March 28, 2024, 04:20:51 AM

Author Topic: Post ah movie thread  (Read 275078 times)

Re: Post ah movie thread
« Reply #420 on: September 02, 2010, 03:01:00 PM »
I with you... dis new one was real balls... even considering they had a clockwork owl in de first one lol

This one had the clockwork owl too, yuh miss it?

Unthinkable was good.  Samuel Jackson put the man through the wringer.
I found out after I watched Valhalla that the main character was the baddie in Casino Royale.
Good performances and little dialogue made Valhalla was very different and completely enjoyable.

« Last Edit: September 02, 2010, 03:07:43 PM by Peong »

« Reply #421 on: September 03, 2010, 11:38:09 AM »
I'll order this Unthinkable. Never even heard about it before this.

« Reply #422 on: September 03, 2010, 12:05:07 PM »
Make sure and watch the extended version of Unthinkable.

Is only 90 seconds longer and it happens at the end.

Can't understand why this movie didnt make it to the cinemas....maybe they may do it later like Taken.

« Reply #423 on: September 03, 2010, 01:25:47 PM »
Taken was different in cinmeas?

« Reply #424 on: September 04, 2010, 07:56:47 AM »
Blood and Bone was terrible.

« Reply #425 on: September 04, 2010, 08:53:04 AM »

Ha ha... you musse mad.  Nona Gaye and de fight sequences alone make that movie great  :devil:

« Reply #426 on: September 04, 2010, 10:03:52 AM »

Ha ha... you musse mad.  Nona Gaye and de fight sequences alone make that movie great  :devil:

Real jokeyness in this movie.  One very irritating ghetto asian, and every single small role was played badly.
The muslim from Oz is a good actor but all he did is recreate that same character, down to the clean living habits, no alcohol, drugs or profanity.

Jai White kept doin his triple-kick to finish off the thugs.  Seen it before.
They wastin Jai White time on crap like this.
Put him in a big-budget film.

« Reply #427 on: September 04, 2010, 10:10:57 AM »
Real jokeyness in this movie.  One very irritating ghetto asian, and every single small role was played badly.
The muslim from Oz is a good actor but all he did is recreate that same character, down to the clean living habits, no alcohol, drugs or profanity.

Eamonn Walker is decent enough, although he di'n really know what he was doing with da sword he did like tuh play with.  Ah like of MJW take down Kimbo Slice and he boys in de opening sequence in de prison shower... ah tort Bob Sapp woulda put up more of a fight though, he get beat like ah real bobolee.  De setta skinny Mexicans get real licks too... but yeah de li'l Filipino dude was irritating fuh real.

Nona Gaye... mein gott! :notworthy:

« Reply #428 on: September 04, 2010, 05:09:43 PM »

Really!!!!!! All dem good fight scenes you eh like none ah them. You must have at least like the last fight scene.

« Reply #429 on: September 04, 2010, 05:22:44 PM »
Tyson opens up about wild life in new documentaryUpdated: May 18, 2008, 12:41 AM EST 87 comments add this RSS blog email print CANNES, France (AP) - Mike Tyson considers it a miracle that he lived to tell his tale. And he's telling it — in graphic detail — in a new documentary at the Cannes Film Festival.
"I lived a wild and extreme life," the former heavyweight champion told reporters Saturday. "I used drugs. I had altercations with dangerous people. I slept with guys' wives that wanted to kill me. I'm just happy to be here, you know. It's just a miracle."

The 41-year-old former boxer got a prolonged ovation at the Cannes screening for "Tyson," directed by his old friend James Toback ("Fingers").

In the movie, which blends old video footage and TV interviews, Tyson talks about getting beaten up and stolen from when he was an overweight kid. He chokes up when reminiscing about his late trainer, Cus D'Amato, who transformed the troubled teenager into a world-class champion.

Tyson spares no details in describing his sex life, and covers his career's low points, like biting Evander Holyfield's ear in 1997. He admits to many, many bad decisions.

But on one issue, he still refuses to take responsibility. He insists he is innocent of the 1991 rape of an 18-year-old beauty queen for which he served three years in prison.

"I've been abusive to women before in my life," he acknowledged. But in this case, "I thought (the conviction) was wrong, I thought it was unfair."

