April 25, 2024, 10:41:31 PM

Author Topic: Dr Keith Rowley Thread.  (Read 119605 times)

Re: Governance under the Rowley Administration
« Reply #720 on: July 04, 2016, 10:36:30 PM »
28th Sitting of the House of Representatives- Part 2

Friday June 24, 2016
5:00pm-

Summary:
~ Seven Papers will be laid.
~ Twenty-seven questions qualified for oral answer.
~ Private Business
. Motion #1: Loss of confidence in the Attorney General (moved by Dr. Roodal Moonilal, MP)

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Yeh_PQv0hxc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Yeh_PQv0hxc</a>

« Reply #721 on: July 04, 2016, 10:41:16 PM »
I cyah wait for the Red House to be completed, I always hate the inside chamber of this temporary Parliament.

The Red House chamber always look better and more elegant

http://crmstt.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/redhouse.jpg

« Last Edit: July 04, 2016, 10:45:03 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #722 on: July 04, 2016, 10:43:16 PM »

Re: Dr Keith Rowley Thread.
« Reply #723 on: July 07, 2016, 12:00:09 PM »

Prime Minister Rowley at the signing of the condolence book in honour of former Prime Minister Patrick Manning. Several government ministers attended the signing this morning (Sunday July 3rd) at the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ZhQz_i0gFbU&amp;spfreload=10" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ZhQz_i0gFbU&amp;spfreload=10</a>

« Reply #724 on: July 07, 2016, 12:01:13 PM »

Prime Minister Dr. Rowley responds to questions posed by media following bilateral talks between Trinidad and Tobago and Suriname during the Thirty-Seventh Regular Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) yesterday (Wednesday 6th July, 2016

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/T_AZaGl4KSQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/T_AZaGl4KSQ</a>

« Reply #725 on: July 08, 2016, 11:33:09 PM »
29th Sitting of the House of Representatives  - Part 1

Friday July 1, 2016
1:30pm

Summary:
~ 20 Papers will be laid.
~ 30 Questions qualify for oral answer.
~ Government Business: Bills Second Reading
. The Miscellaneous Provisions (Anti-Gang and Bail) Bill, 2016 (moved by the Attorney General)

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/BRhkeVDdkkc&amp;spfreload=10" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/BRhkeVDdkkc&amp;spfreload=10</a>

« Reply #726 on: July 08, 2016, 11:35:11 PM »

29th Sitting of the House of Representatives  - Part 2

Friday July 1, 2016
1:30pm

Summary:
~ 20 Papers will be laid.
~ 30 Questions qualify for oral answer.
~ Government Business: Bills Second Reading
. The Miscellaneous Provisions (Anti-Gang and Bail) Bill, 2016 (moved by the Attorney General)

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/D3shCW6q4E8&amp;spfreload=10" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/D3shCW6q4E8&amp;spfreload=10</a>

« Reply #727 on: July 15, 2016, 11:23:06 AM »
PRIME MINISTER ROWLEY SETS SAT MAHARAJ STRAIGHT ON MANNING

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/yedwdRRCP6Q&amp;feature=share" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/yedwdRRCP6Q&amp;feature=share</a>

« Reply #728 on: July 19, 2016, 06:13:16 PM »

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160719/news/kamla-reject-recommendations-for-gate

Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar has called on the Government to reject the recommendations by the special task force set up to review the Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses (GATE) programme.

She said cuts to the GATE programme, before the start of the next academic year, will have negative effects on youths and the future development of Trinidad and Tobago.

Persad-Bissessar said she was concerned by the recommendations presented to the Government by the special task force.

« Reply #729 on: July 22, 2016, 12:06:05 PM »

PM: Gate cuts will be best we can afford

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-07-21/pm-gate-cuts-will-be-best-we-can-afford

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley says the Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses (Gate) programme is staying. However, he says because of the trepidation over impending adjustments to the programme, it will be reviewed by his Cabinet with a caring eye.

Rowley made the comment while addressing T&T students during his visit to the University of the West Indies’ Mona Campus, Jamaica, as he continued activities on his five-day visit to Jamaica. 

The session took greater significance after widespread panic among the T&T student bodies across the region in the wake of a media report over the weekend that massive cuts were recommended by the Task Force appointed to review the programme.

