April 24, 2024, 02:45:13 PM

Author Topic: Dr Keith Rowley Thread.  (Read 119519 times)

Offline congo

Re: Governance under the Rowley Administration
« Reply #540 on: January 28, 2016, 06:12:20 AM »
According to Sando we need to find some these people and find out what went wrong...What they had for breakfast? Did they have regular access to the 5 food groups..All these murders occuring for years and we don't even know if some are being committed by serial killers.
That culture of crime is bs...Too much talk does take place in this country. Wayyy too much talk.

« Reply #541 on: January 28, 2016, 07:41:17 AM »
Seemingly, in Sando prince's view of our "culture of crime", this is the way things have been since Day One. Yet, mysteriously, although there have long been people living in challenging circumstances, none of this used to be an everyday occurrence. And, much of it is unprecedented.

Really? Pregnant women and children? No one in officialdom should sleep until these scoundrels are dragged into daylight.

By the way, Jumbie ... according to Sando prince's view, you doh have standing to participate in the proposed "national dialogue" due to your distant perch. For some reason, that makes excessive sense to him.

While 'Rome' bunning, he could twiddle his thumbs. Yuh eh missing nutten. It hasn't occurred to him that water will out de blaze.

I am sure Sando Prince never said this but instead he said we have a culture of crime that developed over time. and now we have a society that continue to BREED criminals due to our CULTURE of CRIME. In your mind you have a naive believe that just arresting criminals will solve crime as opposed to having a multi-facet approach to solving which crime which includes confronting the social aspect of rime that is rooted in the home and community.

However we see you have a personal agenda with Sando Prince. At the end of the day all you have is your opinion. You can disagree with Sando Prince opinion but proof is in the pudding as anyone who lives in T&T see what is happening around them.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2016, 08:09:27 AM by Sando prince »

« Reply #542 on: January 28, 2016, 07:53:12 AM »

“Let me remind you that this Government and this Minister intends to deliver every single lease or land that has to be delivered to keep our commitment to you the former workers of Caroni 1975 Limited,” says the Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries the Honourable Clarence Rambharat.

Speaking at an event hosted by the Couva/Point Lisas Chamber of Commerce yesterday, Minister Rambharat says that his Ministry will finish the distribution of agricultural lots this year.

“I have given a commitment that I will distribute no fewer than 350 leases every month for this year, no fewer. For the next distribution carded for Friday, February 26, 2016 we will return home to the Rienzi Complex for that distribution and I will aim to deliver more than 500 on that date.”
The Minister believes that the distribution of lands should return to Caroni 1975 Limited.

“The administration of this whole land distribution, the two acre and the residential lots should return to Caroni 1975 Limited because I think it is best performed there. By the end of February Caroni will have the Unit set up to take charge of all the administrative requirements to expedite this whole process.”

Minister Rambharat also says that the issue of the payment to former cane farmers rests with the Ministry of Planning and Development.

IETV News

Offline congo

« Reply #543 on: January 28, 2016, 07:57:48 AM »
Bro, what you are suggesting is a long term plan for crime. If I am not mistaken what you are talking about is what most governments focused on in the first place. There is a lot of social services etc that is there and is being utilised to decrease crime. For whatever reason it not working..This whole talk about "crime culture" is foolishness. You can't claim to have a "culture of crime" in a country with a deplorable crime detection and conviction rate. Get real

« Reply #544 on: January 28, 2016, 08:01:04 AM »
Bro, what you are suggesting is a long term plan for crime. If I am not mistaken what you are talking about is what most governments focused on in the first place. There is a lot of social services etc that is there and is being utilised to decrease crime. For whatever reason it not working..This whole talk about "crime culture" is foolishness. You can't claim to have a "culture of crime" in a country with a deplorable crime detection and conviction rate. Get real

You keep repeating the same thing over and over and over.. and I will tell you the same thing over and over and of. Police is responsible for arresting criminals and the courts can prosecute criminals but once you have communities where violence and crime is glorified, nurtured and ignored you will CONTINUE to have crime and you will CONTINUE to have problems. The social programs are not widespread across the country and should be enhanced to be effective. Also parents have to take responsibility for their children but for this to happen in great numbers parents themselves must be part of the dialogue. You have to stop crime from the root core. You are the one who earlier made the most ridiculous request suggesting the army should have air raids on communities that will kill many people. lmao.. hoss have a seat.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2016, 08:03:56 AM by Sando prince »

Offline R45

« Reply #545 on: January 28, 2016, 08:16:10 AM »
I don't get why you all are arguing so much. Trying to address social issues / fix the breakdown in society is not mutually exclusive from fixing the protective services - both can be done at the same time.

