March 28, 2024, 10:37:45 AM

Author Topic: Post ah movie thread  (Read 275122 times)

Re: Post ah movie thread
« Reply #510 on: June 14, 2011, 08:40:18 PM »
I could just not say anything, and make sure some of you never even hear about this movie, but I feel some ppl can benefit from my mistake.
Do NOT watch "A Serbian Film".
DO NOT WATCH IT.

In my defense I was checkin out the show list for a horror movie festival.  I watched "Red White and Blue" and I will recommend that one.  Next on the list was "A Serbian Film".  Now I can't bring myself to watch the others in the list.

« Reply #511 on: June 15, 2011, 07:03:53 AM »
I could just not say anything, and make sure some of you never even hear about this movie, but I feel some ppl can benefit from my mistake.
DO NOT WATCH IT.

In my defense I was checkin out the show list for a horror movie festival.  I watched "Red White and Blue" and I will recommend that one.  Next on the list was "A Serbian Film".  Now I can't bring myself to watch the others in the list.

hmm,,Is this an attempt at that newfangled 'reeverse sykology' all the kids are doing these days?

« Reply #512 on: June 15, 2011, 09:41:35 AM »
DO NOT WATCH IT.

hmm,,Is this an attempt at that newfangled 'reeverse sykology' all the kids are doing these days?

nah ... he thought the flim name was "A Lesbian Film"

« Reply #513 on: June 15, 2011, 10:41:09 AM »

I know that is what will happen to some ppl, but seriously, the decision to watch that movie should not be taken lightly.

« Reply #514 on: June 15, 2011, 12:25:35 PM »

I know that is what will happen to some ppl, but seriously, the decision to watch that movie should not be taken lightly.

oK, Ok Fine,, you've twisted my arm...I'll gather the kids and we go siddong and take it in on the weekend

« Reply #515 on: June 15, 2011, 12:46:24 PM »
Interesting review from Fear.net. I briefly scanned some reviews that stated the movie had no message at all. This reviewer thinks that it is making a statement about the dehumanizing effect of experiencing sadistic violence. I find it interesting only because one of the under-reported facts of war is the brutality and dehumanization that occurs. Basically when you get used to killing a sworn enemy people to survive, rape, torture and pillaging presents less of a moral dilemna.

This seems to be an extension of that in the sense that if you get accustom to watching vile shit for entertainment the boundaries of what you find acceptable could be affected as well.

Peong's warning seems really appropriate. Watch at your own peril. I curious though Peong yuh watch the whole thing?

SXSW 2010 Review: 'A Serbian Film'
Tue., Mar. 16, 2010 1:32 PM PDT , by Scott Weinberg

Imagine you're a car mechanic and you're tasked with fixing a car made entirely of body parts. Or pretend you're a doctor who is faced with a shocking, violent disease that nobody's ever seen before. Now here's me: a (very) horror-friendly film critic who is asked to review a film that's so shocking, so outrageous, and so legitimately disturbing that it boggles the mind. Yes, even the mind of a trained writer who's seen and reviewed thousands of horror films. And while I generally detest the employment of superlatives within my film reviews, I feel I can state, without fear of contradiction, that A Serbian Film is one of the most disgusting, unpleasant, and ANGRY films I've ever seen.

And if you think I mean that as a knock against the film, well then keep on reading.
On the surface, here's the deal: We open with a nine-year-old boy who is watching a pornographic film. We quickly discover that the film is one of his father's tapes. As in, his father is the star of the porno. Yikes. Mom and Dad show up, yank the cassette out of the player, and point the child toward the decidedly more appropriate activity of singing. But little Peter isn't all that great of a singer, which is why Mama asks her husband, Milos, for some money.

This simple request offers a clear indication that the family is short on cash, which means it's time for Milos to reluctantly return to the world of hardcore porn. Only ... in Serbia, the word "hardcore" doesn't mean what it used to. Without getting too vile, let's just say that Milos' new director has a rather ... extreme ... view of the porno biz. His films are less about the pleasures of human sexuality, and more about the exploitation, the degradation, and the ceaseless victimization of the human animal.

