April 24, 2024, 01:01:56 AM

Author Topic: Findley turns down T&T for US olympic team  (Read 10968 times)

Findley turns down T&T for US olympic team
« on: March 03, 2008, 08:22:31 PM »
Findley blanks Soca Warriors
[/color]
Monday, March 3 2008

ROBBIE FINDLEY, who holds dual Trinidadian and American citizenship, has turned down an offer to represent the Soca Warriors.

Instead, the 22-year old Real Salt Lake forward is now poised to join the United States Olympic team camp for the upcoming CONCACAF final round qualifiers.

Findley, born in the US to TT parents, was invited to join the national team for the upcoming international friendlies against El Salvador on March 19 here and the away match to Jamaica on March 26 in Kingston.

Re: Findley turns down T&T for US olympic team
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2008, 08:24:50 PM »
http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,74292.html

here's the link in case

wasnt this inevitable?? they dragged their foot on this youth...steups
what is the rule again? after they pass 23 they have to choose which senior team they gonna represent??

what bout Patterson and the next youth who jus got dropped from MLS? they worth it?

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2008, 08:31:47 PM »
Well..no suprise. Deal wit TTFF...every day is some new comess....all those thoughts had to add up. We lapse wit him....so....hard luck....
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2008, 08:36:08 PM »
When he read and heard about Jack  he turned his back!!!!! on TT

« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2008, 09:32:34 PM »
i wish de fella luck but what goes around comes around

« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2008, 09:36:13 PM »
There is about 25 - 30 players to choose fom anf they only chooing a roster of 20

Nowak Calls 24 Players Into Under-23 MNT Training Camp Leading Up to Olympic Qualifying    

CHICAGO (Feb. 25, 2008) – U.S. Under-23 Men’s National Team head coach Peter Nowak has named 24 players to participate in the team’s final training camp before 2008 CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying. The camp will take place in Bradenton, Fla. from March 1-9, before the final 20-player roster travels to Tampa, the location of the first-round games in the qualifying tournament for Group A.

The final 20-player roster may include players not in the Bradenton training camp, and will be announced prior to the team’s arrival in Tampa on March 9, two days before the U.S. opens the qualifying tournament against Cuba on March 11 at Raymond James Stadium. The U.S. will then face Panama on March 13 at 8 p.m. ET and Honduras on March 13 at 7 p.m. ET.

« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2008, 09:38:20 PM »
o come guys if a player can make a usa team u think they will opt to play 4 tnt regardless of the state of our admin

« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2008, 09:40:48 PM »
Whey his navel string buried???

We doh need him, we jest need to get our act together. We have Stern J, KJ and J Scotland up front  ;)

Just give them the $$ they deserve !

« Last Edit: March 03, 2008, 09:45:31 PM by forever trini »

« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2008, 09:43:56 PM »
Freak boi u preach

« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2008, 09:48:12 PM »
he born dey, grow up dey, and dey house in order....what else should he do?

« Reply #10 on: March 03, 2008, 09:56:23 PM »
he born dey, grow up dey, and dey house in order....what else should he do?

So he is a yank by nature, is only natural he choose dem...

All de best Findley...

« Reply #11 on: March 03, 2008, 10:11:07 PM »
Freak boi u preach

ha weary yuh know hope he makes this under 23 team

« Reply #12 on: March 03, 2008, 11:26:25 PM »
who vex lorse,if the bredda have de support from he treasonous parents (simmer dong just kiddin) all well and good,hope he wasnt forced into ah decision by any outside influence.

« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2008, 11:53:53 PM »
If a player is not openly willing to play for us, why bother chasing after them.
It is a waste of time and an insult to our other players to hope that if he does not make the U.S team that he will turn around and play for us.

« Reply #14 on: March 04, 2008, 04:19:32 AM »
If a player is not openly willing to play for us, why bother chasing after them.
It is a waste of time and an insult to our other players to hope that if he does not make the U.S team that he will turn around and play for us.

but u describing the same exact situation with Shaka.
The US will do their own set of recruitment behind closed doors....in the end is up to the player to decide.  I don't know how he still eligible but even if he make that U-23 side the door would still be open I think.

