April 25, 2024, 04:46:36 PM

Author Topic: pole vault............good luck  (Read 5184 times)

pole vault............good luck
« on: April 28, 2008, 08:18:06 AM »
This question is a MOFO, so TM you are allowed to participate :)

Which QRC student on Sports day, broke the West Indian SENIOR record for the event and was promptly given a scholarship to the US.

Big hint, he was also a goalkeeper and won three national intercol titles with QRC.

Peace,

Re: pole vault............good luck
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2008, 09:56:18 AM »
Shot in the dark here ... Ken Beache

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2008, 02:07:16 PM »
no.

« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2008, 07:04:08 PM »
Polevault?
really
look ting
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2008, 10:40:48 PM »
My deficiency is ah ketching mih royal trying to recall QRC's intercol victories :devil:

:banginghead: VB yuh exercising meh on dis ...

Hmm ... Did the person win all 3 titles as a player or was there a player/coach mix? Hmm ...

Ayhow ... ah have 3 names in mind ...

LP, WM, MC ... ? any ah dem initials wukkin fuh yuh?

« Last Edit: April 29, 2008, 12:58:15 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2008, 09:23:53 AM »
Wrong, wrong, wrong.

Time for hint.

He won all three titles as a players.

Played ın four national intercol finals, won three and lost one to Saints.

« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2008, 12:43:24 PM »
Dunstan Campbell!

« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2008, 01:14:48 PM »
VB, yuh sure yuh eh combine league titles with Intercol titles?  ??? ... as in referring to them interchangeably ...

Other than that ... whatever FF say. ;D

« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2008, 01:30:28 PM »
Boss, I never ask the man if he win league titles  ;D

And he only mention the Intercol titles. :-)

« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2008, 01:58:20 PM »
so dahis de answer then ...

« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2008, 02:36:44 PM »
I ask the man's name?

Still waiting.

« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2008, 04:24:47 PM »
Mr. Comissiong!!!!

« Reply #12 on: April 30, 2008, 04:09:32 AM »
Hint........he went to QRC inthe 50s. His sons went to QRC in the 80s.

His sons played football for QRC at Jr. Level, could have made the First 11, but chose to study instead.

« Reply #13 on: April 30, 2008, 09:36:33 AM »
tell we nuh ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #14 on: April 30, 2008, 03:50:56 PM »
I did not go QRC is the 50's or 80's. I right between them eras.!!!!!!!!

« Reply #15 on: May 01, 2008, 12:55:23 PM »
FINAL, FINALHINT:

his brother was a teacher at QRC. Doh ask meh what he teach. Dat go make it too easy.

PS, I almost forgot, I saw a team photo in the Guardian, years ago and he was a teammate of Lincoln Phillips. This was strange becz this fella was the GK from Form IV to Form VI.

So LP was either a sub or playing another poistion. Ah swear it was LP ah see in the photo.He would have played his last match for QRC around 1957 or 58.

« Reply #16 on: May 02, 2008, 09:56:40 AM »
Uncle....uncle

« Reply #17 on: May 02, 2008, 01:44:26 PM »
Uncle....uncle

WC yuh ketch meh there for a moment becz I does call the man Uncle :-)

His name is McGregor (Greg) Hinkson. His brother is Jackie Hinkson,the artist who used to the Art teacher at QRC for ages.

Peace,

« Reply #18 on: May 02, 2008, 03:44:08 PM »
I know Hinkson the art teacher. I knew he played for QRC, but I did not know it included pole vault. Congrats. By the way, Hinkson was a real cool teacher.

« Reply #19 on: May 03, 2008, 05:38:58 AM »
Please note Deeks, this athlete is the BROTHER of the ARt teacher.

I don't know what the hell Jackie ever did :-)
But Greg was pretty deadly. His two sons were pretty good, at one point the older one played for ASL U-16s before he went away.

Peace,

« Reply #20 on: May 03, 2008, 01:19:46 PM »
WC how dat go?

« Reply #21 on: May 03, 2008, 02:57:34 PM »
WC how dat go?
is me ya call there?
when we was small we used to say "uncle" when we give up...dais all

« Reply #22 on: May 03, 2008, 03:01:46 PM »
WC how dat go?
is me ya call there?
when we was small we used to say "uncle" when we give up...dais all
W

WC,

I realizde that on second glance. Is just that I does call the man Uncle Greg, so when I see "uncle Uncle,"  you had meh going there for a second.
Peace,

« Reply #23 on: May 03, 2008, 03:32:32 PM »
Either way ... I had not a chance in hell of gehhin dis ... truth is I've never see anyone in Trini compete in de polevault (ah have seen some BS imitations though ;D) ... ah call some names by extrapolation and yet ah knew it couldn't be LP because it din match de facts ... same wid Beache. For a minute ah thought VB was referring to de 60s buh that din match de intercol success ... ah was waiting to impeach him ;)  buh he come good.

So we have a man from Fatima posing questions about QRC and not a QRC soundboy say a word ... aight duly noted ... even de Saintsman say uncle, uncle ...  :)

« Reply #24 on: May 03, 2008, 10:27:35 PM »
Either way ... I had not a chance in hell of gehhin dis ... truth is I've never see anyone in Trini compete in de polevault (ah have seen some BS imitations though ;D) ... ah call some names by extrapolation and yet ah knew it couldn't be LP because it din match de facts ... same wid Beache. For a minute ah thought VB was referring to de 60s buh that din match de intercol success ... ah was waiting to impeach him ;)  buh he come good.

So we have a man from Fatima posing questions about QRC and not a QRC soundboy say a word ... aight duly noted ... even de Saintsman say uncle, uncle ...  :)
doh forget fatima is we smaller brudda eh ;D ;D

VB an de ress ah dem fatima fellas go buss meh wid ah cyber calpet