March 28, 2024, 02:48:46 PM

Author Topic: Minor League Thread.  (Read 37488 times)

Dream Team crush Eastern Police 10-3
« Reply #120 on: August 14, 2019, 01:06:06 PM »
Dream Team crush Eastern Police 10-3
By Narissa Fraser (T&T Newsday)

Dream Team showed Eastern Division Police what they can do, with a ruthless 10-3 drubbing in the 2019 Fishing Pond League on Sunday, at the North Oropouche Recreation Ground.

Dream Team, a former league winner, showed no mercy to the newcomers in a Group B clash.

In Group A, North Oropouche FC made a winning start on their home ground, securing a 2-0 result against Fishing Pond Youths, with goals from Ravi Gayasingh and Immanuel Russell.

On Saturday, All Stars were outshone 5-3 by the Manzanilla Challengers in Group B, at the Manzanilla Recreational Ground. Javon La Foucade, Shelaard Greaux, Dwayne Baptiste and Salem Lloydie, with a double, got their names on the scoresheet for the Challengers. All Stars had a double from Jordan Hernandez and a solitary strike from Kwesi Fisher but still slipped to their second straight defeat. Action continues this weekend with doubleheaders at the Manzanilla Recreation Ground and North Oropouche Ground.

Weekend fixtures

Saturday: G Madrid vs Block One United (5.15pm); Gremio vs Manzan United (7pm, Manzan Ground)

Sunday: Manzan Challengers vs Pinto United (6pm); Boys Town vs Eastern Division police (8pm, North Oropouche Ground)

Re: Minor League Thread.
« Reply #121 on: August 24, 2019, 02:09:05 PM »
Seed of Greatness, Pinto win in Fishing Pond
By Stephon Nicholas (T&T Newsday)

SEED of Greatness handed Block One United another defeat as action continued in the Fishing Pond Football League,on Saturday, at the Manzanilla Recreation Ground. Goals from Keron James and Tyreke Agard put Seed of Greatness in front, with Deion Robinson pulling one back for Block One United before the break. However, Ronaldo Ragoo put the result beyond doubt with a second half strike for Seed of Greatness.

Also, on Saturday, Manzan United continued their red-hot start with a 3-1 victory over defending champions Gremio. The 2018 winners were smashed by Seed of Greatness in their opening match and have now slumped to their second straight defeat.

On Sunday, at North Oropouche Ground, Pinto United snatched a last-gasp winner over former champs Dream Team courtesy Sean Bernard. A vicious long range strike from Noel Charles had given Pinto the lead in the first half but Daniel Baptiste restored parity before the halftime interval. With both teams battling for the go-ahead goal, a draw looked the likely outcome when Bernard struck late to give Pinto the win.

In the second match of the doubleheader, last year's losing finalist Boys Town pummelled Eastern Division Police 7-2.

Teams are vying for a $20,000 first prize.

Weekend fixtures:

Saturday - Fishing Pond vs Manzan United (6pm), SP Boys vs Manzan Challengers (8pm)

Sunday - Boys Town vs All Stars (6pm), Block One United vs North Oropouche (8pm)

Venue: North Oropouche Ground

Big Yard whips 13 Posse in Kayo final
« Reply #122 on: October 06, 2019, 09:04:56 AM »
Big Yard whips 13 Posse in Kayo final
By Nigel Simon (T&T Guardian)

Three dif­fer­ent play­ers were on tar­get to earn Big Yard a 3-1 tri­umph over ri­vals 13 Posse in the Stan­ley Gomez Knock­out fi­nal of the 2019 BPTT Care­nage All-Star Foot­ball com­pe­ti­tion at the Haig Street Recre­ation Ground, Care­nage on Wednes­day night.

Kadeem Hutchin­son put Big Yard ahead in the $12,000 fi­nal, but Josi­mar Bel­grave drew 13 Posse lev­el.

For­mer na­tion­al youth play­er Che Ben­ny then re­stored Big Yard's nar­row lead be­fore Glen Walk­er fired in the third item to seal the vic­to­ry and the $7,000 first prize, while 13 Posse earned them­selves $5,000 for the sec­ond spot.

In the semi­fi­nals on Sun­day last, Ben­ny scored the lone goal to earn Big Yard a 1-0 win over T&T De­fence Force 1st En­gi­neer­ing Bat­tal­ion while Josi­mar Bel­grave, his broth­er Eli­jah Bel­grave and Levi Ser­ries were all on tar­get for 13 Posse a 3-2 win over Emer­ald FC.

