March 28, 2024, 04:27:31 AM

Author Topic: 5 more games Sunderland!!  (Read 3879 times)

5 more games Sunderland!!
« on: March 16, 2008, 12:05:15 PM »
There are 24 pts to play for...I think they could beat everyone there except Arsenal on any given day....Just hope it doesnt go down to the wire where Sunderland have to defeat Arsenal to stay up and Arsenal doesnt have to beat Sunderland to win the Premiership..
How many points do you think Sunderland will get from these remaining games?

Im hoping for 19 pts without having to defeat Arsenal...

Saturday, 22 March 2008
Aston Villa v Sunderland, 15:00   WIN 1-0  3pts

Saturday, 29 March 2008
Sunderland v West Ham, 15:00

Saturday, 05 April 2008
Fulham v Sunderland, 15:00

Saturday, 12 April 2008
Sunderland v Man City, 15:00

Saturday, 19 April 2008
Newcastle v Sunderland, 15:00

Saturday, 26 April 2008
Sunderland v Middlesbrough, 15:00

Saturday, 03 May 2008
Bolton v Sunderland, 15:00

Sunday, 11 May 2008
Sunderland v Arsenal, 15:00
« Last Edit: April 05, 2008, 05:37:28 PM by rotatopoti3 »

Re: 8 more games Sunderland!!
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2008, 12:09:27 PM »
I feel dey could have a good run for d rest of the fixtures, provided key players stay fit

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2008, 12:12:22 PM »
27 points right now. they need 13 from 8 games to be safe in theory. i think it doable based on the strenght of the remaining schedule.

« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2008, 12:25:42 PM »
yeah find andy reid looking good in the middle

key is reallly players being injury free
« Last Edit: March 16, 2008, 12:35:36 PM by freakazoid »

« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2008, 12:31:11 PM »
27 points right now. they need 13 from 8 games to be safe in theory. i think it doable based on the strenght of the remaining schedule.

Andre ah like how yuh say dat safe in theory... ;D  cause as we see this league iz like d stock market..every year d points for staying up does change....40 points in 1 year and 45 in another...

« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2008, 12:58:17 PM »
There are 24 pts to play for...I think they could beat everyone there except Arsenal on any given day....Just hope it doesnt go down to the wire where Sunderland have to defeat Arsenal to stay up and Arsenal doesnt have to beat Sunderland to win the Premiership..

Im hoping for 19 pts without having to defeat Arsenal...

Saturday, 22 March 2008
Aston Villa v Sunderland, 15:00

Saturday, 29 March 2008
Sunderland v West Ham, 15:00

Saturday, 05 April 2008
Fulham v Sunderland, 15:00

Saturday, 12 April 2008

Saturday, 19 April 2008

Saturday, 26 April 2008

Saturday, 03 May 2008

Sunday, 11 May 2008

They need 9 points from them first 3 home matches. West Ham away from home is pretty streaky so it doable. Same goes for Man City. Middlesborough is actually a very tough team to beat on the road, plus they fighting for their lives as well and is a derby. Hopefully by the time mih birthday come round, boro will be safe and the game won't be that important for them.
The Fulham and Bolton away matches are primordial. Sunderland have to try to keep them two teams below them whatever they do. The Newcastle game is another Derby and with both teams fighting the players will have to leave blood on the field to get a point.
Aston Villa away will be a very difficult match though, pity it comes right after that great performance against Chelsea

19 points is very optimistic. I think 13 would not be a bad deal at all, provided that we don't give unnecessary points away to the teams that fighting for survival (Boro, Fulham, Newcastle

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2008, 03:05:39 PM »
The title will be done and dusted by the time the Arsenal game comes around, so will the relegation issue, I think.  Unless there is a massive change there is only 1 spot left Fulham have something like 6 away games to play.

« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2008, 03:54:19 PM »
Sunderland have to worry about the form that wigan and birmingham showing.. those sides winning some tough games and pulling points from strong opposition..

a few of sunderland games are either derbies or against fellow relegation zoners, so it will be all out battle going on in them fixtures..

Hopefully they get the offence to click with Carlos and Richardson on the wings.. A positive is that the defence has been excellent in the last couple months

« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2008, 04:26:15 PM »
Sunderland have to worry about the form that wigan and birmingham showing

Omardinho...agreed...im especially worried about Wigan form lately...but as they say there is alot of football still to play...and football is such ah funny game...iz better carlos fit now rather than in d beginning of d season as THIS IS D PIVOTAL where some teams goe choke....Tis is where Yorke and co. goe make d difference in experience...

« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2008, 12:37:16 PM »
I wouldn't worry about Wigan at this point. They're ahead of Sunderland. I say worry about the sides that are behind (have less points than) Sunderland, like Birmingham, Bolton and Fulham. Yeah, it's great if yuh could catch up to a team that is ahead of you in the standings, but at this stage the more important thing is to make sure that who behind you, stay behind you!!

« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2008, 02:48:50 PM »
Birmingham beating Newcastle 1-0 right now...  :-\

steups... ah eh know what is the better result... win lose or draw

« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2008, 02:57:58 PM »
Arsenal already trow way de title.

« Reply #12 on: March 17, 2008, 03:00:06 PM »
 Sunderland could make it

« Reply #13 on: March 17, 2008, 03:34:18 PM »
Birmingham beating Newcastle 1-0 right now...  :-\

steups... ah eh know what is the better result... win lose or draw

draw - things so unpredictable you doh want nobody getting away...

