March 28, 2024, 02:35:17 AM

Author Topic: Post ah movie thread  (Read 275064 times)

Re: Post ah movie thread
« Reply #870 on: May 29, 2012, 08:05:38 AM »
MIB 3 - OK movie. Mediocre 1/2 half. The dialog and banter between J and K was lacking but had promise but got a lot better in the last 1/2. A teary-eye scene towards the end and nice wrap-up.  Just ignore the time travel paradoxes etc.

The black woman with the big tot tots make it for me.
Allyuh know she married to actor Allan Thicke's son?

Ent see the movie, but you must be talking about Paula Patton... and Robin Thicke is a star in his own right, even bigger than his father.

« Reply #871 on: May 29, 2012, 09:30:55 AM »
MIB 3 - OK movie. Mediocre 1/2 half. The dialog and banter between J and K was lacking but had promise but got a lot better in the last 1/2. A teary-eye scene towards the end and nice wrap-up.  Just ignore the time travel paradoxes etc.

The black woman with the big tot tots make it for me.
Allyuh know she married to actor Allan Thicke's son?

Ent see the movie, but you must be talking about Paula Patton... and Robin Thicke is a star in his own right, even bigger than his father.

Not as big as dem tot tots  ;D ;D
« Last Edit: May 29, 2012, 10:11:43 AM by vb »

« Reply #872 on: May 29, 2012, 09:43:54 AM »
ah doh think is Paula Patton - she not showing up anywhere in the credits (including IMDB).

Maybe Nicole Scherzinger?

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #873 on: May 29, 2012, 10:21:22 AM »
ah doh think is Paula Patton - she not showing up anywhere in the credits (including IMDB).

Same thing I wondering......I can't remember no black woman with big tot tots. I trying hard to figure out who it is....

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #874 on: May 29, 2012, 10:28:48 AM »

Same thing I wondering......I can't remember no black woman with big tot tots. I trying hard to figure out who it is....

Yeah..it is Nicole Scherzinger...I just went back and watch the opening couple of minutes on one of those pirate websites...they didn't look so big in the cinema....I don't think i had on my 3d glasses at that point, maybe that's why...

« Reply #875 on: May 29, 2012, 10:35:21 AM »
Oho... de Pussycyat Dolly chick.  Nice.

« Reply #876 on: May 29, 2012, 11:24:36 AM »

Yeah..it is Nicole Scherzinger...I just went back and watch the opening couple of minutes on one of those pirate websites...they didn't look so big in the cinema....I don't think i had on my 3d glasses at that point, maybe that's why...

Oh shit!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sorry fellas. I out of it. I thought is MI Bakes write.

Is MIB3 he write. Which of course is Men in Black....Well say what ...call it a Dave Jenny moment...... ;D ;D :laugh: :laugh:

« Reply #877 on: May 29, 2012, 12:02:20 PM »
Act of Valor

i check that this weekend. suposedly the "actors" was real navy SEALS. wicked. them could have all ah we surrounded now and we wouldn't even know.

« Reply #878 on: May 29, 2012, 03:08:39 PM »
I just saw they have a movie coming out "Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter"...where the hell do they come up with this stuff?  Thats why I haven't been to a movie theater in a year.

« Reply #879 on: May 29, 2012, 04:09:36 PM »
I just saw they have a movie coming out "Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter"...where the hell do they come up with this stuff?  Thats why I haven't been to a movie theater in a year.

take yuh time... its being adapted from a work of fiction that was on the new york times bestseller list.

open yuh mind... give it a try

« Reply #880 on: May 29, 2012, 05:23:42 PM »
take yuh time... its being adapted from a work of fiction that was on the new york times bestseller list.

I have a personal rule: no vampire movies made after 2000.

« Reply #881 on: May 30, 2012, 02:02:27 AM »

What about Vampire TV series after 2000?

« Reply #882 on: May 30, 2012, 09:00:58 AM »

I just stay away from vampires in general.  Horror movies don't really do it for me and I don't even know what genre the recent stuff they've been making would be.  It would basically have to be Bram Stoker's original dracula with cape and fangs for me to watch no matter when it was made.

« Reply #883 on: May 30, 2012, 09:20:45 AM »

I just stay away from vampires in general.  Horror movies don't really do it for me and I don't even know what genre the recent stuff they've been making would be.  It would basically have to be Bram Stoker's original dracula with cape and fangs for me to watch no matter when it was made.

So you miss out on Blade?

« Reply #884 on: May 30, 2012, 09:42:12 AM »
So you miss out on Blade?
I think that was before 2000.  I've seen maybe 30 minutes of it I wasn't that impressed.