Ster­ling O’Brien and Ri­car­do Ben­nett got a goal each in the loss for Emer­ald.

When the two quar­ter­fi­nal match­es con­test­ed 13 Posse held off Mt Pleas­ant 4-3, and Emer­ald FC got the bet­ter of One Unit­ed 7-6 on sud­den-death penal­ty-kicks af­ter a 1-1 full-time score.

A week ear­li­er when the knock­out be­gan there was no short­age of goals as Big Yard, Emer­ald FC, 13 Posse and T&T De­fence Force 1st En­gi­neer­ing Bat­tal­ion won their match­es.

On Wednes­day, Emer­ald FC trounced Care­nage Role Mod­els 3-0, 13 Posse spanked Ra­zor Edge 5-1, Big Yard pound­ed Green Pas­tures 8-0 and 1st En­gi­neer­ing Bat­tal­ion si­lenced Scor­pi­on FC 3-1.

Tonight (Sat­ur­day, Oc­to­ber 5), Scor­pi­on FC and 1st En­gi­neer­ing Bat­tal­ion will do bat­tle in the $23,000 ‘Big-Eight’ League fi­nal from 7 pm with $15,000 on of­fer for the cham­pi­ons, and $8,000 for the sec­ond.

Ear­li­er this month in the semi­fi­nals, Scor­pi­on used a dou­ble from Ty­rone Charles, and one from Shaquille Long to get past One Unit­ed 3-2, with Corneal Thomas and Jameel Nep­tune on tar­get for the lat­ter while Kevin Ca­pri­eta net­ted the lone item to earn 1st En­gi­neer­ing Bat­tal­ion a 1-0 tri­umph against Emer­ald FC. One Unit­ed de­feat­ed Emer­ald 2-0 for third place in the league.

Dream Team, Pinto clash for $20k today
« Reply #123 on: November 24, 2019, 11:53:12 AM »
Dream Team, Pinto clash for $20k today

DREAM TEAM will face Pinto United today with $20,000 up for grabs in the final of the Fishing Pond Football League at the Manzanilla Recreation Ground. The match kicks off at 6.30pm. The losers will take home $5,000.

Pinto United, coming off a battling 2-1 victory over Boys Town in the semi-finals are confident of winning their first Fishing Pond title, even without their injured star Brian Sequa. The attacker damaged his knee in the semi-finals and will not be fit in time for today’s match-up.

Pinto captain Clint Mark told Newsday Sequa’s absence will be felt but he believes they can overcome.

“We have back-up players, he will surely be missed but we have players capable,” he said.

Dream Team coach Hayden Diaz said it would be interesting to see how Pinto cope without Sequa’s attacking brilliance.

“Technically, since that team playing they don't have a long bench. That is a very good player they lose so it should affect them. In the last game they replaced him with an over-40 player but against them youths, it go be tough,” he said.

Mark said the team is drawing inspiration from their win over Boys Town which saw them rally from a goal down and the loss of Sequa, to hit back with two goals.

“That gave us a lot of confidence. We showed we can win without him,” Mark declared.

Today’s final will be the second meeting between Dream Team and Pinto for the season. Pinto won a close encounter 2-1 in the round robin phase but Mark feels Dream Team are an even tougher opponent now.

“We defeated them 2-1. We learned some lessons. We know they have a strong attack so our defence has to be strong too. It was a last minute goal. It was a tough game but we were on the luckier side with a last minute strike. I believe they a bit stronger right now.”

Known for their vociferous band of travelling supporters, Mark is hoping they will show up again to give the team that extra boost.

Diaz, looking to win his second Fishing Pond crown, said this Dream Team is very different in personnel from the team that won in 2013.

“It's a young generation, not the same team. More youths so it's the first final with them for Dream Team.”

Diaz said for several team members it will be their first final at the youth level and he is hoping the experienced players, such as skipper Kern Diaz and defender Markie Sylvester, keep the younger players calm.

Wary of the opponent’s strengths, Diaz urged his players to seize the initiative in the match.

“Stay focused, stay compact in first 20 minutes. They (Pinto) are a team with a little bit of luck in them. If they get the upper hand it will be difficult. We have to be on top of our game at all times.”