This included a proposal that students pay up to one third of their fees. Under the existing arrangements, the cost of tuition is met fully by Government. But as he met with the student body yesterday, Rowley assured them there was no need for any panic.

“We didn’t just decide to cut the programme. We had a proper analysis done and that analysis looked at the comprehensive programme, including the requirement to preserve what we are investing in, because the money we are spending on you is an investment in the future of the country,” he explained.

He said the review was undertaken as the country was facing a very significant loss of revenue because of collapsed commodity prices internationally.

“That by itself is pushing us to have to close some very serious budget deficits,” he added.

He said notwithstanding that, the programme was due for a review after existing for several years and the review was “not meant to backtrack on our commitment to make sure that you all are educated or to be denied an education on the basis that you are not able to pay tuition.”

While the purpose of the task force report was to make recommendations on reducing overall expenditure, Rowley said: “We are committed to cutting out the waste, the abuse and the corruption and to ensure the sacrifice we make to pay for your education is the best we can afford.”

He said it costs Government $750 million each year to educate Gate-approved citizens and urged those gathered not to take taxpayers’ sacrifices for granted.

Noting the high demand for professionals in the field of medicine, he said: “You in the medical field ought not to worry. Even though we become more selective in what we fund, the area of health care delivery is an area of grave shortage in the country.”

Cabinet, he added, would meet to discuss the recommendations before any final decision was made “but what I can tell you is that we will review the recommendations with a very caring eye.”

Some students got to their feet, asking the PM that even if the decision is that they are to fund even part of their tuition, whether it would be possible to facilitate low interest student friendly loans.

Since 2004, over 65,000 students have passed through the programme.

« Reply #730 on: July 22, 2016, 12:08:24 PM »
30th Sitting of the House of Representatives -Part 1

Monday July 4, 2016
1:30 p.m.

Summary:
~ Two papers will be laid.
~ Two urgent questions will be posed.
~ Three questions qualify for oral answer.

~ Government Business
. Bills Second Reading: The Finance (No.2) Bill, 2016

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/KGE-PZKNDjY&amp;spfreload=10" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/KGE-PZKNDjY&amp;spfreload=10</a>

« Reply #731 on: July 22, 2016, 12:09:41 PM »
30th Sitting of the House of Representatives -Part 2

Monday July 4, 2016
1:30 p.m.

Summary:
~ Two papers will be laid.
~ Two urgent questions will be posed.
~ Three questions qualify for oral answer.
~ Government Business
. Bills Second Reading: The Finance (No.2) Bill, 2016

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/JZ9sxio9QkI&amp;spfreload=10" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/JZ9sxio9QkI&amp;spfreload=10</a>

« Reply #732 on: July 24, 2016, 08:55:04 AM »
Dr the Honourable Keith Rowley, hosted a media conference yesterday, Thursday 21st July 2016, in the VIP Lounge, Piarco International Airport, following his return from a four-day official visit to Jamaica.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/tKr_PeTmBac" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/tKr_PeTmBac</a>

« Reply #733 on: July 29, 2016, 11:05:58 PM »

PTSC Buses get WIFI

http://news.power102fm.com/ptsc-buses-get-wifi-38018

Passengers will soon have access to Wi-Fi connection while onboard Public Transport Service Corporation PTSC buses.

Minister of Public Administration and Communication, Maxie Cuffie has announced that this service, which will be accessible on selected routes during the initial phases, will become available to the public after its launch on Friday 29th July.

CLICK FOR AUDIO
http://news.power102fm.com/ptsc-buses-get-wifi-38018

« Reply #734 on: August 01, 2016, 05:57:32 PM »
Now if only they were regular and punctual.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #735 on: August 04, 2016, 04:24:18 AM »
Now if only they were regular and punctual.

CO-SIGN!!

« Reply #736 on: August 04, 2016, 12:24:54 PM »

GATE no longer completely free; Government announces sweeping changes

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/gate-no-longer-completely-free-government-announces-sweeping-changes

The Cabinet has announced sweeping changes to the Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses (GATE) programme that no longer sees the Government offering 100% financing for tertiary education from 2017.

The changes, announced by Education Minister Anthony Garcia, do not affect students who are already enrolled in programmes or who have registered to begin programmes this year.

The long anticipated changes were announced at a media briefing that followed a special Cabinet meeting today.

