March 28, 2024, 04:15:23 AM

Author Topic: Post ah movie thread  (Read 275077 times)

Re: Post ah movie thread
« Reply #600 on: September 16, 2011, 07:11:38 PM »
Anyone ever see 'Night catches us'  with Anthony Mackie and Kerry Washington?

Thanks, I just watched and enjoyed it a lot.

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #601 on: September 18, 2011, 08:59:33 PM »
The Reef, it's an Aussie shark flick.

« Reply #602 on: September 21, 2011, 07:29:33 AM »
Blue Valentine - Michelle Williams and Ryan Gosling...

If yuh like relationship drama type movies - a good watch. 

« Reply #603 on: September 21, 2011, 10:36:38 AM »
Blue Valentine - Michelle Williams and Ryan Gosling...

If yuh like relationship drama type movies - a good watch. 

yuh cry at the end ent??

doh lie kicker yuh well cry...Big deep Barry White sobs

« Reply #604 on: September 26, 2011, 03:01:07 AM »
Not sure if anyone post about it yet... but "Hereafter" is a boss movie... about three parallel stories, and how death affects each of the protagonists.  Powerful.

Produced and Directed by Clint Eastwood.
« Last Edit: September 26, 2011, 03:04:37 AM by Bakes »

« Reply #605 on: September 26, 2011, 05:36:14 AM »
Not sure if anyone post about it yet... but "Hereafter" is a boss movie... about three parallel stories, and how death affects each of the protagonists.  Powerful.

Bakes for some reason I did not enjoy this movie. Not sure why, I remember when I was watching it, I was just getting annoyed with Matt Damon. Was eerie leaving Movietowne after seeing it. Whole cinema walk out in basic silence yes. Like noone knew what to say

« Reply #606 on: September 26, 2011, 01:16:36 PM »
Bakes for some reason I did not enjoy this movie. Not sure why, I remember when I was watching it, I was just getting annoyed with Matt Damon. Was eerie leaving Movietowne after seeing it. Whole cinema walk out in basic silence yes. Like noone knew what to say

He's not my favorite actors... but I thought he did a good job with this one.  People have a hard time dealing with death, I think this movie does a good job of confronting it head on, and the sometimes devastating effects it has on survivors.
« Last Edit: September 26, 2011, 02:36:33 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #607 on: September 26, 2011, 02:34:05 PM »

de only time i experience that was "The Constant Gardener"
very sad movie... de whole cinema walk out almost single file in dead silence... very surreal.

« Reply #608 on: September 26, 2011, 04:36:12 PM »
Gantz - Japanese action sci-fi.  The main girl was super-sweet and it was an interesting story.

« Reply #609 on: September 27, 2011, 11:55:48 AM »
Ladies and Gents...I want to say thanks to all of you who contribute and continue to do so to this thread.

Alyuh does save meh plenty money when going to the neighbourhood pirate dvd man. Plus I could select carefully when I do decide to hit a movietown.

I ent calling names...but some reviewers tastes and critiques are similar to mine...whereas others I does just shake meh head and say nah boy...like he was watching a completely different movie or gettin some kinda action in the cinema while show going on.

Honestly I ent watch a good show in a while...I now finish looking at Lincoln Lawyer the other day...it was aight.

« Reply #610 on: September 27, 2011, 01:10:01 PM »
The other day I watch Your Highness with Danny McBride and James Franco.
Approach with caution, it have real gayness that supposed to be funny.
I wonder if  shows like this are meant to desensitize a certain demographic to gay content.
I got a few laughs but it wasn't worth the time.

« Reply #611 on: September 27, 2011, 11:46:04 PM »
The other day I watch Your Highness with Danny McBride and James Franco.
Approach with caution, it have real gayness that supposed to be funny.
I wonder if  shows like this are meant to desensitize a certain demographic to gay content.
I got a few laughs but it wasn't worth the time.

yuh askin answers man

« Reply #612 on: September 28, 2011, 12:02:58 AM »
Just finish watching "Due Date" on de DVR... with Robert Downey, Jr. and Zach Galifianakis or whatever he name.  It arrite... not the best but it have it's moments.  It have dis one scene whey Jamie Foxx and Downey in ah pick up with ZG in de tray... and they decide tuh fack wid him.  I nearly dead when ah see pardna ketch some air... I swear ah wake up mih neighbors and dem.  Only LOL moment doh.

« Reply #613 on: September 28, 2011, 08:21:33 AM »
Just finish watching "Due Date" on de DVR... with Robert Downey, Jr. and Zach Galifianakis or whatever he name.  It arrite... not the best but it have it's moments.  It have dis one scene whey Jamie Foxx and Downey in ah pick up with ZG in de tray... and they decide tuh fack wid him.  I nearly dead when ah see pardna ketch some air... I swear ah wake up mih neighbors and dem.  Only LOL moment doh.
seen it couple months ago.RD does nail any role he play,zach funny as hell.

« Reply #614 on: September 28, 2011, 11:08:26 AM »
Ladies and Gents...I want to say thanks to all of you who contribute and continue to do so to this thread.

Alyuh does save meh plenty money when going to the neighbourhood pirate dvd man. Plus I could select carefully when I do decide to hit a movietown.

