April 27, 2024, 05:00:29 AM

Author Topic: Swans hope to scotch club versus country row.  (Read 3122 times)

Swans hope to scotch club versus country row.
« on: March 11, 2008, 06:10:22 AM »
Swans hope to scotch club versus country row.
By Blair Wood (Western Mail).

Swansea City are hopeful they can avoid a club versus country row with Trinidad and Tobago over Jason Scotland. There is already controversy surrounding the Soca Warriors’ friendly in Jamaica on March 26 after Roy Keane complained about the involvement of Sunderland duo Kenwyne Jones and Carlos Edwards. Losing Scotland for the same game would be a big blow to the Swans’ promotion push.

Having already released his top-scorer for the islands’ previous friendly with Guadeloupe in February, Roberto Martinez would be loathed to do so again. The fact the game falls directly between the Swans’ vital clashes with Bristol Rovers and Hartlepool, makes holding on to Scotland all the more important.

But, while Keane’s comments may have angered officials in the caribbean, Martinez claims the Swans have a good relationship with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation. And he is confident the striker will be allowed to stay in South Wales.

“It’s something I need to speak with Francisco Maturana about,” he said. “But he understands that, with the situation we have got, the priority is club football.

“We allowed Jason to go a few weeks back bearing in mind that, for this next game, we would have to authorise it for him to go. So thSOC ere is a balance between the Trinidad and Tobago Federation and ourselves.

“But there are a lot of games before that friendly and there’s not much point thinking about it. I think [Scotland going] is still a long shot at the moment and we have a great relationship with Trinidad and Tobago.”

While Swansea may enjoy a good relationship with the TTFF, it seems the same cannot be said about Sunderland at the moment. Keane made it clear he didn’t want to lose Jones or Edwards, the latter of whom has only played two games in eight months because of injury, for a friendly fixture.

But his comments appeared to anger Fifa vice-president and TTFF special advisor, Jack Warner, who said: “Maybe Keane needs to be reminded of the Fifa rules on matters like this one.

“Had it been an African country, of any size, he would not even have contemplated any battle of any kind. It tells you of the contempt a few English coaches continue to have for the countries in the Caribbean, especially a country like Trinidad and Tobago.” With 22 goals to his name already this season, it’s no wonder Martinez wants to keep Scotland in Swansea. It’s a tally that has naturally attracted attention from other clubs, with Ipswich being linked with a bid over the weekend.

Martinez said he had not heard anything from the Tractor Boys and made it clear Scotland was not for sale anyway. He added: “It wouldn’t surprise me if there is a lot of interest in Jason. You don’t get many strikers with 22 goals in March. It’s a difficult achievement.

“But I’ve said all along, it’s a compliment for Swansea City and for Jason. But he is happy here and we have no reason to sell our best assets. “We just need to make sure we keep getting better.”
« Last Edit: March 11, 2008, 09:01:07 AM by Flex »

Re: Swans hope to scotch club versus country row.
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2008, 06:54:44 AM »
and scotty wanna sweat

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2008, 07:21:43 AM »
Ah thought Scotty didn't get call up  ???

Swansea city aims to keep good relations with TTFF.
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2008, 08:41:38 AM »
Swansea city aims to keep good relations with TTFF.

Swansea City has stated that it is hopeful of maintaining a good working relationship with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation in light of international call ups for overseas-based internationals.

And now the League One title contenders hope they will not miss the services of prolific goalscorer Jason Scotland as they continue their push for promotion. Both Scotland defender Dennis Lawrence seem set to move to higher ranks and the club should be relieved that neither  will have  to turn up for international duty later this month when T&T visits Jamaica for a friendly international.

A report in the Western Mail stated: " Having already released his top-scorer for the islands’ previous friendly with Guadeloupe in February, Roberto Martinez would be loathed to do so again. The fact the game falls directly between the Swans’ vital clashes with Bristol Rovers and Hartlepool, makes holding on to Scotland all the more important.

But, while Keane’s comments may have angered officials in the caribbean, Martinez claims the Swans have a good relationship with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation. And he is confident the striker will be allowed to stay in South Wales.

“It’s something I need to speak with Francisco Maturana about,” he said. “But he understands that, with the situation we have got, the priority is club football.
“We allowed Jason to go a few weeks back bearing in mind that, for this next game, we would have to authorise it for him to go. So thSOC ere is a balance between the Trinidad and Tobago Federation and ourselves.

“But there are a lot of games before that friendly and there’s not much point thinking about it. I think [Scotland going] is still a long shot at the moment and we have a great relationship with Trinidad and Tobago.”

While Swansea may enjoy a good relationship with the TTFF, it seems the same cannot be said about Sunderland at the moment. Keane made it clear he didn’t want to lose Jones or Edwards, the latter of whom has only played two games in eight months because of injury, for a friendly fixture.

But his comments appeared to anger Fifa vice-president and TTFF special advisor, Jack Warner, who said: “Maybe Keane needs to be reminded of the Fifa rules on matters like this one. Had it been an African country, of any size, he would not even have contemplated any battle of any kind. It tells you of the contempt a few English coaches continue to have for the countries in the Caribbean, especially a country like Trinidad and Tobago.”

With 22 goals to his name already this season, it’s no wonder Martinez wants to keep Scotland in Swansea. It’s a tally that has naturally attracted attention from other clubs, with Ipswich being linked with a bid over the weekend.

Martinez said he had not heard anything from the Tractor Boys and made it clear Scotland was not for sale anyway. He added: “It wouldn’t surprise me if there is a lot of interest in Jason. You don’t get many strikers with 22 goals in March. It’s a difficult achievement.

“But I’ve said all along, it’s a compliment for Swansea City and for Jason. But he is happy here and we have no reason to sell our best assets. “We just need to make sure we keep getting better.”
« Last Edit: March 11, 2008, 08:58:03 AM by Flex »

« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2008, 09:49:06 AM »
look thing

Offline Kingk

• Warriors 4ever
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2008, 10:57:29 AM »
kissing ass  ::)

« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2008, 11:38:37 AM »
kissing ass  ::)

In the civilized world it's known as diplomacy...

« Reply #7 on: March 11, 2008, 09:01:16 PM »
Solution: Play friendlies in england.

« Reply #8 on: March 11, 2008, 09:48:20 PM »
Solution: Play friendlies in england.

why dem eh play league games in Trinidad...eh-eh  steups