Toback, who has known Tyson for 23 years and gave him small parts in "Black and White" and "When Will I Be Loved," said he talked to Tyson in a soothing, hypnotic voice to get him to open up for the film.

I liked this documentary a lot.  and the Che with Marlon Brando I believe (sorry my life so hectic I don't have time to memorize actors names, or watch too much movies).  Lemme get a old recommendation of something along these lines nah.  Is real kick up and shoot up I have to sift thru on this thread, and I ent watch them kinda ting since I stop being 15 yers old.

« Reply #430 on: September 04, 2010, 07:17:38 PM »

Eamonn Walker is decent enough, although he di'n really know what he was doing with da sword he did like tuh play with.  Ah like of MJW take down Kimbo Slice and he boys in de opening sequence in de prison shower... ah tort Bob Sapp woulda put up more of a fight though, he get beat like ah real bobolee.  De setta skinny Mexicans get real licks too... but yeah de li'l Filipino dude was irritating fuh real.

Nona Gaye... mein gott! :notworthy:

Look wikipedia say Eamonn Walker is half Trini.

Walker was born in London to a Grenadian father and a Trinidadian mother, in 1980.[1][2] Brought up in Islington in London,[3] Walker lived in Trinidad for six months when he was nine years old.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eamonn_Walker

« Reply #431 on: September 04, 2010, 11:41:01 PM »

Walker was born in London to a Grenadian father and a Trinidadian mother, in 1980.[1][2] Brought up in Islington in London,[3] Walker lived in Trinidad for six months when he was nine years old.

I remember looking him up years ago... because I knew he was British and with a name like Eamonn (Irish name, but one of my great-uncles had the same name) I figured he had to be WI like so many black Brits.  I knew he was part Grenadian... but they either didn't have that part about him being Trini, or I forgot about it.  Cool, good to know.

--------------------

EDIT:  now I wondering how good that info is... Wikipedia have three dates of birth for him, the first sentence say he born 1962... the blurb in the box to the right say he born 1959... and that part about his Trini mother say he born 1980, lol
« Last Edit: September 04, 2010, 11:45:23 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #432 on: September 05, 2010, 11:08:50 AM »

I remember looking him up years ago... because I knew he was British and with a name like Eamonn (Irish name, but one of my great-uncles had the same name) I figured he had to be WI like so many black Brits.  I knew he was part Grenadian... but they either didn't have that part about him being Trini, or I forgot about it.  Cool, good to know.

--------------------

EDIT:  now I wondering how good that info is... Wikipedia have three dates of birth for him, the first sentence say he born 1962... the blurb in the box to the right say he born 1959... and that part about his Trini mother say he born 1980, lol
to me his most memorable role was as the liberian leader in lord of war.

« Reply #433 on: September 07, 2010, 11:00:25 AM »
Baraka!!

no talking

« Reply #434 on: September 08, 2010, 07:32:46 AM »
Baraka!!

no talking

I've heard of that movie before, I will put it on my list.

Anyone saw the documentary Collapse? I borowed it on DVD and was amazed by the content. This guy(Michael Ruppert) gave a run down as to what could take place in the world's economy. Very eye opening for those interested. I mean my grandmother used to tell me about the days to come where people will have money and can't even do anything with it. :o Thought provoking.

After checking that out yesterday low and behold I end up watching The Road, well yes, I was messed up to say the least. Movie depressing as hell.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2010, 07:38:29 AM by pass(10trini) »

« Reply #435 on: September 14, 2010, 09:15:35 PM »
Anyobdy saw Piranha and The Expendables yet ?
The expendables is wicked .Worth 8 bucks .It have to go in my collection .

« Reply #436 on: September 29, 2010, 02:20:46 PM »
I highly recommend Four Lions and Harry Brown.

« Reply #437 on: September 29, 2010, 06:07:08 PM »
not sure if anybody mentioned it:

After.life       

good movie. have yuh wondering

« Reply #438 on: September 29, 2010, 06:12:32 PM »
IP Man, the mentor of bruce lee, based on a true story of the occupation of the japanese in china. borse flick

« Reply #439 on: September 30, 2010, 11:34:48 AM »
Tyler Perry's "Why Did I Get Married Too" was shit to the nth degree.  All kinda contrived soap opera drama and none of it making much sense. Scenarios which defy both law and logic... silly me for giving him the benefit of the doubt that this would be closer to the first installment, and not utter shit like the rest of his movies.

