April 26, 2024, 09:20:11 AM

Author Topic: U-17 women’s fixtures announced, U-20s draw tough group.  (Read 6738 times)

Offline Soccer 19

Host T&T open vs El Salvador.[/size]

Following the draw today at the CONCACAF Offices in New York City, the complete fixtures have been announced for the 2008 CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship that will take place in Trinidad & Tobago from 17-26 July at Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet and Macoya’s Marvin Lee Stadium. The inaugural eight-team tournament will have two groups of four during the first round from 17-21 July. The semifinals and finals will take place at the Marvin Lee Stadium on 24 and 26 July, respectively.

The hosts, Trinidad & Tobago have been drawn into Group A, to be played at Marvin Lee Stadium, along with Costa Rica, El Salvador and USA, while Canada, Jamaica, Mexico and Puerto Rico are in Group B at Dwight Yorke Stadium. The CONCACAF Tournament will qualify three teams to the inaugural FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup New Zealand 2008.

2008 CONCACAF WOMEN’S UNDER-17 CHAMPIONSHIP
TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Group A – Macoya; Marvin Lee Stadium[/b]

17.07: COSTA RICA – USA (17:00)
TRINIDAD & TOBAGO – EL SALVADOR (19:00)

19.07: USA – EL SALVADOR (16:00)
TRINIDAD & TOBAGO – COSTA RICA (18:00)

21.07: EL SALVADOR – COSTA RICA (17:00)
TRINIDAD & TOBAGO – USA (19:00)

Group B – Bacolet; Dwight Yorke Stadium

17.07: PUERTO RICO – CANADA (17:00)
MEXICO – JAMAICA (19:00)

19.07: MEXICO – PUERTO RICO (16:00)
CANADA – JAMAICA (18:00)

21.07: JAMAICA – PUERTO RICO (17:00)
CANADA – MEXICO (19:00)

Semifinals* – Marvin Lee Stadium

24.07: B1 – A2 (17:00)
A1 – B2 (19:00)

*Order of matches subject to change

Finals – Marvin Lee Stadium

26.07: THIRD PLACE (16:00)
CHAMPIONSHIP (18:00)
T&T gets tough group.[/size]

The groups for the 2008 CONCACAF Women’s Under-20 Championship were unveiled today following the draw held at the Offices of the General Secretariat in New York City. The eight teams were drawn into two groups for the CONCACAF Women’s U-20 Championship that will take place at the Estadio Cuauhtémoc in Puebla, Mexico from 17-28 June. The hosts, Mexico have been drawn into Group A along with Cuba, Trinidad & Tobago and the defending champion, USA, while Canada, Costa Rica, Jamaica and Nicaragua are in Group B.

The complete schedule of matches for the 2008 CONCACAF Women’s U-20 Championship will be announced in due course. The CONCACAF Tournament will progress three teams to the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Chile 2008. This is the second time that CONCACAF is staging Women’s U-20 Championship with the other one also taking place in Mexico in 2006. CONCACAF has previously hosted two Women’s Under-19 Tournaments Trinidad & Tobago and Canada in 2002 and 2004, respectively.

2008 CONCACAF WOMEN’S UNDER-20 CHAMPIONSHIP
17-28.06: Puebla, MEXICO; Estadio Cuauhtémoc

Group A:[/b] - Mexico, Cuba, Trinidad & Tobago, USA

Group B: - Canada, Costa Rica, Jamaica, Nicaragua

Source
CONCACAF.COM
« Last Edit: May 07, 2008, 06:03:10 AM by Flex »

Re: U 17 Womens CONCACAF Draw
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2008, 02:16:06 PM »
Damn what a group. >:(

« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2008, 02:36:48 PM »
Thais ah best draw... me eh know bout allyuh...

We get El Salvador fus... easily one of the weaker teams.

Then we get Costa Rica.. who we know we could fight up with... dem go be coming off ah dose from the US... and we go be hopefully confident after beating ES..

by the time we line up for we licks from USA.. we should be square..

Then is only to pull off ah upset against one of Canada or Mexico... easier said than done... (unless Ja or PR pull some upsets) and we in the World Cup...

We business fix  ;D

« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2008, 02:38:12 PM »
FF this is the U-17s we talking about yuh know.

Re: U-17 women’s fixtures announced, U-20s draw tough group.
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2008, 06:56:19 AM »
Them ediot Jamaicans get a soft group.....