The only thing I'd say is that at least having a somewhat useful protective services would help to start addressing the social issues in the ghetto areas. At this point, non-profit / non-government organizations cannot even get to these areas because they are so dangerous - even the government can't effectively operate in these areas without Guard and Emergency branch escorts (same for WASA, T&TEC, etc.). Laventille 20 years ago was always dangerous, but now it's a literal war zone. It's near impossible to operate community programs in the current state for the areas that really need it.

« Reply #546 on: January 28, 2016, 08:26:35 AM »

Govt gives $25,000*

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160127/news/govt-gives-25000

THE Office of the Prime Minister has contributed $25,000 towards the medical expenses of 14-year-old former chess champion Della-Marie Walcott.

Walcott, who spent almost a month at St Clair Medical Centre’s Intensive Care Unit (ICU) and underwent two surgeries, has accumulated a medical bill of more than $600,000.

The Office of the Prime Minister is now making an appeal to “other corporate and private citizens” to contribute.
Anyone willing to assist in Walcott’s medical bills can make a deposit to the Republic Bank Ltd account number 180801224831, in the name of Friends of Della-Marie Walcott.

« Reply #547 on: January 28, 2016, 08:56:54 AM »
Seemingly, in Sando prince's view of our "culture of crime", this is the way things have been since Day One. Yet, mysteriously, although there have long been people living in challenging circumstances, none of this used to be an everyday occurrence. And, much of it is unprecedented.

Really? Pregnant women and children? No one in officialdom should sleep until these scoundrels are dragged into daylight.

By the way, Jumbie ... according to Sando prince's view, you doh have standing to participate in the proposed "national dialogue" due to your distant perch. For some reason, that makes excessive sense to him.

While 'Rome' bunning, he could twiddle his thumbs. Yuh eh missing nutten. It hasn't occurred to him that water will out de blaze.

I am sure Sando Prince never said this but instead he said we have a culture of crime that developed over time. and now we have a society that continue to BREED criminals due to our CULTURE of CRIME. In your mind you have a naive believe that just arresting criminals will solve crime as opposed to having a multi-facet approach to solving which crime which includes confronting the social aspect of rime that is rooted in the home and community.

However we see you have a personal agenda with Sando Prince.At the end of the day all you have is your opinion. You can disagree with Sando Prince opinion but proof is in the pudding as anyone who lives in T&T see what is happening around them.

I challenge you to locate quotes that assert these assertions as reflecting my position.

(In the interim, read and re-read and absorb and re-absorb, the second paragraph of R45's contribution).

« Reply #548 on: January 28, 2016, 09:01:57 AM »

However we see you have a personal agenda with Sando Prince.At the end of the day all you have is your opinion. You can disagree with Sando Prince opinion but proof is in the pudding as anyone who lives in T&T see what is happening around them.

I challenge you to locate quotes that assert these assertions as reflecting my position.

(In the interim, read and re-read and absorb and re-absorb, the second paragraph of R45's contribution).

Oh so you accepted the fact that you tried your best but failed when you said "Seemingly, in Sando prince's view of our "culture of crime", this is the way things have been since Day One."

I challenge you to to locate the quotes where i said our current culture of crime started from day one. Bring the respective response before Christmas. It is comical you lie then challenge me to answer you in your response.

Don't worry I am reading every poster response. No need for you to ride another poster back. Now what R45 posted was already responded by me from my earlier responses. What I am seeing clearly, are posters repeating what have been said before and this is expected as some of these posters (including yourself) do not live on the ground in T&T therefore do not have the grasp of the core of the problem.

So I want you to not just absorb this post but memorise it then sleep on it..