The Minister said that effective August 2016, students who are at presently enrolled at various programmes will continue to receive funding for their entire programmes.

He added that students registered to begin programmes in 2016 will also be fully funded for the 2016-2017 academic year.

However, from the beginning of the 2017-2018 academic year, a Means Test will be used to determine how much funding the government will offer in the GATE programme.

The Minister says that following the Means Test, students from households with incomes below $10,000, will be eligible for 100% funding.

Where the household income is above $10,000 students will have to pay 25% of the course fees, with the Government providing the other 75%.

Where the household income is above $20,000, students will have to pay 50% of the fees.

The Minister added that effective August 2017, funding for post-graduate degrees will be available to students whose programmes are "in alignment with the country's development needs".

The Minister did not detail what those programmes are.

Effective August 2017, students enrolled at medical programmes outside of the University of the West Indies will be funded at the level of the funding given to the University of the West Indies (UWI) students.

Effective August 2016, the government will discontinue funding of new students in the medical programme at the St Georges University in Grenada.

He said that effective August 2016, students will only be funded for one undergraduate programme and one post-graduate programme.

Also, effect August 2016, the loan ceiling for students at local institutions will be raised to $35,000 annually, with the $75,000 for regional students remaining.

Effective August 2016, persons over the age of 50 years, will no longer eligible for GATE funding but the Minister says that "continuing students" over the age of 50 will be granted funding to complete their programmes.

The Minister says the government will seek to offer education savings bonds and will announce arrangements and details soon.

He says the government will also seek to establish a National Education Savings Fund and will encourage the private sector, via tax incentives, to make fund contributions for children of employees.

The government will also offer fiscal incentives to encourage insurance companies and credit unions to invest in educational savings products, the Minister said.

"I have been advised that these initiatives would allow us to save, in the first year, $100 million and subsequent years, $200 million until we reach our target of $500 million on spending on the GATE programme," Minister Garcia said.

He added, "This government has given a commitment that it will retain GATE. It will ensure GATE is relevant, easily accessible and available to all those who need it," he said.

« Reply #737 on: August 04, 2016, 08:25:06 PM »
I understand and agree with the principle.

I would have raised the lower limit to 15000.
Also keep in mind you can write off tertiary education expenses for taxes locally. So it not that bad.

While I also understand why persons over 50 not going and qualify for it...I think some allowance should be made and the most they could qualify for is 50%.

Multiple degree holders.....not sure how to deal with that yet...but.....probably a gradual reduction.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #738 on: August 05, 2016, 03:13:55 AM »
Yeah, Bourbon ... In agreement with the position you've expressed regarding the $10,000 delineator. Seems not to allow for any margin in circumstances. Dahis imposing some serious "ban yuh belly".

Was there any mention of how size of household factors into eligibility?

« Reply #740 on: August 08, 2016, 12:29:54 PM »
Also keep in mind you can write off tertiary education expenses for taxes locally. So it not that bad.
This is not accurate, the write off is for study at foreign university or if yuh doing through distance learning yuh get d foreign fees, UWI doh qualify regardless of campus.

IIT Auditor, so ah know this for a fact, does disallow them automatically

Sent from my BLU ADVANCE 4.0 using Tapatalk

« Reply #741 on: August 08, 2016, 01:39:56 PM »
This is not accurate, the write off is for study at foreign university or if yuh doing through distance learning yuh get d foreign fees, UWI doh qualify regardless of campus.

Well thanks for that. That on the tax forms in a big way so I assumed it was something you could claim for. That really should be clarified... And especially in light of the changes made should be implemented as another way to ease the strain.

Sent from my AZUMI A50c+ using Tapatalk

« Reply #742 on: August 08, 2016, 04:38:24 PM »

Well thanks for that. That on the tax forms in a big way so I assumed it was something you could claim for. That really should be clarified... And especially in light of the changes made should be implemented as another way to ease the strain.

Sent from my AZUMI A50c+ using Tapatalk
Well that became board policy with d advent of GATE because trinis was taking gate and still claiming expenses, effectively getting money back that they were not spending sigh!, they may review it at some point though

« Reply #743 on: August 10, 2016, 07:39:20 AM »
You can claim tuition fees and books in the same section with annuity and NIS.