Offline trinipepper

• addin fire to the flame ...izatrini
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2008, 12:33:50 PM »
dem gals have some competition to battle.. the groups are tough say what we will know where we at and what changes are to be made... Good luck gyals.. make us proud and doh sing de same song over and over..  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: jw

« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2008, 07:02:00 AM »
U.S. U-17 Girls Roster

GOALKEEPERS:[/b]
Alexa Gaul (Eclipse Select, Ill.), Taylor Vancil (Eclipse Select, Ill.), Kelsey Wys (Parkland Predators, Fla.)

DEFENDERS:
Morgan Brian (Ponte Vedra Storm, Ga.), Zakiya Bywaters (Neusport SC, Nev.), Crystal Dunn (Albertson Fury, N.Y.), Meagan Morris (Aristocats, N.J.), Megan Oyster (Windy City Pride, Ill.), Julia Roberts (McLean Freedom, Va.), Anne Steinlage (Chicago Fire Juniors-West Michigan, Mich.)

MIDFIELDERS:
Kathryn Bennett (Crossfire, Wash.), Amber Brooks (Arsenal World Class, N.J.), Kaitlyn Fitzpatrick (San Ramon SC, Calif.), Olivia Klei (Pleasanton Rage, Calif.), Samantha Mewis (Scorpion SC, Mass.), Sydney Payne (RSL-Tampa Knights, Fla.), Erika Tymrak (IMG Soccer Academy, Fla.)

FORWARDS:
Kim Castleberry (Dallas Texans, Texas), Tani Costa (Honolulu Bulls, Haw.), Victoria DiMartino (Albertson Fury, N.Y.), Alexi Harris (Dallas Texans, Texas), Samantha Johnson (Real So Cal, Calif.), Rachel Nuzzolese (Rockville Centre Tornadoes, N.Y.), Courtney Verloo (South Side Strikers, Ore.)

COACH:
Kazbek Tambi

« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2008, 07:15:21 AM »
U.S. U-17 Girls Roster

Alexa Gaul (Eclipse Select, Ill.), Taylor Vancil (Eclipse Select, Ill.), Kelsey Wys (Parkland Predators, Fla.)

DEFENDERS:
Morgan Brian (Ponte Vedra Storm, Ga.), Zakiya Bywaters (Neusport SC, Nev.), Crystal Dunn (Albertson Fury, N.Y.), Meagan Morris (Aristocats, N.J.), Megan Oyster (Windy City Pride, Ill.), Julia Roberts (McLean Freedom, Va.), Anne Steinlage (Chicago Fire Juniors-West Michigan, Mich.)

MIDFIELDERS:
Kathryn Bennett (Crossfire, Wash.), Amber Brooks (Arsenal World Class, N.J.), Kaitlyn Fitzpatrick (San Ramon SC, Calif.), Olivia Klei (Pleasanton Rage, Calif.), Samantha Mewis (Scorpion SC, Mass.), Sydney Payne (RSL-Tampa Knights, Fla.), Erika Tymrak (IMG Soccer Academy, Fla.)

FORWARDS:
Kim Castleberry (Dallas Texans, Texas), Tani Costa (Honolulu Bulls, Haw.), Victoria DiMartino (Albertson Fury, N.Y.), Alexi Harris (Dallas Texans, Texas), Samantha Johnson (Real So Cal, Calif.), Rachel Nuzzolese (Rockville Centre Tornadoes, N.Y.), Courtney Verloo (South Side Strikers, Ore.)

COACH:
Kazbek Tambi
Not many girls who play locally

« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2008, 07:37:22 AM »
U.S. U-17 Girls Roster

DEFENDERS:

MIDFIELDERS:

FORWARDS:

COACH:
Kazbek Tambi

ah dunno boy... dis looking slight like a davyjenny candidate  ;)
« Last Edit: May 08, 2008, 07:39:11 AM by FF »

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2008, 07:54:18 AM »
I would like to drop some names that Trini will get very familiar with by the time this event is over in July
Rachel Nuzzolese probably the best player I ever had in my U-13 ODP program to date. This kid is the real deal. At thirteen she had the body of an 18 year old and the game of a 20 year old.
Victoria DiMartino  Big time baller( we almost missed her a few years ago. I identified her in Rhode Island)
Amber Brooks Plays like a man ( Claudio Gentile of youth women’s football) I am sure I butchered the brother's name. We all know him for the job he did with Argentina
Samantha Mewis Baller
Crystal Dunn striker converted to defender who  likes to attack out of the back with pace
Julia Roberts baller movie star name and movie star game
We coach(Tambi) a lil suspect but the team is so good that they might just pull it off. Canada will be a handful though.

We have been tweaking this US team now for over two years. We feel like we finally have all the pieces to do well in July.