« Reply #885 on: May 30, 2012, 11:49:52 AM »
i see another good title "nazis at the center of the earth"

true talk.

« Reply #886 on: May 30, 2012, 01:41:35 PM »

true talk.

What was that next to.. "Naked Nurse From Outer Space"?

« Reply #887 on: May 30, 2012, 02:57:30 PM »

true talk.
I swear they're not even trying anymore, seems they're just taking two ideas and mashing them together (Abraham Lincoln/Vampires, Nazis/Center of Earth, Cowboys/Aliens, etc.).  I now see "Snow White and the Huntsman" I don't know what the hell its supposed to be but it looks like crap.  Next will be "Bambi and the Flesh Eating Zombies" (in CGI) or something.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2012, 03:01:23 PM by theworm2345 »

« Reply #888 on: May 30, 2012, 03:10:28 PM »
I swear they're not even trying anymore, seems they're just taking two ideas and mashing them together (Abraham Lincoln/Vampires, Nazis/Center of Earth, Cowboys/Aliens, etc.). I now see "Snow White and the Huntsman" I don't know what the hell its supposed to be but it looks like crap.  Next will be "Bambi and the Flesh Eating Zombies" (in CGI) or something.

The regular Snow White story has a huntsman in it, that eh no mashup.

There's also Iron Sky, about Nazis on the moon.

« Reply #889 on: May 30, 2012, 03:23:42 PM »
The regular Snow White story has a huntsman in it, that eh no mashup.

There's also Iron Sky, about Nazis on the moon.
I haven't seen that since I was like 5 so maybe I'm wrong on that but all of the other examples still stand (though the new Snow White still looks terrible).

« Reply #890 on: May 31, 2012, 02:36:55 AM »

Don't know how they could take a US President and fictionalize like this but the preview look ok.

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xr68mt_abraham-lincoln-new-trailer_shortfilms?from=email_us_HB&utm_source=emailing&utm_medium=emailing&utm_campaign=email_us_HB

« Reply #891 on: May 31, 2012, 02:47:39 AM »
The Tomb.

Schwazzeneger and Stallone talk about working together on the Tomb.

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xr3o1q_the-tomb-film_shortfilms?ralg=behavior-only#from=playrelon-6

« Reply #892 on: May 31, 2012, 03:15:24 AM »

« Reply #893 on: May 31, 2012, 10:33:35 AM »
Allyuh need to stop hating on Robert Downey's Ironman. I loved him.  :D

I loved the whole movie - even the Scarlett chick wasn't as annoying as I expected her to me.

Loki was a boss...Captain America...lol...I liked the new actor for Hulk - he did very well.

I also like the way he learnt to 'control' his episodes. "That's my secret Captain - I'm always angry." So he's created a new baseline for himself...kind of cool.

The actor who plays Loki - brilliant.

But I was marginally disappointed in Thor - they powered him down and for the comic people, can Captain America's shield really deflect Hammer?

« Reply #894 on: June 01, 2012, 12:33:47 AM »
Allyuh need to stop hating on Robert Downey's Ironman. I loved him.  :D

I loved the whole movie - even the Scarlett chick wasn't as annoying as I expected her to me.

Loki was a boss...Captain America...lol...I liked the new actor for Hulk - he did very well.

I also like the way he learnt to 'control' his episodes. "That's my secret Captain - I'm always angry." So he's created a new baseline for himself...kind of cool.

The actor who plays Loki - brilliant.

But I was marginally disappointed in Thor - they powered him down and for the comic people, can Captain America's shield really deflect Hammer?

Thor the movie was better... he really didn't get to shine in this one.

Captain America was also much better than expected in the movie... I had a hard time taking him too serious (because he was taking heself too damn serious) in Avenger.  How de hell he end up being de boss?  Because he name "Captain".  It mighta work in the comics, but in the movie Thor was the one who knew all about the invaders.. he was the natural choice to call the shots, not Steve-what-he-name.

Also, his shield made from "Vibranium" (from what I remember)... it deflects energy.  So yeah, even Mjolnir eh ready fuh dat.  Wha'm yuh went and watch it in de dollar theater or wha' how yuh take so long? lol

« Reply #895 on: June 01, 2012, 12:13:17 PM »
Lol No, its just that I now seeing this thread. I watch Avengers four times already - three in cinema, once online.

Snow White and the Huntsman looking boss.

« Reply #896 on: June 11, 2012, 08:45:41 PM »

It was shit.  I doh help that ah really can't stand that Kristen whatevershenameisfromtwilight chick.

Some may still like Snow White... who knows. If you liked watching 'Bella' run around the woods in those Twilight movies then you should be good... there's plenty of that here. She even reprises that whole damsel in distress role she's so good at, except instead of the pale guy with the fangs and nu-age pompadour, she gets to swoon into the arms of 'The God of Thunder'... except he's more 'god of blunder' in this movie.

