April 27, 2024, 01:53:07 PM

Author Topic: UEFA CL Quarter FC Schalke 04 v FC Barcelona 1/4/08  (Read 2705 times)

UEFA CL Quarter FC Schalke 04 v FC Barcelona 1/4/08
« on: April 01, 2008, 09:42:26 AM »

Gelsenkirchen - Veltins-Arena (Arena AufSchalke)
Tuesday kickoff
20:45 Barcelona / 2:45pm North American eastern

This is the first ever meeting between the two clubs in UEFA competition.

Recent form, all competitions
Schalke: LLWWWD
Barcelona: WLDLWL

Probable Barca Lineup

Valdes
Zambrotta - Puyol - Milito - Sylvinho
Xavi - Toure - Marquez - Iniesta
             Bojan - Eto'o

Ronaldinho, Deco and Messi are injured and Eto'o is carrying a slight injury from Sat's game so he is 50/50.

Thank God the 2nd leg is in Barcelona.

FC Barcelona - mes que un club

Re: UEFA CL Quarter FC Schalke 04 v FC Barcelona 1/4/08
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2008, 09:44:25 AM »
Dos Santos x2 and Eto'o x1.
I cah remember the last time I watch a live CL game.
Ah go hadda take a day off one of these days.

« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2008, 09:57:43 AM »
Ronnie wasn't on the medic's list. Officially, he isn't injured.

Either the man being left out, punished or has some condition they not willing to talk about.  All they are saying is that he has pain........ strange.  :thinking:

« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2008, 10:19:17 AM »
Thank God dat second leg in barcelona in true yes. I expecting anyting today....it goin rel sour.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2008, 10:21:02 AM »
Come ON Barca
go for the win ;)
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2008, 10:21:18 AM »
normally ah woulda say cake walk but i have to keep ah still tongue till 90 mins

and then maybe till 180 mins

« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2008, 10:30:46 AM »
Dos Santos x2 and Eto'o x1.
I cah remember the last time I watch a live CL game.
Ah go hadda take a day off one of these days.

I hear yuh, one of allyuh fellers who able to watch this game live need to hook me up where allyuh working.

Shalke is a boss side, Barca lucky if they win and I good with a draw.

Hopefully the Iceman can score or make a nice assist because he seem to be Barca super-sub these days.

« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2008, 11:12:11 AM »
Rijkaard vows not to walk out of Barcelona

Frank Rijkaard has dismissed all talk of resignation.

The Barcelona coach has come under fire in recent weeks, with his side winning just one of their last seven games in all competitions, culminating in a 3-2 defeat at Real Betis on Saturday.

And while Rijkaard admits it has been difficult coming to terms with his side's latest slip-up, he is confident they will come through their difficulties and show their true colours.

'We cannot waste our time thinking of resignation,' said the Dutchman. 'It was just a defeat and it will not affect me as we have a big game in the Champions League against a good team, away from home, and I hope we can play great again tomorrow.

'The anger of the fans is justifiable - they have the right to be angry - but that could serve as motivation for this game and we will try to show the good side of Barcelona.

'It is our chance to put things in order.'

Rijkaard said he would 'not point the finger' at any individual and claims they are 'working together as a team' to put the disappointment behind them, and quickly.

'I think it is only normal to be down after a defeat and this is a difficult and complicated moment. It is incredible that we lost that game, but this is part of football.

'When you lead away from home 2-0, then you should not lose 3-2 and that has left a bitter taste in the mouth.

'But I am sure my team will find its rhythm and I am convinced that we can dominate any team over 90 minutes.'

Defender Rafael Marquez, who is set to return to the Barcelona defence for the first time in over a month, claims too much has been made of the club's troubles and feels the atmosphere inside the dressing room has not suffered.

He said: 'The team and the club has full confidence in the coach and he has obtained some very good results so he deserves our faith.

'This game is not about being a last chance for us, it is about us being a team and rediscovering the strengths which have always been part of this club in the past.'

Offline bajanscout

• bajanscout
« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2008, 11:16:35 AM »
hey FREAKABOY LOL u running now u quiet now
bajanscout

« Reply #9 on: April 01, 2008, 11:39:00 AM »

Either the man being left out, punished or has some condition they not willing to talk about.  All they are saying is that he has pain........ strange.  :thinking:

Ronnie himself refusing to play saying he in pain. Scans show that there is no damage, so real rumors flying. Something fishy going on, but it is the Brazilian who instigating it. Club want him back..he was now getting a lil from, but he either have ah injury they can't diagnose, or he done wit dem

Wha' bout Barca probable lineup...when is the last time Barca take the field with only 2 forwards? Marquez and Toure in the middle..Dat is real steel. Rijkaard taking it very cautious. I doh think I ever see him abondon the 4-3-3 except for a small spell last year when he went with a 3-5-3, but always a trident forward line. hmmm. C'mon Barca

« Reply #10 on: April 01, 2008, 12:30:53 PM »
this german team will put up ah battle.barca goin and lose.