« Reply #744 on: August 10, 2016, 11:09:23 AM »
Yes but only if is foreign or distance learning, c

« Reply #745 on: August 10, 2016, 12:16:21 PM »
Yes but only if is foreign or distance learning, c

Has it changed? I got it in the past when I was at IOB. You see how long th eplace was not even called LOK JACK yet and I did a claim this year for someone who doing custom brokeage exams.

« Reply #746 on: August 10, 2016, 12:21:57 PM »
Board decision stipulated that it only be allowed in the instances I mentioned due to people applying for gate and still claiming expenses.... So all local tertiary and technical studies are disallowed automatically technicalities notwithstanding.

« Last Edit: August 10, 2016, 12:23:51 PM by lefty »

« Reply #747 on: August 23, 2016, 11:27:54 PM »

Relief for Dr Rowley: I am in good health
...the PM urges men over 40 to undergo prostate exam

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160818/news/dr-rowley

PRIME MINISTER Dr Keith Rowley said Thursday that the tests he underwent while on vacation in the United States, have shown that he is in good health.

Speaking at the post Cabinet press conference in Port of Spain, Dr Rowley said: “My doctors have pronounced me in good health and I have no ailment and no symptoms that would prevent me from carrying out my duties”.

The tests related to changes detected to his prostate by local doctors, Dr Rowley said.

He said: Many years ago, one of the things I would do is frequently, annually sometimes, get myself examined. So that in the event that as I progress through life that I happen to come upon such a disease that I give my doctors and myself the best chances to respond. And today I hold that out to all the men in TT to not be so macho that you do not want to subject yourself to that particular bit of scientific data which requires you to get yourself examined on a regular basis once you get past age 40.

Just to monitor yourself so that in the event there are changes to your body you will be in a position to get the best medical care, either at home or abroad and give yourself a chance to survive a very crippling disease. So over the years I have done that.

It is against that background I was planning to take a week’s vacation. I had gone to my local doctors; I hadn’t been last year because the politics was hectic but I did keep my disciplined approach to get myself checked. And having gone, my local doctors saw something of interest to them, that was communicated to my foreign doctors and they said they will examine further.

I made that information available to the public and I daresay when I left this country there was no other information available. And no further would be available until the tests were done.

The conversation between me and my doctor is private, and would be made public in so far as it is available to the public so that the public can understand whether I am in a position to continue to discharge my duties. When I left this country on August 4, no such situation existed. But I read with great interest what was said and from what quarters they came. It is a good opportunity for me to say it was a learning experience because I always maintained in this particular arena in which I perform that I have a genuine belief that the vast majority of people are decent right thinking people which wish right for all of us. And having gone abroad and the press having made such an exciting number of pages of script my situation, I discovered I was completely correct in assessing the national population".

Dr Rowley said he was overwhelmed by the good wishes and prayers directed at him and his families.

He also explained why he went to California to undergo his tests. He said that he has been seeing doctors on the west coast of the US for more than 20 years and doctors there had his medical records, and he trusted their ability.

“I want to thank all those person who took the time to participate and communicate in the sending of these good wishes…Your thoughts and your prayers were appreciated by me and my family. It was good to be relieved after the tests were done…that I had nothing to worry about".

He also derided some people in Trinidad and Tobago who he said slandered his character and his family, in speculating on his medical condition.

Dr Rowley urged men, particularly of African descent to undergo prostate examinations, especially after the age of 40 years old, exercise and to closely monitor diet. He said men could not be "macho" and not undergo a prostate exam because early detection would give them a better change of fighting it.

Dr Rowley also said that in the political arena “nobody stays in it forever. You either get out of it head-first or feet first. And I am always aware of that. And I am very aware that…with every passing day and year, I treasure my family more every day because at the end of the day, after all is said and done, all you may have left is your family and a few friends”.

Dr Rowley left the country on August 4, for a period of two weeks, telling the nation that he was off on a vacation duing which he would undergo a medical check up. Since then, there has been speculation about his health and whether he was suffering with a serious ailment.

He returned home on Tuesday and attended Wednesday night's screening of local government candidates at Baliser House, Port of Spain.

« Reply #748 on: August 25, 2016, 09:30:00 PM »
And where is all that added money going?

« Reply #749 on: August 26, 2016, 07:57:18 AM »
To the national football team  ;D