March 28, 2024, 05:38:33 PM

Author Topic: Moruga Tales - now available in Bookstores and eBook format  (Read 16614 times)

Moruga Tales - 'Ti-Jean and the Diablotins - Tale #4 - Rupert's Story
« Reply #30 on: June 23, 2008, 04:53:59 PM »
Tale #4

Re: Moruga Tales - 'Ti-Jean and the Diablotins - Tale #4 - Rupert's Story
« Reply #31 on: June 23, 2008, 06:13:02 PM »
Well pecan ah couldnah make ah trip back home and ain't go down to La Lune Moruga.  Sat down on dey beach for more ah ah hour just going down memory lane.
Anyways here are ah couple of snaps dat ah focus meh camera on.  Aye ah have ah uncle name rupert eh and ah fine dat half ah dem names ya using dere real close to dem slack relatives ah have ;D

Time for dat book pecan...time for dat book :beermug:

« Last Edit: June 23, 2008, 06:14:40 PM by Kalawatie Chan »

« Reply #32 on: June 24, 2008, 04:47:09 PM »
I born and grow in Moruga, that's exactly where I am from. My grandfather lived La Lune, my grandmother lived Grand Chemin, and I lived Basse Terre. I actually went to Grand Chemin AC. We used to sing this for the RC school children;

"RC bush bug, black eye peas"   :rotfl:

« Reply #33 on: June 24, 2008, 06:00:37 PM »
elan that is good to know. A couple of us either grew up, have family there or spent the majority of summer vacations down there due to the fact we parents wanted we out dey house...go by allyuh aunty.

My father is originally from La Lune Moruga. Still have a lot of family down there.  I know AlbertaTrini, pecan and a couple of others have stories to tell.
There is thread in here somewhere about us talking bout our experiences in good ole La Lune.

I'll try and fine it for you.

Offline matapèl

« Reply #34 on: June 24, 2008, 10:09:21 PM »
excellent story, have not heard a djablotan story in a long while, I also remember that according to Creole folklore Mama Malade was supposed to have control over them.    :) loved it!
Si ou tonbé, fò ou lévé! If you fall, you must get up!

« Reply #35 on: June 30, 2008, 04:45:09 PM »
excellent story, have not heard a djablotan story in a long while, I also remember that according to Creole folklore Mama Malade was supposed to have control over them.    :) loved it!

Thanks for the positive feedback.

btw, what does matapèl mean? 

« Reply #36 on: June 30, 2008, 05:30:29 PM »
Ah Matapel is ah Ant eater not so? Does taste sweet to bad when you buccaneer it and then cook it.

« Reply #37 on: June 30, 2008, 05:58:13 PM »
uhmm somebody say wild meat  ;D

Offline matapèl

« Reply #38 on: June 30, 2008, 07:16:07 PM »
Ah Matapel is ah Ant eater not so? Does taste sweet to bad when you buccaneer it and then cook it.

yes a matapèl is patois for ant eater from Spanish  mata+perro
Si ou tonbé, fò ou lévé! If you fall, you must get up!

« Reply #39 on: July 31, 2008, 05:54:46 PM »
Tale #5

Moruga Tales - Book Launch
« Reply #40 on: December 05, 2011, 04:37:35 PM »
So after three and a half years of idleness, I finally managed to pull together the various stories that my Mom wrote and got them published.  There are now ten tales all together plus an introduction, prolouge, epilogue and glossary.

I will set up a simple web site when I have some time later this week.

here are a couple pictures of the books.

« Last Edit: December 05, 2011, 04:39:26 PM by pecan »

Re: Moruga Tales - the book
« Reply #41 on: December 05, 2011, 05:38:10 PM »
Congratulations! Obviously a labour of love and something immortalised for everyone, Trini and non ... to digest. Looking forward to reading it.

« Reply #42 on: January 16, 2012, 08:11:10 PM »
We have a Facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/Moruga.Tales?sk=wall

The first Canadian printing is just about sold out.

We are planning a print run in T&T. If you are local and interested in acquiring a copy, keep checking this page periodically or PM me.

« Reply #43 on: January 16, 2012, 10:52:33 PM »
We have a Facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/Moruga.Tales?sk=wall

The first Canadian printing is just about sold out.

We are planning a print run in T&T. If you are local and interested in acquiring a copy, keep checking this page periodically or PM me.

Got to get this book

« Reply #44 on: January 16, 2012, 11:49:55 PM »
Elan I remember my coco spanish granny use to use the phrase "buccaneer it" what does that mean? I was too young to remember what the process really is, but I remember the word being used for cooking

« Reply #45 on: January 17, 2012, 02:21:23 PM »
Some people do "buccaneering" differently. What we called "bucaneering", when Hunters go deep into the forest where they have to spend like a week or so, they would kinda half roast the meet on a fire side then bury it in the dirt close the water on a river bank. The water made the dirt cold and so it kept the meat. When they were ready to return they would dig it up.

