March 28, 2024, 10:07:41 AM

Author Topic: Maturana names his squad for England clash.  (Read 18354 times)

Maturana names his squad for England clash.
« on: May 15, 2008, 12:04:10 PM »
Maturana names his squad for England clash.

Francisco Maturana has called up a squad of twenty-six players to prepare for the upcoming friendly international against England carded for the Hasely Crawford Stadium on June 1.

Maturana finalized his squad on Sunday following the 3-0 victory over Barbados at the Marvin Lee Stadium and will begin training on May 24 at the Larry Gomes Stadium, leading up to the game.

Included in the squad are ten overseas-based professionals. They are Stern John (Southampton), Kenwyne Jones (Sunderland), Kevaughn Connell (Sannois Saint-Gratien), Clayton Ince (Walsall), Jan Michael Williams, Dennis Lawrence (Swansea City), Ancil Farrier (University of Southern Connecticut), Osei Telesford (Puerto Rico Islanders), Carlos Edwards (Sunderland) and Dutch-based forward Darryl Roberts.

Several home-based professionals who have featured in recent internationals have been included by Maturana. They include Kern Cupid, Makan Hislop, Anton Pierre, Keon Daniel, Ataullah Guerra and strikers Jamal Gay and Jerol Forbes among others. Interim captain Aurtis Whitley has also been included.

“This is the list of players that we have come up with for the match against England. These are the players we think will help to make the best team for the match and we will work and prepare as best as possible to make it happen,” Maturana told TTFF Media.

“We have included some of the younger players who we have seen progress from and the opportunity is now there for them to showcase themselves. The game is an important warm up for our team and we will take every moment in the preparation and the match seriously. I also want to mention that we will continue to monitor players over the coming period,” Maturana concluded.

It is with great pride that we submit our provisional list of selected players who shall participate in the training sessions leading up to the Centennial match.

Of this initial group of twenty-six (26), a final squad of eighteen (18) shall be named on May 27th to go into camp along with the technical staff for final preparations. We would like to express our appreciation for the loyalty shown by our local fans in the past few home friendly games and we look forward to that continued support as the National Team continues its journey. The Soca Warriors are currently unbeaten in 8 straight matches.

The England National team, for which a provisional squad has already been named, will arrive here on May 29 following its departure out of Luton.

Provisional Squad List for T&T vs England.

Goalkeepers[/b]

1.Clayton Ince - Walsall FC
2.Jan Michael Williams – Sheffield United
3.Marvin Phillip – W Connection

Defenders
4.Kareem Smith – United Petrotrin
5.Kern Cupid – W Connection
6.Keyeno Thomas – Joe Public
7.Makan Hislop – United Petrotrin
8.Anton Pierre – Defence Force
9.Dennis Lawrence – Swansea City FC
10.Akeem Adams – W Connection
11.Ancil Farrier – University Of Southern Connecticut
12.Akile Edwards – Defence Force
13.Osei Telesford – Puerto Rico Highlanders

Midfielders
14.Aurtis Whitley – W Connection
15.Keon Daniel – United Petrotrin
16.Ataullah Guerra – San Juan Jabloteh
17.Khaleem Hyland – Unattached
18.Kevon Carter – Defence Force
19.Carlos Edwards – Sunderland
20.Kevaughn Connell – l'Entente SSG
21.Stephan David – Caledonia AIA

Forwards
22.Jerol Forbes – United Petrotrin
23.Jamal Gay – Under 20s
24.Stern John – Southampton
25.Kenwyne Jones – Sunderland
26.Darryl Roberts – Dutch-based
« Last Edit: May 15, 2008, 12:39:43 PM by Flex »

Re: Maturana names his squad for England clash
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2008, 12:07:32 PM »
So Patterson aint get a bligh 

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2008, 12:10:36 PM »

Patterson and Scotland should have been in for Forbes and Gay

Birchall for Stephen David

I will allow Avery and Sancho to be excused due to lack of fitness... Also Cyd and Andrews out with Injury... so those 4 omissions are fine....

Ummm?  Why No Scotland? No reason was told...

« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2008, 12:12:48 PM »
You gotta be flickin shitting me...

Someone from the university of southern connecticut got called up for this game? We're not playing american samoa.

Hyland is selected even though he has no club

Jan Michael Williams playing regularly for Sheff Utd?

Telesford at Puerto Rico? He just signed and hasnt been playing much.

