April 26, 2024, 01:12:26 PM

Author Topic: D Touches Match Report TT vs Bimshire.  (Read 5625 times)

D Touches Match Report TT vs Bimshire.
« on: May 12, 2008, 08:11:23 AM »
Dear Forumites,

Congrats to the Warriors on their victory over Barbados, but let us not be mislead by newspaper headlines and big scores. Let me burst alyuh bubble for the umpteenth time and please do not get a false sense of security. TT looked very sloppy and struggled at times against a poor Bajan outfit.

I was very disappointed in the performance of the TT team and many players needed  a good kick in they arse and their socks pulled up for their efforts yesterday. Maturana I realise give players the opportunity to play their way OFF the team.

I arrived around 5:30 and upon turning into the street at the side of the COE, I was greeted with NO PARKING signs. The TTFF took control of the traffic and parking situation and I applaud their efforts. The alternative was to pay a fella with a spranger finish to get a spot near Cariri, park on the narrow dimly lit street under the bridge or use the COE carpark.  After deciding on the latter, I paid at the carpark gate entrance...imagine they reuse the Guadeloupe game tickets..collected my stub...walked tru the chainlink fence and entered behind the goal on the northern side...very convenient.

I decided to walk about to see if the TTFF had their registration booth or any other kinda setup but none were visible. The two soup men, bake and shark vendors and pie man were also present. My walkabout was also topped off by 3 models from Sacha cosmetics handing out certificates/entry forms to all mothers who attended the game. Truth be told, standing up under the stands and taking a gape at the three ladies would have been a better bet than the action on the field.

After getting a seat near halfline by the press box area I observed the teams warm up. Barbados did their thing individually walking about passing the ball. TT set up their players in two lines and stretched, jumped, twist etc. At times they looked comical and reminiscent of a under 14 session. Then the trainer put some discs in two lines and they did some small shuttles, jumping and twisting etc in between. What I found interesting is that the trainer had to explain each warmup to them and demonstrate each one....not like it was a routine thing. Then they put down the discs in a square and played a three team small passing game. Anthems were played and game was on

T&T: – 21.Marvin Phillip, 2.Kern Cupid (13.Kareem Smith 65th), 4.Makan Hislop (5.Keyeno Thomas 65th), 6.Anton Pierre (capt), 7.Khaleem Hyland, 12.Stephan David, 14.Jamaal Gay (18.Akile Edwards 89th), 15.Ancil Farrier, 16.Kevon Carter (17.Ataullah Guerra), 18.Jerol Forbes (11.Devon Jorsling 65th), 19.Keon Daniel.

Subs not used: – Glenroy Samuel, Romauld Aguillera.

Barbados: – 1.Adrian Chase, 2.Dyson James, 3.Jonathon Straker, 7.Rondelle Vaughn, 8.Malcolm Marshall (15.Arantees Lawrence 75th), 10.Norman Forde (capt), 11.Kieran Crichlow, 12.Greg Belle, 13.Bryan Neblett, 14.Walton Burrowes (9.Madalitso Mkoloma 66th), 17.John Parris.

Subs not used: – 4.Brent Carrington, 5.Omar Archer, 6.Barry Skeete, 18.Omari Eastmond.

TT still looked a bit small in comparison to the boys from Bimshire and TT lined up in a 4-4-2 with Barbados doing the same.
However TT played with a diamond midfield :- David as the tackler and Hyland as the offensive player.

Barbados controlled the game for the opening 10 minutes, not allowing TT any time on the ball and keeping good possession. However they never threatened the goal and their two breakaway chances were deemed offside. Barbados had one good goal attempt when their right back ran up the flank and hit a beautiful curlers at the jep nest....it had goal written all over it but Phillip came up with a BIG BIG save to deny the Bajan.

TT did the usual ball in the back, long hoof up the flank to the forward and they attempted to maintain possession when they could. All the players were sloppy and gave away the ball needlessly, slipped under pressure, bad flick or pass to no one or...(Lack of effort in chasing the ball..Chief Culprit Kevon Carter) 

No player had a good game and the game was decided on 3 moments of individual brilliance. The first one was the well taken goal by Jamal Guy. Folks he is young, he is thin, he was pongs off the ball, fell at inopportune times, made bad decisions coming fwd and his inexperience showed big time. However he has a lot of heart and determination and after getting the first goal his confidence improved 100% and he lifted his game.  A long ball was flighted over the top. He beat the offside trap and the Bajan keeper came off his line. Guy took his time, hit the keeper a spanner and after blowing past him composed hiself...ran into the area and made sure side footing his effort into the goal with defenders bearing down on him. An excellent goal and this lifted the team spirits.