The main place this use to happen was when hunters go up the beach to Canari.

« Reply #46 on: January 17, 2012, 11:29:47 PM »
Elan I remember my coco spanish granny use to use the phrase "buccaneer it" what does that mean? I was too young to remember what the process really is, but I remember the word being used for cooking

Boucanier (French)...that led to buccaneer..as in bar b que..cooking over a fire pit etc, aka a boucan so I was taught in History class in Trinidad as a youngster.  Runaway slaves joined them as well as deserters...they were french and the Spanish hated them and tried to kill them off.  They raided ships etc.  Henry Morgan was a Buccaneer, they maily hung out in what is today Hait and Dominican Republic aka Hispaniola.

« Reply #47 on: January 18, 2012, 09:50:10 AM »
Congrats pecan! This book will sure be present on my coffee table.
Perfect gifts for the old aunties down Moruga :beermug: :beermug:
« Last Edit: January 18, 2012, 09:52:25 AM by TriniCana »

« Reply #48 on: April 24, 2012, 03:38:07 PM »

FIRST TIME AUTHORS PROGRAMME: WORLD BOOK AND COPYRIGHT DAY

Author June Lee-Sing Khan was recognized as a first time author for her book "Moruga Tales" by the Trinidad and Tobago National Library and Information System Authority (NALIS) during their celebration of UNESCO's World Book and Copyright Day. The presentation was made on April 23, 2012.

http://www2.nalis.gov.tt/Libraries/HeritageLibrary/FirstTimeAuthorsAppreciationProgramme/tabid/331/Default.aspx

Here is the link to the Moruga Tales Facebook Page

Please "Like" if you feel so inclined.

The second printing of Moruga tales is currently underway in Trinidad. Copies will be available soon (in at last one book store).

Publishing is hard work.  :)

« Reply #49 on: May 17, 2012, 07:59:59 AM »
Books now available locally

"MORUGA TALES" books can be purchased from 2-6pm, Mon - Thurs, at BROWN COTTON OUTREACH, 13 Ana ST., Woodbrook.

Call 681-9985, 625-6549 for further information.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #50 on: May 21, 2012, 11:19:19 AM »
Why am I only now seeing this? steupse.
Pecan, boy BIG UP!  :beermug: :beermug:
If I may assist in anyway, let me know!  Mi knowledge, es su knowledge!

« Reply #51 on: November 05, 2012, 08:00:06 PM »
Why am I only now seeing this? steupse.
Pecan, boy BIG UP!  :beermug: :beermug:
If I may assist in anyway, let me know!  Mi knowledge, es su knowledge!

Queen, and I only now seeing your post.

Anyways, thanks for the offer. I have been on/off moving this project forward but I do need some pointers on getting traction in the Toronto market. My cousin has some printed in Trinidad and we are now in a few local book stores.

Get your copies at:

R.I.K. Services Ltd., 104 High St. San Fernando
Queen St. POS
Grand Bazaar
West Mall
Long Circular Mall
Gulf City
Trincity Mall

Also, I have been busy the past few days formatting it for eBook: Kindle, Epub, PDF and LRF as well as online reading.

eBooks are 2.99 USD for immediate download on Smashwords

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/252039

Hopefully, it will be distributed to Apple, Amazon and Barnes & Noble, Sony, Kobo etc. in the next week or so.  I am waiting for Smashwords to complete their review.

Checkout our facebook site as well

https://www.facebook.com/Moruga.Tales

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
Re: Moruga Tales - now available in Bookstores and eBook format
« Reply #52 on: November 08, 2012, 06:13:51 PM »
check your messages.

Re: Moruga Tales - now available in Bookstores and eBook format
« Reply #53 on: November 13, 2012, 06:59:22 PM »
For those of you following the saga of my Mom's book from the original PDF stories I posted on this forum to the first print run last year to getting into book stores in Trinidad, thanks for the support. I can say that feedback on the original stories prompted my Mom to work on the original drafts to get them into shape for printing.  Thank you all  :beermug: :beermug:

We have hit a new milestone. I used www.smashword.com to prepare the book for e-publishing. They have a premium catalog that they distribute to the major online retailers.  Well today, they approved the book for inclusion in this catalog.

The online retailers include:

Apple (distribution to iBookstores in 50 countries), Barnes & Noble (US and UK), Sony, Kobo, WH Smith in the UK and FNAC (both powered by Kobo), the Diesel eBook Store,  eBooks Eros (operated by Diesel), Baker & Taylor (Blio and the Axis360 library service), Page Foundry (operates retail sites Inktera.com and Versent.com; operates Android ebook store apps for Cricket Wireless and Asus),

So we have gone worldwide.

The eBook will be shipped to these retailers on Thursday or Friday and depending on the retailers, will be available anywhere from a few days to 2 weeks after shipment.

Thanks again for the feedback.