April 29, 2024, 04:09:37 AM

Author Topic: 'Little Magician' gets thumbs up from Beenhakker.  (Read 3326 times)

'Little Magician' gets thumbs up from Beenhakker.
« on: September 02, 2005, 02:57:29 AM »
'Little Magician' gets thumbs up from Beenhakker.
By: Ian Prescott. (Express)

Latapy set to start.
National coach Leo Beenhakker has strongly hinted that Scotland-based midfielder Russell Latapy could well be a starter for Saturday's World Cup qualifier against Guatemala at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. Speaking yesterday after the second of two training sessions, the Dutchman said he was impressed by what he had seen of Latapy, branding the 'Little Magician' as a true professional on and off the field. He also confirmed that Latapy was match fit.
"He is fit to start the game. But of course you have to understand that the way international football is playing now, especially the way Guatemala is playing.......... they are playing very fast and so on. On the other side, he has in his luggage, and I say that with all my respects, only the last four years in matches at club level, first and second division in Scotland. So there will be a difference on Saturday, but at least he is fit to start. He made a very good impression on me. It's the first time I have worked with him, so let's see if he has the strength and the physical preparation to play 90 minutes. I don't know. But at least he can start."
Beenhakker held two training sessions yesterday, both of which were played behind locked gates at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. Beenhakker said that while he had nothing to hide, at the same time he did not want to show all his cards before Saturday. He hinted that he may make changes in his team.
"One of the things is that with Russell in the team, we have to re-organise our schedule a little bit. Why should I play my cards open before Saturday? It's not that you have any secrets, but sometimes it's good to work within the team without any interference from outside. Especially, when you make some changes within the team."
Meanwhile, former national captain David Nakhid has endorsed the return Latapy.
"I think Latapy's inclusion should be an excellent boost for us at this time," Nakhid said. "It's always good when someone comes in and can add something to the campaign, and I think he should be able to help. He is also a crowd pleaser, and that in itself will add some momentum to the qualifying campaign."
Nakhid also urged Trinidad and Tobago to come out and give whole-hearted support to the Warriors.
"We need a result. It's not a case of if we win," Nakhid says, " We must win. I am hoping for total support and that the people of Trinidad and Tobago will come out in large numbers to support the team." Nakhid believes that Trinidad and Tobago can improve on their performance last month against the United States.
With better preparation this time around, Nakhid anticipates that Trinidad and Tobago can reverse the result against Guatemala. His statement was supported by Beenhakker who also felt that T&T beat themselves in Guatemala in March.
"We have seen the game (5-1 loss) on DVD and I feel, with all my respect, that in the first place Guatemala did not win. Trinidad lost that game because they made many errors that Guatemala took advantage of very well," Beenhakker said.
Captain Dwight Yorke also feels that T&T will do well and said his team will be going all out to try and beat Guatemala. "One thing we cannot predict is the result but I can assure you that the team will go out there and give its all to bring home a result. The vibe overall for this week has been a special one and everyone is understanding his role and how important it is to carry that on to the pitch on Saturday, "Yorke said.
Leo Beenhakker: Why let it all out ?
By: Shaun Fuentes.

National head coach Leo Beenhakker explained his reasons for closed doors session in the final build up to this country’s 2006 World Cup qualifier against Guatemala on Saturday from 4:30pm.
Beenhakker was quizzed by local reporters who appeared as if it was some strange form of preparation causing the Dutchman to explain that it was used worldwide.
"Well… yah. One of the things is that with Russell in the team, we have to reorganise our schedule a little bit. Why should I play my cards open before Saturday? It's not that you have any secrets, but sometimes it's good to work within the team without any interference from outside. Especially, when you make some changes within the team. It’s normal in international football,” Beenhakker said after Thursday evening’s session after local reporters were allowed into the Stadium following the actual work on the pitch.
He also made it clear that returning midfielder Russell Latapy, he felt, was match-fit.
"He is fit to start the game. But of course you have to understand that the way international football is playing now, especially the way Guatemala is playing. And they are playing very fast and so on. On the other side, he has in his luggage, and I say that with all my respects, only the last four years in matches at club level, First and Second Division in Scotland. You can see that he is a true professional both on and off the field. So there will be a difference on Saturday, but at least he is fit to start. He made a very good impression on me. It's the first time I have worked with him, so let's see if he has the strength and the physical preparation to play 90 minutes. I don't know. But at least he can start,” the former Ajax boss added.
He went on to say that the absence of Kenwyne Jones, Dennis Lawrence and Collin Samuel would obviously have some effect on his plans for the match. “They (except Lawrence) were in there when I prepared the list for this match but that is also part of football. We know there will always be guys who are suspended or injured. We had just three or four sessions to make a team for this game. It's not too long but we have worked hard and gone out with the job. Everyone as you can see is in good spirits and looking forward, knowing what the role is for Saturday." The team will have one further session at match time at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Friday.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2005, 03:03:24 AM by Flex »

Re: 'Little Magician' gets thumbs up from Beenhakker.
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2005, 04:41:10 AM »
Like latapy Use some " Abracadabra " on de field.. Have beenie in a lil awe.. But beeine is not truly a believer.. LEts see what today brings..