On the trini side of things I  see the suggestion I made with a fellow trini brother who coaches out year in the US to include overseas player is now a part of the movement to go forward. I wish we had this in place over a year ago though.

There are some things happening right now with this movement that I will address at a later date when someone else on the forum brings it up. As I have said from day one. I will only drop knowledge/facts and stay away from criticizing men
I LOVE THIS GAME BETTER THAN I LOVE THIS GAME

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2008, 07:55:17 AM »
fellas sorry for the double post having a lil issue with my computer

« Reply #11 on: May 08, 2008, 09:38:56 AM »
U.S. U-17 Girls Roster

DEFENDERS:

MIDFIELDERS:

FORWARDS:

COACH:
Kazbek Tambi

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #12 on: May 08, 2008, 04:52:34 PM »
I would like to drop some names that Trini will get very familiar with by the time this event is over in July
Rachel Nuzzolese probably the best player I ever had in my U-13 ODP program to date. This kid is the real deal. At thirteen she had the body of an 18 year old and the game of a 20 year old.
Victoria DiMartino  Big time baller( we almost missed her a few years ago. I identified her in Rhode Island)
Amber Brooks Plays like a man ( Claudio Gentile of youth women’s football) I am sure I butchered the brother's name. We all know him for the job he did with Argentina
Samantha Mewis Baller
Crystal Dunn striker converted to defender who  likes to attack out of the back with pace
Julia Roberts baller movie star name and movie star game
We coach(Tambi) a lil suspect but the team is so good that they might just pull it off. Canada will be a handful though.

We have been tweaking this US team now for over two years. We feel like we finally have all the pieces to do well in July.

On the trini side of things I  see the suggestion I made with a fellow trini brother who coaches out year in the US to include overseas player is now a part of the movement to go forward. I wish we had this in place over a year ago though.

There are some things happening right now with this movement that I will address at a later date when someone else on the forum brings it up. As I have said from day one. I will only drop knowledge/facts and stay away from criticizing men

Add Eryka Timrak (IMG Academy)to your list. Worked with her last summer...midfielder with crazy skills!!!!
Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #13 on: May 08, 2008, 05:16:42 PM »
Oh God  E-man thanks for the lil advice. We learn something new every day even though it might seem simple.

« Reply #14 on: May 08, 2008, 05:47:44 PM »
U.S. U-17 Girls Roster

DEFENDERS:

MIDFIELDERS:

FORWARDS:

COACH:
Kazbek Tambi

somebody give dis man a laugh nah

« Reply #15 on: May 16, 2008, 11:28:57 AM »

U.S. Under-20 Women's Soccer National Team to Train at Clemson
The national team will hold a two-week training camp in Clemson from May 12-27.

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #16 on: May 18, 2008, 11:22:14 AM »
I just got back from Trinidad had a chance to see the 17's in action also had a chance to talk to the present foreign coaches working with the team. The field in UWI is very tough for these girls to be playing on the foreign team they played against lost one of their players who stepped into a hole. The field was very bouncy and it made it tough for both teams to play on.

It’s a pity with all the stadiums we have home that they can't afford to use any of them. From my conversations with the staff I know they are depending on two foreign trini coaches to assist them with finding all the possible quality trini Americans Canadians for the team. I have been an advocate for this for almost two years now. So I am convinced that we are almost three years too late.

So I know the team will change by the time we get to the tournament. Would it be enough I don't know. I guess we will all see

« Reply #17 on: May 18, 2008, 03:34:45 PM »
I just got back from Trinidad had a chance to see the 17's in action also had a chance to talk to the present foreign coaches working with the team. The field in UWI is very tough for these girls to be playing on the foreign team they played against lost one of their players who stepped into a hole. The field was very bouncy and it made it tough for both teams to play on.

It’s a pity with all the stadiums we have home that they can't afford to use any of them. From my conversations with the staff I know they are depending on two foreign trini coaches to assist them with finding all the possible quality trini Americans Canadians for the team. I have been an advocate for this for almost two years now. So I am convinced that we are almost three years too late.

So I know the team will change by the time we get to the tournament. Would it be enough I don't know. I guess we will all see

From your conversation with the foreign Coaches what did you gather,did you get any insights into what is their present plans besides trying to get the foreign Trini's,how many players they looking for?are they going to have a Camp?how soon are they looking to assemble those players etc etc the foreign players are not guaranteed did you have any advice for them,since they are three years late what should they do?
        You seem to be very knowledgeable of US Soccer,is there any way what's going on out there could be applied at home?it's common knowledge that the US developmental programs are quite good but implementing those programs at home is the question,Lincoln knows because he played a major role in their system for a number of years,he would be the first to want to give it a try if he could,we have to take our Football for what it is an just do the best we can because what ever we say is easier said than done.