Sancho, Avery, Scotland, Spann and Birchall must really be in the doghouse if these guys are selected before them. Now you can definetly say there is a blacklist and all the reasons Maturana gave for not including people like Birchall was complete bullshit. Im tired of the lies, and disappointed that our new coach is in on the lying game, as well.

btw Fuentes couldnt even list the club for Darryl Roberts? How unprofessional and sloppy is that

We're collecting 8 in our arse

« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2008, 12:14:55 PM »

Someone from the university of southern connecticut got called up for this game? We're not playing american samoa.

Telesford?

Sancho, Avery, Scotland, Spann and Birchall must really be in the doghouse if these guys are selected before them. Now you can definetly say there is a blacklist and all the reasons Maturana gave for not including people like Birchall was complete bullshit. Im tired of the lies, and disappointed that our new coach is in on the lying game, as well.

btw Fuentes couldnt even list the club for Darryl Roberts? How unprofessional and sloppy is that
Sancho is not fit and you are a brave man to mention Spann right now

« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2008, 12:21:12 PM »
Wid all de thing and thing, dat lil yute (Gay) name just keep showing up on all games. Apart from all de lil issues here and there, ah like tuh see dem yutes getting dey chance. Ah know some members listed his faults, dat is understood, cuz he is still ah baby in my book, he will only get better. What making meh feel really good, is dat de coach have tuh be seeing something special in dat kid. Cuz Maturana not taking any prisoners, he leaving out people left and right from he squad. I think is just a matter of time before Gay really light it up. HIGHLY BLESSED.

« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2008, 12:21:41 PM »

roberts  got released from his old club

« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2008, 12:22:45 PM »

Telesford?

Sancho is not fit and you are a brave man to mention Spann right now

ok well i mention spann but hes getting more training than some of the guys named.

And, where's Sealy? James? Wheres Neaves?

Its like we started over  ???

« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2008, 12:24:16 PM »

roberts  got released from his old club

mustve missed that one. I take back my Fuentes comment then....thought he was showing well over at Rotterdam. Im gonna have to look that story up

« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2008, 12:28:22 PM »
Ah know each member will have dey opinion, some of us might be pissed off and thing, it is understood. I and all eh 2 please, but ah willing tuh wait and see if de coach system and specially picked players give us a solid and proud performance first, before ah empty a bottle of Tylenol. All yuh doh get hyped up as yet nah man, let dem play, give dem a chance. Yuh never know, a new superstar from Trinidad & Tobago might be found. HIGHLY BLESSED.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2008, 12:30:10 PM by SUPA »

« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2008, 12:32:45 PM »
I like this Coach boy,do your thing as you see fit,play your game as you see it,because in the end is you that have to take the blame for everything,one good thing after all is said and done you don't have to stay and live here, like all the others.Coaching in T&T is a tough job and i'm not sure if Coaches that has ever worked in T&T does want to return weather they are successful or not.  

« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2008, 12:32:56 PM »
My 18 and Starting XI

GOALKEEPERS
2.Jan Michael Williams - Sheffield United

DEFENDERS
4.Kareem Smith - United Petrotrin
7.Makan Hislop - United Petrotrin
9.Dennis Lawrence - Swansea City FC
11. Ancil Farrier- University Of Southern Connecticut
12. Aklie Edwards – Defence Force
13. Osei Telesford – Puerto Rico Highlanders

MIDFIELDERS
15.Keon Daniel - United Petrotrin
17.Khaleem Hyland - Unattached
18.Kevon Carter - Defence Force
19.Carlos Edwards - Sunderland
20.Kevaughn Connell - French based

FORWARDS
23.Jamal Gay - Under 20s
24.Stern John- Southampton
25.Kenwyne Jones- Sunderland

Starting XI:

C.Ince

K.Smith
O.Telesford
D.Lawrence
A.Edwards

C.Edwards
A.Whitley
K.Hyland
K.Daniel

S.John
K.Jones

Subs: JM.Williams....M.Hislop...A.Farrier....K.Carter...K.Connell...J.Gay..D.Roberts

*I pick Gay cuz Forbes style is similar to Stern and Roberts...Gay is a target man like KJ..