Caution FC crowned Mayaro double champs
« Reply #124 on: November 29, 2019, 04:07:16 PM »
Caution FC crowned Mayaro double champs
T&T Guardian

Cau­tion Foot­ball Club was crowned dou­ble cham­pi­ons of the BPTT Raza­ck Jan Memo­r­i­al Ma­yaro Foot­ball League when it cap­tured the knock­out tro­phy to add to their league ti­tle in a keen­ly-con­test­ed fi­nal at the Or­toire Recre­ation Ground last Sat­ur­day.

Trail­ing 2-0 to a ram­pant Maguaya Unit­ed FC in the first half, Cau­tion FC dom­i­nat­ed the sec­ond pe­ri­od to score three unan­swered goals to cap­ture the Knock­out crown and cash prize of $5,000.

Ar­chi­tects of Cau­tion FC’s stel­lar sea­son, man­ag­er/play­er Dami­an Williams and coach/play­er Edean­ho Pierre, both cred­it­ed the team’s suc­cess to hard work and per­son­al sac­ri­fices by the play­ers.

"We have been im­prov­ing as a team since we joined the league about five years ago. It has been hard work and sac­ri­fice and we are now reap­ing the re­wards as a club. As part of this league, we are very grate­ful for the sup­port by BPTT in pro­vid­ing this av­enue for the youths," said Pierre, Williams nod­ding in agree­ment.

Cau­tion FC who cap­tured the league ti­tle ear­li­er in the month took home the cham­pi­onship tro­phy and a fur­ther $10,000 at the prize dis­tri­b­u­tion cer­e­mo­ny which fol­lowed the knock­out fi­nal.

Maguaya Unit­ed dom­i­nat­ed the youth di­vi­sions, cap­tur­ing both the Un­der-15 and U-17 ti­tles, tak­ing home cheques of $5,000 for each vic­to­ry. They were run­ners-up in both the knock­out and league com­pe­ti­tions in the se­nior di­vi­sion. The club al­so field­ed three teams in the U-13 di­vi­sion where all five teams were award­ed $1,000 each from a de­vel­op­ment fund.

The BPTT Ma­yaro Foot­ball League, named af­ter late sports ad­min­is­tra­tor and com­mu­ni­ty work­er Raza­ck Jan, is fa­cil­i­tat­ed by the All-Ma­yaro Sports Foun­da­tion (AMSF) and ad­min­is­tered by Il­lu­sions In­ter­na­tion­al Sports Club. The league is run in four di­vi­sions: U-13, U-15, U-17 and Se­nior.

Matthew Pierre, Com­mu­ni­ty Li­ai­son Of­fi­cer, BPTT, thanked the or­gan­is­ers for com­plet­ing a suc­cess­ful sea­son with a to­tal of 20 teams par­tic­i­pat­ing.

"We are very hap­py that this league can boast of three youth di­vi­sions, which au­gurs well for the sus­tain­abil­i­ty of foot­ball in Ma­yaro," Pierre said.

AMSF pres­i­dent Bartholomew Lynch said com­pe­ti­tion in the var­i­ous di­vi­sions was very keen with a high stan­dard of play.

"This league is a nurs­ery for sev­er­al of our na­tion­al play­ers and our part­ner­ship with BPTT is pro­vid­ing a cat­a­lyst for the con­tin­ued de­vel­op­ment of foot­ball in the south-east­ern com­mu­ni­ties, not for­get­ting the build­ing of com­mu­ni­ty spir­it among the peo­ple," Lynch point­ed out.

Ho­n­our roll

Se­nior Di­vi­sion

League: 1 Cau­tion FC, 2 Maguaya Unit­ed, 3 Seed of Great­ness FC

Knock-Out: 1 Cau­tion FC, 2 Maguaya Unit­ed

MVP: Vic­tor Wait­he

Best Goal­keep­er: Ja­marie War­rick

Play­er with Most As­sists: Der­rick Ali

Most Goals: Deron Lewis

Most Dis­ci­plined Team: RL­RA Des­tiny Youths

U-17 Di­vi­sion

League: 1 Maguaya Unit­ed, 2 SP Boyz, 3 New­lands War­riors

MVP: Mick­el Morales

Best Goal­keep­er: Quin­dell Lazar

Play­er with Most As­sists: Nathaniel Bel­con

Most Goals: Mar­cus Green­way

U-15 Di­vi­sion

League: 1 Maguaya Unit­ed, 2 Ste Madeleine Strik­ers FC, 3 SP Boys FC

MVP: Kyrise Fron­tin

Best Goal­keep­er: Mekkel Phillip

Play­er with Most As­sists: Tevin Pan­tor

Most Goals: Omarie Camp­bell

U-13 Di­vi­sion

De­vel­op­ment Fund Award Re­cip­i­ents: Mafek­ing Unit­ed, Maguaya Unit­ed A, Maguaya Unit­ed B, Maguaya Unit­ed C, SP Boyz.