But then ... everything I've just described is merely the surface layer of A Serbian Film, and it's probably the least fascinating. So while it's true that a large portion of disturbing porn oozes out of Eastern European countries these days, and that it's a darkly compelling story to tell, I'd say A Serbian Film is actually "about" a group of angry young filmmakers whose country has been beaten and battered virtually beyond repair. I'd venture to say that A Serbian Film could only come from a group of people who've lived through some stunningly painful experiences, and are now dead-set on throwing their collective fury on to a movie screen.
"You watched it! You can't UN-WATCH it!"
is a rather amusing line that I discovered in an episode of Futurama, and it's one I love to yell immediately after seeing a film that has somehow scarred itself onto your brain. A Serbian Film not only fits that description; it's actually "about" the inability to "un-watch" something horrendous. The film posits the belief that once your eyes and your brain are pummeled with visions both horrific and inhumane, that you're never really the same. The creators of A  Serbian Film have seen such things first-hand, and their film seems aggressively intent on delivering some moments that, indeed, you will never forget. Even if you want to.

It's a Haneke-style trick being played on the audience, in a way, because as we watch Milos struggle through a series of monumentally disturbing misadventures, the flick actually DOES toss a few unforgettable horrors at the screen. To catalog such events would be a grave disservice to A Serbian Film, as this is in no way a "fun-time" horror flick, nor are the "nasty bits" anything close to fun. One gets the clear impression that the sickest moments are meant to judge an audience's willingness to leap into the truly vile and nihilistic side of the swimming pool -- but as a seasoned genrevore, I was stunned, shocked, and actually rather impressed. This is truly a film that pulls no punches, for better or for worse.

Practically unreleasable in its current state, A Serbian Film feels like a giant, screaming exclamation point of a film -- from a nation that rarely produces films at all. I think the film is tragic, sickening, disturbing, twisted, absurd, infuriated, and actually quite intelligent. There are those who will be unable (or unwilling) to decipher even the most basic of "messages": buried within A Serbian Film, but I believe it's one of the most legitimately fascinating films I've ever seen. I admire and detest it at the same time.
And I will never watch it again. Ever.

« Reply #516 on: June 15, 2011, 12:52:20 PM »
Read about in in the NY Times a month ago... prosecutors apparently wanted to charge the director.  Didn't really interest me then, can't say it does now.

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/05/15/movies/in-spain-serbian-film-raises-questions-of-artistic-license.html?scp=1&sq=a%20serbian%20film&st=cse

« Reply #517 on: June 22, 2011, 11:42:06 AM »
Limitless...is a decent flick, but I still find they coulda do more. Is about a tablet that allows you to use 100% of your brain. If you already smart you get even more inna gear.

Next 3 days is also a good show...Russel Crowe did a good one here...only thing is the beginning moves a bit slow but once the plan in action...is pace.

I going and take in Unknown sometime over the weekend.

« Reply #518 on: June 22, 2011, 12:35:17 PM »
Limitless was decent eh, actually enjoyed it but that is a real high man movie... For me it come across in a subtle way as some kinda advert for drug use, or a pat on the back for all them white collar cocaine users in corporate America.

Priest was a decent lil flick too, nutten too special but good all the same.

Hangover 2 was Hangover 1 all over again.. It had some moments, but it was a basically a remake of part 1 set in a next country, it wasn't no sequel.

Fast Five was real good in terms of an all out action movie as long as yuh dont try to think too hard about the plot and yuh willing to overlook the fact that The Rock cyah act to save he life. That last car chase scene was riveting as it was a dumb.. Imagine men pull down a whole city with 2 charger and a bank safe and taking corner like normal lol.

Is it me or the film industry real starving for invention these days? I find myself scanning the movie listings since the start of this year and finding 1 watchable movie in the cinema at the most. I say that was just until summer but now is like all i waiting for is Transformers 3.

Imagine men actually get funding to make a serious adult version movie about Little Red Riding Hood.

