March 28, 2024, 05:38:59 PM

Author Topic: Post ah movie thread  (Read 275195 times)

Re: Post ah movie thread
« Reply #450 on: October 04, 2010, 01:53:09 PM »

-------------------------------

Girl With the Dragon Tattoo is boss... a detective flick really, but only is civilians doing the detective work to revice a cold case involving the 40-year old mystery about the disapperance of a young girl.  Instead they stumble into investigating a serial killer at work.

There's a follow up to that coming out this summer called The Girl Who Played With Fire... I checking for that when it come out.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played with Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets' Nest, were first published in 2005, 2006 and 2007 respectively.

Fun reading

Movie #2 "The Girl Who Played With Fire" was released (limited) in Canada a few week ago but only playing for more extended at the independent movie houses.

yeah after seeing the movie ah read up on it and saw the info about the Millenium Trilogy... I cyah find time to read doh  :-\

The English language remake is in the works.

Rooney Mara   ...     Lisbeth Salander
Daniel Craig ..    Mikael Blomkvist
Christopher Plummer    ...    Henrik Vanger
Robin Wright    ...    Erika Berger

« Reply #451 on: October 04, 2010, 05:05:28 PM »
The English language remake is in the works.

Rooney Mara   ...     Lisbeth Salander
Daniel Craig ..    Mikael Blomkvist
Christopher Plummer    ...    Henrik Vanger
Robin Wright    ...    Erika Berger

Yeah I had looked it up after we first discussed it... the plan seems to have fans of the novel up in arms, and for good reason.  I like Daniel Craig... thought Casino Royale was the finest interpretation of the Bond character ever, even better than Connery.  That said, I am yet to find an English languager interpretation of a foreign film that was better (except maybe 'The Ring', but dem Japanese does set de bar real low, lol).

« Reply #452 on: October 06, 2010, 07:47:39 AM »
Edward Norton Fans his movie: Leaves of grass, suppose to be really good ,will check out this week .

Saw it last week and I enjoyed it a lot.
Thanks for mentioning it, real movies on this thread that I would have otherwise missed.

« Reply #453 on: October 06, 2010, 01:12:47 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZvB9-TJe_lI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ZvB9-TJe_lI</a>

« Reply #454 on: October 07, 2010, 05:55:09 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZvB9-TJe_lI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ZvB9-TJe_lI</a>

another bundle ah strait, but poorly executed rip-off scenes, bolliwood at its plagerizing best :-[

« Reply #455 on: October 07, 2010, 07:21:36 PM »
another bundle ah strait, but poorly executed rip-off scenes, bolliwood at its plagerizing best :-[

So yuh not going?
This apparently is the most expensive indian movie of all time as well as having the biggest opening day box office ever. I guess they know they audience. Plus? you see Will Smith singing and dancing in I robot? or morpheus? That might make a good movie.  ;D

« Reply #456 on: October 07, 2010, 07:59:42 PM »

So yuh not going?
This apparently is the most expensive indian movie of all time as well as having the biggest opening day box office ever. I guess they know they audience. Plus? you see Will Smith singing and dancing in I robot? or morpheus? That might make a good movie.  ;D

« Reply #457 on: October 08, 2010, 02:12:05 PM »
The Damned United ,footie movie good .
Another sport movie .The Express ,based on the life of college football hero Ernie Davis, the first African-American to win the Heisman Trophy.
My next movie gonna be The Stepfather . looks ok .
« Last Edit: October 08, 2010, 02:34:20 PM by Quags »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #458 on: October 22, 2010, 12:42:39 PM »
Anybody going to see Hereafter (Matt Damon)? It is coming out today I think.
Tell me how it is eh...
« Last Edit: October 22, 2010, 12:48:40 PM by Queen Macoomeh »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #459 on: November 10, 2010, 07:28:00 AM »
Did anyone see the movie "The Prestige"?

« Reply #460 on: November 10, 2010, 09:07:01 AM »
The Prestige was real boss.  Definitely see it.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #461 on: November 10, 2010, 09:28:23 AM »
The Prestige was real boss.  Definitely see it.

yeah man, I saw it the other night and was caught up in it, de pot burn...lol
Have to see it again because there were a few loose ends I didn't quite get. Some great actors in it!

« Reply #462 on: November 11, 2010, 09:46:11 AM »
Some recent favorites:

Invictus

Good movie.  I'm not the biggest Morgan Freeman fan, and the thought of him playing a newly-minted President Mandela, with Matt Damon as the white captain of the national rugby team, wasn't exactly what I thought of as entertaining.  But Clint Eastwood is the director, and sure enough he didn't disappoint. Inspired "by true facts", it shows Mandela to be a shrewd politician, despite being free only 5 yrs now after 30 on Robben Island. 