« Last Edit: January 28, 2016, 09:08:40 AM by Sando prince »

« Reply #549 on: January 28, 2016, 09:04:42 AM »
Are you having difficulty understanding the word "seemingly"?

« Reply #550 on: January 28, 2016, 09:05:40 AM »

And what led you to have this wild assumption in your fragile imagination?

absord the question, then re-absorb it again

« Reply #551 on: January 28, 2016, 09:12:52 AM »

In other words, you do NOT understand what "seemingly" means. Much of your confusion will be resolved when I get to a laptop.

« Reply #552 on: January 28, 2016, 09:15:21 AM »

In other words, you do NOT understand what "seemingly" means. Much of your confusion will be resolved when I get to a laptop.

:)  No laptop eh? In other words we understand why you cannot simple questions. Maybe not enough time as your public library time is about to end.

« Reply #553 on: January 28, 2016, 09:20:05 AM »
Consider it a headstart. You'll need it.

« Reply #554 on: January 28, 2016, 09:25:08 AM »

“Let me remind you that this Government and this Minister intends to deliver every single lease or land that has to be delivered to keep our commitment to you the former workers of Caroni 1975 Limited,” says the Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries the Honourable Clarence Rambharat.

“I have given a commitment that I will distribute no fewer than 350 leases every month for this year, no fewer. For the next distribution carded for Friday, February 26, 2016 we will return home to the Rienzi Complex for that distribution and I will aim to deliver more than 500 on that date.”
The Minister believes that the distribution of lands should return to Caroni 1975 Limited.

“The administration of this whole land distribution, the two acre and the residential lots should return to Caroni 1975 Limited because I think it is best performed there. By the end of February Caroni will have the Unit set up to take charge of all the administrative requirements to expedite this whole process.”

Minister Rambharat also says that the issue of the payment to former cane farmers rests with the Ministry of Planning and Development.

IETV News

Now keep in mind these people were waiting on this for YEARS eh

Offline congo

« Reply #555 on: January 28, 2016, 10:09:07 AM »
The man wanna attack the root cause of crime but up to now he eh say how he going after the killers of the two youthmen. So sort of plan for apprehending and stopping these murderous individuals. A pregnant woman get gang raped and they rob her of all her money....Hear nah people like you have the country in the state it in. That kind of pacifist, kumbaya outlook alluh wanna have. Is level lead poisoning them boys hadda taste.

« Reply #556 on: January 28, 2016, 10:15:17 AM »
The man wanna attack the root cause of crime but up to now he eh say how he going after the killers of the two youthmen. So sort of plan for apprehending and stopping these murderous individuals. A pregnant woman get gang raped and they rob her of all her money....Hear nah people like you have the country in the state it in. That kind of pacifist, kumbaya outlook alluh wanna have. Is level lead poisoning them boys hadda taste.

after you arrest and prosecute these individuals for their murders you will have other murderers to replace them. There are many homes and communities that glorify, encourage, ignore criminal activity and violence which results in the country having to pay the unfortunate price. Until you address the crime culture in T&T so we can change the culture then crime will not be solved.

So yes we can talk about arresting these individuals (as it is already reported police has arrested suspects for the youth men killing so you are obviously unaware what is happening) and yes they should be taken off the streets but recent history has shown other murderers will evolve from the crime culture we have in T&T. So again we must address the root of the problem and not see the glass half full.

I do not know how else to break it down for you. Anything simpler will be in a,b,c form.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2016, 10:24:19 AM by Sando prince »

« Reply #557 on: January 28, 2016, 10:32:52 AM »

This is why we have another thread dealing with crime but I will post this in here here just for you.. (also see my previous comment above this comment in this thread in regards to crime in T&T)

Just one day after Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley gave instructions for the Defence Force to permanently be stationed in hotspot areas, four men believed to be connected to last Thursday's shooting death of two teenagers have been held in Laventille.

« Reply #558 on: January 28, 2016, 10:35:21 AM »

Now just for you congo since you are unaware of what is happening in T&T. Here is the thread, and you will find out more about any future arrests of murderers

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=63883.90

Offline congo

« Reply #559 on: January 28, 2016, 10:46:08 AM »
You talking as if most of these things lead to successful convictions. What world you living pal...But I guess you really don't live here so is happy pappy. What does posting soldiers up in laventille do? They have been posted before. It's all just window dressings. Failed politicians with failed initiatives. They don't have the testicular fortitude to do what is necessary at this point.

