April 28, 2024, 08:09:23 PM

Author Topic: Dr Keith Rowley Thread.  (Read 119823 times)

Re: Governance under the Rowley Administration
« Reply #630 on: March 23, 2016, 12:13:30 PM »
The only good thing about this, is  that we not wishing condolences. Be prepared and be careful , Breds. God Bless!!!

Very true and thankful.

« Reply #631 on: March 24, 2016, 04:07:11 PM »

Communication Education Skills Training Programme 2016

The Ministry of Community Development, Culture and the Arts is about to launch its 2016 Skills Training Programme in various districts across Trinidad. Through this programme, you can learn many skills such as cake making, plumbing, tiling, hair dressing and even become computer literate.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=619381598210679&set=gm.1123201454398782&type=3&theater

Re: Dr Keith Rowley Thread.
« Reply #632 on: March 25, 2016, 06:53:26 PM »

WATCH VIDEO: https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/videos/10153982901555610/

Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley has called on all citizens to be thankful for what they have as there are many people who can only aspire to have it. This as he spoke with a gathering at the PNM's Shouter Baptise celebration on Thursday night.

« Reply #633 on: March 26, 2016, 11:03:29 AM »

Ministry of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs

First Prison Reform Consultation to be held on April 6th at the Port of Spain City Hall's Auditorium

1 P.M. - 4 P.M

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=620397808109058&set=gm.1124917764227151&type=3&theater

« Reply #634 on: March 26, 2016, 04:03:50 PM »

"As we celebrate Easter, we celebrate in faith that tomorrow will echo the gift of hope that was the resurrection of Jesus Christ. We ask that the spirit of Easter bring us hope, peace, and the promise of a better tomorrow" - Hon. Maxie Cuffie, Minister of Public Administration and Communications."

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=620406351441537&set=gm.1124926274226300&type=3&theater

« Reply #635 on: March 28, 2016, 10:16:33 AM »

Minister says why Government chose not to buy ArcelorMittal

Watch: http://www.cnc3.co.tt/news/minister-says-why-government-chose-not-buy-arcelormittal

$3 billion in debt and a crippled export market.
Those key factors are why Government will not buy ArcelorMittal.
Finance Minister Colm Imbert says his focus is now on ensuring that workers receive their benefits.

« Reply #636 on: March 30, 2016, 10:17:08 AM »

MESSAGE TO THE NATION BY DR THE HONOURABLE KEITH ROWLEY, MP, PRIME MINISTER OF THE REPUBLIC OF TRINIDAD & TOBAGO, ON THE OCCASION OF SPIRITUAL SHOUTER BAPTIST LIBERATION DAY 2016

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=238632313155958&id=154758538210003

« Reply #637 on: March 30, 2016, 10:20:55 AM »

The Honourable Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries, Senator Clarence Rambharat-

"Thanks to those who supported the farmers at the Easter Farmers' Market at the Queen’s Park Savannah in Port-of-Spain. This is another step in the full implementation of our Farm to Table Programme, to bring lower prices and better quality to a wider range of consumers.

These Farmers' Markets will be "pop up" markets operating throughout the country alongside the regular NAMDEVCO farmers markets in Point Fortin, Diego Martin, and the larger ones at Macoya and Debe.

Thanks to the Namdevco Board, employees and our farmers. Locations will be announced and the produce on offer will be expanded. Look out for it as Namdevco pushes from Farm to Table.”

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=621253528023486&set=gm.1126436084075319&type=3&theater

« Reply #638 on: April 01, 2016, 07:07:30 PM »
A Sexual Offenders Registry is to be operational by mid-2016

WATCH VIDEO: https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/videos/10154009125435610/

A Sexual Offenders Registry is to be operational by mid-2016 and is to be established to provide a database of all sex offenders in the country (past and present) to assist in the easy detection of sex offenders or paedophiles.

This was announced by Minister of National Security Edmund Dillion in the House of Representatives on Friday.

« Reply #639 on: April 03, 2016, 08:27:07 AM »

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/4VBmkf0RxTU&amp;feature=youtu.be" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/4VBmkf0RxTU&amp;feature=youtu.be</a>

« Reply #640 on: April 07, 2016, 08:00:35 PM »

Full Post Cabinet Press Briefing. Announcements and Q&A session.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/G3NNEIT2niE&amp;feature=youtu.be" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/G3NNEIT2niE&amp;feature=youtu.be</a>

« Reply #641 on: April 09, 2016, 08:13:53 AM »

PM: Take small doses of pain now, avoid IMF*

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160408/news/pm-take-small-doses-of-pain-now-avoid-imf

IT is much better to take the “small doses of pain” now than have the country end up in the hands of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in the future, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley has advised citizens.
Rowley made the statement in the House of Representatives last evening during his contribution to the mid-year review of the budget presented by Finance Minister Colm Imbert.