« Reply #519 on: June 22, 2011, 02:08:02 PM »
The loving story - the documentary made about the Supreme Court case Virginia v. Loving...about legalizing interracial marriage in Virginia - best I've seen this year. 
« Last Edit: June 22, 2011, 02:12:32 PM by kicker »

« Reply #520 on: June 22, 2011, 03:14:15 PM »
I enjoyed The Warrior's Way.  Comic-book style badman movie about a samurai swordsman in the wild west, with good action but there was plenty corniness involved.

Skyline had nice special effects but the rest of it was garbage.

I saw Monsters a while back and I enjoyed it a lot.  Despite a very low budget it was well-made.

The Adjustment Bureau was enjoyable.  I doh know why Obama was hatin on it.

« Reply #521 on: July 03, 2011, 10:00:19 PM »
Transformers was boss... the story weak but not as bad as previous ones.  The action though... wow.  I still say the Scorponok assault in the desert in Revenge of the Fallen is de best Transformer scene... followed by the chase scene on the highway with the Bonecrusher rollerblading after Bumblebee.  There's a near identical scene in this one that really did it fuh me when Bumblebee and Sam was racing along the highway with the Decepticons hot on they trail.  The Decepticons crash a truck right in front of them and just before impact  Bumblebee transform mid-chase... causing Sam to eject and go flying... jump over the obstruction, pluck Sam out of the air and put him back inside, transforming back into the car all in one.  Well yes... I nearly bawl like ah teenage gyul yes.  Take it een in 3-D too... niceness.

Ah also take in Green Lantern fuh free... steups.  Dai'z all that really needs to be said yes.  Sorely disappointing.  After the Batman and Super Man franchises (which is to say, after Batman) DC Comics real ketching dey ass.
« Last Edit: July 03, 2011, 10:12:54 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #522 on: July 05, 2011, 08:27:28 PM »
Transformers was boss... the story weak but not as bad as previous ones.  The action though... wow.  I still say the Scorponok assault in the desert in Revenge of the Fallen is de best Transformer scene... followed by the chase scene on the highway with the Bonecrusher rollerblading after Bumblebee.  There's a near identical scene in this one that really did it fuh me when Bumblebee and Sam was racing along the highway with the Decepticons hot on they trail.  The Decepticons crash a truck right in front of them and just before impact  Bumblebee transform mid-chase... causing Sam to eject and go flying... jump over the obstruction, pluck Sam out of the air and put him back inside, transforming back into the car all in one.  Well yes... I nearly bawl like ah teenage gyul yes.  Take it een in 3-D too... niceness.

Ah also take in Green Lantern fuh free... steups.  Dai'z all that really needs to be said yes.  Sorely disappointing.  After the Batman and Super Man franchises (which is to say, after Batman) DC Comics real ketching dey ass.

my mouth was open to d point where i almost dribbling for dat scene. MAD

out of the the three installments. this one was the best IMO. action from start to finish. taking it een again dis weekend. peltin out d 3-D money again too. dat is a show that cant be seen just once

« Reply #523 on: July 05, 2011, 09:19:36 PM »

out of the the three installments. this one was the best IMO. action from start to finish. taking it een again dis weekend. peltin out d 3-D money again too. dat is a show that cant be seen just once

Spoiler alerts please.

« Reply #524 on: July 05, 2011, 10:11:59 PM »
Bad Teacher was some kix

« Reply #525 on: July 05, 2011, 10:46:39 PM »
Spoiler alerts please.

Dread you acting like somebody reveal some kinda important plot detail or sumting... I actually satisfied to myself that I wasn't revealing anything here that would "spoil" it fuh anybody.

--------------------------------------

STEUPS... yuh right, I definitely taking in dis one again too.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2011, 10:48:44 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #526 on: July 06, 2011, 06:13:48 PM »
Spoiler alerts please.

Dread you acting like somebody reveal some kinda important plot detail or sumting... I actually satisfied to myself that I wasn't revealing anything here that would "spoil" it fuh anybody.

--------------------------------------

STEUPS... yuh right, I definitely taking in dis one again too.