Hyland who was pulling the strings in the midfield then hit two defenders a roly poly at the top of the box and with the keeper alone to beat, mustered a poor side footed effort at the keeper. What was disheartening was that he turned his back and walked off when there was a rebound and he could have followed up the play.

Keon Daniel played decent, nothing spectacular providing support for hyland in the middle. Carter and Forbes were trying a thing on the flank and getting a few crosses in but we were too indecisive up top and not shooting and exploiting the space going forward.

In attack I was pleased that both wingbacks were getting involved in the play and advancing. Cupid is nifty and beat a few players well but the final cross was disappointing or the shot blocked. Farrier also acquitted himself well.

In the back Farrier looked decent and did not make too many mistakes, recovered if he got beaten for pace and put in the tackle. My only grouse with him is that he escorts players and does not step up and close down the space. He looking and pointing.

Hislop was disappointing. He made some costly errors, probably have twins from a Bajan fwd or two and was lucky not to have been punished for selling guns and teeing up the bajan fwds in front of goal. Maturana sub him at the right time for Keyno thomas.

Bullet head Anton Pierre showed why he never make a TT side when it mattered. Talk about sloppy, bad pass, missing crosses, slow to the ball. He eat some beat and is not able against the speedy fwds. Bad game from him. To his credit he showed his lofted cross field passing is on point and was responsible for changing the point of attack from flank to flank during the game.

I found also we gave the bajans too much respect and too much space to play and at times they were nifty coming fwd on the counter and they also played a possession game.

My entertainment for the evening was the Bajan #10 Norman Forde who looked like a general on the field. Poor David collected the neatest of "caps" from Forde and collected a long drag tru his legs at top speed that had the crowd going wild.

The beat of the game came from a Bajan sub on I think it was poor David again......All the Bajans have proper English names...they bring orn a fella with a Nigerian Finish name Madalitso Mkoloma....watch meh the breddah run orn and his first touch of the ball Fan David with his left foot and brush him with consumate ease.

Maturana eventually got fed up with the antics of certain players and started subbing them as the mess they put down was too much. Carter got two beautiful balls on the flank and he just had to put a toe and gave up and let the ball run out of play. The crowd could not believe it and he got a thorough round of applause when he was subbed.

Guerra showed real class and composure coming on and he was the difference on the night. A deft touch, good controlled passes and the ability to take on players he created the trouble that caused two goals in the last 5 min.

Jorsling came on and ran like a no headed chicken, getting beat, losing the ball, passing bad...just doing nothing in an excitable way. But he was there at the right time to get his head to a ball after a good piece of skill on the flank and spanner by GUY tru a bajans legs by the corner flag..... to flick it ever so skillfully while falling into the far corner to make it 2-0.

With the game in the 90th minute I had to beat the traffic and I was hustling to leave. I saw the introduction of edwards and when I was behind the goal saw a scramble and the ball going into the net. 3-0. But my mind was on getting out of the COE as fast as possible.

After reaching home I looked at the match again on TV but it further reinforced the fact that we ent ready to play higher calibre teams and that we still need to step up our game big time. Certain players have been found out against lower level opposition and are not consistent.

Also the ref was real real poor, he did not show any cards during the game and flagrant fouls were not punished. However the Bajans came out on top in this dept. They stopped us and hacked us down right tru and TT did not retaliate and got roughed up, much to my disappointment....we must dish it out too. We must not get roughed up at home.

It was not one of the better performances of the Maturana campaign but hey.....WE WIN 3 NIL ent.

Till England.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2008, 08:52:26 AM by Flex »

Re: D Touches Match Report TT vs Bimshire
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2008, 08:24:41 AM »
Touches you never disappoint either. I await a report when you touches acctually like the way TNT play ball. :-\

Thank for de report though. ;)

Re: D Touches Match Report TT vs Bimshire
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2008, 08:41:13 AM »
nice report as usual and to think when I read the other post that we stroll past the Bajans, I was like nice but then I read d Touches Report and I get the real truth.

Imagine how much goal we go get from England...pressuahhhh

I still supporting though, GO TnT GO!!!

Re: D Touches Match Report TT vs Bimshire.
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2008, 08:52:26 AM »
yea chinee boi...how much goal we going to get ??...say something

« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2008, 08:56:49 AM »
Thanx for your usual not sugar coated aspect of the game...
For those of us outside, reading the reports in the papers gives the impression that we dominating these teams and playing with relative ease, which is ceratinly not the case....I look forward to the next report...
(Especially if the have models in it)  ;D

« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2008, 09:49:49 AM »
How many of that B team playing against England. With Ince Tallman- Carlos . Yorke. Whitley. Latapy, Stern and Scotland- Who is the other three from this B team.

« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2008, 09:52:18 AM »
Touches... thanks as always for the report..

dis ting becoming a staple now. I already looking forward to the England report.

« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2008, 09:54:29 AM »
I have to agree with Touches in trute, the Bajans overall were a poor side and we were never really threatened.

Some observations in addition:

Hyland is good, but could be so much better, d man is woeful in front of goal, i feel he needs a goal to get some confidence probably cause he has all the attributes for the midfield, strength, fitness, vision and a good football brain but when time to deliver in the final third he falls apart.

Keon Daniel had a decent showing as well but i remain unconvinced cause the opposition was poor. I find we have some promising wing backs on both sides even though they need to cross better, especially Cupd.

I still glad we playing these games though, I enjoy spending my Sunday afternoons watching the boys play.

« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2008, 09:57:00 AM »
as usual :beermug:

« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2008, 10:09:34 AM »
yea chinee boi...how much goal we going to get ??...say something

too early to say

i hadda sleep on it, den dream something, play some Weh Weh, look at the stars and moon tuh see if it align and den tell yuh  ;D

« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2008, 10:40:45 AM »
Thanks touches  :beermug:

« Reply #11 on: May 12, 2008, 11:07:25 AM »
I feel Smith the Rasta could get a bligh for the England game. Keyno Thomas will start with Lawrence and Hislop as sub. Cupid might get the wing back position if he lucky.

Whitley, Hyland, Daniel, Randi Patterson and the fella from france on the left wing who play last game...the one with the ali pang trim.

The rest ent ready.

« Reply #12 on: May 12, 2008, 11:09:53 AM »
I feel Smith the Rasta could get a bligh for the England game. Keyno Thomas will start with Lawrence and Hislop as sub. Cupid might get the wing back position if he lucky.

Whitley, Hyland, Daniel, Randi Patterson and the fella from france on the left wing who play last game...the one with the ali pang trim.

The rest ent ready.

what about Atullah Guerrah?

« Reply #13 on: May 12, 2008, 11:15:37 AM »
I kinda forget about him...But he good.

He will get squeeze under hard luck vibes.... Two games as sub as opposed to men gettin consistent 90 min and pros coming back.

Edwards, Yorke and Whitley must play in the middle. If Edwards play wingback then a spot will open. But yuh have Scotland, Roberts, Patterson, the fella from France...then yuh have Hyland and Daniel.

I ent saying he cyar make the squad but competition for space tight.

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #14 on: May 12, 2008, 12:14:29 PM »
What i noticed as well is some of those guys still cant play basic football little things like trapping and controlling a ball and they getting push of the ball to easy generally a poor game :(

« Reply #15 on: May 12, 2008, 01:18:24 PM »

The rest ent ready.

God help us if that is our Defense against England. Every abroad-player must be called back for the England match.

« Reply #16 on: May 12, 2008, 01:25:43 PM »
I must admit that I have only seen " de rasta " once ..but how do you go from Footballer of the year to kyah make de team ???
From what I saw the rasta " Marvin oliver " has a football brain. He seems to know what to do when he gets the ball. Ok so he ole and maybe could improve a bit in the fitness department but the trini team , from reports need a conductor. I thought since whitley was not playing ...another youngster.....maybe they would have seen enough to know what Oliver can do ...Ok so he kyah go to de US becuse he overstayed before but I would certainly like to see him get a chance ....footballer of the year and all >>you know !

« Reply #17 on: May 12, 2008, 01:42:49 PM »
Jai John, Touches was refering to Smith (Kareem ah think is his first name) a defender....he is good...and has a ras... :beermug:

« Reply #18 on: May 12, 2008, 02:39:06 PM »
Jai John, Touches was refering to Smith (Kareem ah think is his first name) a defender....he is good...and has a ras... :beermug:

I know ...I was referring to Marvin Oliver who did not get a game but is the 2007/2008 footballer of the year and who played against guadeloupe in Maturana's first look at the team. I was wondering how he just drop off de map so ....

« Reply #19 on: May 12, 2008, 03:54:45 PM »
How many of that B team playing against England. With Ince Tallman- Carlos . Yorke. Whitley. Latapy, Stern and Scotland- Who is the other three from this B team.
Julius James, Osie Telesford, Darryl Roberts, plus nigel daniel. what about the ancil farrier guy, from what i heard he was said to have played the left back better than anyone else so far.

« Reply #20 on: May 12, 2008, 04:48:43 PM »
Thanks as per usual could not make d game but I know readin your report would b d 2nd best ting

« Reply #21 on: May 12, 2008, 05:47:12 PM »

I know ...I was referring to Marvin Oliver who did not get a game but is the 2007/2008 footballer of the year and who played against guadeloupe in Maturana's first look at the team. I was wondering how he just drop off de map so ....

He has been injured for most of the time since the proleague started, might still be as a matter of fact.