« Reply #125 on: February 18, 2020, 05:50:22 PM »
MaGuaya United were crowned as inaugural champions of the U-19 Community Invitational Tournament Championship on Sunday as they defeated Deportivo PF Youths 3-2 in the maiden final of the competition on Sunday at the Mayaro Recreation Ground.

« Reply #126 on: March 10, 2020, 07:12:34 AM »
Community Football League to honour ex national players DeLeon and Jones
By Narissa Fraser (T&T Newsday)

KEEPING with its slogan “Building communities through sport,” the 2020 Community Football League (CFL) is ready to kick off again. The league’s 2020 edition was officially launched, on Saturday evening, at the South-West Regional Indoor Arena, in Point Fortin.

It will feature a total of 14 teams – four more than in 2019 – in two groups. The top four teams from each group will then move on to the knock-out stage, with quarter-finals, semi-finals and final.

The new additions include teams from Palo Seco, Fyzabad, Erin and Egypt Village. The groups were named after two retired professional T&T footballers, who the CFL will also be honouring this year – Leroy DeLeon and Philbert Jones.

DeLeon’s prime was in the 70s as he was part of the national team and played in the US for teams like the New York Generals, the Washington Darts and the Miami Gatos. He was also inducted into the First Citizens Sports Foundation Hall of Fame in 2008.

Jones was a striker for the national team when it was known as the Strike Squad. He was also the assistant coach of T&T Pro League team United Petrotrin and is the uncle of former national captain Kenwyne Jones. Last year, the league honoured former players Larry Joseph and Russell Monroe.

This year’s winners will receive the championship trophy and $20,000. CFL chairman Reynold Carrington told the players not to lose focus on what the league is trying to achieve.

“You are not just representing yourself, you are not only representing football. You are representing your communities.

“Play hard, play fair and play to win. I don’t want you going out there to give away no points.”

In the Jones group are the defending champions – Guapo, Point Ligoure, New Village, La Brea, Fanny Village, Erin, and Vance River.

And in the DeLeon group are Techier, Mahaica, Lake View, Cedros, Fyzabad, Palo Seco and Egypt.

CFL vice-chairman Sean Eastman said last year, the team did not expect the “overwhelming response” the league got and that he is very thankful.

“When we did our analysis, we thought we would not have seen that type of growth until the next three years and we were surprised by the way everybody gravitated.

“The communities were overwhelming. They supported in every aspect.”

He said the 2019 season was a successful one and he’s looking forward to the continued support this year.

“Not just because we had great football on the field, excellent talent, excellent skill, excellent display, but we also saw the connection of the community and that’s one of the aspects that was very important for us.”

The first two games kick off on Friday as Cedros takes on Palo Seco at 6 pm and New Village will face Guapo. Both games will be played at the Mahaica Oval in Point Fortin.

Other weekend fixtures

(all matches to be held at the Mahaica Oval):

Saturday

Point Ligoure v Vance River – 6 pm

Mahaica v Lake View - 8 pm

Sunday

La Brea vs Fanny Village – 6 pm

Fyzabad v Techier – 8 pm

Crown Trace complete double at Carapichaima Youth League
« Reply #127 on: March 13, 2020, 08:07:28 PM »
Crown Trace complete double at Carapichaima Youth League
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday)

CROWN TRACE FC completed the double, with victories in the Under-18 and Under-16 round-robin categories, at the 20th annual Carapichaima Youth Football Super League.

Action continued on Saturday last, at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva.

Crown Trace’s Under-18 team humiliated Cap Off Youths B 12-0 with Malik Robinson (seventh, 39th and 58th minutes) and Isaiah Samuel (10th, 40th and 53rd) each scoring hat-tricks.