Offline THETRUFF

« Reply #14 on: March 17, 2008, 10:24:01 PM »
I think Sunderland just gotta start getting results from tougher opponents as Wigan and Birmingham are doing of late....and now even Fulham against Everton....Kenwyne needs to start putting away his chances..hopefully with Carlos back they can get that extra push to keep them up

« Reply #15 on: March 18, 2008, 12:27:49 AM »
they go make it man.. i have faith.... :beermug:

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #16 on: March 21, 2008, 11:53:22 PM »
Sunderland have to worry about the form that wigan and birmingham showing.. those sides winning some tough games and pulling points from strong opposition..

a few of sunderland games are either derbies or against fellow relegation zoners, so it will be all out battle going on in them fixtures..

Hopefully they get the offence to click with Carlos and Richardson on the wings.. A positive is that the defence has been excellent in the last couple months

true talk

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #17 on: March 21, 2008, 11:54:38 PM »

The critical games for Sunderland are 
1) vs Bolton  on May 3, and 2) Fulham on Apr 5.   If they can win those two then they have a chance of staying up.   Both Birmingham and Reading have relatively easier schedules than Sunderland, and given that Birmingham has been playing well, it seems as though Birminham’s  chances of staying up are better than Sunderland.     Fulham’s schedule is also somewhat easier than Sunderland, and with Johnson starting to play well, and Mc Bride back, they might be able to surprise a lot people.

Offline kev

« Reply #18 on: March 22, 2008, 01:50:42 AM »

The critical games for Sunderland are 
1) vs Bolton  on May 3, and 2) Fulham on Apr 5.   If they can win those two then they have a chance of staying up.   Both Birmingham and Reading have relatively easier schedules than Sunderland, and given that Birmingham has been playing well, it seems as though Birminham’s  chances of staying up are better than Sunderland.     Fulham’s schedule is also somewhat easier than Sunderland, and with Johnson starting to play well, and Mc Bride back, they might be able to surprise a lot people.

Cant see it personally. Fulham have 5 away games against 3 at home, they also play Sunderland Brum and Reading so not all can get all points.  99% of the time there is only 1 reason you are relegated and that is your not good enough, fans will complain about all those decisions etc, but if we are relegated it is down to being not good enough pure and simple.

8 more games Sunderland!! now 5 left
« Reply #19 on: April 05, 2008, 05:36:15 PM »

Im hoping for 19 pts without having to defeat Arsenal...  (S0 FAR AH HAVE 9pts)

Saturday, 22 March 2008

Saturday, 29 March 2008
Sunderland v West Ham, 15:00   WIN 2-1  3pts   

Saturday, 05 April 2008
Fulham v Sunderland, 15:00        WIN 3-1  3pts   

Saturday, 12 April 2008

Saturday, 19 April 2008

Saturday, 26 April 2008

Saturday, 03 May 2008

Sunday, 11 May 2008
« Last Edit: April 05, 2008, 08:09:45 PM by rotatopoti3 »

Offline Trinitim

Re: 5 more games Sunderland!!
« Reply #20 on: April 05, 2008, 08:02:17 PM »

rotatopoti3  - EDIT YOUR POST PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SUNDERLAND BEAT FULHAM 3-1 not 2-1. THANK YOU VERY MUCH AND ON TOP OF THAT IS WE BOY KENWYNE THAT SCORE THE LAST GOAL TO MAKE IT THREE.

« Reply #21 on: April 05, 2008, 08:13:47 PM »
 ;D thank yuh sar

Re: 8 more games Sunderland!! now 5 left
« Reply #22 on: April 06, 2008, 12:31:03 AM »

Im hoping for 19 pts without having to defeat Arsenal...  (S0 FAR AH HAVE 9pts)

Saturday, 22 March 2008

Saturday, 29 March 2008
Sunderland v West Ham, 15:00   WIN 2-1  3pts   

Saturday, 05 April 2008
Fulham v Sunderland, 15:00        WIN 3-1  3pts   

Saturday, 12 April 2008
Sunderland v Man City, 15:00       WIN 1-0 3pts

Saturday, 19 April 2008
Newcastle v Sunderland, 15:00    WIN 2-1  3pts 

Saturday, 26 April 2008
Sunderland v Middlesbrough, 15:00      WIN 3-1  3pts 

Saturday, 03 May 2008
Bolton v Sunderland, 15:00    WIN 2-1  3pts 

Sunday, 11 May 2008
Sunderland v Arsenal, 15:00      Tie 1-1  1pt 

will end up in 10th spot ;)
Thanks SAFC.com
« Last Edit: April 06, 2008, 01:18:17 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline kev

« Reply #23 on: April 06, 2008, 03:05:48 AM »
The Newcastle / Boro games will be very intense fast and furious and probably tight, difficult to call a result it really does depend on which team wants it more.  Hand on Heart couldn't really say which way it will go so 2 draws.

Arsenal are looking tired, and could ( I hope) be in a Champions League final by the time the game comes around, already out of the title so what team will turn up so it maybe not as cast iron away win as most people think.

Man City are  poor away and look like they are coasting, but have some good payers still think we can win this, the only thing is we haven't won 4 on the bounce for donkey years.

Bolton are looking doomed at the minute, will the game matter by then I suspect not, but I would be disapointed if we could not get at least a draw or win from that one.