April 18, 2024, 03:45:37 PM

Author Topic: FC Barcelona v Celtic FC 4/3/08  (Read 3462 times)

FC Barcelona v Celtic FC 4/3/08
« on: March 04, 2008, 08:36:53 AM »

Barcelona - Camp Nou
Tuesday kickoff
20:45 Barcelona / 2:45pm U.S. eastern

1st Leg Reminder
Celtic 2-3 FC Barcelona
1-0 : Vennegoor of Hesselink 16'
1-1 : Messi 18'
2-1 : Robson 38'
2-2 : Henry 52'
2-3 : Messi 79'

Barcelona line up Cristiano Ronaldo bid

Barcelona have declared their interest in signing Manchester United's Cristiano Ronaldo.

The Catalan giants have £80 million to spend on transfers during the summer and the winger, 23, is said to be top of their wish list, with the club set to offload the likes of Ronaldinho, Deco and Eidur Gudjohnsen to fund his purchase.

"Cristiano Ronaldo is a player we think we can sign in the summer," said Txiki Begiristian, Barca's sporting director, in an interview on Spanish TV programme 'Gol a Gol' at the weekend.

"Barcelona have never said we are not interested in him, but he is just one of many players we are looking at. We know we need to have a lot of options.

"It is logical that for the arrival of big expensive players it is necessary for some to exit. The door is open, but we will not reveal in advance any names.

"Cristiano Ronaldo is a key player for any club, but I still think it will be complicated to persuade Manchester United to sell in the summer."
advertisement

However, Barcelona will also have to beat off competition from arch-rivals Real Madrid, who last week reportedly met with the Portugal international's agent, Jorge Mendes, to discuss a potential £8m-a-year contract at the Santiago Bernabeu.

Meanwhile, Begiristian has told Arsenal midfield player Cesc Fabregas that he will never be allowed to return to Camp Nou as a Barcelona player following his decision five years ago to swap Catalonia for north London.

The Spain international has been coveted by both Barcelona and Madrid in recent seasons following a string of outstanding displays at the heart of the Arsenal midfield, but Begiristian insists that the club will not attempt to lure the play-maker back to Catalonia while he is still in charge of transfers at Barca.

"There is always a risk when you decide to leave Barcelona and the fact is that he cannot return," Begiristian said. "He, as was hoped, would now be in the first team. Bojan (Krkic) is an example. He had faith and did not go to England."

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?xml=/sport/2008/03/04/ufnronaldo104.xml

Re: FC Barcelona v Celtic FC 4/3/08
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2008, 09:17:53 AM »
Not going to happen... check back in 4-5 years..

« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2008, 11:17:42 AM »
Not going to happen... check back in 4-5 years..

I hope yuh right

« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2008, 11:22:14 AM »
Confession: Ah do know... but since ah hanging out on de board Ah kinda likin Barca... even find myself watching partial La Liga games dey play in  :'(

Go Barca...

« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2008, 11:25:33 AM »
Disgruntled, look ah next member for de club ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline breezers

• he who rise against poor ppl shal perish in d end
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2008, 01:24:57 PM »

Barcelona - Camp Nou
Tuesday kickoff
20:45 Barcelona / 2:45pm U.S. eastern

1st Leg Reminder
Celtic 2-3 FC Barcelona
1-0 : Vennegoor of Hesselink 16'
1-1 : Messi 18'
2-1 : Robson 38'
2-2 : Henry 52'
2-3 : Messi 79'

Barcelona line up Cristiano Ronaldo bid

Barcelona have declared their interest in signing Manchester United's Cristiano Ronaldo.

The Catalan giants have £80 million to spend on transfers during the summer and the winger, 23, is said to be top of their wish list, with the club set to offload the likes of Ronaldinho, Deco and Eidur Gudjohnsen to fund his purchase.

"Cristiano Ronaldo is a player we think we can sign in the summer," said Txiki Begiristian, Barca's sporting director, in an interview on Spanish TV programme 'Gol a Gol' at the weekend.