Isack Lynch (16th and 35th) contributed a pair, while Terron Miller (19th), Reasean Britto (31st), Marcus Peters (33rd) and Mckeil Alexander (55th) got one each.

There was another Under-18 fixture staged on Saturday, with Anderson Gibson scoring in the 60th minute as Cap Off Youths A edged W Connection 1-0.

Crown Trace secured their Under-16 crown after defeating Trincity Nationals 1-0, courtesy of a goal from Nickosi Martin, after 51 minutes.

St Madeline Strikers pipped Cap Off Youths 3-2 in the day’s other Under-16 contest. Josiah Cooper (fourth and 44th) and Jabari Forbes (ninth) were the goal-getters for St Madeline Strikers, while Anthony Mohammed (20th) and Anderson Gibson (34th) responded for Cap Off Youths.

« Reply #128 on: June 29, 2020, 03:58:36 AM »
COVID-19 forces QPCC to let go CEO, staff.
By Vinode Mamchan (Guardian).

The nation's wealthiest and most renowned cricket club Queen's Park has been hit hard by the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic that started in March and as a result, the club was forced to make drastic changes brought on by force majeure.

A force majeure event refers to the occurrence of an event that is outside the reasonable control of a party and which prevents that party from performing its obligations under a contract. Queen's Park would have lost a lot of revenue from rentals of space at the Oval and also from contracts that would have been signed for international events.

With the advent of Covid-19, there is no recourse in terms of recouping the lost revenue and as such, the club has had to make changes to its structure to survive these turbulent financial times.

Speaking to Guardian Media Sports on Tuesday Ruthven Jack, the club's treasurer said: "We saw the closure of the restaurants All Out and Jaffa during the Covid-19 lockdown. These are our tenants so we would not have collected revenue from them for this period. We also had to close the Pavilion which is another revenue stream that went dry. The South African team was scheduled to come to Trinidad and Tobago to play at the Oval which is another lost opportunity to gain revenue. If CPL plays here there will be no crowds so we might just break even with the rental fees we will get. We have loans, we have overdrafts to take care of and with no money coming in it has been difficult. We have had to draw a line and cut a clean slate to move forward."

The management of the Queen's Park Cricket Club has sent home their Chief Executive officer (CEO) Allan Clayton, as well as several of what Jack termed staff that is considered variable expenses. The 124-year old club has kept administrative staff which falls under fixed expenses.

Jack explained: "We hope to survive, our year-end comes at the end of June and we have been taking it month by month." Going forward the club is expected to use a new staff structure to improve their bottom line and stay afloat. We have sent home the workers we see as variable expenses. By this, I mean those that are there for events. It makes no sense to keep a full staff when there are no events to make money. It just does not make any sense. What we will do is to make use of the staff we are letting go when we have an event. So they will come in and work the event. However, we cannot afford to keep them on fulltime as the revenue for that is just not there anymore. Times are uncertain and we had to make this decision to keep the club going. The administrative staff is still there and they have been doing a good job of keeping this moving. We intend with the new structure in terms of the staff to run the club successfully."

Jack said that it takes a huge amount of money to keep such a vast sporting arena in top shape. He used the club's electricity bill as an example. "Let me just say that the maintenance alone on this facility is very costly. The electricity bill comes in around $100,000 a month. This is very costly and we have to keep those lights on because if we had switched it off during the Covid-19 we would have incurred further loss as they may have become unfunctional.

He said: "Even those panels on the electrical scoreboard. Just last week we took a look at it and there are panels that need repairs. We then have to rent equipment to get up there to find out what is the problem and then keep it there until the problem is fixed. This is just an example of the kind of expense that pops up. We have kept most of the ground staff because if we don't tend to the outfield it will deteriorate to an extent that may see us having to spend $4M to replay the turf and outfield which we did a little while ago."

He continued to show just how difficult it is to keep the local cricketing Mecca alive and well. "If there are CPL games we will charge a rental fee. The club is a private one, so I can't reveal the figures, however, we might just break even under the new guidelines.

"There will be no crowd, so revenue will be lost, as we cannot rent the huskers and other tenants who normally sell at the venue. However, we will still have all the expenses as if there was a crowd on hand. This is the tough part for us because we will still have to pay for security, we will still need a bomb sweep before the players arrive. More than that we will still have to sanitize the Oval before games. And given the new protocols, we will be sanitizing areas a lot more. So our bills will continue to mount.