The Blind Side was patronizing and annoying, but not as much as I'd anticipated... I brakes from watching it for that reason, but it wasn't too bad.

I brakes from watchin Robin Hood too b/c I ent a fan of Russel Crowe.  I liked him in Gladiator of course, and L.A. Confidential... thought he was decent in American Gangster too, but otherwise, not a fan.

Anyways, as to Robin Hood, ah finally watch it and it was decent... the action scenes was kinda boss, but at this point is like once yuh see Braveheart or any of them other period pieces, yuh kinda seen them all. 

The one exception for me is Kenneth Branagh's Henry V... boss movie.  Was reading the book for a class while in college and the professor recommended we watch this interpretation.  Boss, boss war flick... the battle scenes was both chaotic and beautifully choreographed at the same time.  The St. Crispin's Day speech before the Battle of Agincourt was very realistic and very moving... one of the best ever on film in my book.  And then the battle itself.  Other movies, notable The 300, The Last Samurai... and this same Robin Hood have borrowed heavily from it... but the scenes of volleys after volleys of arrows flying thru the air... breathtaking.  You really get the sense that the French were under siege, as these arrows literally start raining down on them, and there was no shelter from the deluge.  The supremacy of the English archers is what carried the day.

Anyways, good movie... allyuh should check it out.

« Reply #440 on: September 30, 2010, 01:29:17 PM »
The amazing thing about Robin Hood would be its attention to detail ,from the clothes to weapons .To trying to get all characters and there history ,it would be the most accurate version yet as to the legend .

BTW Prince of Persia is ah good one .

« Reply #441 on: September 30, 2010, 02:03:02 PM »
The amazing thing about Robin Hood would be its attention to detail ,from the clothes to weapons .To trying to get all characters and there history ,it would be the most accurate version yet as to the legend .

BTW Prince of Persia is ah good one .

Nah... you have tuh be joking, yuh watch it when yuh was high nah?  Dat movie was so much shit it eh even funny.  Ah shoulda know better from de fact that it was a Disney movie eh... but ah let mihself get ketch.  I put that right up there with the Brother's Grimm (2005) as far as to de shit quotient.  The best thing from that movie was seeing mih wife from another life, Monica Bellucci.

« Reply #442 on: September 30, 2010, 02:08:44 PM »
Thats the best time to watch them ent  ;D .The only other performance like Jakes would have been Chris O"Donnels Robin ,for acrobatics .

« Reply #443 on: September 30, 2010, 05:03:55 PM »
More on Henry V's the St. Crispin's Day Speech...

The backdrop as I remember was that the French King was spoiling for war with England, because England was particularly vulnerable at this point because it was tired from war (this was during the Hundred Years War) and Henry was a young king who the French Dauphin (pronounced "dough-fawh" not "doorfin" eh, lol) convinced the King, would be ah easy mark.  So Henry get wind of the plan, especially since they sent to spies to unsucessfully assassinate him.  So he decide to take the battle to the French on their own soil, sailing across the Straits of Dover.

This was seen as madness, because not only would they be fighting on enemy soil, but his men weren't soldiers, but just random blokes he chain up into joining the cause.  On the other side France had ah nice fat professional army just spoiling fuh ah fight.  So anyways, the big battle looming and some of the men starting to question the wisdom of travelling all de way to France to pelt stone at this jep nest.  Them feel they was marching into a slaughter given that they was out-numbered 5-to-1 by the French ("300" thing nah).  So in this scene Henry happen to overhear some of the concerns and decide to give the troops ah pep talk.  Good stuff... this is where the "Band of Brothers" talk come from... and why it so fitting in the war context.

Here are a couple clips:

First the 1944 version by the great, Sir Laurence Olivier

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/P9fa3HFR02E" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/P9fa3HFR02E</a>

Then the much, much better (almost sacrilege for me to say as a fan of Olivier, but it is) Kenneth Branagh version from 1989.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/A-yZNMWFqvM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/A-yZNMWFqvM</a>

« Reply #444 on: September 30, 2010, 05:04:32 PM »
Here's another take...and ah li'l something extra, from Renaissance Man

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ApcrdI-XPdU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ApcrdI-XPdU</a>