“Anybody who is trying to make you believe as a citizen of Trinidad and Tobago that it is same old, same old and that nothing has happened to make these changes relevant and required, as Lloyd Best would say, ‘dem is ­people to watch’.

« Reply #642 on: April 10, 2016, 07:45:52 PM »

Mid-year Budget Review highlights

http://www.looptt.com/content/mid-year-budget-review-highlights

The country’s 2015-2016 budget of $63 billion has been revised down to $59 billion, pegged on a budgeted oil price of US $35 per barrel and a gas price of $2 per mmbtu.

Revenue is set at $44 billion, while the fiscal deficit is four percent of the country’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP).

A number of measures were announced during government’s Mid-year Budget Review in Parliament today, including increased taxation on several goods and services.

Here’s a look at the top 10 measures as indicated by Finance Minister Colm Imbert:

1.      The cost of super gasoline will be increased by 15 percent to $3.58 and diesel also by 15 percent to $2 per litre. The measure will be implemented with immediate effect.

2.      A seven percent levy on online purchase of goods and services through the internet from retail companies resident overseas that are not subject to taxes in this country, for example, Walmart, Amazon, Dell etc. This measure will take effect by September 2016. 

3.      A revised GATE programme will be announced in time for the start of the new school term with the aim of conserving expenditure and to ensure better alignment with the country’s development means. A committee mandated to review GATE will give its report by July 2016.

4.      Imposition of increases on taxes for gaming, alcohol and tobacco industry. There will be increased taxes on alcohol and tobacco products effective May 2016, after legislation is passed.

5.      Fifty percent increase in the customs duties and Motor Vehicle Tax on luxury vehicles with engine size exceeding 1999ccs, with immediate effect.

6.      Fifty percent of arrears to be paid to public servants by end of June 2016.

7.      CEPEP to be returned to its original moorings in 2017 when government intends to reduce its direct support for contractors. Meanwhile, URP will be restructured to include substantive community construction projects, with agriculture in rural areas.

8.      Closing of $15 billion gap in revenue and with borrowings and one off items of extraordinary income, such as proceeds from the sale of CLICO assets, repayment of past lending to TGU (Trinidad Generation Unlimited), dividends from NGC (National Gas Company), drawdowns from the HSF (Heritage and Stabilisation Fund), the proceeds of the Phoenix Park IPO,

9.      Tax concessions for the construction of multi-storey car parks and commercial buildings to be extended to 2025.

10.  Tax holidays and other incentives to agricultural processing industries.

« Reply #643 on: April 10, 2016, 07:48:00 PM »
19th Sitting of the House of Representatives

19th Sitting of the House of Representatives - 1st Session of the 11th Republican Parliament

Friday April 1, 2016
1:30pm

Summary:
~ Six Papers were laid.
~ Two Urgent questions were posed.
~ Nine questions qualified for oral answer.
~ Government Business: Bills Second Reading
. Bill #1: Strategic Services Agency (Amendment) Bill 2016
~ Government Business
. Motion #1: Approve Draft EBC (Local Government and THA) Order 2016 (moved by the Minister of Rural Development and Local Government)

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/7WqhZZRWu_U&amp;spfreload=10" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/7WqhZZRWu_U&amp;spfreload=10</a>

« Reply #644 on: April 10, 2016, 07:50:32 PM »

Minister to pupils: Make the best of it
As schools reopen

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160410/news/minister-to-pupils-make-the-best-of-it

All schools are in a state of readiness for re-opening after the two-week vacation Easter says Education Minister Anthony Garcia.
Speaking to the Express by phone, Garcia said that pupils must make the best use of the opportunities they have as in many other countries others do not have this privilege.

“Education is very important and when our students readily avail themselves of the educational opportunities then they can better themselves,” he said.
“Be steadfast in your studies and do not allow any distraction to derail you from your purpose,” said the Minister as he issued an appeal for students to focus on their goals.

Garcia also disclosed that he will be holding a news conference today to address the Ministry’s position with respect to issues raised by Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar in the Parliament last Friday.
These include the laptop programme, the school feeding programme and the textbook programme.
Garcia also explained that although there was a realignment of resources from the Education Ministry to the Labour Ministry in terms of the shifting of the On the Job Training Programme (OJT) he said the programmes in place will continue and the education sector will not be starved for resources.

« Reply #645 on: April 10, 2016, 07:52:51 PM »

Hon. Minister of Finance on Housing and the Gaming Industry.

