Towers in Trinidad as the back ground. The movie called Contract Killers and was shot in Trinidad. Anyone seen this movie as yet? How was it?

Edit: Just did a search on Netflix and it popped up. Will be adding it in my queue.

Edit : 22/04/09

Got the movie today(Contract Killers) and it was so so. Nothing great or outstanding. It was mostly done in Trinidad and the scenes was Port Of Spain and Chaguaramas. This look like it was the same crew who directed Flight Of The Ibis. The main star of Flight Of The Ibis seem to be the bad guy in this movie. As usual they put in a few White Ppl to get some billing but not bad for a low budget.

In some of the Street chases I see they real bang up ah old 626 and Corolla. All the cars in the chase them was ah set ah old car and a few nice car for the back drop. In the car chase they move from down town to chaguaramas in the blink of an eye. The best is when they describe Chaguaramas as the Chaguaramas Jungle. The Movie eh no best flick but it is a little better put together than the previous Flight Of The Ibis II.

Over all I would give it ah 2.5 out of 5.

« Reply #221 on: April 23, 2009, 05:23:36 PM »
I take een defiance...war picture..slow not bad.

Valkryie...ditto

Benjamin Button...not a bad show but it drags.

and Red Cliff...dread kickup.

Thoroughly enjoyed slumdog.

Next up...the reader, doubt, changeling and I waiting for a man on charlotte street to burn...City of Men 3 disc series for me, he sticking, he bawl the movie not in english and people have to read so they ent burn plenty and it take long to sell.

I go let alyuh know how those flicks transpire

« Reply #222 on: April 23, 2009, 07:14:27 PM »
city of men 3 was boss

changling was boss

watching the reader tonight

« Reply #223 on: April 25, 2009, 01:12:03 PM »
takein pineapple express wih rogen and franco.real kicks.pardner gimme ah copy ah gommorah.will look at that lil later.

« Reply #224 on: April 25, 2009, 01:24:01 PM »
Tyson opens up about wild life in new documentaryUpdated: May 18, 2008, 12:41 AM EST 87 comments add this RSS blog email print CANNES, France (AP) - Mike Tyson considers it a miracle that he lived to tell his tale. And he's telling it — in graphic detail — in a new documentary at the Cannes Film Festival.
"I lived a wild and extreme life," the former heavyweight champion told reporters Saturday. "I used drugs. I had altercations with dangerous people. I slept with guys' wives that wanted to kill me. I'm just happy to be here, you know. It's just a miracle."

The 41-year-old former boxer got a prolonged ovation at the Cannes screening for "Tyson," directed by his old friend James Toback ("Fingers").

In the movie, which blends old video footage and TV interviews, Tyson talks about getting beaten up and stolen from when he was an overweight kid. He chokes up when reminiscing about his late trainer, Cus D'Amato, who transformed the troubled teenager into a world-class champion.

Tyson spares no details in describing his sex life, and covers his career's low points, like biting Evander Holyfield's ear in 1997. He admits to many, many bad decisions.

But on one issue, he still refuses to take responsibility. He insists he is innocent of the 1991 rape of an 18-year-old beauty queen for which he served three years in prison.

"I've been abusive to women before in my life," he acknowledged. But in this case, "I thought (the conviction) was wrong, I thought it was unfair."

Toback, who has known Tyson for 23 years and gave him small parts in "Black and White" and "When Will I Be Loved," said he talked to Tyson in a soothing, hypnotic voice to get him to open up for the film.

just finished watching this one. very personal and absorbing interview. goes all the way back to when he was a "fat kid" in brownsville, brooklyn to the present. the heights (relationship with d'amato) AND the lows (latent mysogyny) make this the kind of documentary you will never see made of muhammed ali.

« Reply #225 on: May 04, 2009, 01:45:15 PM »
came out ah couple years back.last king of scotland.saw it lastnite.excellent movie.

« Reply #226 on: May 07, 2009, 09:06:00 AM »
X-Men Origins: Wolverine. I enjoyed it.

« Reply #227 on: May 08, 2009, 07:57:09 PM »
takein pineapple express wih rogen and franco.real kicks.pardner gimme ah copy ah gommorah.will look at that lil later.

Pineapple express was kicks. Last night I watch 40 year old virgin......Talk about laugh till I cry. ;D

Get Role Models and Zack and Miri make a porno flick.

I have to give Bake and Shark a big up for leading me to Role Models.

« Reply #228 on: May 09, 2009, 06:30:03 AM »
Not a big fan of pineapple express...funny but i found it dragged a bit....

changeling is a boss film....

watched burned after reading last night....different but funny

also watched australia....long no ass....but surprisingly not too bad for a long movie....
« Last Edit: May 09, 2009, 06:32:06 AM by lickslikefire »

« Reply #229 on: May 09, 2009, 10:53:31 AM »
also watched australia....long no ass....but surprisingly not too bad for a long movie....

I enjoyed Australia... maybe because my expectations were low, but the storyline was interesting and even though it was long it didn't feel like a long movie.

