April 25, 2024, 05:09:42 AM

Author Topic: Difference between a Striker and a Forward?  (Read 16067 times)

Difference between a Striker and a Forward?
« on: March 15, 2008, 07:51:13 PM »
So is there a difference in a striker and a forward?
What are examples of such?

Re: Difference between a Striker and a Forward?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2008, 07:53:32 PM »
striker....score ....torres
forward....hold the long ball and wait for midfields to catch up and distribute.....glasgow  :)
actually when rafa playing gerrard right behind torres, that is a good example..maybe not the long ball in that case though
« Last Edit: March 15, 2008, 08:00:26 PM by ricky »

« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2008, 08:19:07 PM »
ask anyone Stern John plays with...club or country

« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2008, 08:35:41 PM »
ask anyone Stern John plays with...club or country
ah think Stern might be classified as a centre forward right
just like Micheal Owen could be called a striker?

but what bout Ruud van nistelrooy and Shearer?..are they a  striker or a centre forward?

Ronladinho and Bergkamp are inside forwards then?

« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2008, 08:12:06 AM »
A forward is the general term for anyone who plays in an attacking position in front of the midfield. A striker is a specific type of forward who plays with his back to goal. Strikers typically push the furthest upfield and their job is to get on the end of most of the chances made. So all strikers are forwards, but not all forwards are strikers. For Real Madrid, Ruud = Striker ; Robinho = forward. Normally, Messi and Ronnie play as forwards for Barca, while Eto'o or Henry are typically strikers. Barca interchanges a lot though, so everyone plays a little of everything in the forward line. For Milan, Pato, Inzaghi and Gilardino play as strikers. Kaka often plays as a forward.

« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2008, 08:15:21 AM »
No difference at all.The name of positions have changed over the years, center forward, inside right, inside left etc. It depends on what the player is asked to do in that position, based on his abilities. Some coaches like them to hold up the ball and bring the midfield into the game. Others like them to run behind the defender.

« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2008, 08:46:46 AM »
No difference at all.The name of positions have changed over the years, center forward, inside right, inside left etc. It depends on what the player is asked to do in that position, based on his abilities. Some coaches like them to hold up the ball and bring the midfield into the game. Others like them to run behind the defender.

Was wondering how long it wud take for someone to say dat, rather than making stuff up, lol

« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2008, 07:25:23 AM »

Was wondering how long it wud take for someone to say dat, rather than making stuff up, lol

not really. i don't think we talking definitions here, but moreso dealing with common terminology. In a way Observer is making the same point as others - As he rightly said, the terminology has changed over years. Imo, current terminology reserves the term 'striker' to describe a specific type of forward. Today, guys like Ronaldinho, Arjen Robben and Kaka will often be described as forwards, but you will never hear the term 'striker' used with them. However, the term is used interchangeably with guys like Ruud VN or Adriano. They will be called either a forward or striker. In today's terminology, forward covers all the forward positions while the term striker is used to describe a specific type of forward. I am sure Observer is correct by definition, but I'd be surprised if he disagreed about how the terms are used. back in the day, wasn't a winger a type of forward? Striker was a term used to distinguish center forwards, from old school wingers. The term striker has stuck to still describe your center forwards, but has not caught on to describe the new breed of hybrid forwards that are neither midfielders, wingers or center forwards...at least not from my observation.

« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2008, 01:28:10 PM »
In soccer you are either a GK, a defender, a midfielder or a forward. Some ppl just developed terminology to make positions sound more technical and/or clinical. It's still a forward. As a forward you may play in advance of the forward natural line or withdrawn, central or wide, running onto the ball or holding it up. It matters not what role you take up you are still a forward, place there in an effort to score goals. Light blue, dark blue, sea blue, sky blue---------they are all blue.

« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2008, 02:11:27 PM »
In soccer you are either a GK, a defender, a midfielder or a forward. Some ppl just developed terminology to make positions sound more technical and/or clinical. It's still a forward. As a forward you may play in advance of the forward natural line or withdrawn, central or wide, running onto the ball or holding it up. It matters not what role you take up you are still a forward, place there in an effort to score goals. Light blue, dark blue, sea blue, sky blue---------they are all blue.

Can't agree with that first sentence at all. The game has evolved to the point where some players don't fit that model anymore. But that is a different debate.

« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2008, 02:19:38 PM »

Can't agree with that first sentence at all. The game has evolved to the point where some players don't fit that model anymore. But that is a different debate.

Yes the game has evolved, but primarily a player will fall into one of these category. Playing the game is an entirly different thing.

« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2008, 05:37:10 PM »
Ah striker does wait for opportunity and take advantage and grab the glory. e.g.  TTFA

Ah forward on the other hand could actually make something happen, create ah play change the match, e.g. JACK WARNER

Offline darrel3000

• Go T&T Go!
    • Professional Audio Sales & Live Event Production
« Reply #12 on: March 17, 2008, 05:51:02 PM »
strikers are those who score consistently>Torres, Henry. all the rest are forwards.
What difference does it make to the dead, the orphans and the homeless, whether the mad destruction is wrought under the name of totalitarianism or the holy name of liberty or democracy? You must be the change you want to see in the world.
    -Mahatma Gandhi

« Reply #13 on: March 17, 2008, 05:55:54 PM »
strikers are those who score consistently>Torres, Henry. all the rest are forwards.

Wha bout "strikers" who play de position and dem primary purpose is to score but they don't...like Alibey fuh example.

Is Ronaldinho a forward?

Is Ronaldo (de portugese) a striker?

« Reply #14 on: March 17, 2008, 06:14:21 PM »

Wha bout "strikers" who play de position and dem primary purpose is to score but they don't...like Alibey fuh example.

Hmmm ah wonder if Philbert Jones was a Striker or a forward :thinking:

Offline Eldo man

« Reply #15 on: March 17, 2008, 06:18:09 PM »
Same dam thing. Striker, foward, playing up top.... same thing. It all depends on what the coach want his players to do... some are better holding the ball up playing with there back to goal, some are better running at defenders..... All de ball i play i never here ah coach ask ah man..." "WAY YOU DOES PLAY STRIKER or FOWARD".....  Is either yuh playing defense, midfield or foward/striker.

« Reply #16 on: March 17, 2008, 06:18:34 PM »

Hmmm ah wonder if Philbert Jones was a Striker or a forward :thinking:

Yuh could tek it further.....

Were Leo DeLeon and Everald Cummings forwards?

Was Maradona a Striker?

Zico?

Lampard is a forward?

Is Latas a forward?
« Last Edit: March 17, 2008, 06:20:52 PM by palos »

« Reply #17 on: March 17, 2008, 06:24:27 PM »
Lard father don't start.   ;D

« Reply #18 on: March 17, 2008, 06:27:21 PM »
What the heck is a Centre Forward vs a forward?  wey Allyuh.  It seems like it based solely on the system in play.  Nobody ent born no forward or striker.  no difference to me. Score the goal.

Offline Benchwarmer

• Trini to the bone...Dutch till i die
« Reply #19 on: March 17, 2008, 06:44:44 PM »

Under this.. if you ask a man where he playing and he say midfield. does that mean he could play in the centre or on the wing? not really....

I think there are still the main categories but there is a small difference depending on what the coach want and what system they playing. Like if a man is a LB is that the same as a LWB???
i think it is the same but a LWB may attack more than a LB. But that is the coach decision.

« Reply #20 on: March 17, 2008, 07:20:23 PM »
i think a good comparison is one thats certainly close to home...

Stern John and Kenwyne Jones...

Stern scores and yet he may not put huge pressure on the opposing defense... while Jones, will give them a serious physical battle, whether its runnin, tacklin, jumpin... whatever... he go spread yuh thin... he may not however finish as often as stern...

Jones will maybe have his initial shot slotted home by a Striker for his tendancy to be in the right place at the right time... cuz... well he's a striker... he scores goals... Jones on the other hand is probably more of a forward and you can see it in how many assists he has...

he pushes the play forward and creates chances... he may not score as much as a striker but he puts lots of pressure on the opposition's defence.

hence striker and forward.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2008, 07:25:27 PM by Jefferz »

« Reply #21 on: March 17, 2008, 07:22:17 PM »
i think a good comparison is one thats certainly close to home...

Stern John and Kenwyne Jones...

Stern scores and yet he may not put huge pressure on the opposing defense... while Jones, whille give them a serious physical battle, whether its runnin, tacklin, jumpin... whatever... he go spread yuh thin... he may not however finish as often as stern...

Jones will maybe have his initial shot slotted home by lets say, Stern himself, for his tendancy to be in the right place at the right time... cuz... well he's a striker... he scores goals... Jones on the other hand is probably more of a forward and you can see it in how many assists he has...

he pushes the play forward and creates chances... he may not score as much as a striker but he puts lots of pressure on the opposition's defence.

hence striker and forward.

That's very clear J thanks.

« Reply #22 on: March 17, 2008, 07:25:46 PM »
for me there is no difference...