Al La Peanut butter Sandwiches  ;D

« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2005, 06:19:44 AM »
Is it only me that find this line a bit dotish..also confirmed that Latapy was match fit. Isn't Latas playing ball every week and was on preseason training before that? How about the other pros that were called from the UK that have their backside engraved on benches week in, week out. Fellas who's you could mail by sending their letters in c/o of the bench at their respective teams, since they there more than on the field.

« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2005, 06:42:54 AM »
Jumbie da is a real good point oui ...

« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2005, 07:23:23 AM »
Is it only me that find this line a bit dotish..also confirmed that Latapy was match fit. Isn't Latas playing ball every week and was on preseason training before that? How about the other pros that were called from the UK that have their backside engraved on benches week in, week out. Fellas who's you could mail by sending their letters in c/o of the bench at their respective teams, since they there more than on the field.

I dont find it dotish at all, Beenie dont put no faith in nothing he aint seen with his own eyes.  So even though Latas been playing full matches, beenie aint been following him, so until he sees with his own eyes that a man is fit and what he can do he aint making no calls.  Who is to say that Latas was not bun after 60 mins in the game and because its a league that Beenie dont seem to rate to highly, he is still able to perform at a decent level.

« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2005, 07:31:31 AM »
not really Jumbe, it is a poltical statement, of sorts. It demonstrates who the boss is, not Latas, but Leo.
Leo is kinda expressing what ah was telling arrow bout Carlos yesterday.

Parables time..If yuh have ah bunch ah young frisky healthy dogs, and yuh throw ah ole greyhound in the mix, yuh expect the greyhound to look good based on training and experience, but it would be difficult to determine, what that greyhound would be able to do, if yuh thinking bout putting it to run against other young, frisky greyhounds. So you put it through particular drills/test, with yuh young frisky dogs, to see how the greyhound react, and yuh discover the greyhound have a mind of a fox, that may give it an edge, when yuh put it to run against the younger greyhounds. The question becomes then, can the old greyhound last long enough, to give he regular dog pardnas ah chance to catch up with the young greyhounds they go have to face.
Remember ah say with the Latas inclusion, the Team would have to be juggled. and line up changed.
I think this is what is being expressed, who will be right dogs to assist the older hound, too take the whole kennel to glory, is now the issue.

'madder than dat"

« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2005, 07:33:10 AM »
exactly Mc...yuh mean ah write dah wole story jus to say dat.. :D

« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2005, 08:28:14 AM »
not really Jumbe, it is a poltical statement, of sorts. It demonstrates who the boss is, not Latas, but Leo.

You come back again with that Carlos talk?  Listen let me break it down for you one more time:

1. Just because a man only play 15 mins for his club doesn't mean he is only fit enough to play 15 mins for his club or for T&T.  Agreed?
For example when Stern only plays 1 minute for Coventry, I'm positive that's not because he's not fit enough to last more than 1 minute.  Half slab is probably fit enough to last at least 20 mins.

2. Carlos is playing in a higher division this year with more competition for places etc.  When he gets injured or goes away on national duty, somebody else will step into his place and there's no guarantee he'll get it back (unlike at Wrexham).

Beenie claims edwards absence was a huge reason for our offensive failure since the gold cup but you still calling for de man to bench?

« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2005, 08:47:56 AM »
are we really supprize dat de Boss starting?....:cheers:

« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2005, 09:16:30 AM »

It's like saying Whitley is match fit and rightly so he is. But he could be PFL match fit not necessarily International match fit. Beenie clearly made that distiinction when saying Latas has been playing in Scotland and there is a huge difference between Scottish football and International Football. But that is not to say Latas is not up to it.
If is one thing Beenie says it as he sees it. He may sound negative to many but he is just being realistic.
I believe we will win comfortably as long as we concentrate from the beginning and play to plan which I am sure is not simply play the ball to Latas and wait to see what he does. We tried that many times and that never worked. As long as we don't give up a goal in the first 15 minutes expect a handsome win.

« Reply #10 on: September 02, 2005, 09:24:26 AM »
Alyuh kinda forgetting Lata is Thuty Flickin Seven.

He must make a statement so and have he doubts about Latas fitness when the rest of the team members who in they lower 20s cyar see they way and unfit.

Remember Beenie ent know shit about Latas, he see some dvd and he going on hearsay. Also if you coach a team for 3 months and the men who in they prime roast and cyar last a whole game, you must have an opinion about an older player coming in the side.