« Reply #230 on: May 09, 2009, 03:43:40 PM »
Pineapple express was kicks. Last night I watch 40 year old virgin......Talk about laugh till I cry. ;D

Yuh know de black fella in 40-year old virgin is Trini right?

Romany Malco... ent talk to him in 3-4 yrs, but real cool fella too.  From Baytown Tx, but he ent fuhget he St. James roots.

--------------

Ah watch Twillight de other day, is ah chick flick... and one fuh dem teenage girls at that, but surprisingly ah find it wasn't bad at all.  Weak as far as the vampire storyline goes, but overall a good effort in the production, directing, writing and acting camps.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2009, 03:46:00 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #231 on: May 09, 2009, 07:36:28 PM »

Yuh know de black fella in 40-year old virgin is Trini right?

Romany Malco... ent talk to him in 3-4 yrs, but real cool fella too.  From Baytown Tx, but he ent fuhget he St. James roots.

--------------

Ah watch Twillight de other day, is ah chick flick... and one fuh dem teenage girls at that, but surprisingly ah find it wasn't bad at all.  Weak as far as the vampire storyline goes, but overall a good effort in the production, directing, writing and acting camps.

I watching the fella and saying he looking familiar. ME eh know if I did see him in another movie or something but he looking very familiar. I will have to look up he back ground. You know what school and area he from(originally) Bakes? I just like to keep an eye out fuh mih trini peeps them.

Seth Rogen really pulling off a nice franchise of comedies. So far every movie produced by him I have enjoyed.

De Twilight flick I did see in theatre. I watching the movie whole time to see when the action go start, talk about I was bored in the theatre. I tell mih neibour never invite me to go no cinema again. ;D

« Reply #232 on: May 10, 2009, 10:07:25 AM »
I watching the fella and saying he looking familiar. ME eh know if I did see him in another movie or something but he looking very familiar. I will have to look up he back ground. You know what school and area he from(originally) Bakes? I just like to keep an eye out fuh mih trini peeps them.

Seth Rogen really pulling off a nice franchise of comedies. So far every movie produced by him I have enjoyed.

De Twilight flick I did see in theatre. I watching the movie whole time to see when the action go start, talk about I was bored in the theatre. I tell mih neibour never invite me to go no cinema again. ;D

Yuh neighbor musse ah woman... ah hope was ah woman cuz no right thinking man go invite next man tuh go see Twilight  :rotfl:

I eh know whey he went to school nuh, ah think he say he live St. James until he was 12... he say he family does still clout him up whenever he go home, lol.  He's been in a couple things... first time I see him was in ah MTV commercial back around '97.  He big break was playing MC Hammer in the MTV biopic, then as Jackie Chan sidekick pardna (very small role at the start) in The Tuxedo.  Since then he's had a starring role in the Showtime series Weed.

« Reply #233 on: May 10, 2009, 05:42:43 PM »
LOL. One ah de neighbour who does hang with we was taking he daughters to see the movie so home boy tell heself it go be a nice flick. He didn't have nothing to do so he pass by and say I should make de hang as it go be a good show because he daughters say it good. A few ah we in de neighbourhood use to move good good. If one making a move sometimes we roll too. When we come out the cinema the neighbour daughters happy happy and we saying it was bullshit. ;D

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #234 on: May 13, 2009, 06:07:24 PM »
Saw Star Trek
Liked it, only down side would have been a little more background for the Nero, you never really got to know the character. On a side note I am the only one who thinks this alien from the movie looks like chamillionaire

« Reply #235 on: May 17, 2009, 07:13:13 PM »
saw wolverine just now.decent flick.hellboy 2 next.

« Reply #236 on: May 18, 2009, 06:38:51 PM »
watched zidane: a 21st century portrait. they basically track zidane through an entire match. the game is real madrid versus villareal in 2005. the have the galacticos (roberto carlos, ronaldo, raul, beckham, owen, etc.) plus riquelme, forlan and marco senna marking zidane for alot of the match. the match itself is tangential to zidane - weird effect. he makes a nice run down the left and chips it in to set up the tying goal. ends the match picking up a red card. is like watching a lion.

« Reply #237 on: May 21, 2009, 06:45:53 AM »
 I looked at Punisher: War Zone the other night. It was a decent flick. Better than the other one a couple of years back.

Did anyone see the first Punisher back in 1990 with Dolph Lundgren ? To me that was the better flick of all three.

« Reply #238 on: May 21, 2009, 02:44:38 PM »
wanted is ah pack ah crap.de most enjoyable part was when i hear morgan freeman cuss.

Absolute sack ah shit movie.

Shoulda call it "Wanting" instead... b/c daiz exactly how I found it.

Yuh rough boy Bakes. Almosty everybody I talked to seemed to like it

« Reply #239 on: May 22, 2009, 11:25:13 AM »
i see marley & me last night. BOSS MOVIE!

doh worry boys, mih balls still intact.