Mandela realizes how much rugby, and the Springboks mean to the Afrikaaners and sets out to use the team as an entity under which the whole country can bond.  The problem is that for the black South Africans the Springboks, their tradition, their colors... everything, represents the old days of apartheid, so getting them to embrace the national team would be no easy feat, but a critical one if the young rainbow nation is to survive.  Helpful is the fact that South Africa has been chosen to host the 1995 Rugby World Cup.

Good movie... very inspirational.

The Hurt Locker

Another movie I didn't really have much interest in at first... even after all the awards, and boy was it well-nominated.  According to IMDB this movie received 120 nominations, winning 73 Awards, among them 6 Grammys, including Best Picture and Best Director.  The movie deals with a bomb disposal unit in Iraq, the tensions over being in the middle of a war, added to the stress of the trade... bomb disposal, walking around with a target on your back all the time, not knowing who among the local population to trust, etc.

Really good movie.

Notorious

Biopic about the slain rapper, the Notorious B.I.G.  I avoided this movie like the plague, thought it would be some serious shit... for a number of reasons.  This one really hits close to home, I didn't know Biggie or anything but I used to see this dude around my neighborhood since he used to be hustling on my block, right across from my living room window.  This was back in 1989, long before he blew up. 

I remember that block for a number of reasons, not the least of which being that 920 Fulton St. was the first place my family moved to after coming here to the US.  Right above the A and the C train, walking distance to downtown Brooklyn, and when I was feeling brave enough, walking distance to school, at 1700 Fulton almost 2 miles away.  I'll also remember this place b/c this was some serious hard times for me and my family, my mother and them worked upstate NY and were home only on weekends, so I lived by myself during the week, and nuff times mankind had to go to sleep hungry.  Nuff times we used to wake up to find that some crackhead or the other came up the stairwell and took a crap on the stairs... pile ah feces right next to two or three empty crack vials.

I remember looking out my window and seeing these fellas selling drugs. One time I happen to scrape together enough pennies and quarters to go across de street and buy mih 3 chicken wings with extra mumbo sauce... only to see ah li'l fella fish out a 4-inch wad of money from he pocket to buy he food... and here I is damn near a grown man depending on my mother and dem to feed and clothe me.  I eh go lie... the temptation was strong.

Anyways... Biggie was also my favorite rapper, after all ah dat, and here it is, this is a movie financed by his mother and Puffy, and most of the actors were unknowns.  So I had real doubts... but was pleasantly surprised by how the movie got me caught up.  Hard to say it wasn't biased... after all is his people telling his story.  But I thought it was even-handed in showing everything, flaws and all.  Gravy (Jamal Woolard) was very believable as Biggie, with Anthony Mackie (also co-starring in Hurt Locker, above) as Tupac.  Angela Bassett played his mother, which I didn't agree with... what, Sheryl Lee Ralph wasn't available?  But anyways, the movie was good... and if you're a fan of the music that's just an added treat as it have nuff behind the scenes stuff, from the recording studio, to the concerts etc.  Brings to mind another great hip-hop flick, 8 Mile... not that it anything like it, but the mix of good story, good drama and great music very similar.

The Diary of a Tired Black Man

I see this shit sitting on de shelf at Blockbuster and could only shake my head.  It was clearly biting that next Tyler Perry movie Diary of a Mad Black Woman.  But I end up ketching it on Showtime last night... it arrite man.  Unlike the Tyler Perry movie, this is more a documentary about relationships between black men and women, told from the perspective of a man of course, with street interviews with real people... and the occasional vignette thrown in.  Some of the scenes in the vignettes are exaggerated and play into stereotypes... but there were some occasional nuggets of wisdom from the interview subjects.  I found myself nodding along in agreement on more than a few occasions.  On others I could only shake my head... is no wonder why we have so many issues between black men and women, lol.  And we here shouldn't delude ourselves into thinking that it only applies to African-Americans.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/1HVcFyF-mco" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/1HVcFyF-mco</a>
« Last Edit: November 11, 2010, 09:51:45 AM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #463 on: November 12, 2010, 11:15:27 AM »
Batman - Under the Red Hood. Big, big cartoon for the cartoon and DC comics fans. Not for the kids though.

« Reply #464 on: November 12, 2010, 01:12:05 PM »
Batman - Under the Red Hood. Big, big cartoon for the cartoon and DC comics fans. Not for the kids though.

"Superman/Batman: Apocalypse" is another good one.

« Reply #465 on: November 12, 2010, 01:35:01 PM »

Been seeing this in my local Blockbuster for some time now... will check it out.