Starting XI i will kill someone for:

K.Jack(even though we safe with Ince..i just prefer Jack)

C.Gray...get Fit!!!...With Smith/Cupid/Spann/Atiba Charles as cover
D.Lawrence
B.Sancho or M.Andrews...either or one starting one on the bench....With J.James/Hislop/Telesford/A.Pierre as cover
A.John...with A.Edwards/A.Farrier/A.Adams as cover

C.Edwards.....with Kerry Baptiste/Tinto/Carter as cover
A.Whitley
C.Birchall!!!!!!!!!!!!!! with Hyland/Theobald/Spann as cover for the CM's
K.Daniel/K.Connell....with C.Samuel as cover

S.John
K.Jones ....with Roberts and Scotty as cover for the Strikers

« Last Edit: May 15, 2008, 12:40:01 PM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

« Reply #12 on: May 15, 2008, 12:53:40 PM »
My 18 and Starting XI

GOALKEEPERS
2.Jan Michael Williams - Sheffield United

DEFENDERS
4.Kareem Smith - United Petrotrin
7.Makan Hislop - United Petrotrin
9.Dennis Lawrence - Swansea City FC
11. Ancil Farrier- University Of Southern Connecticut
12. Aklie Edwards – Defence Force
13. Osei Telesford – Puerto Rico Highlanders

MIDFIELDERS
15.Keon Daniel - United Petrotrin
17.Khaleem Hyland - Unattached
18.Kevon Carter - Defence Force
19.Carlos Edwards - Sunderland
20.Kevaughn Connell - French based

FORWARDS
23.Jamal Gay - Under 20s
24.Stern John- Southampton
25.Kenwyne Jones- Sunderland

Starting XI:

C.Ince

K.Smith
O.Telesford
D.Lawrence
A.Edwards

C.Edwards
A.Whitley
K.Hyland
K.Daniel

S.John
K.Jones

Subs: JM.Williams....M.Hislop...A.Farrier....K.Carter...K.Connell...J.Gay..D.Roberts

*I pick Gay cuz Forbes style is similar to Stern and Roberts...Gay is a target man like KJ..

Starting XI i will kill someone for:

K.Jack(even though we safe with Ince..i just prefer Jack)

C.Gray...get Fit!!!...With Smith/Cupid/Spann/Atiba Charles as cover
D.Lawrence
B.Sancho or M.Andrews...either or one starting one on the bench....With J.James/Hislop/Telesford/A.Pierre as cover
A.John...with A.Edwards/A.Farrier/A.Adams as cover

C.Edwards.....with Kerry Baptiste/Tinto/Carter as cover
A.Whitley
C.Birchall!!!!!!!!!!!!!! with Hyland/Theobald/Spann as cover for the CM's
K.Daniel/K.Connell....with C.Samuel as cover

S.John
K.Jones ....with Roberts and Scotty as cover for the Strikers

why daniel on the left? that is Connell spot

Re: Maturana names his squad for England clash.
« Reply #13 on: May 15, 2008, 12:59:15 PM »
And Bleeder drop case against TTFF, Jacko make he Captain and now he get dropped.

ahahahahahahahahahahaha!

Karma is ah BIATCH!

« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2008, 01:08:39 PM »
I tell yuh I like this man .. He picking a young squad and aint looking to bring ole man outta retirement.. Respect Maturana everytime
War

« Reply #15 on: May 15, 2008, 01:11:48 PM »
Small Mag,

I like them two post yuh make there...Scotland,Patterson and Birchall in Forbes, David and Guy out.

In the second post yuh have I ent want to believe Aklie Edwards could make that squad. Luton Shelton and Tyrone Marshall eat that up raw and Maturana had to save him by subbing him.

He ent ready for Rooney and dem. It have men on my fete match squad ripping he...In fact I with meh bad knee big belly self could give him a portion.

Yuh Leave out Keyno Thomas...I want he to partner Lawrence in the back. He is the best defender for us over all the games thus far and the one with experience. Yuh ent see how he handle the Jamaicans or wha. Even the commentators mentioned his strength.

My side will be

Ince

Smith    Thomas   Lawrence  Carlos Edwards

Latapy   Yorke    Whitley    Connell

Stern     Jones

Subs....Hyland for Yorke, Daniel for Latapy, Roberts and Guy to get a  corbeaux at the end.

« Last Edit: May 15, 2008, 01:14:08 PM by Touches »

« Reply #16 on: May 15, 2008, 01:15:57 PM »
stueps better than nothing yes  :'(, good luck Warriors  :beermug:. at least they should of give Scottie and Birchie a try out, if they aint make the cut to 18, no scene
« Last Edit: May 15, 2008, 01:18:01 PM by Die.Hard.Warrior »

« Reply #17 on: May 15, 2008, 01:19:40 PM »
I see Yorke and Latas didn't respond to the call up.

