April 27, 2024, 01:55:11 PM

Author Topic: Happy 83rd to Rodney Wilkes  (Read 4338 times)

Happy 83rd to Rodney Wilkes
« on: March 04, 2008, 03:53:51 PM »
On Tuesday, March 11 2008, our first Olympic medallist, weightlifter Rodney Wilkes will turn 83 years old. In a follow up to our Christmas visit, a representative of the Warrior Nation will be stopping by to see Mr. Wilkes, and we would like to present him with a list of birthday greetings/messages. We think it would really make his day. So feel free to leave your messages in this thread and we will deliver them to him on Sunday, March 9th.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2008, 06:50:31 PM by Tallman »

Re: Happy 83rd to Rodney Wilkes
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2008, 04:07:26 PM »
Best wishes Mr. Wilkes on your 83rd birthday.
A hero who should never be forgotten.

Regards

The De La Rosa's

Offline dombasil

« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2008, 05:11:50 PM »
Best wishes on your Birthday. It is people like you who make it an honor to be from these islands.

« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2008, 05:48:27 PM »
Happy Birthday, Oh mighty Olimpian!!!!!

« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2008, 06:04:51 PM »
 :applause: :chilling: :cheers: :notworthy: :party: :peace: :salute: :wavetowel:
Happy Birthday to you Mr. Wilkes.....
Thanks for your inspiration, competing in Three Olympics and, most importantly, being our First Medalist.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2008, 10:37:13 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2008, 06:07:22 PM »
Best Wishes on your birthday Mr. Wilkes

We Hope you see quite a few more birthdays and receive the official accolades you deserve

« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2008, 06:59:31 PM »
 :party: :party: :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2008, 08:41:05 PM »
Happy Birthday Sir keeping battin 83 N.O.

Offline Swima

« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2008, 05:58:16 AM »
Happy birthday to you Sir. A true pioneer. Should this message reach your eyes or ears, it would truly be the writer's honour.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2008, 06:37:40 AM »
A very Special Birthday to you Mr. Wilkes. All the best and may you live to see many more.
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2008, 07:12:03 AM »
Congratulations Dear Sir. 83 kg is nothing for you. May this be one more of many to add to the bar !

« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2008, 07:16:05 AM »
Best wishes and blessings on your birthday Mr. Wilkes, and in the years to come.

Offline socachatter

• ey boy look ah make
« Reply #12 on: March 05, 2008, 07:41:41 AM »
Mr. Wilkes, your extraordinary contribution to the sporting history of our country is applauded and appreciated.  May your accomplishments serve to inspire those aspiring to Olympic honours.  Happy Birthday!  I wish you peace of mind and happiness in your golden years. 
« Last Edit: March 05, 2008, 08:07:33 AM by socachatter »
"Moral certainty is always a sign of cultural inferiority.  The more uncivilized the man, the surer he is that he knows precisely what is right and what is wrong.  All human progress, even in morals, has been the work of men who doubted current moral values, not of men who tried to enforce them."

« Reply #13 on: March 05, 2008, 07:58:31 AM »
Congratulations and thankyou.

« Reply #14 on: March 05, 2008, 08:16:55 AM »
May you see many, many more.

best wishes!

« Reply #15 on: March 05, 2008, 08:56:27 AM »
Happy Birthday to a living legend.  All the best Mr. Wilkes!

« Reply #16 on: March 05, 2008, 09:00:11 AM »
Happy Birthday Mr. Wilkes, wish you good health and happy days. :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :salute: :salute: :salute: :salute: :salute:

« Reply #17 on: March 05, 2008, 10:34:58 AM »
Happy Birthday!

Offline izatrini.com

• www.izatrini.com
    • Custom Trinidad & Tobago T-Shirts and more
« Reply #18 on: March 05, 2008, 11:51:20 AM »
Happy Birthday and well wishes to you. Here is to many more years! Thank you for your contribution to our great Nation.
Rep Yuh Culture  - www.izatrini.com

« Reply #19 on: March 05, 2008, 07:13:40 PM »
Happy Birthday to one of our true legends of sport. May you live to see many more.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #20 on: March 06, 2008, 06:19:48 AM »
All the best on your birthday Mr. Wilkes.  Hoping the years to come are filled with wonder and delight.

« Reply #21 on: March 06, 2008, 06:49:25 PM »

Happy Birthday Champ.  We have a Mighty Legend in our midst....lucky are we!

« Reply #22 on: March 07, 2008, 06:48:48 PM »
From one Southman to another, have a blessed 83rd. From London to Helsinki to Melbourne, you've done us proud.

« Reply #23 on: March 08, 2008, 06:27:30 AM »

Happy Birthday Mr Wilkes, you are our Olympian.

« Reply #24 on: March 08, 2008, 06:46:35 AM »
Happy Birthday and well wishes to you and your family.
Thank you Sir for putting our great country on the sporting map with your achievements.

« Reply #25 on: March 10, 2008, 11:31:47 AM »
Just want to let you all know that Mr. Wilkes was deeply touched by the birthday greetings.

He said "Praise the Lord. I am thankful for what people do for me."

Here are two pictures of him reading the greetings:

Here is  a picture of a set of barbells in Mr. Wilkes' front yard. They were given to him by the Shell Oil Company before the 1956 Olympic games.

« Reply #26 on: March 10, 2008, 07:37:57 PM »
Thank you Mr Wilkes
Thank you WN
Good Job to ALL  :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
« Last Edit: March 10, 2008, 08:43:32 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #27 on: April 15, 2008, 09:24:55 AM »
Fuh real. Good work by all involved. Mr. Wilkes' glasses look thinner than lenses men half his age sporting.

« Reply #28 on: April 16, 2008, 02:59:25 PM »
Nice to see you literally brightened a senior citizens day, nice work Tallman & Organic

Wait? dem barbell in he front yard for over 50 years??