But on a good note.......I went 51 and ent see none of them there. I ent see them in island people fete neither.

I feel they serious this time and we go pull it orf.

« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2005, 09:30:31 AM »
Alyuh kinda forgetting Lata is Thuty Flickin Seven.

He must make a statement so and have he doubts about Latas fitness when the rest of the team members who in they lower 20s cyar see they way and unfit.

Remember Beenie ent know shit about Latas, he see some dvd and he going on hearsay. Also if you coach a team for 3 months and the men who in they prime roast and cyar last a whole game, you must have an opinion about an older player coming in the side.

But on a good note.......I went 51 and ent see none of them there. I ent see them in island people fete neither.

I feel they serious this time and we go pull it orf.

Touches, Like yuh woulda Run deh arse back in camp or what.. Pull of yuh belt and beat them . lol

« Reply #12 on: September 02, 2005, 09:41:22 AM »

JUMBIE FUH PRESIDENT  :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2005, 09:42:30 AM »
If again Touches shoulda run dem if he see them... several forumites have seen senior members of the team partying right before games in times past... We have to move like them Zambian and dem...
Allyuh eh see tha news yesterday.... it was all over..

This particular excerpt from CNN

LUSAKA, Zambia (Reuters) -- Zambia striker Collins Mbesuma was rescued by police after fans threatened him in a bar in his home town of Luanshya, Zambia's Post newspaper reported on Thursday.

Mbesuma, who signed for Premier League club Portsmouth last month, returned home on Monday to play in Saturday's World Cup qualifier against Senegal in Chililabombwe.

The Post said Mbesuma had to seek refugee at the town's police station after being threatened by fans who accused him of drinking rather than training.

Mbesuma was held by police in the afternoon to protect him from the angry mob before being escorted to the team's training camp on Wednesday evening, police sources said.

The Post quoted several fans who accused Mbesuma of turning up drunk to watch a local league match on Wednesday.

Mbesuma has scored six goals in Zambia's qualifying campaign and is crucial to the side's chances of beating Senegal and keeping alive their hopes of a first appearance at the World Cup finals.

Zambia lie second in African zone Group One, one point behind leaders Togo and one ahead of Senegal.

« Reply #14 on: September 02, 2005, 09:46:35 AM »
THAT IS WHAT WE TALKING BOUT.. That is exactly how we hadda to move in serious. lol... If we see dem, take of we belt and start beating a portion normal normal.!

Offline Waxybairn

• LATAPY- THE MAN!!
« Reply #15 on: September 02, 2005, 11:12:29 AM »
Is it only me that find this line a bit dotish..also confirmed that Latapy was match fit. Isn't Latas playing ball every week and was on preseason training before that?

Could it be a dig at the level of football in Scotland? We are not of the Dutch standard dont you know! ::)

Offline Hyperhot J

« Reply #16 on: September 02, 2005, 11:41:10 AM »
Touches where you sitting, I might be in covered, what about Andre Samuel and Patriot?

Jason
"The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power."

Cassius told Brutus in Julius Caesar by Shakespeare

« Reply #17 on: September 02, 2005, 01:06:53 PM »

You come back again with that Carlos talk?  Listen let me break it down for you one more time:

1. Just because a man only play 15 mins for his club doesn't mean he is only fit enough to play 15 mins for his club or for T&T.  Agreed?
For example when Stern only plays 1 minute for Coventry, I'm positive that's not because he's not fit enough to last more than 1 minute.  Half slab is probably fit enough to last at least 20 mins.

2. Carlos is playing in a higher division this year with more competition for places etc.  When he gets injured or goes away on national duty, somebody else will step into his place and there's no guarantee he'll get it back (unlike at Wrexham).

Beenie claims edwards absence was a huge reason for our offensive failure since the gold cup but you still calling for de man to bench?

Doh study it arrow, I trust BeenE to make the decision. I am not calling for Carlos to bench in a negative way...if he ready, then by all means, he is my #1 choice too, I not there to see whether he ready or not. Plus, he didn't practice that session, as he got a knock, maybe he is recovered fully, maybe not...yuh read anything bout that ? If he didn't practice much later, yuh go just throw him in on Game day, because we need him ? Right now, ah go take BeenE and your word for it...whoever starts, all the best from me...long as we compete, win or loss, I with the boys and Coach, in spirit...
Doh dig

« Reply #18 on: September 02, 2005, 03:50:34 PM »
All the comments made by Beenie Man seem appropriate.  Man trying to read too much into his statements.  The key for me is he has obviously recognized Latas and is reorganizing to suit but at the same time not letting the world know our plans, just check the following statement:

"One of the things is that with Russell in the team, we have to re-organise our schedule a little bit. Why should I play my cards open before Saturday?