« Reply #18 on: May 15, 2008, 01:20:11 PM »
ah want to see who making the final 18

« Reply #19 on: May 15, 2008, 01:21:09 PM »

they must be say let the young fellas get some experience our time gone.

« Reply #20 on: May 15, 2008, 01:22:00 PM »
nice tream selection Jack maturana   :'(

« Reply #21 on: May 15, 2008, 01:33:01 PM »
You sure bout that E-Man

I real want to see Latapy tun up Gerrard and Lampard!

I still hoping for him and Yorke...in some article it was said they getting a 45 min run.

« Reply #22 on: May 15, 2008, 01:33:48 PM »
Small Mag,

I like them two post yuh make there...Scotland,Patterson and Birchall in Forbes, David and Guy out.

In the second post yuh have I ent want to believe Aklie Edwards could make that squad. Luton Shelton and Tyrone Marshall eat that up raw and Maturana had to save him by subbing him.

He ent ready for Rooney and dem. It have men on my fete match squad ripping he...In fact I with meh bad knee big belly self could give him a portion.

Yuh Leave out Keyno Thomas...I want he to partner Lawrence in the back. He is the best defender for us over all the games thus far and the one with experience. Yuh ent see how he handle the Jamaicans or wha. Even the commentators mentioned his strength.

My side will be

Ince

Smith    Thomas   Lawrence  Carlos Edwards

Latapy   Yorke    Whitley    Connell

Stern     Jones

Subs....Hyland for Yorke, Daniel for Latapy, Roberts and Guy to get a  corbeaux at the end.

It was Akeem Adams the 17 year old that had to get sub off...pure nerves... He is decent for the future but not now at all... LOL imagine him vs Any England Right winger lol..

Also sorry  that starting XI is shit...Latas on the right?  de man is nearly 40 lol!   Carlos will play RW...he chose 3 LB's   1 will start in his "gain experience campaign"

Let that f**king Colombian get anything wrong over the next 2 games..."Stand Up if you want him out" Campaign will be in full effect...

I would do a "Take your Shoes off..if you want him out" Campaign to get more media attention like Newcastle and other English Clubs do but Stupid Trini's wouldnt understand..it will be more like "You out your fuking mind awa white boy" "I ent taking off my clarks for nothing"

« Reply #23 on: May 15, 2008, 01:34:43 PM »

Nah man, that up there is MATURANA's call up, DW & RL are JW's call-up...besides all the ads for the game showing DY and RL...yuh tink they could do that and them 2 fellas NOT play? That would be highly unethical and definitely false advertising...ENT??? :devil: :rotfl:

« Reply #24 on: May 15, 2008, 01:36:17 PM »

Patterson and Scotland should have been in for Forbes and Gay

Birchall for Stephen David

I will allow Avery and Sancho to be excused due to lack of fitness... Also Cyd and Andrews out with Injury... so those 4 omissions are fine....

Ummm?  Why No Scotland? No reason was told...

Agree 1000% WIT YUH THERE!!!!

« Reply #25 on: May 15, 2008, 01:39:16 PM »
And Bleeder drop case against TTFF, Jacko make he Captain and now he get dropped.

ahahahahahahahahahahaha!

Karma is ah BIATCH!

......and de congregation say Amen (sorry truetrini  ;D)..

...ah know it had another reason ah doh like him.  How could I forget besides not doing nutten to deserve being on de team, he jump ship on the others like a snake when push come to shove..... >:(

Whey yuh kiffy??....

« Reply #26 on: May 15, 2008, 01:44:46 PM »
In fact I with meh bad knee big belly self could give him a portion.

::) ::)

« Reply #27 on: May 15, 2008, 01:47:26 PM »
oh god let the man lose more games than he won to start critizing him nah.  allyuh trini worst than them new yorkers we :rotfl: . Isn't Maturana undefeated?

« Reply #28 on: May 15, 2008, 01:50:07 PM »
Wid all de thing and thing, dat lil yute (Gay) name just keep showing up on all games.  HIGHLY BLESSED.

that Gay fella have a vibes just like the vibes when yorke was breaking into the team.  I hope he buss out and score vs England, den everybody go say Maturana is a Boss - Gay for the future.  Or it might backfire, somebody say he getting more confident with every game and playing better...I believe he muss have something special to get that call.  coach jus puttin faith in him.

« Reply #29 on: May 15, 2008, 01:52:29 PM »
ah hope dah spanish man know wuh he doin in trute

de only way I could see dis workin out good is if he plan to spike to english team water cooler wit babash