March 28, 2024, 08:03:28 AM

Author Topic: Post ah movie thread  (Read 275104 times)

Re: Post ah movie thread
« Reply #480 on: November 28, 2010, 10:07:36 PM »
seth rogen eh fit the role.

Yuh eh see whole week I cussin' on Facebook?  They have he playing Reid and some facking Taiwanese pop singer playing Cato.  Me eh even bothering waste my time.

steups!
ah good fit woulda be di caprio and jet li

« Reply #481 on: November 29, 2010, 12:42:33 AM »
seth rogen eh fit the role.

Yuh eh see whole week I cussin' on Facebook?  They have he playing Reid and some facking Taiwanese pop singer playing Cato.  Me eh even bothering waste my time.

steups!
ah good fit woulda be di caprio and jet li

Doh fack mih up... Matt Damon (think of the job he did as Jason Bourne), Tobey Maguire, Joseph Gordon-Levitt... heck, even Will Smith over Leo.  They coulda get Tony Jaa or even Hiroyuki Ikeuchi (since Cato was really supposed to be Japanese and not Chinese).

« Reply #482 on: November 29, 2010, 10:48:06 AM »

"um" what?... I supposed to be a mind reader?  How I supposed to know what you meant to say?  In fact, using that as a criteria Green Hornet doesn't even count since the movie wasn't developed around Cato's character. There are very few Hollywood movies developed around asian characters, in fact as stated before there are very few movies these days that are developed around ethno-specific characters... Harold and Kumar is about the only one that even remotely comes close in mind.  What are these "other cases" that you mention?

in d office right now, lil to busy to put it in mih own words but google search list

an out out of there an opinion piece on the notion

its not dat ah arguing against artistic license yuh know ............enjoyed Will Smith as Jim West mih self, but d asian ting come up enough times to be significant

the cowboys ting lookin good doh and strangely real people dat say dey like d GH trailer say dey hate d latern one and tink it go be real shit.............I kinda find d irony lil funny mihself especially seeing dat d opposite also applies.........atleast in dis instance

as for me I checkin both out, so to each his own  :beermug: :beermug: hope yuh enjoy which ever :beermug:

« Reply #483 on: November 29, 2010, 11:08:18 AM »
I saw the Lantern trailer and was really impressed.  To be honest I didn't even know it had a movie in the works, and had even forgotten about Green Lantern as a character, since it's been so long since I was into comics.  But I real looking forward to seeing it.  I'll ketch Green Hornet when it come out on DVD a month later, b/c I guarantee yuh dat shit tanking at the box office, lol

Will take a read of the articles  :beermug:

« Reply #484 on: January 01, 2011, 12:39:38 PM »
This is a Very good movie...http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1053424/

allyuh have to see dat one

« Reply #485 on: January 30, 2011, 12:18:14 AM »
anyone see true grit?

« Reply #486 on: February 11, 2011, 10:18:49 AM »
Ah see ah new flagflappin movie commin
The poster script alone should activate most global gag reflexes ;)
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0458339/

Hollywood green lighting anyting oui...what next Hawkeye? Power Man? Black Lightning? Wonder Twins?

« Reply #487 on: February 11, 2011, 10:53:38 AM »

Hollywood green lighting anyting oui...what next Hawkeye? Power Man? Black Lightning? Wonder Twins?
boy I was willing to bet anyting dat hollywood would consider d captain america franchise a big risk ............ah guess d thinking is no more bush, d iraq war, while not forgotten, isn't as big ah draw for anti-american sentiment anymore dat dey could slide dis past and no one would notice :-\ ??? , I imagine if it's one of those america d invincible saves the world with no one else's help kinda deal it mightn' do too well.........especially if he does dispense dat "I untouchable" Steven Seagall bran ah justice

......ah guess if he get he arse royally kicked and jus pulls thru in d end ala John Mc Lane :beermug: ah might be able to stomach it lil bit but we go see

« Reply #488 on: February 11, 2011, 11:02:41 AM »
Wasn't really looking forward to X-Men 1st Class...

... but the trailer looking good

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/m4_ra9VneUc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/m4_ra9VneUc</a>

« Reply #489 on: February 11, 2011, 12:04:37 PM »

Apparently yuh haven't been watching Iron Man the past several years...

boy I was willing to bet anyting dat hollywood would consider d captain america franchise a big risk ............ah guess d thinking is no more bush, d iraq war, while not forgotten, isn't as big ah draw for anti-american sentiment anymore dat dey could slide dis past and no one would notice :-\ ??? , I imagine if it's one of those america d invincible saves the world with no one else's help kinda deal it mightn' do too well.........especially if he does dispense dat "I untouchable" Steven Seagall bran ah justice

......ah guess if he get he arse royally kicked and jus pulls thru in d end ala John Mc Lane :beermug: ah might be able to stomach it lil bit but we go see

All of this presupposes that Hollywood makes movies for non-American audiences.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2011, 12:06:09 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #490 on: February 11, 2011, 12:14:22 PM »

