April 19, 2024, 09:17:32 AM

Author Topic: Barca strikes deal with MLS  (Read 1589 times)

Barca strikes deal with MLS
« on: May 15, 2008, 11:32:32 AM »
Barca strikes deal with MLS
2 hours, 4 minutes ago

Buzz Up PrintBy Simon Lewis PA SportsTicker Contributing Writer

NEW YORK (Ticker) - European soccer giant Barcelona signed a five-year strategic partnership with Major League Soccer, the league announced Thursday.

The two-time Champions League winners from Spain are the first European club to enter into such an agreement with MLS and its marketing arm Soccer United Marketing, the U.S. professional league said in a press release.

The deal guarantees that Barcelona, who appear set to retain international stars for next season such as Thierry Henry, Rafael Marquez and Lionel Messi, will visit the United States for a minimum of six exhibition matches during the five-year partnership, including a tour this summer, with SUM managing every commercial, marketing and PR aspect of the games on American soil.
“FCB is a world-renowned brand for its great history of special players, entertaining play and success,” MLS Commissioner Don Garber said. “MLS is excited to help expand the story of FCB and its efforts by showcasing its breathtaking soccer and further developing its brand in North America.”

Barcelona, who this year is third in Spain’s La Liga and reached the Champions League semifinals, first made serious attempts to gain a foothold in the American soccer market following the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

Barca, led by Brazilian star Ronaldinho, toured the USA to great success, selling out all three of its matches in Los Angeles, Houston and East Rutherford, New Jersey, with an average crowd of 80,734.

“After a successful tour in 2006, we at FC Barcelona are excited to embrace a long-term strategy for our brand in the U.S. market,” club president Joan Laporta said.

“This represents a true North American expansion for FC Barcelona. We are sure that, with the cooperation of MLS and SUM, Barca will become more recognizable among the North American public, as well as continue the growth of soccer in the United States.”

Details of this summer’s tour were not released on Thursday but are expected “in the near future,” the MLS statement said.

Re: Barca strikes deal with MLS
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2008, 11:52:57 AM »
Very nice, ah hope all yuh at least give us a game, in de Lockhart stadium, south Florida. Cuz lately, is pure salt fuh we down here yes  :(. HIGHLY BLESSED.

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2008, 01:02:38 PM »
DECO DECLARES DESIRE TO LEAVE

Well, I can’t say this was not totally expected, Deco has seemed unhappy for quite a while. The final straw was the whistles he received at Sunday’s game with Mallorca. One report says that Deco got showered and changed at half time without saying anything and Rijkaard was forced to put on Bojan as a substitute. It is a great shame that one of the great players of the last few seasons should end up leaving in this manner. However, it must be said that he has not performed well in the last two seasons and is a shadow of what he was like in his first season when he rivalled Ronaldinho as the team’s most important player. He has declared a desire to play either in England or Italy.

« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2008, 01:07:29 PM »
http://es.youtube.com/watch?v=63-YsRBbhcU

DECO THE CAP MASTER, o yeah ah hijack d thread

« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2008, 01:09:15 PM »
Deco for Sunderland FC?

« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2008, 01:42:59 PM »
Me eh feel a tour to the US this summer is necessary especially after the season we just had.

It is a sort of rebuilding year not to mention Euro Cup and all the injuries.

Right not Barca players need to stay home and contemplate all the shit they play, where they went wrong and most of all where the 4k we going from here. 

Offline MarylandTrini

« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2008, 02:28:25 PM »
Hopefull they play a game on the East Coast

Offline 2cents

• FPL Vibes
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2008, 06:47:08 PM »
where and when???? I am in there like swim wear

saw them at giants stadium ah think like 2 yrs ago...was reaaaal good. growing up watchin ball on tv i always long for d opportunity to go c games week in week out...so even for an exhibition that they probably gonna play at 80% I don't miss these things. according to marylandtrini hopefully is on the east coast...bless
It's only kinky the 1st time