« Reply #15 on: March 04, 2008, 06:09:03 AM »
The U.S. Under-23 Men’s National Team’s road through 2008 CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying will be broadcast live on Fox Soccer Channel, the tournament’s exclusive English-language provider. Fox Soccer Channel will show a total of seven qualifying matches, including all three of the USA’s first-round matches, semifinals, third-place and championship match.

« Reply #16 on: March 04, 2008, 06:54:59 AM »
STAY RIGHT FU#KING DEY

« Reply #17 on: March 04, 2008, 07:29:40 AM »

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #18 on: March 04, 2008, 09:09:24 AM »
:
 :beermug: i doh blame the man at all...
All American

« Reply #19 on: March 04, 2008, 09:16:41 AM »
hull he stinking arse.

« Reply #20 on: March 04, 2008, 11:34:59 AM »
wha allyuh woulda do if it was you? what yuh woulda tell yuh son to do if he ask u who he should play for?

anyhow - this go be a good side.

Player   Pos.   Ht.   Wt.   Birthdate   Hometown   Club
Adu, Freddy   F   5-8   145   06/02/89   Potomac, Md.   SL Benfica (Portugal)
Altidore, Josmer   F   6-1   175   11/06/89   Boca Raton, Fla.   New York Red Bulls (MLS)
Alvarez, Arturo   M   5-9   170   06/28/85   Houston, Texas   FC Dallas (MLS)
Barrett, Chad   F   5-11   180   04/30/85   Beaverton, Ore.   Chicago Fire (MLS)
Cervi, Dominic   GK   6-6   205   07/09/86   Norman, Okla.   Out of Contract
Davies, Charlie   F   5-10   160   06/25/86   Manchester, N.H.   Hammarby IF (Sweden)
Edu, Maurice   D   6-0   170   04/18/86   Fontana, Calif.   Toronto FC (MLS)
Feilhaber, Benny   M   5-9   150   01/19/85   Irvine, Calif.   Derby County (England)
Findley, Robbie   F   5-9   165   08/04/85   Phoenix, Ariz.   Real Salt Lake (MLS)
Freeman, Hunter   D   5-11   170   01/08/85   Allen, Texas   New York Red Bulls (MLS)
Gaven, Eddie   M   6-0   145   10/25/86   Hamilton, N.J.   Columbus Crew (MLS)
Hall, Tally   GK   6-4   205   05/12/85   Gig Harbor, Wash.   Esbjerg fB (Denmark)
Hill, Kamani   D   6-0   175   12/28/85   Berkeley, Calif.   Vfl Wolfsburg (Germany)
Holden, Stuart   M   5-10   160   08/01/85   Houston, Texas   Houston Dynamo (MLS)
Ianni, Patrick   D   6-1   150   09/09/85   Lodi, Calif.   Houston Dynamo (MLS)
Kljestan, Sacha   M   6-1   150   09/09/85   Huntington Beach, Calif.   Chivas USA (MLS)
McCarty, Dax   M   5-9   150    04/30/87   Winter Park, Fla.    FC Dallas (MLS)
Orozco, Michael    D    5-11    160    02/07/86    Orange, Calif.    San Luis (Mexico)
Randolph, Mike    D    5-7    155    12/03/85    Chino Hills, Calif.    Los Angeles Galaxy (MLS)
Rogers, Robbie    M    5-10    165    05/12/87    Huntington Beach, Calif.    Columbus Crew (MLS)
Seitz, Chris   GK    6-4    205    03/12/87    San Luis Obispo, Calif.    Real Salt Lake (MLS)
Sturgis, Nathan    D    5-10    150    07/06/87    St. Augustine, Fla.    Real Salt Lake (MLS)
Wynne, Marvell    D    5-9    170    05/08/86    Poway, Calif.    Toronto FC (MLS)
 Zizzo, Sal   M    5-11    165    04/03/87    San Diego, Calif.    Hannover 96 (Germany)