Ah post that fuh de contrast it offers compared to the other two... but also because it kinda interesting.  De idiot yute who reciting the lines as Pvt. Benitez in this scene name is Lillo Brancato.  Dah fella had a promising acting career, starring in A Bronx Tale opposite DeNiro and N'Bushe Wright, and was in The Sopranos as well (Tony nephew-in-law or something so).  Tony decide he had tuh kill him, but offer him ah Coke before he shoot him.  As pardna sip he Coke Tony ask him how it taste, if it taste good.  He say "yeah", Tony say "good, because that Coke will be the last thing you taste you c*cksucker" and pull out he gun.  When he see de gun de facka bawl "Mommy!" as they start tuh light him up...  :rotfl:  Ah always remember dat scene... lol

Anyways... ah say "had a promising" career because he end up mixed up in a burglary where he and he girlfriend father end up killing ah off-duty cop who confront them.  The policeman leggo some lead in dey backside and they end up getting ketch not far from the scene.  He serving 10-years upstate as we speak.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2010, 05:07:16 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #445 on: October 04, 2010, 08:49:18 AM »
finally see iron man(part 1),will wait another 2 years to see part 2.

also prince of persia...ultimate kaka.

« Reply #446 on: October 04, 2010, 11:40:01 AM »
Over the last few weeks I saw some others movies.

Baraka no talking or nothing but the scenes and images and sounds are breathtaking. Again a surround system will be of benefit to those taking in this but first and foremost the scenes are what you want to see.

Youth In Revolt don't waste your time.

I said it earlier take a look at the documentary Collapse for those interested in the environment and conspiracy theories.

Harry Brown
okay flick nothing too much but good solid old time acting by the equalizer(can't remember his name).

Remember Me I enjoyed this. It was a different spin for me.

Open House was uninspiring movie making. Totally nonsensical to have a person killing people at will in someone's house. Realtor dead and no one even passes by to check on anything. The best is a dinner for neighbors and no one suspect anything. Wasted space on my list.

My name is Khan movie start off strange and slow but was a nice story. Totally enjoyed this one. Movie was long no arse but totally captivating.

Bounty Hunter with Gerard Butler and Jennifer Anniston. Didn't enjoy this one at all. Just a flat  garbage movie.

The Losers okay action for an action starved 2010 movie industry. It filled a bit of a 2010 action void. I think some may enjoy this a bit.

Cop OutStarring Bruce Willis and Tracey Morgan was hilarious. I thought it was going to be a waste but I was rolling on my sofa with this one.

Green Zone. I think they had a lot to say in this one. This one is about the the war that taking place in the mid east right now . Gave a couple insights as to what may have triggered the occupation. Matt Damon starred in this with the same producer that did the Bourne trilogy. I gave this 4 out of 5 stars.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2010, 11:44:10 AM by pass(10trini) »

« Reply #447 on: October 04, 2010, 11:46:40 AM »

Harry Brown
okay flick nothing too much but good solid old time acting by the equalizer(can't remember his name).

Michael Caine...

Bounty Hunter with Gerard Butler and Jennifer Anniston. Didn't enjoy this one at all. Just a flat  garbage movie.

Agreed... bullshit.  Gerard Butler morphing into the next Russel Crowe, another Commonwealth actor with little range who producers lining up to throw money at.

The Losers okay action for an action starved 2010 movie industry. It filled a bit of a 2010 action void. I think some may enjoy this a bit.

This was decent.  Zoe Saldana almost worth the price of admission to see any movie she in.  What a fine piece of eye-candy.

Cop Out was hilarious. I thought it was going to be a waste but I was rolling on my sofa with this one.

Straight up funny.

Green Zone. I think they had a lot to say in this one. This one is about the the war that taking place in the mid east right now . Gave a couple insights as to what may have triggered the occupation. Matt Damon starred in this with the same producer that did the Bourne trilogy. I gave this 4 out of 5 stars.

This in my queue for next week... after I get back from Mee-ah-mee.

« Reply #448 on: October 04, 2010, 11:58:23 AM »
BTW...B & S you take in blood creek?

Have a safe trip.

« Reply #449 on: October 04, 2010, 01:15:39 PM »
IP Man, the mentor of bruce lee, based on a true story of the occupation of the japanese in china. borse flick

Watch meh that kick up boss...IP Man 3 is a bess kick up too dais when he was young.

IP man 2 subtitles wasnt making sense so I get vex but the fighting ws good as well.