VB, the scene described there is actually one shown in the previews, so no spoilers here  ;)

« Reply #527 on: July 06, 2011, 11:29:15 PM »

Spoiler alerts please.

bay did a decent job but the storyline has changed so much from the cartoon that annoys me a lot when i watch transformers

from starscream voice not being the same to renaming the autobots matrix of leadership to the all spark, is garbage, but i understand why because the matrix series already had been released

parts of the story like metroplex, omega supreme and unikron not being essential, to the original music from the cartoon movie should have been included

i hope they take voltron or robotech to feature film but they will have difficulties because the new generation will think its a bite from transformers  >:(

not to mention megatron is still megatron and has not completed the transformation to galvatron  >:(
« Last Edit: July 06, 2011, 11:43:28 PM by Controversial »

« Reply #528 on: July 07, 2011, 01:40:29 PM »

Spoiler alerts please.

bay did a decent job but the storyline has changed so much from the cartoon that annoys me a lot when i watch transformers

from starscream voice not being the same to renaming the autobots matrix of leadership to the all spark, is garbage, but i understand why because the matrix series already had been released

parts of the story like metroplex, omega supreme and unikron not being essential, to the original music from the cartoon movie should have been included

i hope they take voltron or robotech to feature film but they will have difficulties because the new generation will think its a bite from transformers  >:(

not to mention megatron is still megatron and has not completed the transformation to galvatron  >:(

I don't get your ire nah.  Megatron's voice is also very different.  Who besides Cullen voiced in the original series?  The 80's rock power ballads used in the original cartoon were used because it was current music.  Why should they use retro music today?
And if you want to see the original storyline with original voices and music, just re-watch the original series.

« Reply #529 on: July 07, 2011, 03:49:51 PM »

Spoiler alerts please.

I don't get your ire nah.  Megatron's voice is also very different.  Who besides Cullen voiced in the original series?  The 80's rock power ballads used in the original cartoon were used because it was current music.  Why should they use retro music today?
And if you want to see the original storyline with original voices and music, just re-watch the original series.

at least they kept as close to megatron's voice as possible, starscream being a main villain should have had his voice in there, things as those made the cartoon, same way with soundwaves voice, die hard transformers fans like myself who know the cartoon inside out would agree and have agreed that there were failures in the storyline and with the characters

whats wrong with doing a cover of the song? millions know the song, and would have loved some elements to remain, thats what made transformers a huge cartoon, this version has lost its way on many angles.

Chris Latta & Hirotaka Suzuoki did starscream in the original, Frank Welker for soundwave, megatron and galvatron.

plus no sign of the Quintessons who made the transformers, sorry breds, the story is weak, read the reviews from cartoon die hards other than me and film critics, it didn't cut it

« Reply #530 on: July 07, 2011, 10:43:53 PM »
Megatron's voice in the current movies is much deeper and spoken lower than in the cartoon. It sounds like he was speaking under his breath. (It was Agent Smith for those who interested). In the cartoon Megatron's voice was loud and harsh.  I don't think they tried to keep it like it was at all.  
Soundwave's voice was well done in the movies.

The Quintessons and Galvatron, that came after two whole seasons in the movie, which gave them enough time to tell the story.
The movies could have been weak if they used more of the original plot too especially with the time constraints.  If that had happened men  like you would be livid.

« Reply #531 on: July 07, 2011, 11:42:43 PM »

at least they kept as close to megatron's voice as possible, starscream being a main villain should have had his voice in there, things as those made the cartoon, same way with soundwaves voice, die hard transformers fans like myself who know the cartoon inside out would agree and have agreed that there were failures in the storyline and with the characters

whats wrong with doing a cover of the song? millions know the song, and would have loved some elements to remain, thats what made transformers a huge cartoon, this version has lost its way on many angles.

What you and the other diehards fail to acknowledge, is that they didn't make the movie fuh allyuh, but to appeal to a wider audience.  This version "lost its way" to becoming a legitimate franchise and smashing box office success.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2011, 11:44:41 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #532 on: July 08, 2011, 06:55:43 AM »
My friend's band Mute Math did a cover of the Transformers Theme.

« Reply #533 on: July 08, 2011, 10:36:06 AM »

What you and the other diehards fail to acknowledge, is that they didn't make the movie fuh allyuh, but to appeal to a wider audience.  This version "lost its way" to becoming a legitimate franchise and smashing box office success.

its doing well at the box office because the majority of viewers don't know a thing about transformers, they going based on marketing hype, not because the movie is great and has a superior plot to other sci fi movies

but the cg was poor in the first film, it has improved.