All of this presupposes that Hollywood makes movies for non-American audiences.

true

« Reply #491 on: February 11, 2011, 01:45:36 PM »
Mubarak Flees Egypt. Live and in HD

« Reply #492 on: February 22, 2011, 12:22:56 PM »
waiting for superman is a good documentary about US educational system and the rise of charter schools. somewhat topical given what going on in wisconsin with the teacher's union. they also cover a bit of the attempts by former washington dc mayor adrian fenty to reform the system with superintendent michelle rhee. for de nyc-based, geoffrey canada is featured - dat man is a boss.

another very good documentary is who killed the electric car? which chronicles the life and death of the GM EV project. imagine GM sat on this technology - wdmc!! they could have initiated and owned the next generation of automobiles - instead they end up taking a bailout. that is not leadership. :-\
« Last Edit: February 22, 2011, 12:30:14 PM by ribbit »

« Reply #493 on: February 23, 2011, 12:10:24 AM »
waiting for superman is a good documentary about US educational system and the rise of charter schools. somewhat topical given what going on in wisconsin with the teacher's union. they also cover a bit of the attempts by former washington dc mayor adrian fenty to reform the system with superintendent michelle rhee. for de nyc-based, geoffrey canada is featured - dat man is a boss.

Ah sure Raj will agree.

« Reply #494 on: February 23, 2011, 11:19:47 AM »
I recommend Micmacs, a French comedy, it was very interesting and slightly amusing.
I enjoyed The Town, best chase scenes I've seen in a while, and I liked the story.
I saw Due Date, but that was disappointing.
Dinner For Schmucks was funnier, but still not that good.

« Reply #495 on: March 07, 2011, 09:05:25 PM »
The Adjustment Bureau

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/jDVVyGRPyZY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/jDVVyGRPyZY</a>

Boss flick... the premise is essentially that we live our lives exercising a limited range of free choice, with the rest being scripted for us.  Every now and then we go "off plan" and that warrants "an adjustment", where the adjusters step in, freeze us (and anyone else necessary) programs the right action  plan into our heads and we carry on back on plan.  Straying too far off plan might cause the adjusters to reveal themselves to us (we normally have no recollection of the adjustments) and if too huge an adjustment is necessary or if we reveal the adjusters to anyone else then a total "reset" (sorta like a disk format) is done and we have no recollection of anything, not even our families. 

Some really cool special effects, simple as they are they are employed to great effect.

The King's Speech

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/-aS4hoOSlzo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/-aS4hoOSlzo</a>

It's no wonder this movie one Best Movie at the Academy Awards two weekends ago... powerful movie.  The story is essentially that King George V (Queen Elizabeth's grandfather) is old and needs an heir.  He has two sons, Princes Edward (Guy Pearce) and Albert (Colin Firth), but Edward is taken with an American divorcee, Wallis Simpson (a scandal to the Church of England, who can't have its head marry a divorced woman), and Albert lacks confidence and has a serious stutter (or "stammer" as we and the Brits call it).  George dies and Edward as older son becomes king, but abdicates the throne to marry the twice-divorced Ms. Simpson. 

Albert in the mean time has been working with Lionel Logue (Geofrey Rush) to improve his speech impediment.  By the time of Edward's abdication Albert is mortified at speaking in public, but has begun to make improvements.  He becomes King and keeps Logue, despite the protest of some of his advisors.  WWII breaks out, Hitler starts his invasion of European nations, Great Britain is threatened and Albert, now King George VI, must reassure a restive empire.  The advent of radio puts an even greater premium on the ability to speak to the citizens... and so Logue sets out to prepare the King for this all important speech.

One of the best movies I've seen in quite some time.

« Reply #496 on: June 07, 2011, 12:24:33 PM »
I saw the Lantern trailer and was really impressed.  To be honest I didn't even know it had a movie in the works, and had even forgotten about Green Lantern as a character, since it's been so long since I was into comics.  But I real looking forward to seeing it.  I'll ketch Green Hornet when it come out on DVD a month later, b/c I guarantee yuh dat shit tanking at the box office, lol

Will take a read of the articles  :beermug:

Upon further review Green Lantern looking like some real shit.  We have National Lampoon's Van facking Wilder as the hero... so like Seth Rogen in Green Hornet, I shouldn't have been too surprised.  Ent see it yet though, but it eh look like they'll be getting my money.

« Reply #497 on: June 09, 2011, 09:14:27 AM »
Fellas, I just get into this thread so I might be a bit late with some info:

Green Hornet big disappointment - was a big fan of the TV series - hopefully they can revamp the movie like they did with the Hulk - shitty producing shouldn't ruin a good story.

Water for Elephants - damn good film and a bonus for those who like period pieces.

Hanna - not bad about a young 16 year old girl trained in isolation from young to battle the CIA. I believe the star is the same girl from the Lovely Bones - Saoirse Ronan.