« Reply #560 on: January 28, 2016, 12:24:53 PM »
You talking as if most of these things lead to successful convictions. What world you living pal...But I guess you really don't live here so is happy pappy. What does posting soldiers up in laventille do? They have been posted before. It's all just window dressings. Failed politicians with failed initiatives. They don't have the testicular fortitude to do what is necessary at this point.

Posting soldiers there to assist the police and NGOs deliver their services should be long term and not a 6 week project. It may take 2  to 4 years, maybe more. It has to be 24/7 ..... 365. In addition the govt need to find the cure for this culture of crime. This cannot and should not be a vay-Kee-vay project. This has to be long term. Everything has to work together. Police/soldier, govt/NGOs,lawyers/judges, carrot/bull-pistle.

Offline congo

« Reply #561 on: January 29, 2016, 08:21:08 AM »
Sando, would you say that the UK has a crime culture?

« Reply #562 on: January 29, 2016, 08:25:27 AM »
Sando, would you say that the UK has a crime culture?

Sando riding your mind because you cannot handle the fact that we have failed homes and communities that helps to the social aspect that contribute to the CRIME CULTURE in T&T. Do not blame Sando for what is obvious around the country.

Now share this with the youths in YOUR community

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10205670479861340&set=a.1016948464036.2002450.1234846515&type=3&theater

Offline congo

« Reply #563 on: January 29, 2016, 09:27:54 AM »
Sando, countries like the UK have more incidences of youth delinquency and pregnancy etc. The family structure and community is essentially broken over there. How come they are not riddled with crime like us. How many of our criminals are chronic repeat offenders. How many criminals who are killed had outstanding warrants or matters before the court? Steups

« Reply #564 on: January 29, 2016, 09:41:44 AM »
Sando, countries like the UK have more incidences of youth delinquency and pregnancy etc. The family structure and community is essentially broken over there. How come they are not riddled with crime like us. How many of our criminals are chronic repeat offenders. How many criminals who are killed had outstanding warrants or matters before the court? Steups

Your stats are misguided because you basing on share numbers instead of proportionality. Also this goes beyond delinquency and pregnancy. You are absolutley LOST on the issue and instead of confronting the issue you are ignoring what is around you and running away from the issue..

You remind me of parents who know their youths involve in criminal activity but ignore it, because it is accepted as the norm in many homes and communities..
« Last Edit: January 29, 2016, 09:45:18 AM by Sando prince »

Offline congo

« Reply #565 on: January 29, 2016, 10:07:45 AM »
Yeah but what does the parents knowing that their youth involved with crime has to do with our lack of enforcement for simple criminal offenses. What about the duty of the state to enforce the law. Why are you comfortable with placing all blame on the shoulders of the parents and very little on the state's failure to protect its innocent citizens. I guess the parents of terrorists should be blamed for terrorism according to your logic.

« Reply #566 on: January 29, 2016, 10:26:33 AM »
Yeah but what does the parents knowing that their youth involved with crime has to do with our lack of enforcement for simple criminal offenses. What about the duty of the state to enforce the law. Why are you comfortable with placing all blame on the shoulders of the parents and very little on the state's failure to protect its innocent citizens. I guess the parents of terrorists should be blamed for terrorism according to your logic.

after you arrest and prosecute these individuals for their murders you will have other murderers to replace them. There are many homes and communities that glorify, encourage, ignore criminal activity and violence which results in the country having to pay the unfortunate price. Until you address the crime culture in T&T so we can change the culture then crime will not be solved.

So yes we can talk about arresting these individuals (as it is already reported police has arrested suspects for the youth men killing so you are obviously unaware what is happening) and yes they should be taken off the streets but recent history has shown other murderers will evolve from the crime culture we have in T&T. So again we must address the root of the problem and not see the glass half full.

I do not know how else to break it down for you. Anything simpler will be in a,b,c form.

« Reply #567 on: January 29, 2016, 10:31:37 AM »

BREAKING NEWS: Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh declares national public health emergency due to the Zika virus.
Speaking at today’s Press Conference, Minister Deyalsingh says, “We have sprayed over 51,000 homes for mosquitoes in recent months, and we will amplify our efforts.”