Megatron's voice in the current movies is much deeper and spoken lower than in the cartoon. It sounds like he was speaking under his breath. (It was Agent Smith for those who interested). In the cartoon Megatron's voice was loud and harsh.  I don't think they tried to keep it like it was at all.  
Soundwave's voice was well done in the movies.

The Quintessons and Galvatron, that came after two whole seasons in the movie, which gave them enough time to tell the story.
The movies could have been weak if they used more of the original plot too especially with the time constraints.  If that had happened men  like you would be livid.

if they can go back to sentinel prime and cybertron they can go back to the quintessons and forward to galvatron since megatron was defeated by optimus more than once and died in the first installment

the voice was done well for megatron despite it being deeper than the cartoon which i know, but it is close to the original, unlike strascream, soundwave is close but they should have gotten the original voice actors, if they are still alive, however they failed with the storyline and im not the first to say this, many major comic book and cartoon critics agree with my opinion.

take for example what peter jackson did with lord of the rings, he stays as close to the book as possible and he did a marvelous job, bay strayed and paid for it, because transformers could have been an even bigger box office hit than what it is now, rather than just being a visually stunning display of cinema with a weak storyline
« Last Edit: July 08, 2011, 10:38:49 AM by Controversial »

« Reply #534 on: July 08, 2011, 10:37:26 AM »

post the link breds, would be interesting to hear it  :beermug:

« Reply #535 on: July 08, 2011, 11:27:32 AM »

post the link breds, would be interesting to hear it  :beermug:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DlYD9dR82rY

you can download the song of the soundtrack for the movie (go to itunes)

« Reply #536 on: July 08, 2011, 12:59:54 PM »
its doing well at the box office because the majority of viewers don't know a thing about transformers, they going based on marketing hype, not because the movie is great and has a superior plot to other sci fi movies

"Marketing hype" would explain a good opening box office weekend... followed by poor numbers.  The strength of the franchise over three installments now is testament that the movie is successful, independent of any supposed marketing hype... not even sure why you're trying to argue this.  But at any rate, even if I were to concede your point for argument's sake... all the studio is concerned about is the bottomline, and as you've admitted, it's doing well at the box office.

« Reply #537 on: July 08, 2011, 10:43:29 PM »

"Marketing hype" would explain a good opening box office weekend... followed by poor numbers.  The strength of the franchise over three installments now is testament that the movie is successful, independent of any supposed marketing hype... not even sure why you're trying to argue this.  But at any rate, even if I were to concede your point for argument's sake... all the studio is concerned about is the bottomline, and as you've admitted, it's doing well at the box office.

sometimes its more than just the bottom line breds  8)

and i would expect a movie that has over 55 million in marketing dollars behind it to do well

compared to a movie like kings speech that costed a little over 8 million and grossed over 400 million, excellent story and acting, small marketing budget

transformers didn't need a huge marketing budget because it already had that huge following, it needed better acting and screenwriting, just my opinion as a transformers fan who has spoken to many other transformers fans who feel the same way

« Reply #538 on: July 09, 2011, 10:23:44 AM »

That's like saying "it doesn't matter if you win or lose, as long as you play pretty football".

Unfortunately for you the only opinions the producers care about is that of their accountants and financial advisers.  As long as that stays positive then the rest of 'us' can keep shaking our fists at the sky all we want.

« Reply #539 on: July 09, 2011, 04:34:11 PM »

That's like saying "it doesn't matter if you win or lose, as long as you play pretty football".

Unfortunately for you the only opinions the producers care about is that of their accountants and financial advisers.  As long as that stays positive then the rest of 'us' can keep shaking our fists at the sky all we want.

its funny you say that because i liken that line to transformers, because it lacks substance but looks pretty to the movie goer, pulling a profit because of their marketing dollars behind it and michael bay as director

not because of great acting or a screenplay, but thats how movies are now, all graphics and explosions without the in dept storyline to make it a great movie 
« Last Edit: July 09, 2011, 04:36:07 PM by Controversial »