All the players mentioned here have been referred to as either a forward or striker interchangeably at any given time...

striker ronaldo - forward ronaldo
striker inzaghi - forward inzaghi
striker drogba - forward drogba

same kettle of fish in my books..

what position would you play if your coach said to you "go up front and strike"??

Offline kentsoulman

« Reply #23 on: March 17, 2008, 07:52:04 PM »

I think the termanology has changed because more ex players are commenting on TV. Previously, coaches would tell a midfielder to play defensive or attacking, a right back to get down the wing, (hence wing back) a defender to "sweep up"  behind the back four, (sweeper) and a forward to "strike" behind the opponents defence.

Ex pros have gradually made these into common terms.

So, to answer the question, a forward may be the guy that heads the ball on to the striker, or as was mentioned earlier, holds the ball up until he can feed the striker.

Offline Benchwarmer

• Trini to the bone...Dutch till i die
« Reply #24 on: March 20, 2008, 09:06:08 AM »
Ok... France called up there team....

Squad:

Goalkeepers: Gregory Coupet (Olympique Lyon), Sebastien Frey (Fiorentina), Mickael Landreau (Paris St Germain), Steve Mandanda (Olympique Marseille).

Defenders: Eric Abidal (Barcelona), Jean-Alain Boumsong (Olympique Lyon), Francois Clerc (Olympique Lyon), Sebastien Squillaci (Olympique Lyon), Gael Clichy (Arsenal), William Gallas (Arsenal), Bakary Sagna (Arsenal), Julien Escude (Sevilla), Patrice Evra (Manchester United), Gael Givet (Olympique Marseille), Philippe Mexes (AS Roma), Mathieu Delpierre (VfB Stuttgart), Adil Rami (Lille), Lilian Thuram (Barcelona).

Midfielders: Alou Diarra (Girondins Bordeaux), Lassana Diarra (Portsmouth), Mathieu Flamini (Arsenal), Claude Makelele (Chelsea), Samir Nasri (Olympique Marseille), Jerome Rothen (Paris St Germain), Jeremy Toulalan (Olympique Lyon), Patrick Vieira (Inter Milan), Mathieu Bodmer (Olympique Lyon), Rio Mavuba (Lille).

Forwards: Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea), Hatem Ben Arfa (Olympique Lyon), Karim Benzema (Olympique Lyon), Sidney Govou (Olympique Lyon), Jimmy Briand (Stade Rennes), Djibril Cisse (Olympique Marseille), Thierry Henry (Barcelona), Florent Malouda (Chelsea), Louis Saha (Manchester United), Mathieu Valbuena (Olympique Marseille), Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich).

The forwards they called up are not all strikers.... so maybe there is a difference...

« Reply #25 on: March 20, 2008, 10:10:58 AM »
for me there is no difference...

All the players mentioned here have been referred to as either a forward or striker interchangeably at any given time...

striker ronaldo - forward ronaldo
striker inzaghi - forward inzaghi
striker drogba - forward drogba

same kettle of fish in my books..

what position would you play if your coach said to you "go up front and strike"??

I agree with you on this Omar...I believe players make the positions not vice versa. as players evolve so do positions or assignments on the field. If you recall Real madrid during the " galacticos " years ...Roberto carlos was assigned both the left back as well as the left link position ...in the team line up there was a gap ahead of Carlos before you got to Zidane so you only saw Zidane just around the half line and he went inside while carlos went up and down the flanks.
What would you have described Carlos as in that case ?
As you rightly pointed out there are some fowards who can do things other than score .... how would anyone describe Pele then .... I believe we should leave it simple ...a defensive player playing in the midfield and an attacking player playing on the wingback position is already hard enough to explain.

Offline Trinitim

« Reply #26 on: March 21, 2008, 02:06:07 AM »

Allyuh fellas good yes. Some interesting comments. I believe that fowards refer to any attacking position as someone mentioned earlier, there are specific types of fowards - noted here as strikers. I believe this comes about based on an individual's strengths. Its a subtle difference but I believe the type of player a foward is will determine how he is used and how he may be referred to as. The thing is not everyone knows the difference between a Stiker, Foward, Winger and so on, hence some of these terms are used interchangeably the question is how appropriate are the terms given to some players. Upon close analysis we would realize that there is a difference. Christiano Ronaldo is a Winger and he is also a foward player. He is not listed under the midfield is he??. He plays up top with Rooney. He is not referred to as a striker because of the kind of player he is. The example of Stern and Kenwyne is a good one as well.

« Reply #27 on: March 21, 2008, 07:05:05 AM »
ah forward does brush more girls and a striker does get more bronze.  :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:

now who want to hear about de midfield? :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: