April 29, 2024, 03:19:38 AM

Author Topic: Kenwyne Jones is Sunderland's player of the season.  (Read 6365 times)

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
Kenwyne Jones is Sunderland's player of the season.
« on: May 08, 2008, 09:15:58 AM »
Kenwyne Jones is Sunderland's player of the season.
By: Nick Alexander (Sunderland AFC).

Kenwyne Jones is Sunderland's 2007-08 Player of the Season. The 23-year-old striker has won the award in his first season at the Stadium of Light after an outstanding campaign. Jones has scored seven goals this term - and provided 10 assists.

"I feel very happy, it's a great moment, it's an honour," said Jones. "I feel good but it is not just my award, my team-mates have helped a lot this season.

"When you work all season to play well, to do something good for the team, and then at the end the supporters give you this award, it is a great motivation to carry on, to work more and to get better."

Jonny Evans, the centre-back on-loan from Manchester United, picked up the Young Player of the Year award for a second season running. He said: "I'm very honoured, the fans have taken to me and it's great."

Jones beat off competition from Danny Collins, named 2007-08 player of the season by the Supporters' Association, and Nyron Nosworthy to become Player of the Season.

Jones and Evans will receive their awards from Carl Blenkinsop and Kirsty Coates - two Sunderland supporters - before Sunday's game against Arsenal. Carl and Kirsty were picked at random from everyone who voted in the Player of the Season poll on safc.com. There were nearly 10,000 voters.

The results are as follows:

Player of the Year[/b]
1) Kenwyne Jones 96,810 (points)
2) Danny Collins 69,690
3) Nyron Nosworthy 22,160
4) Craig Gordon 13,060
5) Andy Reid 11,030

Young Player of the Year
1) Jonny Evans 129,180
2) Grant Leadbitter 16,920

The points were allocated as follows:
First choice Player of the Season - 20 points; second choice - 10 points.
First choice Young Player of the Season - 10 points.
Jones is players' choice.
By: Nick Alexander (Sunderland AFC).

Kenwyne Jones has completed a double by being named the Sunderland players' player of the season. The Trinidad and Tobago striker, who won the official player of the year award this season after topping a poll on safc.com, has also been endorsed by his team-mates. Jones led the poll as voted for by his colleagues ahead of two other leading candidates - Danny Collins and Nyron Nosworthy.

Defender Collins was named this season's player of the season by the SAFC Supporters' Association. The majority of Sunderland's first-team squad were asked to pick out their player of the season in a ballot at the training ground.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2008, 09:19:27 AM by Flex »

Re: Jones Player of the Season
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2008, 09:21:48 AM »
congrats KJ...keep going..
now come and get TnT to 2010

Re: Kenwyne Jones is Sunderland's player of the season.
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2008, 09:42:41 AM »
big up to KJ,my vote was not in vain. ;D

« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2008, 10:27:26 AM »
Nice, very nice

Onwards to 2010 KJ
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2008, 10:40:11 AM »
Congrats, Kenwyne, nice job. More to come next season.  :thumbsup:

Offline Padams

• Great are the Warriors///We shall Prevail!!!!
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2008, 11:00:45 AM »
Well done meh Lion......  :beermug: :beermug: here's to bussin rel  net for T&T in d qualifiers and in d p/ship next season
« Last Edit: May 08, 2008, 12:17:25 PM by Padams »
Iz not Pre-Marital Sex, if yuh have no intention 2 geh Married..........

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2008, 11:08:57 AM »
congrats killa  :beermug: now make sure yuh do even better in de tnt strip
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2008, 11:23:18 AM »
:applause: Now lets shoot for 12 goals next season and at least one goal in all the games you play the REAL Red, Black and White strip  ;D

« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2008, 01:34:20 PM »
Bless up Bred’s! Just get ah lil more killer instinct as a striker with ah lil more selfishness and yuh good to go! ;) 

« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2008, 01:59:01 PM »
as i said b4 jones, john and scottie player of the year for their respective clubs. big round of applause to u all

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2008, 03:12:52 PM »
 :applause: :applause:
All American

« Reply #11 on: May 08, 2008, 03:15:24 PM »
Congrats KJ.  Now go light up CONCACAF and especially the Mexicans and the Americans.

« Reply #12 on: May 08, 2008, 03:20:00 PM »
As an aerial threat he will be priceless against Mexico.

« Reply #13 on: May 08, 2008, 03:57:33 PM »
That is only half de equation. We need people tuh cross de ball too.

« Reply #14 on: May 08, 2008, 04:23:20 PM »
Congrats KJ!!!! Take a well deserve rest and re-energize for WC and next season. God Bless to your family!!!!

« Reply #15 on: May 08, 2008, 04:55:50 PM »
That is only half de equation. We need people tuh cross de ball too.

fuh real .... That Connell fella look real good on the left against Grenada. Would have liked to see a lil more of him

Offline JW

• Mackem Abroad
  • Eat My Goal
    • Black Cats of North America
« Reply #16 on: May 08, 2008, 06:36:03 PM »

My 11 yr old would be an aerial threat against the Mexicans....  :rotfl:
Hey, careful, man, there's a beverage here!