"We have good management in place and we are confident that we will get through these difficult times and all will be well at the Oval."

« Reply #129 on: July 27, 2020, 03:43:21 AM »
West Fort, TTMA team up to stay covid19 free.
By Jelani Beckles (Newsday).

RECENTLY-FORMED local football team Real West Fort United are trying to protect its players from the covid19 pandemic as the club have formed a partnership with the TT Manufacturers Association (TTMA).

The TTMA has given sanitisation stations to the club, which would be used at training sessions and matches.

West Fort United were one of the first teams to begin training after the relaxing of covid19 regulations by the Government and the club have also led the way in ensuring that sanitisation protocols have been followed.

In a media release, West Fort United’s technical director Ron La Forest said, "I am very happy to receive the sanitisation stations as we seek to stay covid free as a responsible organisation. The health and wellness of our players and staff is top priority."

Shurland Hartley, the team’s general secretary, echoed the sentiments of La Forest.

"This is a very important partnership for us as we go forward because the health of all our stakeholders is of the utmost importance. The sanitisation station coupled with the strict following of social distancing etcetera puts us to the head of the class, a position we will like to be in, in all of our endeavours.”

West Fort United are also fighting the effects of covid19 off the field with hamper distributions.

Real West Fort United continue to prepare for the Ascension League, tentatively carded to start on August 14.

« Reply #130 on: October 03, 2020, 03:10:49 AM »
Frustration as Manzan football tourney incomplete after 1 year.
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (Newsday).

THE semifinalists in the 2019 Manzanilla Football Competition have expressed concern that organisers of the tournament have reneged on an agreement and refused to pay prize money for the tournament until all matches are completed. The tournament, which kicked off in October last year, was originally scheduled to be held over a two-month period but to date, the semi-final round and final are yet to be played.

The teams in the semi-finals are Take That and Cool It, Dream Team, Manzanilla Block 3 and Eastern Police.

Competing teams paid $1,000 registration with approximately 18 players per team. The tournament was held at North Manzanilla Grounds.

Since the completion of the quarter-final stage last year, the four advancing teams were told a date would be set for the remaining matches. However, according to Take That and Cool It manager Sherwin Joseph, the organisers kept delaying the tourney’s resumption.

When the covid19 pandemic hit TT in March, all sporting facilities were closed and team sports banned to prevent the spread of the virus. During this time, organisers told teams that the final two stages would be completed as soon as the restrictions were lifted.

On June 22, the Prime Minister allowed lifted some team sports restrictions as covid19 cases were under control.

Joseph said attempts were made to contact organisers for an update but no new information was forthcoming.

The four team managers allegedly visited the home of one of the tournament’s organisers an agreed that the cash rewards for the top-three teams ($15,000, $7,500 and $3,000) would be combined and divided among them on August 19.

Joseph said a former MP for Toco/Sangre Grande was also made aware of the situation and sought to assure the teams the money would be paid.

“When that day came (August 19), plans changed and organisers decided they wanted to play the remaining matches. However, the covid19 restrictions were re-implemented so no football could get under way.

“That entire week we kept trying to contact the organisers and nobody answered. It leaves us with nothing now,” Joseph complained.

Newsday also spoke to an Eastern Police representative, who reiterated Joseph’s claims.

Speaking on the condition of anonymity, the Eastern Police representative said, “They kept giving us the run around until the covid19 excuse came up. They made empty promises. They keep telling us they have the funds but nothing has been done since. Up to today (Friday) I tried to call (former MP). I’m trying to be as professional and transparent as possible.”

Unsuccessful PNM candidate in the 2019 local government election Nigel Safe, whose name was on the flyer promoting the competition, on Friday acknowledged speaking to the teams when they had proposed dividing the prize money. He said he was okay with that but when he approached the organising committee with that arrangement, they refused to accept it.

He said committee members said the tournament was held to build community spirit and just disbursing the prize money would defeat the purpose of the competition.

Safe assured the semifinalists that the money is there to pay the prizes. He said when team sports can resume the remaining matches will be advertised and the community will be given “a proper football closing.”

Newsday spoke to another member of the organising committee who said, “They have to wait for the Prime Minister to say when football can resume. Everybody will play and they will get their prizes.”