WATCH: https://www.facebook.com/pnmpartygroup15/videos/269720070026670/

« Reply #646 on: April 10, 2016, 07:54:39 PM »

Hon. Minister of Finance on Housing and the Gaming Industry.

WATCH: https://www.facebook.com/pnmpartygroup15/videos/269720070026670/

He has a point. Why would the Opposition boast about over spending when they were in Govt. The present Govt has to face with the difficulties that happened due to over spending.

« Reply #647 on: April 12, 2016, 06:25:59 AM »
20th Sitting of the House of Representatives

- 1st Session of the 11th Republican Parliament

Friday April 8, 2016
1:30pm

Summary:
~ Nine Papers will be laid.
~ One report will be presented.
~ Prime Minister's Question Time
~ Four Urgent questions will be posed.
~ Government Business: Motions
Adopt the Second Report of the Standing Finance Committee of the House of Representatives (moved by the Minister of Finance)
~ Government Business: Bills Second Reading The Finance (Variation of Appropriation)(Financial Year 2016) Bill, 2016 (moved by the Minister of Finance)

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/h8BvGVeKNgA&amp;spfreload=10" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/h8BvGVeKNgA&amp;spfreload=10</a>
« Last Edit: April 12, 2016, 06:36:32 AM by Sando prince »

« Reply #649 on: April 13, 2016, 04:54:02 AM »

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160408/news/pm-take-small-doses-of-pain-now-avoid-imf

IT is much better to take the “small doses of pain” now than have the country end up in the hands of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in the future, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley has advised citizens.
Rowley made the statement in the House of Representatives last evening during his contribution to the mid-year review of the budget presented by Finance Minister Colm Imbert.

“Anybody who is trying to make you believe as a citizen of Trinidad and Tobago that it is same old, same old and that nothing has happened to make these changes relevant and required, as Lloyd Best would say, ‘dem is ­people to watch’.

That is a very honourable approach to take,but under the UNC the Unions didn't see it that way.I recall quite clearly the attitude of Roget and Duke,they seemed intent on bringing down the UNC with their constant demands,and that was only a few months ago,where are they now.The Unions were always an arm of the PNM,and I would like certain portion of our population to understand,they will never be able to hold power in TT with the freedom the PNM have,when they are in power.I see the murders are climbing everyday,but i remember the PNM refusing to come together with the UNC on the hanging issue.

« Reply #650 on: April 13, 2016, 10:51:58 AM »

That is a very honourable approach to take,but under the UNC the Unions didn't see it that way.I recall quite clearly the attitude of Roget and Duke,they seemed intent on bringing down the UNC with their constant demands,and that was only a few months ago,where are they now.The Unions were always an arm of the PNM,and I would like certain portion of our population to understand,they will never be able to hold power in TT with the freedom the PNM have,when they are in power.I see the murders are climbing everyday,but i remember the PNM refusing to come together with the UNC on the hanging issue.

The union is an arm of the PNM but MSJ was in the PP. FYI when the UNC was in government 95-01 they proposed the change re: the COP. When they came into power they voted against their own lefislation which resulted in this nonsense taht we have now with Chilly Willy acting for nuff years. You guys stay in the UK read the online newspapers and social media and feel all yuh know what going on in the country. I live here and was working police at the time when they refused to support their own legislation. They were only intrested in freeing Ish and Steve so when they failed they repealed the entire Bill that looked at the Criminal Justice System.

« Reply #651 on: April 13, 2016, 11:06:24 AM »
Weary, I did not know you were a police lady. I have to stop cussin on the forum.

« Reply #652 on: April 13, 2016, 11:31:28 AM »
Weary, I did not know you were a police lady. I have to stop cussin on the forum.

I worked police never said I was a police.

« Reply #653 on: April 13, 2016, 12:25:45 PM »

Good Manning to you weary1969.

« Reply #654 on: April 13, 2016, 12:28:27 PM »

That joke very stale.Yuh forget I iz Manning woman. All who called me that hiding because their PP was a PISS POOR PATHETHIC POSSE.

