April 25, 2024, 10:23:46 AM

Author Topic: A bit concerned - who will score goals for us?  (Read 5985 times)

Offline Tha G.

• Anytime is trini time, cyah wait to buss ah lime
Re: A bit concerned - who will score goals for us?
« Reply #30 on: April 22, 2008, 08:56:24 PM »
I would rather get goals from allover the field...IE strikers, midfield, defenders... on a consistant basis, than to have to depend on ONE man goal socoring... good football = goals from everybody... depending on one man = ah hope he go get one. Once we play good footie we go get goals watch and see.

« Reply #31 on: April 22, 2008, 09:44:22 PM »
I think Kenwyne will be a handful for most Concacaf defenses. Even if he is not the one to put the ball in the back of the net, his presence will create goal scoring chances. Between him, Stern, Daryl, Scotland etc I don't think we have problems regarding personnel to put the ball in the back of the net.

If anything, the ability of the midfield to deliver balls to them and support the forwards will be a bigger issue for our team.

With respect to past goal scoring records and Stern being the only proven striker - THE PAST IS NOT THE FUTURE.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2008, 09:48:02 PM by dwn »

« Reply #32 on: April 22, 2008, 10:03:07 PM »
I need to restore some order to this common criticism of Kenwyne Jones and his lack of scoring for his country.  People quick to come online and talk about how he play X amount of games and only score x amount of goals, but what allyuh need ask allyuh self is how many games jones played as an out and out striker.

If memory serves me right, only one game against Guadelope on Ash Wednesday in 2008.  Is either right back, left back right wing midfield, left with etc. 

He never play as the go to guy for the warriors, it was always stern john!!

So, allyuh could give de man ah chance to prove himself first for his country before allyuh jam him so!

Man comparing him to Brichall in terms of scoring all kinda ting.  Steups!

And Touches right, stern real benefit from best ball from latas and yorke.

In the Hex, he scored 6 goals. 

- Against Panama in de stadium, assist Yorke
- Against Guatemala in de stadium, assist Latapy (1st goal)
- Against Guatemala in de stadium, assist Yorke (2nd goal)
- Against Panama away, assist Jones (via latas)
- Against Mexico in de stadium, deflection (via whitley)
- Against Mexico in de stadium, penalty, assist whitley (rebound)

« Last Edit: April 22, 2008, 10:23:29 PM by andre samuel »

« Reply #33 on: April 22, 2008, 10:13:36 PM »
But I can't say. Just out of curiosity, can anyone tell me how many games Jones has played for Trinidad and Tobago and how many goals he scored? I am look at his senior level appearances.
Games Played: 33 (19 starts)
Goals: 3

Thanks Tallman. And what about for club?

Southampton  : GP 80 (51 Starts) Goals 22
Sheffield Wed  : GP 7  (7 starts)    Goals 7
Stoke City       : GP 13 (13 starts)  Goals 3
Sunderland      : GP 30 (30 starts)  Goals 7

EPL : GP 32 (30  starts) 7 goals
Ch  : GP 82 (55 starts) 22 goals
L1  :  GP 7 (7 starts) 7 goals
FA  :  GP 4 (2 starts) 2 goals
CC  :  GP 4 (4 starts) 1 goal

« Reply #34 on: April 22, 2008, 10:14:51 PM »
- Against Mexico in de stadium, penalty
you getting old. Stern miss de penalty. He didn't miss de bullet though...

« Reply #35 on: April 22, 2008, 10:21:26 PM »

Just making sure you paying attention, very good.......lol.

« Reply #36 on: April 22, 2008, 10:31:27 PM »
Defence when we solve dat problem I go b good.

weary, sometimes de best defence is offence and ah sure de man who make dat up didnt have no D.

« Reply #37 on: April 23, 2008, 01:27:29 AM »

Just making sure you paying attention, very good.......lol.

ah was wondering who woulda be the first to hit me back that one...nice!

« Reply #38 on: April 23, 2008, 02:38:10 PM »
Kingman I respectfully dissagree with your assesment.... As a matter of fact, our choices of strikers/forwards is a bright spot...

To a large extent, a striker can only play as well as he is allowed to.. meaning he has to get a fair share of quality service.  We definitely have a problem with blooding creative midfielders who can deliver intelligent balls into the box and be consistent with it.

Someone mentioned that Yorke was prolific with ManU but didn't do much for us at the international level as a striker.. reason being at ManU, Yorke had Giggsy and Becks etc etc.. For us he had ..........

Apart from quality service, a team that can attack in numbers will have a better chance of creating chances.. if you look at our recent performances,  more often than not, we have 1 striker to 3 opposing defenders...

« Reply #39 on: April 23, 2008, 02:44:43 PM »
Yes Jason Scotland is our best riffle right now.  Wait till he get some burn from Maturana

« Reply #40 on: April 23, 2008, 02:49:54 PM »
Kingman I respectfully dissagree with your assesment....

And that you are entitled to do. Very good assessment. I share similar sentiments.

« Reply #41 on: April 23, 2008, 03:24:48 PM »