« Reply #466 on: November 12, 2010, 05:11:32 PM »
loves Bruce Timm's work above all others, he really revolutionized the DC universe boy.. Batman TAS, Superman TAS, Justice League unlimited, Batman Beyond(favorite)

of the movies: my favorites

Batman - Mask of the Phantasm
Batman Beyond Return of the Joker Uncut(dis bad)
Batman & Mr. Freeze - SubZero (1998)
Superman - Doomsday(dis real bad)

« Reply #467 on: November 23, 2010, 03:41:15 PM »
anybady else find  Green jep lookin good

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/dY6AhhSdzA8?fs=1&amp;amp;hl=en_US" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/dY6AhhSdzA8?fs=1&amp;amp;hl=en_US</a>

« Reply #468 on: November 25, 2010, 04:11:00 PM »
"Burlesque"

Mediocre acting

Superb soundtrack

Easy to watch

« Reply #469 on: November 26, 2010, 12:47:22 PM »
Saw "The Experiment" last night.  Good acting, Adrien Brody and Forest Whittaker.

« Reply #470 on: November 26, 2010, 10:00:10 PM »
anybady else find  Green jep lookin good

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/dY6AhhSdzA8?fs=1&amp;amp;hl=en_US" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/dY6AhhSdzA8?fs=1&amp;amp;hl=en_US</a>
seth rogen eh fit the role.

« Reply #471 on: November 26, 2010, 11:54:42 PM »

Yuh eh see whole week I cussin' on Facebook?  They have he playing Reid and some facking Taiwanese pop singer playing Cato.  Me eh even bothering waste my time.

steups!

« Reply #472 on: November 27, 2010, 05:32:58 AM »

Yuh eh see whole week I cussin' on Facebook?  They have he playing Reid and some facking Taiwanese pop singer playing Cato.  Me eh even bothering waste my time.

steups!

atleast he still asian, when last yuh see ah asian play a role originally designed for ah asian in ah american production

« Reply #473 on: November 27, 2010, 10:19:48 AM »
atleast he still asian, when last yuh see ah asian play a role originally designed for ah asian in ah american production

What?  There are plenty examples... from the Rush Hour franchise, to several Jet Li movies (Kiss of the Dragon, Romeo Must Die etc.)  For starters there aren't that many ethno-centric roles in Hollywood these days, certainly not many with an asian character exclusively in mind.  For another, the days of Kung Fu and Charlie Chan are long past. 

In fact I should turn the question on you... when last has a role intended for an asian actor gone to a non-asian?

« Reply #474 on: November 27, 2010, 10:32:15 AM »
Asians get roles, but when last an asian character get a love interest?
Asian actors doh get no play lol.

« Reply #475 on: November 27, 2010, 10:39:46 AM »

Harold and kumar .

« Reply #476 on: November 27, 2010, 10:46:47 AM »

Yuh mean ah Asian male... cuz yuh know Hollywood does love throw dem white boys at dem Asian chicks.  Part of it is that there aren't that many well-known Asian actors in Hollywood, let alone one with a high profile, or high enough profile to merit a lead character.

« Reply #477 on: November 27, 2010, 12:16:03 PM »
Yeh Asian males.
They coulda give Jet Li and Rain from Ninja Assassins someting, but is only salt.

« Reply #478 on: November 27, 2010, 04:11:43 PM »

What?  There are plenty examples... from the Rush Hour franchise, to several Jet Li movies (Kiss of the Dragon, Romeo Must Die etc.)  For starters there aren't that many ethno-centric roles in Hollywood these days, certainly not many with an asian character exclusively in mind.  For another, the days of Kung Fu and Charlie Chan are long past. 

In fact I should turn the question on you... when last has a role intended for an asian actor gone to a non-asian?

um, I was refering to more specific cases where d source material are developed around asian characters .....Dragon Ball Z easily comes to mind and there are other cases

« Reply #479 on: November 28, 2010, 05:56:07 PM »
um, I was refering to more specific cases where d source material are developed around asian characters .....Dragon Ball Z easily comes to mind and there are other cases

"um" what?... I supposed to be a mind reader?  How I supposed to know what you meant to say?  In fact, using that as a criteria Green Hornet doesn't even count since the movie wasn't developed around Cato's character. There are very few Hollywood movies developed around asian characters, in fact as stated before there are very few movies these days that are developed around ethno-specific characters... Harold and Kumar is about the only one that even remotely comes close in mind.  What are these "other cases" that you mention?

---------------------------------------

Meanwhile... in sharp contrast to that shit movie Green Hornet... THIS looks like an early summer blockbuster favorite:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/f8ZPg8uaoR0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/f8ZPg8uaoR0</a>

----------------------------------------

This is another one which, surprisingly, looks good.  Saw the trailer last night in the theater:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/In-m2RJw3hE&amp;feature=channel" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/In-m2RJw3hE&amp;feature=channel</a>
« Last Edit: November 28, 2010, 05:59:29 PM by Bake n Shark »