"Barcelona have never said we are not interested in him, but he is just one of many players we are looking at. We know we need to have a lot of options.

"It is logical that for the arrival of big expensive players it is necessary for some to exit. The door is open, but we will not reveal in advance any names.

"Cristiano Ronaldo is a key player for any club, but I still think it will be complicated to persuade Manchester United to sell in the summer."
advertisement

However, Barcelona will also have to beat off competition from arch-rivals Real Madrid, who last week reportedly met with the Portugal international's agent, Jorge Mendes, to discuss a potential £8m-a-year contract at the Santiago Bernabeu.

Meanwhile, Begiristian has told Arsenal midfield player Cesc Fabregas that he will never be allowed to return to Camp Nou as a Barcelona player following his decision five years ago to swap Catalonia for north London.

The Spain international has been coveted by both Barcelona and Madrid in recent seasons following a string of outstanding displays at the heart of the Arsenal midfield, but Begiristian insists that the club will not attempt to lure the play-maker back to Catalonia while he is still in charge of transfers at Barca.

"There is always a risk when you decide to leave Barcelona and the fact is that he cannot return," Begiristian said. "He, as was hoped, would now be in the first team. Bojan (Krkic) is an example. He had faith and did not go to England."

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?xml=/sport/2008/03/04/ufnronaldo104.xml

Ah eh care wuh nobody say..yes C. Ronaldo is ah player but if he have tuh come at de expense of muh boi Dinho..is awrite..ah doh wuh him!! Let Madrid take him and we go attack Binho..

And yea...Celtic good fuh ah nex 3 today..lol
Soca Warriors, Holland And Barcelona,
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2008, 01:49:19 PM »
wat ah build up wat ah goal :o :o

since ah threaten to bench xavi he start 2 find d back ah d net
« Last Edit: March 04, 2008, 01:51:57 PM by freakazoid »

« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2008, 01:52:36 PM »
game start

e-man give meh ah link they thanks

Offline breezers

• he who rise against poor ppl shal perish in d end
« Reply #8 on: March 04, 2008, 01:52:47 PM »
Goal #1 and counting....when ah team come tuh die...yuh bore dem!! :rotfl: :rotfl:
Soca Warriors, Holland And Barcelona,
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

« Reply #9 on: March 04, 2008, 01:57:01 PM »
Dat was goal oui... real ball playin... ;D

« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2008, 02:21:48 PM »
messi jus pull up, tears in he eyes

looks like another long layoff

i hope not

messi off henry on.............this is ah big side

1st time i see ah man cryingso when he pull up
« Last Edit: March 04, 2008, 02:26:19 PM by freakazoid »

« Reply #11 on: March 04, 2008, 02:35:27 PM »
messi jus pull up, tears in he eyes

looks like another long layoff

i hope not

messi off henry on.............this is ah big side

1st time i see ah man cryingso when he pull up

real sad..same ting I was telling Gruntle. Rijkaard know this yute blight and rest him on the weekend. Unfortunately it wasn't enough. He crying cuz he realize that he have a serius problem. Every season Messi play for Barca has been injury plagued...and he real young. That not cool. He go end up like Owen if noone could figure out how to patch him up for the long haul.

Come Barca..doh let up. Wrap this tie up good and proper.
Like how Xavi continuing to prove dat he is a big big performer for this squad. Big player

« Reply #12 on: March 04, 2008, 02:43:14 PM »
messi is de only man i care for on that side.hope he alright.

« Reply #13 on: March 04, 2008, 04:10:40 PM »
Bucky had some real nice touches boy- some of the best I've seen from him this season. Can someone please apply a bush bath to Samuel?

Hoping Messi injury is not serious.

« Reply #14 on: March 04, 2008, 04:37:27 PM »
Xavi scored the only goal in the opening moments as Barcelona moved into the quarter finals, but Lionel Messi tore his hamstring to take the gloss off the victory.

