April 29, 2024, 04:58:36 AM

Author Topic: Free Counselling  (Read 1994 times)

Offline kandi_tt

Free Counselling
« on: May 19, 2008, 01:23:08 PM »
Does anyone know where in trinidad and tobago a person can access free or very reasonable counselling? It's for someone who attempted suicide  :( ...but can't really afford to pay for counselling...
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

Offline socachatter

• ey boy look ah make
Re: Free Counselling
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2008, 01:42:39 PM »
kandi... try calling the suicide hotline.  it should be somewhere up front in the phonebook.  don't have one or i would have looked it up for you.  ask them if they can recommend anyone or group for help.  good luck.
"Moral certainty is always a sign of cultural inferiority.  The more uncivilized the man, the surer he is that he knows precisely what is right and what is wrong.  All human progress, even in morals, has been the work of men who doubted current moral values, not of men who tried to enforce them."

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2008, 01:47:30 PM »
i looked...nothing...

Offline socachatter

• ey boy look ah make
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2008, 01:58:09 PM »
Kandi,
Directory Assistance gave me two numbers for the Suicide hotline:
645.6616 and 645.3253
"Moral certainty is always a sign of cultural inferiority.  The more uncivilized the man, the surer he is that he knows precisely what is right and what is wrong.  All human progress, even in morals, has been the work of men who doubted current moral values, not of men who tried to enforce them."

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2008, 02:01:58 PM »
thks much...guess i should have known to do that...

been a really mad day since i found her...

Offline socachatter

• ey boy look ah make
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2008, 02:04:16 PM »
oh gosh girl!  sorry to hear that.  i hope they can help.  if not PM me and i will see if there is any other info i can get.  stay strong.

« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2008, 02:09:55 PM »

This part of your post hurt my heart.
Hope all goes well Kandi...be strong

« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2008, 02:50:04 PM »

I hope you are able to be strong for them. In my prayers

« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2008, 03:11:57 PM »
Check yuh PM

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2008, 05:57:56 PM »
thank you all for the advice and words of hope. visited her at the GH this evening and she is doing fine physically, emotionally not to well ( unfortunate situation that has led to this) and will have to see a psychiatrist before she is released. Depending on the assistance and advice she gets then i guess i'll figure out where and how i'll try to get her help myself.

« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2008, 07:47:30 PM »
My prayers are for you both and your families.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2008, 08:17:27 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.