There's even one scene where she says the Lord's Prayer... which I thought was bizarre, this being a pagan world filled with superstition and the 'dark arts' and all. And then she morphs into Joan of Arc, gives her best St. Crispin's Day speech imitation... and everything's all right with the world. Dim the lights, grab some popcorn and sip some poorly-constituted soda while you're reading this and it'll be just as if you're at the movies.

--------------------------------------------------------

Ah surprise given how men was anticipating that nobody talking about Prometheus though.  Boss movie. And I went in expecting to be disappointed. I think if anything this is a lesson in managing expectations. There were one or two eye-rolling moments, and a couple cliched "white people do dumb shit in horror movies" moment (no offense white people... I kid I kid)... but other than that it stayed true to the genre.

There was one key scene that was pivotal to the storyline and which sought to shore up Rapace's bonafides as a heroine, where the execution was lacking. It just defied belief... any woman who has had a "difficult" pregnancy would relate. Advances in science, medicine and technology aside, that was a pure GTFOH moment. The heroism part was great... we are left questioning not her grit or desire for self-preservation... but rather the sheer improbability of it all. Won't say anymore on that for those still intent on seeing it.

I think it would have been nice had they channeled some more of the "Alien" movies creepy, predatory atmosphere and sequences... but alas. btw... now that I think of it... why do the aliens need humans anyways? Incubators? Hardly, they seem to get along fine in our absence. Then there's that whole retractable inner jaw thing... it's not like they eat our flesh... scary as those mandibles might be. Seems they just like spearing us with their jaws and busting out of our stomachs Meh... kinda weak when you really think of it.

The ending left a lot to be desired, but again... I fully expected (having read the reviews) that there would be no nicely packaged endings here. For me it was all a matter of how they were going to set up the next movie... which I thought was done in an okay fashion. I would have liked to learn more about why we were "engineered" and why the engineers decided to turn on us... it's not like we stole their fire... *shrug*
« Last Edit: June 12, 2012, 02:13:36 AM by Bakes »

« Reply #897 on: June 12, 2012, 07:29:29 PM »

Ah surprise given how men was anticipating that nobody talking about Prometheus though.  Boss movie. And I went in expecting to be disappointed. I think if anything this is a lesson in managing expectations. There were one or two eye-rolling moments, and a couple cliched "white people do dumb shit in horror movies" moment (no offense white people... I kid I kid)... but other than that it stayed true to the genre.

There was one key scene that was pivotal to the storyline and which sought to shore up Rapace's bonafides as a heroine, where the execution was lacking. It just defied belief... any woman who has had a "difficult" pregnancy would relate. Advances in science, medicine and technology aside, that was a pure GTFOH moment. The heroism part was great... we are left questioning not her grit or desire for self-preservation... but rather the sheer improbability of it all. Won't say anymore on that for those still intent on seeing it.

I think it would have been nice had they channeled some more of the "Alien" movies creepy, predatory atmosphere and sequences... but alas. btw... now that I think of it... why do the aliens need humans anyways? Incubators? Hardly, they seem to get along fine in our absence. Then there's that whole retractable inner jaw thing... it's not like they eat our flesh... scary as those mandibles might be. Seems they just like spearing us with their jaws and busting out of our stomachs Meh... kinda weak when you really think of it.

The ending left a lot to be desired, but again... I fully expected (having read the reviews) that there would be no nicely packaged endings here. For me it was all a matter of how they were going to set up the next movie... which I thought was done in an okay fashion. I would have liked to learn more about why we were "engineered" and why the engineers decided to turn on us... it's not like we stole their fire... *shrug*

Ah now come home after watching Prometheus in IMAX 3D and I real confused yes. I looking to scour the internet for some answers. In IMAX the movie have plenty eye candy and sci-fi porn with the details on the technology and widgets and doodads. I agree with yuh Bakes on that particular scene in the medical unit where I had to roll eh eyes and go with it - technology or not.

Overall I went in expecting more sci-fi horror and got more sci-fi philosophizing. Like I said I left the movie with plenty questions. Ah guess we will have to wait on the sequel.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2012, 07:31:07 PM by grimm01 »

« Reply #898 on: June 12, 2012, 09:53:49 PM »
finally take in avengers,boss flick....downey is boss actor.

« Reply #899 on: June 12, 2012, 11:29:44 PM »
finally take in avengers,boss flick....downey is boss actor.

De bootleg man finally reach Queens or wha'?

------------------------------------------------

Grimm... what questions yuh have?  Leh we compare notes nah.  Just put ah spoiler alert up top if necessary.