« Reply #11 on: April 01, 2008, 12:39:54 PM »
lose? we dont know  d meaning  ::) ::)

« Reply #12 on: April 01, 2008, 12:44:56 PM »

and u lose weekend  ;D

« Reply #13 on: April 01, 2008, 12:46:32 PM »

Ronnie himself refusing to play saying he in pain. Scans show that there is no damage, so real rumors flying. Something fishy going on, but it is the Brazilian who instigating it. Club want him back..he was now getting a lil from, but he either have ah injury they can't diagnose, or he done wit dem

Wha' bout Barca probable lineup...when is the last time Barca take the field with only 2 forwards? Marquez and Toure in the middle..Dat is real steel. Rijkaard taking it very cautious. I doh think I ever see him abondon the 4-3-3 except for a small spell last year when he went with a 3-5-3, but always a trident forward line. hmmm. C'mon Barca

If I was him I would go with a very cautious lineup, doh be to adventurous in the attack and play for the draw.

Right now thing eh really going Barca's way and the defense leaking some real suspect goals. The injury big bite Barca and Yaya have some kind of back problem.

Having said that a lil away goal go make meh sleep easy tonight.

« Reply #14 on: April 01, 2008, 12:47:21 PM »

and u lose weekend  ;D

Sarcasm. ManU people again... :D

Ah feeling bad fuh Barca, so ah hope dey win. Go La Liga!!

« Reply #15 on: April 01, 2008, 12:58:44 PM »
Nice. 0-1 Barca

Barca score a nice goal. Sweet pass from Iniesta, Henry hit it straight at the keeper, ball came back to him, passed it to Bojan who scored.

« Reply #16 on: April 01, 2008, 01:00:25 PM »
only when it 3 nil ah go be safe. cause ah know d worse go be ah draw

yes ah laughing at mi own squad sad eh

« Reply #17 on: April 01, 2008, 01:00:32 PM »
What yall Barca / La Liga fans think of Bojan?

Better than Pato?

« Reply #18 on: April 01, 2008, 01:02:31 PM »

Better than Pato?

I think so.

« Reply #19 on: April 01, 2008, 01:13:44 PM »
me 2

wait nah d man start  abidal
« Last Edit: April 01, 2008, 01:16:17 PM by freakazoid »

« Reply #20 on: April 01, 2008, 01:30:30 PM »
Shalke deserved a penalty dey.

« Reply #21 on: April 01, 2008, 01:37:20 PM »
4 wat putting on their uniforms

« Reply #22 on: April 01, 2008, 01:40:22 PM »

Valdes
Zambrotta -- Puyol -- Milito -- Abidal
                    Toure
               Iniesta -- Xavi
           Eto'o -- Bojan -- Henry

Eto'o coming in from wide right and Henry coming in from the left. Bojan in the middle lurking, real movement from him. Iniesta playing ah solid game in the middle.

« Reply #23 on: April 01, 2008, 01:44:50 PM »

« Reply #24 on: April 01, 2008, 01:50:03 PM »
on ah side note

Henry leave Nike wearing nice good Vapors to put on them big jokey looking bata Reeboks.

I would really like to see the figures in them 2 contract.

« Reply #25 on: April 01, 2008, 01:53:15 PM »

Better than Pato?

In terms of ability, I'd have to say Pato look like he is raw pressure. Both fairly even in terms of technique. But Bojan game is far more mature and refined. He is more clinical in front of goal and a better decision maker. Mature beyond his years..ala Fabregas. But you feel it is more a case of development. Barca also did a great job slowly ushering Bojan into the limelight. Pato had the world on his shoulders before he kick a ball for Milan. They both too young to start comparing cuz they both have plenty room for devlopment. AIf you include the added pressure Pato started with and the fact that Pato is thousands of miles away from home and having to adjust to a new language and culture, things that Bojan doh have to deal with..you realize it real hard to do a fair comparison so ealry on

« Reply #26 on: April 01, 2008, 02:28:51 PM »
Schalke getting scrappy at the end, 3 yellows in a row.