Roster by Position
GOALKEEPERS (3): Dominic Cervi (out of contract), Tally Hall (Esbjerg fB), Chris Seitz (Real Salt Lake)
DEFENDERS (8): Maurice Edu (Toronto FC), Hunter Freeman (New York Red Bulls), Kamani Hil (Vfl Wolfsburg), Patrick Ianni (Houston Dynamo), Michael Orozco (San Luis), Mike Randolph (LA Galaxy), Nathan Sturgis (Real Salt Lake), Marvell Wynne (Toronto FC)
MIDFIELDERS (8): Arturo Alvarez (FC Dallas), Benny Feilhaber (Derby County), Eddie Gaven (Columbus Crew), Stuart Holden (Houston Dynamo), Sacha Kljestan (Chivas USA), Dax McCarty (FC Dallas), Robbie Rogers (Columbus Crew), Sal Zizzo (Hannover 96)
FORWARDS (5): Freddy Adu (SL Benfica), Jozy Altidore (New York Red Bulls), Chad Barrett (Chicago Fire),
Charlie Davies (Hammarby IF), Robbie Findley (Real Salt Lake)

« Reply #21 on: March 04, 2008, 11:40:44 AM »
wha allyuh woulda do if it was you? what yuh woulda tell yuh son to do if he ask u who he should play for?
Man, I would tell him dat Mr Austin Jack Warner was his long lost uncle and that he would be treated with as much respect and tranparency as is found in similar Football Associations around the world. ;)

Then I would wake up and leave it for him to decide ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #22 on: March 04, 2008, 01:00:01 PM »
Kamani  Hill  is a strker i think not a defender.... so he has plenty competiton
« Last Edit: March 04, 2008, 03:46:19 PM by Trini _2010 »

Offline marcus

• BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS
« Reply #23 on: March 04, 2008, 01:04:36 PM »
:
 :beermug: i doh blame the man at all...

i doh blame him.... he born and grow up dey.... plus with all the negative vibes btw ttfa and the current players.... yuh would have to say the youth crazy to play for we with current state of affairs.... wish he choose tnt but cant fault him or hate on him... best of luck

« Reply #24 on: March 04, 2008, 02:45:09 PM »
It's amazing how easy it is for a youth who born in the usa to diss we than if he was born in trinidad and grew up in the usa,that's why I will always hold chris birchall in high praises.now while we don't have control or say in an individuals right to choose or so they say,I beg to differ,his parents have a great deal of influence on him I'm sure,but again I have to say is something about our trinis when we come here to live,we seem to distance ourselves from anything trini,except carnival..........     

« Reply #25 on: March 04, 2008, 03:35:04 PM »
It's amazing how easy it is for a youth who born in the usa to diss we than if he was born in trinidad and grew up in the usa,that's why I will always hold chris birchall in high praises.now while we don't have control or say in an individuals right to choose or so they say,I beg to differ,his parents have a great deal of influence on him I'm sure,but again I have to say is something about our trinis when we come here to live,we seem to distance ourselves from anything trini,except carnival..........     

Normally I will agree with a post like this eh...but not in this case..the man tried to play for we...but we have something called the TTFF (JW) that hinder his efforts to play for we...if I am not mistaking he went to a few trials and hinted he was willing to play for us...but TTFF F-up so he make a decision that he thinks is best suited for him  :beermug:

« Reply #26 on: March 04, 2008, 04:45:20 PM »
hull he stinking arse.
Agreed.

Findley eh know he supposed tuh offer he services tuh Trinidad, let dem blank him...and den siddung dey and wait and pray Trinidad come back 'rung again tuh fack him up ah second time.  Who de hell he feel he is?

« Reply #27 on: March 04, 2008, 05:28:43 PM »
STAY RIGHT FU#KING DEY

« Reply #28 on: March 04, 2008, 05:47:57 PM »
hull he stinking arse.
Agreed.

Findley eh know he supposed tuh offer he services tuh Trinidad, let dem blank him...and den siddung dey and wait and pray Trinidad come back 'rung again tuh fack him up ah second time.  Who de hell he feel he is?

He take a page outa de Jlloyd Samuel and Bobby Zamora play book, and we see where dey are now!

« Reply #29 on: March 04, 2008, 07:40:55 PM »
Thank you..