April 18, 2024, 07:31:45 AM

Author Topic: Jones ruled out of England clash.  (Read 9294 times)

Jones ruled out of England clash.
« on: May 12, 2008, 06:09:02 AM »
Jones ruled out of England clash.
By: Sunderland Echo

Kenwyne Jones will miss out on Trinidad and Tobago's glamour friendly with England next month after breaking his wrist in Sunderland's defeat to Arsenal yesterday.

The big striker was hurt just before half-time when an attempted clearance from the Gunners struck him at point-blank range.

He received treatment on the sidelines before being helped down the tunnel and boss Roy Keane revealed later: "It's a cracked wrist and he's going to be out for something like six weeks.

"He's going to need a cast on the injured wrist. It was a bit of a freak injury but they happen in football."

Jones will be hugely disappointed to miss out on the friendly against England in his home county on Sunday, June 1, but his club is unlikely to be quite so upset.

With even Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger admitting yesterday that it is hard to hang on to star players, Sunderland could do without their star man turning in a star performance against England in a quiet summer.

Transfer activity is likely to reach fever pitch in the weeks ahead and an eye-catching performance by Jones would not have done Sunderland any favours given the fact the ex-Southampton man is already being eyed with interest by England's leading clubs.

Sunderland can also count themselves fortunate at the timing of the injury, given how influential Jones has been for the club this season.

Keane admitted: "It's a blow for Kenwyne and a blow for us but if there was ever a time for it to happen, then you'd choose the last hour of the season.

"The injury is not too serious but it will keep him out for the next six weeks or so. After that it will be just be back to normal."

With the season not yet cold, transfer speculation has already begun with a host of papers linking Sunderland to a host of names.

Speculation includes a £10million swoop for Reading's Stephen Hunt and Kevin Doyle as well as bids for Athletico Madrid striker Diego Forlan, Celtic's Aidan McGeady, Manchester City's Richard Dunne and Stephen Ireland, Sheffield United's Michael Tonge and James Beattie, Carlton Cole of West Ham and 20-year-old Barnet winger Albert Adomah.

More credible is the suggestion that several of last summer's signings are to be allowed to leave in the close season – including Kieran Richardson and Paul McShane, both of which have initially been linked to West Brom.

Marton Fulop has previously signalled his intention to leave this summer in order to pursue first-team football. Plymouth Argyle want Russell Anderson while there will be a host of Championship clubs looking to take Graham Kavanagh.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2008, 06:22:41 AM by Flex »

Re: Jones ruled out of England clash.
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2008, 06:27:48 AM »
I like the term glamour friendly, as if to insinuate it ain't no normal friendly for any sort of match practice, rather a political

machination to secure votes for England's 2018 bid......which of course it is  :)

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2008, 06:28:25 AM »
why he cyah play with a break hand? this is football.

« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2008, 06:44:44 AM »
I doh know if yuh allowed to play with cast on yuh hand now.  It might get sweaty and a next knock could cause more damage....ah think.

Offline black chinee

« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2008, 07:48:28 AM »
why he cyah play with a break hand? this is football.

You can play with a soft cast not a hard cast. A hard cast is considered dangerous to others around

« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2008, 07:51:49 AM »
Guarantee he at least making bench.

« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2008, 08:00:17 AM »

It is just funny how since de last game he played for TNT every other time he getting injured before we game.  :o

« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2008, 08:01:46 AM »
what 4king luck

so wha, is only Stern up top, Jesus, I have five $300 tickets to sell

I eh paying $300 to see Stern TRY to loaf against England defense

« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2008, 08:02:55 AM »
what 4king luck

DT you never disappoint  :rotfl:

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2008, 08:04:32 AM »
Kinda confusing though. I know from experience that I had 3 smashed bones - ulna , radius and clavicle and it took about 3 weeks to heal. But then, yam porridge can heal anything.

"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2008, 10:08:27 AM »
Bring d oxygen chamber  ;D

Offline Diambars

« Reply #11 on: May 12, 2008, 10:28:09 AM »
The moderators sleeping ah what ... about three different threads on Jones?

« Reply #12 on: May 12, 2008, 11:02:42 AM »
Glamour friendly aka d mudder of all fete matches rest yuh hand

« Reply #13 on: May 12, 2008, 11:15:27 AM »
what 4king luck

Post of the week........lol

« Reply #14 on: May 12, 2008, 12:14:34 PM »
He could still play. A wrist injury not that bad.. or is it....

