March 28, 2024, 11:56:17 AM

Author Topic: Post ah movie thread  (Read 275131 times)

Post ah movie thread
« Reply #1290 on: November 07, 2014, 09:47:35 PM »
Anybody watch Interstellar yet? If so help me out because as it end all I could do was grab my umbrella and ask it WTF I just watch.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2014, 10:04:35 PM by grimm01 »

Re: Post ah movie thread
« Reply #1291 on: November 14, 2014, 11:23:17 AM »
Anybody watch Interstellar yet? If so help me out because as it end all I could do was grab my umbrella and ask it WTF I just watch.

Saw it. Liked it.
What seemed to confuse you?

The scene with the daughter in the hospital was a little anticlimactic and unrealistic. Don't want to say more and ruin it for others.

« Reply #1292 on: November 16, 2014, 01:59:36 PM »
The Salvation.

Good western.

« Reply #1293 on: December 07, 2014, 05:50:05 PM »
Predestination starring Ethan Hawke. WOW!!

An Australian production. You eh go see dis one coming.

« Reply #1294 on: December 08, 2014, 05:10:21 PM »
The Salvation.

Good western.

Man Utd fans will be happy to see Eric in it.

« Reply #1295 on: December 22, 2014, 06:20:36 AM »
Get on Up.

Damn good movie.

Boseman gives a helluva performance. Expect both star and film to be nominated for an Academy award.

Perhaps my only criticism is that the contribution of Bobby Byrd was song writer and contributor to Brown's success was a bit muted.

At the end you see Brown stopping his concert and singing a song directly to Byrd. I believe this was one of Byrd's hits during his solo efforts. But you were left to figure it out.

At times you swear you were watching Brown himself. Boseman outdid himself.

« Reply #1296 on: December 25, 2014, 10:17:47 PM »
Gone Girl is a real good movie.  Kinda disappointed by the ending, but talk about some psycho crazy shit.  Good drama.

« Reply #1297 on: December 29, 2014, 09:53:32 AM »
anyone bother seeing The Interview?

« Reply #1298 on: December 29, 2014, 11:13:30 AM »
Exodus, kinda disappointing. Expected more.

Some things didn't happen the way I remember biblical stories telling it but I left the theatre feeling anticlimactic, especially after the REd Sea part.

« Reply #1299 on: December 29, 2014, 02:22:52 PM »

see: http://www.businessinsider.com/neil-degrasse-tyson-interstellar-ending-2014-11

« Reply #1300 on: January 18, 2015, 06:07:16 AM »
Whiplash.

Great movie. Just saw it.
This movie gave me a whole new respect for musicians.

J K Simmons gives the performance of a lifetime.

« Reply #1301 on: January 27, 2015, 07:53:41 AM »
St. Vincent: great film starring Bill Murray.

Vice: expected more from a Bruce Willis film. Watch it on your laptop.
Wasn't bad. Just a had B-ish quality about it.

The lead actress was ok, the fact that her husband helped produce the film probably didn't hurt her either.

Not complete shit but for a BW film, expected more.

« Last Edit: January 27, 2015, 05:22:48 PM by vb »

« Reply #1302 on: January 27, 2015, 10:14:17 AM »
saw The Imitation Game - some flaws and distortions but decent flick.

« Reply #1303 on: April 13, 2015, 08:30:35 PM »
Searching for Sugarman - interesting flick about a folk singer from Detroit that miss out on a career in the USA but makes it big in apartheid south africa - except he doh even know he made it big overseas. Pre-Internet story.

« Reply #1304 on: April 14, 2015, 08:16:32 AM »
Searching for Sugarman - interesting flick about a folk singer from Detroit that miss out on a career in the USA but makes it big in apartheid south africa - except he doh even know he made it big overseas. Pre-Internet story.

Read about this somewhere ... think it was in the NYT some months ago. Cyah recall right now and in no position to check. Ah feel good vibes thing fuh sure.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2015, 09:26:29 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #1305 on: June 01, 2015, 03:19:15 AM »
"Voices" - Trinidad Local Film

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/qUx2WnaGFXQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/qUx2WnaGFXQ</a>

« Reply #1306 on: June 01, 2015, 03:20:42 AM »

^^ T&T have talent. We jus hadda know how to develop and nurture it..

« Reply #1307 on: June 09, 2015, 04:52:48 PM »
Age of Adeline.

the Forger (John Travolta)

Good films.

« Reply #1308 on: June 09, 2015, 08:35:08 PM »
mad max: fury road damn good thrill ride, loud and bombastic from start to finish.....dreadness actually forgo Avengers to see it....which next on my list, missed out on fast7 on d big screen..........exams :(

« Reply #1309 on: June 10, 2015, 08:50:32 AM »
mad max: fury road damn good thrill ride, loud and bombastic from start to finish.....dreadness actually forgo Avengers to see it....which next on my list, missed out on fast7 on d big screen..........exams :(

mad max was lack luster... not even close to the original...

people have gone past the retro post apocalyptic style

« Reply #1310 on: June 10, 2015, 12:22:05 PM »

mad max was lack luster... not even close to the original...

people have gone past the retro post apocalyptic style

to each his own..........with d focus on CG these days......it was nice to see "real" stunts and effect and don't find nutten wrong with d story

« Reply #1311 on: June 10, 2015, 06:21:43 PM »
GM did as good a job with what's available today (technology) as he did when he did the original. Personally I believe the acting in Fury Road was much better and I'm a huge fan of the original MM series. There were some bloopers/mistakes in fury road.. and GM could have spent a little more time on the ending. kinda anti-climatic. but no big deal.

You need big screen and big sound for this one for sure!

« Reply #1312 on: June 10, 2015, 06:58:18 PM »
GM did as good a job with what's available today (technology) as he did when he did the original. Personally I believe the acting in Fury Road was much better and I'm a huge fan of the original MM series. There were some bloopers/mistakes in fury road.. and GM could have spent a little more time on the ending. kinda anti-climatic. but no big deal.

You need big screen and big sound for this one for sure!

this I would agree with yeah dey coul;da work on dat lil bit.

« Reply #1313 on: June 11, 2015, 09:15:25 AM »
avengers rise of ultron was slow.

« Reply #1314 on: June 11, 2015, 05:38:10 PM »
avengers rise of ultron was slow.

yuh being kind. it was a mess! from all the pregame hype I really expected much more.

hoping MI, Bond and terminator can wet my appetite this summer.

« Reply #1315 on: June 14, 2015, 07:20:34 AM »
king's man if yuh like me and yuh dig "gun fu" movies check dat out

« Reply #1316 on: June 14, 2015, 04:19:35 PM »
very good documentary on the War on Drugs - The House I Live In

« Reply #1317 on: June 15, 2015, 04:23:53 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/34ciylexUQw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/34ciylexUQw</a>

« Reply #1318 on: June 15, 2015, 06:27:24 PM »
king's man if yuh like me and yuh dig "gun fu" movies check dat out

It was arrite... Sam's character was too much of a caricature for me.

A good movie was I, Robot... Ex Machina.

« Reply #1319 on: June 29, 2015, 08:36:48 AM »
Don't really watch anything on TV, but football. However i love Westerns so I have recently been following
Hell on Wheels a good Western series and also the motorcycle version of a Western, Sons of Anarchy.

PS: Watched 13 Assassins on a flight recently, for those who love  kick up, entertaining,

finally catch this one. yeah this was real good. the concept of honour in japan is something else