« Reply #17 on: May 08, 2008, 07:07:52 PM »
Congrats

« Reply #18 on: May 08, 2008, 07:24:49 PM »
not bad for a sometimes pub player.

Offline kev

« Reply #19 on: May 09, 2008, 12:10:44 AM »

You should really change your user name to Marvin

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #20 on: May 09, 2008, 03:58:34 AM »
as i said b4 jones, john and scottie player of the year for their respective clubs. big round of applause to u all

Fuh real eh, look at dat. I dunno, but I doh think that ever happen before, eh Tallman......?
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #21 on: May 09, 2008, 05:18:41 AM »

How about you changing your name to Bev?

« Reply #22 on: May 09, 2008, 05:35:55 AM »

Fuh real eh, look at dat. I dunno, but I doh think that ever happen before, eh Tallman......?

For our size, we've done fairly well in multi Player of the Year awards in a given season

1995-96: Dwight Yorke (Aston Villa) and David Nakhid (Al-Ansar)
1996-97: Dwight Yorke (Aston Villa) and Peter Prosper (Al-Ansar)
1998-99: Dwight Yorke (Carling Player of the Year), Russell Latapy (Hibernian), and Shaka Hislop (West Ham)
1999-00: Russell Latapy (Hibernian), and Marvin Andrews (Raith Rovers)
2002-03: Carlos Edwards (Wrexham Supporters Player of the Year), Marvin Andrews (Livingston), Clayton Ince (Crewe Alexandra), Collin Samuel (Falkirk Young Player of the Year, Overseas Player of the Year), Tony Warner (Millwall Supporters Player of the Year)
2003-04: Marvin Andrews (Livingston), Dennis Lawrence (Wrexham), Brent Rahim (Falkirk Young Player of the Year)
2004-05: Marvin Andrews (Rangers Players Player of the Year), Chris Birchall (Port Vale Young Player)

« Reply #23 on: May 09, 2008, 05:45:49 AM »

For our size, we've done fairly well in multi Player of the Year awards in a given season

1998-99: Dwight Yorke (Carling Player of the Year), Russell Latapy (Hibernian), and Shaka Hislop (West Ham)
2002-03: Carlos Edwards (Wrexham Supporters Player of the Year), Marvin Andrews (Livingston), Clayton Ince (Crewe Alexandra), Collin Samuel (Falkirk Young Player of the Year, Overseas Player of the Year), Tony Warner (Millwall Supporters Player of the Year)
2003-04: Marvin Andrews (Livingston), Dennis Lawrence (Wrexham), Brent Rahim (Falkirk Young Player of the Year)
2004-05: Marvin Andrews (Rangers Players Player of the Year), Chris Birchall (Port Vale Young Player)

Tallman ah never said this because it does not happen alot.

But, you impress me every time you pull out stats like that.

Offline kev

« Reply #24 on: May 09, 2008, 06:36:40 AM »

You haven't got a clue what was meant by that have you? Is that really all you could come up with, why Bev?  Just to clarify I haven't called him a pub player thats what he has been called on Sky when he plays badly by 1 or 2 pundits.

So anyway to put you out of your misery, have you ever seen / read Hitch Hikers Guide to the Galaxy if not try looking up Marvin, in fact I will save you a bit of work, he's the depressing and very boring Robot.  Bet your fun at parties!

« Reply #25 on: May 09, 2008, 07:18:28 AM »

You haven't got a clue what was meant by that have you? Is that really all you could come up with, why Bev?  Just to clarify I haven't called him a pub player thats what he has been called on Sky when he plays badly by 1 or 2 pundits.

So anyway to put you out of your misery, have you ever seen / read Hitch Hikers Guide to the Galaxy if not try looking up Marvin, in fact I will save you a bit of work, he's the depressing and very boring Robot.  Bet your fun at parties!

Thanks for educating a simpleton.  My day is now much brighter and from now on it appears that my life has turned a corner.

I am now going to be a success and I owe it all to your pearls of wisdom.
I withdraw my call for your name change and hereby suggest the name guru or sage or spiritual leader.

I am no longer a boring robot......thank yee

as for me being the life of parties, strange thing...I never seem to get invited to any..happen to know why oh great one?

And for the record, if you never said he looked like a pub player. what makes you feel I was addressing you, or made the post to address you?  I was talking to those know it all Sky Sports "pundits."

Why are you so defensive?  STEUPS (look that up)

One last thing...why should I bet my fun at parties?
« Last Edit: May 09, 2008, 07:30:57 AM by truetrini »

« Reply #26 on: May 09, 2008, 10:15:55 AM »

Impressive.But Stern never win any with the Crew? (Too bad he switch clubs his last year with Forest) Also, what happen last year wit Scotty. I woulda swear he 25 goals woulda count for something

« Reply #27 on: May 09, 2008, 12:20:17 PM »

Impressive.But Stern never win any with the Crew? (Too bad he switch clubs his last year with Forest) Also, what happen last year wit Scotty. I woulda swear he 25 goals woulda count for something

Scotty and Stern was top scorers, but no Player of the Year award for dem.