Offline Eldo man

« Reply #15 on: May 12, 2008, 12:23:56 PM »
what 4king luck

How Stern Woman ( Berris) eah say nothing about this post..... When yuh see that he eah read it yet.. :duel:

« Reply #16 on: May 12, 2008, 12:31:25 PM »
He can still play. Hes got a few weeks. If its not too severe a crack then throw a soft cast on it and let him get a run against England!

« Reply #17 on: May 12, 2008, 03:52:40 PM »
Allyuh tie up or what. ITS A SUNDERLAND REPORTER SAYING THIS, NOT MATURANA.  He still getting call up, you can exale now

« Reply #18 on: May 12, 2008, 05:35:25 PM »
just heard on news he still may have a chance at playing when they remove the hard cast and put on the soft cast

« Reply #19 on: May 12, 2008, 07:36:45 PM »
What sense it is 4 he 2 play dat game on d 1st when we have Bermuda on d 15th? We go c him then and d waggonist comin 2 see Becks

« Reply #20 on: May 12, 2008, 07:42:02 PM »
what 4king luck

How Stern Woman ( Berris) eah say nothing about this post..... When yuh see that he eah read it yet.. :duel:

ok ok dong in front
I ent want to miss nutten when Berris reach :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Tha G.

• Anytime is trini time, cyah wait to buss ah lime
« Reply #21 on: May 12, 2008, 07:52:37 PM »
But how come man does play American football with that kinda injury, but Sunderland say he cyah play we football. I say I I was he, I running out for that game cause you might not have ah better chance to show your mettle against them. Keane just fraid he score ah brace and Liverpool or Arsnal shatch him up. watch and see, de man playind forsure. This is the time for Matturana to tell keane to hull he muddaC!@#t and send we boy ;D

« Reply #22 on: May 12, 2008, 09:23:52 PM »
All who saying dat break hand or not...the man should risk further damage to his hand, or at best, delay his recovery to run out for what is in reality a meaninless friendly?

...madness.

« Reply #23 on: May 13, 2008, 08:05:33 AM »
All who saying dat break hand or not...the man should risk further damage to his hand, or at best, delay his recovery to run out for what is in reality a meaninless friendly?

...madness.

meaningless friendly my ass

« Reply #24 on: May 13, 2008, 10:26:25 AM »
Roy Keane at it again.
But yuh cyah blame him personally, its how all club managers move.

Sunderland screwed us over this year gone, i dont even know why FIFA have a rule for clubs to release players for international duty.

Now the season done, Keane aint have no games to call upon and he starting to play mind games with everyone.

From his standpoint, KJ could aggravate the injury and prolong a full recovery, thus missing part of pre-season.

Or he could get snapped up with a very good display.

This talk about how KJ is untouchable and no amount of money can buy him is dogshit.

Let KJ only defy him a couple times and play for TT when Keane wants him at Sunderland and you will see how fast KJ falls to the bench for a stint there. Or let the right amount of $$ be offered nah, he will be saying Kenwyne who...

Maybe he could play, maybe not.

I just hope the TTFF gets a fair shot and proper evaluation and not rely on the Sunderland doctors.

Meaningless friendly? Why am I not surprised at this post.

« Reply #25 on: May 13, 2008, 10:53:07 AM »
I eh see no big ting in dat hand injury ...he does do the no hand backflip when he score anyway  :beermug:
I expect he go want to play though ...is improvement of worth behind a good performance ...
Dis eh no jokey friendly for him as a good show go put de pressure on sunderland to keep him.
If I was Roy I woulda say is an injury that warrants 3 mths rest !!!

« Reply #26 on: May 13, 2008, 10:56:41 AM »

...madness.

...and if we 'win' this friendly exactly what de ass does that prove?  What benefit is there to be had if he runs out against England (especially with a WC qualifier the very next week) and gets hurt?  Typical ass-backwards Trini thinking.

« Reply #27 on: May 13, 2008, 11:33:36 AM »
i dont even know why FIFA have a rule for clubs to release players for international duty.

Not that it has anything to do with the discussion at hand, but FIFA has a rule for clubs to release players on international MATCHDAYS. BIG difference.

« Reply #28 on: May 13, 2008, 11:40:16 AM »
Rest boy KJ

We need yuh fit for the games that matter

« Reply #29 on: May 13, 2008, 12:09:07 PM »

...madness.

...and if we 'win' this friendly exactly what de ass does that prove?  What benefit is there to be had if he runs out against England (especially with a WC qualifier the very next week) and gets hurt?  Typical ass-backwards Trini thinking.

so now someone's supposed to explain the benefits of defeating england to you?  He's got a minor injury, chances are he wont sustain further damage taking part in the match. If he does and misses our first wcq match against a clearly inferior team, we'll still have more than enough quality to replace him.