March 29, 2024, 05:08:17 AM

Author Topic: Jason Scotland to Derby?  (Read 4423 times)

Jason Scotland to Derby?
« on: April 30, 2008, 03:16:50 AM »
Daily Star:
Derby boss Paul Jewell is ready to swoop for Swansea's Jason Scotland.

The Sun:
Derby boss Paul Jewell is ready to make a £2million raid for Swansea's Jason Scotland.

Derby boss Jewell has seen Scotland net 29 goals to fire the Swans to the Championship.

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
Re: Jason Scotland to Derby?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2008, 03:23:56 AM »
Oh good Lord I hope not.  ::)

Rather see him go to QPR or Crystal Palace or Charlton or Watford.
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2008, 03:34:30 AM »
trini girl I notice all those are london or near london clubs !

« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2008, 06:49:43 AM »
I would welcome this move, Paul Jewel is an excellent manager and he might be able to get Scotland to lift other aspects of his game.  Derby going straight back up to the premiership!!  ;D

2 Million pounds, however, makes it seem a bit unbelievable. 

« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2008, 06:55:21 AM »
I would welcome this move, Paul Jewel is an excellent manager and he might be able to get Scotland to lift other aspects of his game.  Derby going straight back up to the premiership!!  ;D

I too believe Derby are going straight back up with the American owners that are going to inject cash investment, however £2million makes this seem very unlikely.

« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2008, 06:58:56 AM »
Derby does play shitty football. Even by Championship standards.

« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2008, 08:08:23 AM »
Come on EPL, take notice ah we boi, step up and make a bid, while de price is right. A dream move to me, is for one of the newly promoted teams tuh de EPL, or one of dem dat is already there, tuh make ah decent offer for him. I'm by no means expecting him to get offers from de big guns and dem, but he cud at least start or may be come off de bench for a few EPL teams.

Dat will be some nice and proper experience for him and especially to bring back, to help our national team wid de WCQ. However, as mey Grannie always said, "half ah bread, is better dan none.'' So wid dat said, best of luck Jason and take it as dey come my brother. HIGHLY BLESSED.

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2008, 08:43:09 AM »
trini girl I notice all those are london or near london clubs !

Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2008, 08:48:19 AM »
This would be a great deal for Scotland but Derby is by no means favourite to go up next year.

« Reply #9 on: April 30, 2008, 08:50:48 AM »
This would be a great deal for Scotland but Derby is by no means favourite to go up next year.

What makes you say that Juma?

American money, relegation parachute money and a good manager............sounds like favorites to me.

« Reply #10 on: April 30, 2008, 09:49:30 AM »
Money won't help.  There's a lot of adjustment that has to be made and historically teams relegated from the Premiership have struggled in the Championship.

« Reply #11 on: April 30, 2008, 09:52:22 AM »
Derby's a bit club with good training facilities, I like this move for Scotland

« Reply #12 on: April 30, 2008, 11:07:25 AM »
Nah dont like that move..I know he will gain a salary raise if he makes this move but dont see this as an upward move in his career...Derby plays shit by championship standard also

« Reply #13 on: April 30, 2008, 11:17:27 AM »
Intresting let see how it plays out

« Reply #14 on: April 30, 2008, 04:52:22 PM »

Martinez in talks with Scotland
icwales.icnetwork.co.uk

Apr 30 2008

ROBERTO Martinez has opened talks with Jason Scotland over a new deal – in a bid to keep big-spending rivals at bay.

Scotland yesterday became the first of Swansea’s promotion-winning team to be linked with a Liberty Stadium exit after the star striker was named as a £2m target for Derby County.

And, having grabbed attention of numerous managers with his 29-goal exploits this season, fans are fearful there will be more clubs waiting in the wings to try and lure the Trinidad international away from South Wales.

But it is understood Scotland, who has been named the club’s player of the year, wants to commit his future to the club and has already started discussions with Martinez about extending his Swansea stay. His contract is due to run out at the end of next season.

But, after an impressive impact in his debut Football League season, Swansea will be bracing themselves for a summer of speculation involving Scotland and their other key men.

After helping Swansea to top spot, Ferrie Bodde and Angel Rangel were linked with moves away from the Liberty earlier in the campaign. Andy Robinson has long been admired by rival bosses, all of whom will be keeping tabs on the midfielder’s contract situation.

Under no pressure to sell any of his stars, Martinez has always maintained he enjoys hearing of interest in his players, seeing it as complimentary to Swansea’s success.

Martinez has been quick to praise all of his players’ efforts this season and admitted he was pleased not to have to decide on the player of the year award.

And, although Scotland may have walked home with the prize last night, Swans legend Alan Curtis believes he fought off stiff competition to do so.

Curtis, who made a name for himself during three different spells at the club during the 1970s and ’80s, is now part of Martinez’s backroom staff as a coach and scout and has had a first-hand view of the team’s success this year.

But, with so many players consistently performing well this season, he admitted it was very hard to single out just one individual. That, in his eyes, is just further proof of how successful the Swans campaign has been.

“This has to be the fiercest competition we have had for the player of the year in ages,” he claimed. “That just shows how well we have done this season.