After winning the first leg two weeks ago, the Blaugrana were expected to progress and after taking the lead on the night early on the outcome was a formality.

While Barça were never in top form, Víctor Valdés only had saves to make in the closing minutes as Celtic placed the emphasis on defence for long periods.

Messi's injury will cause concern as the Argentinian limped out of the action in tears after pulling up and it is bad news for the Catalan outfit.

Celtic manager Gordon Strachan said before the game that his side need a miracle and that was certainly the case after just three minutes.

Xavi began the move as he rolled the ball to Ronaldinho, who in turn found Sylvinho and his cross was converted superbly by Xavi as he clipped the ball over Artur Boruc in the visitors' goal.

It was just the start that Frank Rijkaard would have wanted after the league defeat at the weekend by Atlético, but it proved to be the only goal of the game.

The hosts certainly had plenty of chances as Ronaldinho looked to be enjoying himself, while Eto'o was always busy.

It was those two that had chances soon after the goal as Eto'o chested a cross just wide and Ronaldinho saw a drive too powerful for Boruc to catch, bt the keeper did keep it out.

On the half-hour mark, Carles Puyol of all people ventured forward and was picked out in the area, but his flicked shot was tipped over by Celtic's custodian.

Five minutes later and Barça's night was spoiled as Messi pulled up in mid-run and appeared to know immediately that something was seriously wrong.

After lying down holding the back of his leg, the forward was walked off the pitch while several teammates consoled him.

The news that he has torn a hamstring will have an affect on the next few weeks as pundits and fans had clamoured for Messi's inclusion after he was left on the bench at the weekend.

Henry came on to replace the Argentinian, but there were no more clear chances before a half-time break that Strachan reportedly used to make it clear he was not happy with his team.

Celtic did raise their game at the start of the second period as they closed down Barça quicker and stopped giving the ball away as cheaply as they had been.

Just before the hour mark, Eto'o flicked the ball over to Ronaldinho and the Brazilian hammered a half-volley at goal which produced a fine save from Boruc.

Soon after Zambrotta sent the ball into the area where Eto'o just failed to steer it on target after beating the Celtic offside trap.

AS full time approached Valdés was forced to make his first two saves as Scott McDonald took aim with a low drive and Shunsuke Nakamura did even better with a fine drive.

goal.com

« Reply #15 on: March 04, 2008, 04:41:57 PM »
Poor Messi.

« Reply #16 on: March 04, 2008, 04:55:29 PM »
Sorry to hear about Messi. That is the curse of being blessed with sublime skill. Hope he heals quick, the Barca forward line ain't the same without him.

Job done at the end of the day. Big up to Xavi

« Reply #17 on: March 04, 2008, 05:00:10 PM »

FC Barcelona reached the last eight of Champions League with a 1-0 victory over Celtic, but the night was spoilt for Barça due to a muscle injury to Leo Messi which could see him out for at least a month. Messi pulled up in the 34th minute and immediately put his hands to his head in frustration. First reports say it is a torn femoral biceps muscle in the left leg which is the same injury that he suffered against Valencia. That time he was out for five weeks but it all depends on the size of the tear and we will have to wait until tomorrow’s scans to know the extent of the injury.

« Reply #18 on: March 04, 2008, 06:00:57 PM »

« Reply #19 on: March 04, 2008, 06:50:50 PM »
boy i would cry too if i had gotten injured and couldnt play in the upcoming big games. it just shows you that football isnt just a game, its a passion.