« Reply #655 on: April 13, 2016, 05:01:45 PM »

That joke very stale.Yuh forget I iz Manning woman. All who called me that hiding because their PP was a PISS POOR PATHETHIC POSSE.
You don't have long to wait to find that the present administration will be worse than piss poor,they have always been a posse.Good ting Kamla build some houses,fix up some ramshackle schools build hospitals,build some roads,bridges,drains,give the education of children gifts of computers.Maning did build a church at a cost of 30 million dollars with tax payers money,but he said he doh know nothing bout it.It makes you larf,how much racket went dong with the Lara Stadium,don't tell meh yuh doh know.How bout UDECOT?
Look weary,i aint no hard core UNC,is only tings i read,but I have to question,why after 50 years of PNM rule,why has the richest country at one time,has deteriorated to such a degree.Why don't you all give someone else a chance to run the country,the PNM has failed,worst of all their most loyal supporters are no better than 60 years ago,soon they will be eating each other.All the big talk bout PNM don't fool no one apart from their supporters.I know many Trinis,and none would go their for a holiday,wot ah ting,people fraid dey own country,PNM must take the blame,just like a bad parent bringing bad ass children.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2016, 05:04:20 PM by frico »

« Reply #656 on: April 14, 2016, 04:40:01 AM »

Jennifer: Govt working on contract labour challenges*

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160413/business/jennifer-govt-working-on-contract-labour-challenges

THE Ministry of Labour has sought the intervention of the Public Service Commission’s Director of Personnel Administration to unfreeze public service positions and make them available to public officers on a permanent basis.

Noting that over the years contract labour had spiralled out of control, Labour Minister Jennifer Baptiste-Primus said yesterday many have been speaking about it but little action has been taken to facilitate genuine dialogue and serious examination of the issue.

« Reply #657 on: April 14, 2016, 01:10:04 PM »

You don't have long to wait to find that the present administration will be worse than piss poor,they have always been a posse.Good ting Kamla build some houses,fix up some ramshackle schools build hospitals,build some roads,bridges,drains,give the education of children gifts of computers.Maning did build a church at a cost of 30 million dollars with tax payers money,but he said he doh know nothing bout it.It makes you larf,how much racket went dong with the Lara Stadium,don't tell meh yuh doh know.How bout UDECOT?
Look weary,i aint no hard core UNC,is only tings i read,but I have to question,why after 50 years of PNM rule,why has the richest country at one time,has deteriorated to such a degree.Why don't you all give someone else a chance to run the country,the PNM has failed,worst of all their most loyal supporters are no better than 60 years ago,soon they will be eating each other.All the big talk bout PNM don't fool no one apart from their supporters.I know many Trinis,and none would go their for a holiday,wot ah ting,people fraid dey own country,PNM must take the blame,just like a bad parent bringing bad ass children.

What house Kamla build hers in the Phillipine? Where the person falling from the sky? You have to vote who you have before you and once the racist corrupt UNC is the other option PNM will get my vote. It is simple as that. You need to listen to Laventille Nights on I95 and you would hear that not everybody in Laventille living in a shack. You feel the UNC supporters better than the PNM supporters I can take you to parts of Caroni and you would see real poverty. UNC fix there friends and them they eh do nothing collectively for the East Indian Community but their seat sure because Indians vote straight race in Central. The policies of Eric Williams insured that education was avialable to all so my aunt who went Success Laventille RC got her scholarship of $77 went to Bishop and is a Senior Magistrate today. In the 70's that happen. In the 2000's Manning build the Laventille Technology Centre but lots of them Laventille residents not intrested they rather run guns and drugs and then claim they want wuk. They got to skill. PNM government far from perfect but they put systems in place for everybody to benefit it is up to you to benefit. Once upon a time they got breakfast, lunch, tickets books and free University education. Now the gate is about to close. I nevr got Dollar for dolar or Gate but I made the sacrifice and got my education so if they want to complain they free to.

« Reply #658 on: April 14, 2016, 01:20:45 PM »

Jennifer: Govt working on contract labour challenges*

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160413/business/jennifer-govt-working-on-contract-labour-challenges

THE Ministry of Labour has sought the intervention of the Public Service Commission’s Director of Personnel Administration to unfreeze public service positions and make them available to public officers on a permanent basis.

Noting that over the years contract labour had spiralled out of control, Labour Minister Jennifer Baptiste-Primus said yesterday many have been speaking about it but little action has been taken to facilitate genuine dialogue and serious examination of the issue.

As a contract worker since 2000 in my 3rd agency  every time I hear about this I does have to pray real hard not to cuss. There are some careers in the Public Service IT/ Coporate Communications for instance do not exist on the Public Service establishment. Are all these positions going to become apart of the Public Service establishment? At what range? Do they know that when I was appointed in 93 they had to insure that there was pension before I could be appointed.

Professionals in the Public Service work on contract and then move onto the next contract. So Madam Minister unfreeze who you have to unfreeze but please focus on the contract workers who have been on short term for years since Nan the Goat was Minister of Public Administration refused to renew persons contract but they need to get their job done so they have us in 2016 working without any leave.

« Reply #659 on: April 15, 2016, 03:15:11 PM »