The Minister advises that “pregnant women or women planning to get pregnant, to avoid visiting countries where the Zika Virus present.” He adds, “Caring for a child with microcephaly is a lifelong commitment, and I don't want that burden to befall anyone.”

The PAHO representative present at today’s press conference says, “CARPHA has the ability to test for the Zika virus. The results are available after 3 days. They will cross-test to rule out dengue and Chikungunya.”

« Reply #568 on: January 30, 2016, 12:32:02 PM »

New plan coming to help lawless minors

New legislation is being prepared to assist minors charged with crimes in the country.

Minister in the Ministry of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs Stuart Young said during Wednesday’s public consultations on local government reform at Guaico Government Secondary School, Sangre Grande.

He was responding to a question on the issue of restorative justice within the Ministry of Local Government.

Young said that did not fall within the local government portfolio and the Ministry of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs was working on a suite of legislation to deal with children.

He said: “As part of that process we are going to have something revolutionary called peer testing/assessment.

“With respect to minors they (will) actually have the opportunity, if they have been charged with a crime (offence) and they admit to it, to then present themselves to their peers—a group of trained peers—to discuss what will be meted out to them (sanctions).

“We are hoping that would be the first step towards the type of restorative justice you are talking about.”

Rural Development and Local Government Minister Franklin Khan, who also addressed the consultation, said there may be a reduction of the number of regional corporations. There are currently 14 corporations across Trinidad while the Tobago House of Assembly is in charge of the affairs on that island.

Among those who were present among the hundreds of people from the region were Minister of Planning and Development Camille Robinson-Regis, MPs for Toco/Sangre Grande and Cumuto/Manzanilla Glenda Jennings-Smith and Christine Newallo-Hosein.

Khan said the Ministry of Local Government was being disbanded because it was not about local government. He said under the existing arrangement every act to be taken by the corporations must get the approval of the Minister of Local Government.

He said he was “fed up” with the amount of requests he gets from corporations daily to do simple things.

Khan said he frequently asked the permanent secretary in the ministry if he had to approve those things. He said she told him yes based on the existing law.

However, Khan said he did not want to approve those things anymore. He said those requests for approval should be in the hands of the mayor and chairman of the respective corporations across Trinidad.

He said the new powers would be given to all corporations and not just those controlled by the People’s National Movement.

Khan said the local government corporations will be accountable to the Minister of Finance and the Auditor General under the proposed system.

He said the existing local government administrative structure was sluggish, adding local government was very unproductive under the existing arrangement. He urged the audience to say if the proposal was foolishness if they felt it was. The minister said the new system would give the corporation executive authority. Many of the concerns raised by residents related to existing problems within the local government system.

http://www.trinibuzz.com/new-plan-coming-to-help-lawless-minors-ttnews/

« Reply #569 on: February 01, 2016, 09:10:19 PM »

New sophisticated Coast Guard radar equipment to help in fight against drug trade

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/new-sophisticated-coast-guard-radar-equipment-help-fight-against-drug-trade

Drug-runners will find it even more difficult to elude the Trinidad and Tobago Coast Guard, following the installation of sophisticated radar equipment on some of the vessels.

Kelvin Hughes, a designer and supplier of navigation and security surveillance systems, has announced the installation of its new SharpEye upmast radar system on four new vessels commissioned by the Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force.

It named the four vessels (CNC3 has opted not to name them) outfitted with the equipment, all of which will patrol Trinidad and Tobago's coastal waters and are also capable of operating in its Exclusive Economic Zone.

The company says the SharpEye radar was selected as the surveillance radar due to its superior target detection capability especially in poor weather conditions such as heavy rain and high sea states.

Dedicated primarily to surface search and surveillance to counteract illegal activity, the radar will also be used in support of the vessels’ navigational magnetron radar to provide the safety and situational awareness required in high clutter conditions.

With its longer range target detection capability and low power output - reducing the probability of detection by ESM equipment - the SharpEye radar will enable the craft to remain out of visual sight and out of conventional radar detection range whilst still being able to track and monitor vessels under investigation.