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #18 on: May 18, 2008, 08:21:17 PM »
The general feeling is that the present group of players are not very good. So they are trying to allocate as many overseas players as they can. Their main focus is on the overseas players they have extracted to date as well as the ones they plan to extract in the future. In the mean time they will work with the present players as much as they can with weekend camps being a major focus.

Since school is still in session in the US they will have to wait till June to have their residency camp in the US. As far as the foreign players are concerned over a dozen of them have already been contacted and are in the process of getting their Trindadian passports. I know there are two established Trinidadian coaches who are assisting them on this venture.

To be honest they are swimming up a creek right now. We are in May and this tournament is in July. I don't think a 10 day camp will be enough to establish a U17 team. As I have shared with you all before. The US 17 team began with a pool of over 6000 players and they have been tweaking the final pool of 47 players for the past two years. They are now down to their final roster.

It would have been better if we had the final Trinidadian pool in place right now and they were working with these players from now till the tournament. However, if they are not too interested in the present players and they are depending on these foreign players then they are really focusing on that camp with whatever games they will play in between.

The built in excuse for failure is already apparent.

Having been inolved with the US system for the past 9 years I do believe tha there are some things we can steal and implement back home. I will put forth a concept that you or anyone elase can look at tweak, add take away and add etc. I don't have all the answers but together we can come up with some solutions.

I will call it Project 2012

Here in the US we  divide the country into four regions. I say we divide ours into six: North, South, East, West Central and Tobago. We draw players from the ages of 6 through 17( 6-10 technical development, small sided games 8v8; 11-13 increased technical development introduction of principles of attack and defense 11 v11 games; 14-17 tactical focus with a continuation on what we are doing with the age groups below. Each year we will continue to add and subract players from these pools

Maybe we can attract a pool of 100 players per region( could be wishful thinking).  Coops since you have abetter pulse of the environment at home you can share with me what the real numbers could be and it will also impact the number of coaches. The goal will then to be to attract five to six quality coaches per region. These coaches should be equipped to work with these age goups. All 30-36 coaches should all be on the same page based on the curriculum they are to follow. Each time we do any courses in Trinidad, they should always be involved. They would need to meet on a monthly basis to discuss each region in details(+ve/ -ve and improvements etc). We can host an international tournament at least 3 times a year or do two and have the  U14 teams and the U17 teams travel abroad to play. We can aslo have inter-regional tournaments. Aall these events will serve to evaluate our players. We will be able to put together the best age groups by combining the regions. From time to time they can player younger boys teams. I know we are talking about investment of funds for a program like this. However, when we are investing over 50 thousand USfor three months in a foreign coaching staff for a qucik fix. We can spend that kind of money in a long term program.

I want to be clear by saying I was very impressed with the girls that I saw in Trinidad last week. I would agree that the U-17 team is lacking an abundance of quality players. However, the players I saw from Jabloteh and the U-20's were quite good. They lack the speed of play we play at here and their fitness level was a concern. However, I felt that pound for pound their skill set was very good. The international coaches here try to add that to the American players. The trini girls already have that. I didn't see many of the quality players struggle with their first touch or receiving balls out of the air, or on the ground under pressure. I wish I was able to work with some of these girls like I do here with the ODP and youth national team

« Reply #19 on: May 19, 2008, 10:51:08 AM »
Okay.....saw the Mexico U-17 Girls this weekend, and I was very suprised. I was in the same hotels with the team and had the opportunity of speaking with some of the coaches and players they were really nice and open. 

The players were big, fit and strong. They had a few girls who would probably play on their U-15 team in terms of age. Technically they were really good and speed of play was really high. Finishing was impressive, they picked their spot and put the ball where ever they wanted. The #10, #9, the right back and center back were really strong? Class finishing.
Style of play was really nice too. Combinations play in from the goal was great and had lots of ideas. They pulled a 4 man defense apart really easily and made great plays to get in behind. They mainly played a 3-5-2 and showed a very good understanding of how to play within that system.   

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #20 on: May 19, 2008, 05:06:18 PM »
looking forward to seeing them against the US 17's

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #21 on: June 02, 2008, 01:22:53 PM »
http://www.fifa.com/u17womenworldcup/news/newsid=783737.html#nz+2008+hopefuls+learn+their+fate

see enclosed NewZealand U 17 draw. Concacaf Group B is the group of death IMHO.
Although group D are no slouches either.... ;D

Go Soca Princesses Go !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cheers    19
« Last Edit: June 02, 2008, 01:24:28 PM by Soccer 19 »