I ent calling names...but some reviewers tastes and critiques are similar to mine...whereas others I does just shake meh head and say nah boy...like he was watching a completely different movie or gettin some kinda action in the cinema while show going on.

Honestly I ent watch a good show in a while...I now finish looking at Lincoln Lawyer the other day...it was aight.

check out Incendies, its a good foreign film  :beermug:

« Reply #615 on: September 29, 2011, 06:05:45 AM »
I'm currently covering a film fest and 2 sticks out so far

Project Nim and First Grader

will be seeing "the Tree", "Oliver Sherman", "Cave of forgotten dreams", "Terri", "life above all", oranges and sunshine and "snow flower and the secret fan". Had a good chat with Les Stroud - survivor man fame.. nice fella.

Do check out first grader

Anyone in my area and want to check out any of these films.. hit me up as I have passes (going fast though)

« Reply #616 on: September 29, 2011, 06:17:04 AM »
For the locals, there is currently the TT Film Festival taking place.. Lots of local productions with screenings across Trinidad.

Went to see 3-Line a few nights ago, low budget production that needs work but a great attempt at the horror genre within the local context.

Here is the website, screening dates and locations can be found on the calendar and movie info on the downloadable pdf:

http://www.ttfilmfestival.com/

Go out and support allyuh local talent.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2011, 06:29:11 AM by dinho »

« Reply #617 on: September 29, 2011, 11:49:05 AM »
Ah finally see X-Men Firstclass last night... de flick was nice man.  The ending kinda leave mih disappointed, but all in all, quality programming. 

Thor waiting on de DVR.

« Reply #618 on: September 29, 2011, 01:02:51 PM »
Watch Thor on Blu Ray after seeing it 3D in the theater. BIG improvement. Opt for HD if you can cuz it looks spectacular. I originally thought Captain America was better, but now I have to think about it.

I tink that scene from Due Date was in the trailer yes...

« Reply #619 on: September 29, 2011, 06:34:26 PM »
Due Date on cinemax now but I saw it in the theaters and I thought it was funny....fatboy from hangover is kix, jus he dress code in Due Date does mash me up

« Reply #620 on: October 04, 2011, 06:45:12 PM »
Due date was a boss flick. I real laugh with this.

IF anyone enjoy due date I think you will like Hall Pass . Owen Wilson was a blast in this I think.

Hereafter with Matt Damon I just couldn't get it and find it real dead to put it mildly.

« Reply #621 on: October 05, 2011, 12:16:06 AM »
Watch Thor on Blu Ray after seeing it 3D in the theater. BIG improvement. Opt for HD if you can cuz it looks spectacular. I originally thought Captain America was better, but now I have to think about it.

I tink that scene from Due Date was in the trailer yes...

Just watch Thor de other day... it was decent, nutten to write home about doh.

« Reply #622 on: October 05, 2011, 05:17:19 AM »

Thoroughly enjoyed it.

I was in Thailand at the time and being a bit out of the mainstream had no idea what this movie was about. In fact just saw the names of the film and had a minute to decide what to see. No idea who the stars were. Chose it because it was Eng. When they started to speak French at the beginning I freaked.

Long story short, I thoroughly agree with Bakes, good movie. Don't want to talk too much about it becz I may spoil it for others who are yet to see it.

« Reply #623 on: October 05, 2011, 12:58:48 PM »
Due date was a boss flick. I real laugh with this.

IF anyone enjoy due date I think you will like Hall Pass . Owen Wilson was a blast in this I think.

Hereafter with Matt Damon I just couldn't get it and find it real dead to put it mildly.

Yea Hall Pass the definitely worth watching, especially if you're into comedy and giving fake chow's lol

« Reply #624 on: October 05, 2011, 01:12:14 PM »
Rogue - Aussie croc film.  Good entertainment especially if yuh plan on visiting the outback.

Oorslogswinter - Dutch-language WW2 film.  This one was very good.
« Last Edit: October 05, 2011, 01:15:22 PM by Peong »

« Reply #625 on: October 05, 2011, 01:30:18 PM »
Rogue - Aussie croc film.  Good entertainment especially if yuh plan on visiting the outback.

Saw this about two years ago, not sure if I posted about it here... very good film indeed.  That 'saltie' was ah beast... in every sense of the word.

« Reply #626 on: October 05, 2011, 02:01:13 PM »
yuh cry at the end ent??

doh lie kicker yuh well cry...Big deep Barry White sobs

lol nah...I eh cry - and I eh shame tuh admit when a flick bring de tears, but not this one...

« Reply #627 on: October 08, 2011, 10:36:46 PM »
saw contagion today.storyline was good but that cast was horrible...cannot stand paltrow,damon and fishburne.

« Reply #628 on: October 08, 2011, 11:11:17 PM »
saw contagion today.storyline was good but that cast was horrible...cannot stand paltrow,damon and fishburne.

You eh like Morpheus?  Is de pimples on Montana bamsee nah?  :D

« Reply #629 on: October 09, 2011, 02:21:57 AM »

Saw it just a few days ago. Liked it.
Didn't have a problem with the cast.

Was surprised at the result with certain characters but don't wish to spoil it for others.

Good movie.