« Reply #498 on: June 09, 2011, 09:22:55 AM »
Fellas, I just get into this thread so I might be a bit late with some info:

Green Hornet big disappointment - was a big fan of the TV series - hopefully they can revamp the movie like they did with the Hulk - shitty producing shouldn't ruin a good story.

Water for Elephants - damn good film and a bonus for those who like period pieces.

Hanna - not bad about a young 16 year old girl trained in isolation from young to battle the CIA. I believe the star is the same girl from the Lovely Bones - Saoirse Ronan.

GH start off aight den steadily slip dong hill, it was loud for sake ah being loud ah understand d premise of green hornet eh but at the same time should heros go out dey way not to hurt police

« Reply #499 on: June 10, 2011, 06:37:08 AM »
New Conan movie coming out

Conan the Barbarian (2011)

« Reply #500 on: June 10, 2011, 10:28:02 PM »
New Conan movie coming out

Conan the Barbarian (2011)

Starring "Khal Drogo"  :)

« Reply #501 on: June 13, 2011, 01:11:26 PM »
I take een Thor the other day...d movie not bad.

Hangover 2 was real filth....I ent laugh or chuckle once...doh waste yuh time.

I ent see d hype in True Grit...it was so so for me.

The Warriors Way had potential as a kick up but it get stale....Shaolin was a decent kickup but again they try too hard.

Battlefield LA was real shit....Section 8 was much better.

Sanctum was stale

127 hours is a dread flick...more documentary type but it was a real eye opening movie.

The Eagle was too slow....is another show that had potential but it get water down.

I have Black Swan, Kings Speech, Fighter, Rango and Next 3 days to watch.

« Last Edit: June 13, 2011, 01:13:06 PM by Touches »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #502 on: June 13, 2011, 02:02:26 PM »
Saw X-men last night. I never read the comic (I was enamoured of Spiderman and I'm a relatively loyal woman).

I enjoyed it although I noted they killed the only black dude (Darwin) and the only black woman was a ho...apart from that....good kick and stab movie.

Anybody going to see Rise of the Planet of The Apes? Now THAT looks like a mentally and spiritually disturbing movie.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2011, 02:33:22 PM by Queen Macoomeh »

« Reply #503 on: June 13, 2011, 03:48:58 PM »

Battlefield LA was real shit....Section 8 was much better.

Sanctum was stale

127 hours is a dread flick...more documentary type but it was a real eye opening movie.

The Eagle was too slow....is another show that had potential but it get water down.

I have Black Swan, Kings Speech, Fighter, Rango and Next 3 days to watch.

District 9??

King's Speech is boss.

« Reply #504 on: June 13, 2011, 03:54:07 PM »
Saw X-men last night. I never read the comic (I was enamoured of Spiderman and I'm a relatively loyal woman).

I enjoyed it although I noted they killed the only black dude (Darwin) and the only black woman was a ho...apart from that....good kick and stab movie.

Anybody going to see Rise of the Planet of The Apes? Now THAT looks like a mentally and spiritually disturbing movie.

Storm was a ho?  Ent see it yet... but yuh should check out the entire X-Men series.  X2, the second was in my mind the best.  That opening scene to me is the most fantastic opener to a movie that I have ever seen. Closely rivaled by the parkour chase in Casino Royale.

Planet of the Apes looking very decent.  I ent like that is so much CGI... but understandable why they need to use it.  If by "mentally and spiritually" disturbing yuh mean the disorienting feeling you get from seeing a "lesser" species dominate... then yeah.  Reminds me of how I felt when I saw a vid of a giant centipede killing and eating a mouse... morbid curiousity, I eh really dat sick.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #505 on: June 13, 2011, 04:58:53 PM »
Storm wasn't in this one. it's a new character...a fire spitting fly...lol
lawd...but I take it back though. My husband corrected me, She isn't a ho, she's an exotic dancer...my bad.  ::)

The expression of the face of the chimp is what got me in the trailer...and of course man's incredible ability to self annihilate.

« Reply #506 on: June 13, 2011, 06:27:36 PM »
Storm wasn't in this one. it's a new character...a fire spitting fly...lol
lawd...but I take it back though. My husband corrected me, She isn't a ho, she's an exotic dancer...my bad.  ::)

The expression of the face of the chimp is what got me in the trailer...and of course man's incredible ability to self annihilate.

think that is Lenny Kravitz's daughter, Zoe Kravitz

« Reply #507 on: June 13, 2011, 07:59:39 PM »
the company men is a good movie :beermug:

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #508 on: June 14, 2011, 06:56:24 AM »

[/quote]

She got all the looks from both parents. Her mom is "Denise" from the Cosby Show. But she's not a good actress...very attractive though.

« Reply #509 on: June 14, 2011, 09:21:34 AM »

She got all the looks from both parents. Her mom is "Denise" from the Cosby Show. But she's not a good actress...very attractive though.

agree - the acting in general wasn't that good. kevin bacon was decent. someone tell me please why people does rate january jones - real boring. best character was azazal.