April 28, 2024, 11:38:01 PM

Author Topic: Jaggernauth is Omitted from the squad, while Benn Gets Selected..Racism..  (Read 2630 times)

I don't know what else to call it but racism and bias against a trini spinner, theres not other answers to it, you could argue Benn bats better which is garbage because your winning a test match by taking 20 wickets, omitting the number #1 spinner from the sqaud should signal T&T to go on its own and leave the west indies to the bias racists that manipulate the game...

Benn, Chattergoon to make Test debuts

BY VINODE MAMCHAN

T&T PROLIFIC spinner Amit Jaggernauth has been overlooked for the opening Test against Sri Lanka today at the Guyana National Stadium.

Jaggernauth who has been in tremendous form this season, taking 20 wickets in the last two First Class matches, has been left out in preference for Barbadian left arm spinner Sulieman Benn—who has also enjoyed a good season.

The spin bowling duties will be taken up by Benn, recalled Ryan Hinds and skipper Chris Gayle.

The reason behind going into the first Test with a specialist spinner is the fact that the West Indies has to be prepared for all conditions given that there is no real track record of the Providence pitch on which they can make a decision.

The ban imposed on Marlon Samuels by the International Cricket Council, cricket’s World governing body, which prevents him from bowling because of a suspect action could also impacted on a decision for a frontline slow bowler.

West Indies also made the safe choice and included left-hander Hinds, an accomplished batsman, whose left-arm spin bowling is more than useful, since he fits right into the mould which Gayle believes is just right for his side.

“I agree that spin bowlers have not gotten an opportunity to get a run in West Indies cricket,” he said.

“But if you look at the composition of the team, most of the time we have had all-rounders like Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, and those guys make it difficult for spinners to get into the team.

“If the spinners can actually bat, this would be a better option for us, and they could play, then people like myself and Samuels —who used to bowl—can give them support with the ball.”

Homeboy Chattergoon was given the nod to open the batting alongside Gayle, as Devon Smith sits out after a poor tour to South Africa.

The match also marks the return to the side of Ramnaresh Sarwan. He has finally gotten over his spate of injuries, and his presence fortifies the batting, but Gayle understands that West Indies have played shakily in recent matches at home, and Sri Lanka are hungry to break their maiden in the Caribbean.

Sri Lanka is hoping to follow in the footsteps of teams like England and India which have transformed weak records in the Caribbean.

On their two previous trips to the Caribbean, the Sri Lankans lost 1-0 on both occasions in series also of the two matches.

But this time they feel they have the firepower, experience, and talent to make this trip far more successful than the previous two.

“As a team, we have been playing some really good cricket and our Test record speaks for itself, and we have been competing away from home which has been an issue for us,” said Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jaywardene.

“We are just going to do what we do best, and we are going to concentrate on what we have to do.

“We have been playing well, but there is still room for improvement, so there are a lot of challenges in front of us, and our goal is to challenge ourselves, improve ourselves, and keep moving forward.”

Sri Lanka’s attack has been weakened with the absence of Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, and Farveez Maharoof, but Jayawardene is not worried.

“We have been a successful team, and there are some younger players who would like an opportunity to show what they are capable of doing,” he said.

“We have some really talented players coming through the set-up, and though we failed to win on our last two tours of the Caribbean, we are determined to win and show that this is not a lost opportunity, so we are looking to make this a successful series for us.”

The weather could disrupt the match as usual, since forecasts predict a 40 per cent chance of rain and scattered thunderstorms throughout the next week.

But the ultra-modern drainage system installed at the National Stadium when it was constructed in time to host World Cup matches last year should allow far more play in such circumstances unlike the conditions which existed when Bourda Oval in the heart of the Guyana capital of Georgetown hosted Tests and it rained.

Squads:

WEST INDIES:

Chris Gayle (captain), Sulieman Benn, Dwayne Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Ryan Hinds, Daren Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Jerome Taylor.

SRI LANKA:

Mahela Jaywardene (captain), Kumar Sangakkara (vice captain), Ishara Amerasinghe, Tillakeratne Dilshan, Rangana Herath, Prasanna Jaywardene, Nuwan Kulasekera, Muttiah Muralitharan, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Silva, Thilan Thushara, Chaminda Vaas, Michael Vandort, Malinda Warnapura, Chanaka Welegedera.

UMPIRES:

Simon Taufel, Billy Bowden, TV Replays: Clive Duncan, Reserve: Goaland Greaves.

MATCH REFEREE:

Chris Broad. (CMC)

Ah say that last year and organic say ah wrong .but is kinda obvious eh  ::) .But is tough to say anything cause the team is mixed lol .Maybe the trini players shoulda think about that before they beat gayle and jamaica lol .This sucks trini should go it alone ,screw history ,cause we will go down in history as sinking with west indies .

alot of people dont want to admit that there is a race issue... and it affects the selection, i think the powers that be in tt need to stand up against this injustice....

“I agree that spin bowlers have not gotten an opportunity to get a run in West Indies cricket,” he said.

“But if you look at the composition of the team, most of the time we have had all-rounders like Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, and those guys make it difficult for spinners to get into the team.

“If the spinners can actually bat, this would be a better option for us, and they could play, then people like myself and Samuels —who used to bowl—can give them support with the ball.”

This one quote here do it for me..

Why can't a spinner in the West Indies be accepted as a specialist bowler like the rest of the pace bowlers. Basically Gayle is saying, you have to be a batsman too if you are a spinner that wants to get into the team.

This one quote here do it for me..

Why can't a spinner in the West Indies be accepted as a specialist bowler like the rest of the pace bowlers. Basically Gayle is saying, you have to be a batsman too if you are a spinner that wants to get into the team.

different strokes for different folks, which pace bowler on the team can bat better than a spinner, mohammed and jaggy have a better avg than all of them...

Not racism anti Trini sentiment

Offline vale

cut arse for dem Bajans at Guaracara Park next week then cut arse for Jamaica in the Final.

>:( >:( >:(

This is insularity to the max.

Go Trinidad & Tobago, show dem who is boss at the regional level.

I doh know..maybe I ent travel the other islands enough but it really hard for me to believe anybody form the caribbean will sit down and watch 3 men competing for teh same spot and say I ent go pick this one b/c he is a Indian.  which is what TI alleging.  I naive bredda?

Yep naive but I timk they eh like Trinis more than d Indian ting

Offline Marlon

• Who the cap fit, let them wear it.
Boycott de QPO test. I aint going

saying is racism and anti trini is bullshit..real f**king asshole talk from TI and de rest ah allyuh.

Please examine the men who control west indies cricket...wey de majority come from?

steups

f**keries allyuh talking.

TT yah see these two men here who selecting Gordon Greenidge, Andy Roberts   ::) ,them from the Vivian Richards school of racism  ;D  ,them small islanders bad bad .Why Nanan never get to play under viv ,but is not just indian Larry Gomes get real trouble too .

Truetrini, it could be true. Is the afteraffects of the Lara era.