« Reply #22 on: May 12, 2008, 06:07:31 PM »
Hyland and Daniel have potential but dey not ready to be our midfield generals anytime soon...Disappointing dat our players let another team come in we homeground and rough we up  :-\ ...Anyway thanks for de insight Touches...and de fella from france name is Connell, ah forget what school he play for in Trini
« Last Edit: May 12, 2008, 06:24:01 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #23 on: May 12, 2008, 06:16:05 PM »
ay watch nuh..i remember watchin d last usa-mexico game and i get bummy...padnas.hmm..we aint ready...if a good bit of these fellas are retained den we goin an get cut easier dan ah Convent bad-ting...some players stick out for me like hyland guerra connell and very very few of the rest..nobody cud tell me dat anton pierre cud bring more to d defence than brent sancho and who eva else dey..i all for dis bleedin ting eh but some of dem puttin out sub par performances against shyte opposition...an daz ah nex ting...y d hell we cant get mor  competitive friendlies?...guyana bdos grenada puerto rico...wa d hell??!!...how can we gauge the progress of dem fellas by pitting them against such mediocre teams?i for one not bein fooled by dis false sense of security...we need d overseas to mesh wit d promising ones to nurture and guide them..i dunno daz jus how i see tings...

« Reply #24 on: May 13, 2008, 05:09:23 AM »

OK....cool....my bad... :beermug:

« Reply #25 on: May 13, 2008, 07:34:47 AM »

Also the ref was real real poor, he did not show any cards during the game and flagrant fouls were not punished. However the Bajans came out on top in this dept. They stopped us and hacked us down right tru and TT did not retaliate and got roughed up, much to my disappointment....we must dish it out too. We must not get roughed up at home.

Touches, I find it interesting you say that. It seems to be a constant when we play the C+/B- team. The JAmaica match, we got seriously rough up in the first half. Same thing for the El Salvador match we played in November under Wim. Was it like that for the grenada game and the second El Salvador game?

Btw, where all the optmism from that match report gone dread?

« Reply #26 on: May 13, 2008, 07:49:24 AM »
Midknight

It gone because it was the worst performance of all the games played. Not seeing an improvement in players who gettin regular run.

One thing was different in that Maturana stopped going tru the center and started more flank work. This was good to see.

I didnt see the fight of the Jamaica 1/2 half. Neither the good passing of the Grenada or El Salvador game.

Also too from looking at players on the ball..TT players were superior in technique, but like they have a confidence problem. They not sure, they have to believe that they are better and what they could do and in themselves.

After the 1st goal, there was a spell before 1/2 time where everybody picked up their game and started to play. It fizzled out in the 2nd half.

Maybe its because there is no continuity in the team, plenty changes...Maybe the leader Whitley and his influence was not there and there were no leaders or senior men on the team to look up to. I honestly think this could be the cause.

Also we need Steel in the middle. I find romauld aguillera coulda get a sweat. He did well in the gold cup and is a solid player.

« Reply #27 on: May 13, 2008, 12:25:16 PM »
 Thanks Touches for the report.....Glad to see Jamal Gay score ... I think even though we played badly I glad for the result...Hopefully the coach can point out the deficiencies and work on them for the England game...I see men saying they hope is not that defense and all that crap but you have to realize that is local young players and they doing their best...I see men talking about them fellas cyah trap a ball....Are you guys kidding me??? These guys can trap, these fellas can pass....its at what level...On the international level we supporters want to see Brazil playing...These guys trying to pass and trap at a higher speed and level than they used to...so of course they not going to get it perfect...It not like they playing La Liga or EPL and the level not much different and they could seamlessly waltz in and play well..We have to understand this...The only how we will get better is to make mistakes...Improvement will come over time....Our goal is preparation to WC qualifiers and I figure we will be ready...I think Pancho should change Anton Pierre though....We have better center backs....for example Julius James, Fabien Lewis...Once these guys come in soon enough I not frightened at all for our team......We played bad but got the result...Go T&T !!!

« Reply #28 on: May 13, 2008, 01:05:39 PM »
I see men talking about them fellas cyah trap a ball....Are you guys kidding me??? These guys can trap, these fellas can pass....its at what level...On the international level we supporters want to see Brazil playing...These guys trying to pass and trap at a higher speed and level than they used to...so of course they not going to get it perfect...

And what level the Barbados players who putting them under pressure and making them mistrap playing at, pray tell?

« Reply #29 on: May 13, 2008, 01:42:00 PM »
I don't like making comments on a game i did not see,i really do appreciate and look forward to Touches analysis and comments on our games,though  raw and honest, it gives me and idea of where our Football is or is heading,these accessments of our players and team by Touches is the best we can ask for especially those of us who can't be there in person,i don't think it can get better than that not even our newspapers,the thing i like about these reports is he deals directly with the game and players,keep it up.