« Reply #20 on: March 04, 2008, 07:58:05 PM »
passion yes but what we really tend to 4get is how young some of these superstars are

they really have skills beyond their years

« Reply #21 on: March 04, 2008, 09:45:23 PM »
I felt sorry for him... he was bawling off of pure frustration... is only a month or so though..  is not eduardo serious

« Reply #22 on: March 05, 2008, 06:48:16 AM »
I remember reading some one of ronaldo's doctors blaming PSV for the injuries that ronaldo plagued with, because they gave him growth drugs etc. I know messi came to barcelona to have treatment for a hypoactive thoroid gland, and barca paid for the treatement. Do you think that may be the reason he's so fragile?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #23 on: March 05, 2008, 07:40:06 AM »
passion yes but what we really tend to 4get is how young some of these superstars are

they really have skills beyond their years

daiz true.... :(

« Reply #24 on: March 05, 2008, 07:43:13 AM »
I know he had a growth deficiency and they gave him HGH to correct it. You can't rule it out but its hard to say definitively. Every year he has long lay offs. I have to agree with Filho if he continues at this rate he wil never reach his full potential. They have the get that muscle proble fixed.

« Reply #25 on: March 05, 2008, 08:17:26 AM »
Wait nah.... HGH legal in football...???

« Reply #26 on: March 05, 2008, 08:37:39 AM »
The youtube link is dead, here is the <a href="http://www.d1g.com/video/show/?id=1841112" target="_blank">Goal[/url]

look for the pass by R10 and men talking bout selling him, who you know doing that with so much flare and skill.

All in all it was a good game for Barca but Messi's injury cast a shadow over the victory. He pulled up lame with absolutely no contact after blowing past his marker. The only silver lining was that Messi was substituted for Henry showing the depth of Barca's bench.

R10 seems to be getting back to some sort of farm, is no look passes coming off, he taking on defenders, cutting into the box making space, getting off the shot and he actually looks like he wants to play. Also, the partnership between Sylvinho and R10 down the left was well worked, a lot of 1-2 passes and both of them knowing exactly where to run to recieve the pass.

Filho boy, to see Messi come off with tears in his eye make meh get a lump in meh throat yes. Right now, like Ronaldo, wet paper could cut them.

I doh know if is the growth hormones that he took, or just the fatigue of playing in La Liga, Copa and CL but Barca's medical team has to find an answer or else he will just be a show pony in a horse race.

p.s I think R10 should play without the bando, just my $0.02

« Reply #27 on: March 05, 2008, 09:20:51 AM »
. Also, the partnership between Sylvinho and R10 down the left was well worked, a lot of 1-2 passes and both of them knowing exactly where to run to recieve the pass.

Possibly my all-time favorite Brazilian wing-back.....one of the most underrated players in the world IMO.

« Reply #28 on: March 05, 2008, 09:25:17 AM »
Barcelona playmaker Lionel Messi will be out for six weeks with a thigh injury sustained in Tuesday's win over Celtic in the Champions League.

The 20-year-old went off in tears after suffering a tear in his left leg.

He will now miss the quarter-finals of the Champions League and will struggle to be fit for the semi-finals if Barcelona reach that stage.

"He is an important player for us and this is a sad moment for the players," said Barca coach Frank Rijkaard.

Messi spent a lengthy spell on the sidelines with a similar injury during December and January.

It is the fourth time the Argentine has suffered this type of injury in the last three seasons.

606: DEBATE
How big a blow is Messi's injury?

The Argentine was rested for Barcelona's game against Atletico Madrid in the build up to the second leg of the last 16 against Celtic.

Barcelona lost 4-2 and the decision courted criticism from the media, who clamoured for him to play against the Scottish side at the Nou Camp.

"The doctors spoke and said their was a risk of injury and you (the media) put pressure on him to play, saying that he always has to play," said Barcelona defender Carles Puyol.

"Now we're all left to regret the decision.

"On Saturday (against Atletico) there was more risk than on Tuesday, but if he hadn't played and we had got a bad result I'm sure you would have said it was because he wasn't on the pitch.

"Leo's injury is bad news, so now let's see what you have to say about that.

"You've got to leave the doctors and physios to do their job because they know more about these things than you do."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/europe/7279635.stm

i expect him to miss the semis even if they make it...   tough luck Leo...

« Reply #29 on: March 05, 2008, 10:31:46 AM »
Ronaldinho go to Milan dread.
Their physios better, look they have a bunch of geriatrics still performin.
Ronaldinho, Pato and Kaka!