“It’s been such a good season that everyone was a contender for that award. A lot of players made huge contributions.

“When you look through the side everyone played vital roles in winning promotion. So whoever was going to win that award, they certainly deserved it.”

With his goal-scoring exploits hard to ignore, Curtis admitted Scotland was always going to be a front-runner for the award. The Trinidad and Tobago international’s prolific form has certainly been a crucial factor in the Swans success.

But Curtis feels club captain Garry Monk, for his efforts at the other end of the pitch, must have been a close second. The Swans skipper was a rock in defence.

With his impressive individual displays being matched by equally strong leadership skills, Curtis believes Monk couldn’t have been far behind Scotland in the votes.

“Garry had to be up there,” he said. “He put in some great performances and was a brilliant leader, on and off the pitch.

“Had it just been a case of who the most influential player was, he would have won.

“Sometimes defenders don’t get the credit they deserve. And, with Garry in particular, it’s only when he is not in the team that you realise exactly how good he is.”

He continued: “Jason was the top contender, though. To have 29 goals so far is a fantastic achievement. Anyone who scores that many goals has got to be up there with the best. Jason is no exception.

“And it’s not just that he scored a lot of goals, he scored them at crucial times. When Swansea needed him, he delivered.”

As for the other contenders, Curtis added: “Dorus de Vries also looked excellent throughout the season and Angel Rangel was a revelation after coming into British football as relative unknown.

“Ferrie Bodde has also been excellent this season. He is such a brilliant footballer to watch.

“If you talk about players that can go to a higher level, Ferrie has got Premiership class written all over him.

“Then if you are talking about consistent performers, Leon Britton is one of the best. He has been magnificent since the day he walked into this club and this season is no different.

“On top of that there are several other players, the likes of Darren Pratley, Andy Robinson, Tom Butler and Paul Anderson, that deserve a mention. There are just too many to chose from.”

« Reply #15 on: April 30, 2008, 04:55:22 PM »
Sounds like a good move to me, but what do I know?

« Reply #16 on: April 30, 2008, 05:18:33 PM »
I think he should stay and prove himself in the championship first and see where his team is...then maybe in Jan he can look to switch to ah one of the top 6 in the championship or maybe ah mid table team in the BPL. AH never like the idea of a man moving on from a team he help get promoted to a so called "bigger" team....sometimes it can come back to haunt you.

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #17 on: April 30, 2008, 05:29:31 PM »
I say he better of where he is because he would be able to prove himself in the championship division and he is almost certain to get regular playing time there and if he light up the league then move in jan.

« Reply #18 on: May 01, 2008, 10:04:43 AM »
In terms of money he would definitely earn more at Derby than he would at Swansea.

Since he want's to commit himself to Swansea though it's clear that he's comfortable there and doesn't want to move again.

« Reply #19 on: May 01, 2008, 11:09:35 AM »
How old is scotland?

« Reply #20 on: May 01, 2008, 11:16:05 AM »
The traditional date for the esablishment of Scotland is 843 AD so it would be about 1165 years old.

Why do you ask?

« Reply #21 on: May 01, 2008, 11:30:45 AM »
scotty boy stay wit swansea derby is level faecal matter plus ud get mor notice burstin d net wit swansea

« Reply #22 on: May 01, 2008, 12:00:25 PM »
lazy $2,000,000 pound bitch

« Reply #23 on: May 01, 2008, 03:21:00 PM »
The traditional date for the esablishment of Scotland is 843 AD so it would be about 1165 years old.

Why do you ask?

Thanks for the info,would'nt have known that if it was'nt for you,ah keep telling people they don't know what they missing out on this site,a wealth of information fostered by a generation of intellectuals,thanks keep up the good work..............

« Reply #24 on: May 01, 2008, 03:29:52 PM »

You are so far ahead of the game I expect that you would be posting less as time goes on. But then again you may have the patience of Job. Btw 2 mill for 29 goals is quite believable. How much did the white guy who he replaced sell for?

« Reply #25 on: May 01, 2008, 03:34:45 PM »
scottie stern and jones will all  be named player of their clubs thats a truly big feat congrats fellas

« Reply #26 on: May 01, 2008, 10:39:30 PM »

Why do you ask?

Thanks for the info,would'nt have known that if it was'nt for you,ah keep telling people they don't know what they missing out on this site,a wealth of information fostered by a generation of intellectuals,thanks keep up the good work..............

Saga Pinto, you are the man!  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #27 on: May 02, 2008, 04:58:00 AM »
How old is scotland?

Why do you ask?

Oh lord....ah love it!!  (copyright Andre Samuel)....we inadvertently get ah history lesson....ah love dis forum!!

« Reply #28 on: May 02, 2008, 05:05:05 AM »
ah could be wrong eh brwon sugar but by putting oh lord in front of ah love it ah think u may jus get away from andre copyrite

« Reply #29 on: May 02, 2008, 09:24:16 AM »
ah could be wrong eh brwon sugar but by putting oh lord in front of ah love it ah think u may jus get away from andre copyrite

Allyuh fellas ent easy............lol.

ah love dat!!