« Last Edit: March 09, 2021, 05:54:52 PM by Flex »

« Reply #132 on: March 09, 2021, 02:26:48 AM »
“Our idea is to be an example so that the Latino community throughout TT is encouraged and in each city create their teams and we can one day, with the support of the authorities, have a Latin soccer league and perhaps, why not, compete with the champions of the local leagues,” considers coach Garcia.

https://www.socawarriors.net/minor-leagues/23568-guerreros-fc-aim-to-bring-latino-spice-to-t-t-football.html

Not a fan of that idea.

He and a team are preparing a proposal to take it to the TT Soccer Federation and the Ministry of Sports.

Lazy journalism by Newsday.

It is compounded by the accompanying photo being captioned 'A new children's soccer school is starting in the Nelson Mandela Park in Puerto Espana, directed by a Venezuelan coach.'
« Last Edit: March 09, 2021, 05:54:59 PM by Flex »

Offline ffisback

« Reply #133 on: March 14, 2021, 04:38:30 AM »
https://www.socawarriors.net/minor-leagues/23568-guerreros-fc-aim-to-bring-latino-spice-to-t-t-football.html

This is a great idea Venezuelan teams always had good support in Trinidad and if Venezuelan professional coach's are now migrating to Trinidad they should be able to form teams to compete in the leagues in Trinidad this will lift the standard of coach's players and teams in Trinidad.

« Reply #134 on: March 14, 2021, 05:46:17 AM »
Cool!

« Reply #135 on: March 14, 2021, 07:23:20 AM »

This is a great idea Venezuelan teams always had good support in Trinidad and if Venezuelan professional coach's are now migrating to Trinidad they should be able to form teams to compete in the leagues in Trinidad this will lift the standard of coach's players and teams in Trinidad.

That is different from forming a league of Venezuelan teams (which is what was projected in the article).

Tiger Tanks to invest $1.5M in U-20 football tourney
« Reply #136 on: November 16, 2021, 07:59:57 PM »
Tiger Tanks to invest $1.5M in U-20 football tourney
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian)

A $1.5-million-dollar Tiger Tanks-sponsored Under-20 Football Tournament is set to kick off in February next year and is expected to be used in the future for the preparation of national teams.

Dennis Latiff, Tiger Tanks' general manager revealed his plans on Tuesday but he made it clear that play will be subjected to the government's return-to-play orders regarding the COVID-19 pandemic. Latiff, an emerging sporting pride in the southland, said the tournament will be held for one month among 14 selected teams, 10 from Trinidad and the other four from the sister isle of Tobago, with the winner due to cash in on a $20, 000 first prize cheque and $10, 000 for the runner-up.

Latiff told Guardian Media Sports on Tuesday that the prize structure could change before the start of the tournament, as the quantity of potential sponsors increases. However, if all goes well with the tournament it will lead to a resulting Under-20 League to be held at a time to be decided, Latiff said.

Latiff's $1.5 million output will include monies for prizes, investment to have live matches and other games on television, payment of two uniforms each (home and away) for every team, insurance for all players, payment of officials (referees, linesmen, commissioners), sponsorship for a social media platform, sponsorship for marketing of the tournament, and a $1,500 incentive for the best defender, best midfielder, best forward, best coach, most goals and man of the match.

He said, invitations were sent to 24 teams from both the T&T Pro League and the T&T Super League, but FC Santa Rosa, a Super League contender has refused to accept, while three other teams La Horquetta Rangers, Cunupia FC and Point Fortin Civic FC are undecided about their participation.

" In the first instance, it is going to be a tournament and after we see how that takes off then it may turn into a league. It will be like the 10 teams here. The Tobago teams will play each other twice in a round-robin play-off, but in Trinidad, we're not too sure because we're looking at the times and so on, that we will get for the stadia, but most likely, it would be each one play one another over here. We haven't gotten permission as yet, everything is being planned and whenever the government says that we're able to play football, whatever guidelines that they have in place, we will put in place. So it's just preparation for when football opens. When that happens we will have everything there and ready to go. The only thing that will be put in place then will be the guidelines for COVID-19," Latiff explained.

He continued. "I want to help with this league to prepare national teams. I am not saying we're only picking national people from it, but I want to use this to prepare national teams. A lot more will come pretty soon with this league, we should be laying out things by Friday (November 19) of this week. It was supposed to be last Friday but there was a little setback, some people got sick and so on and I had to wait on them to finish something that they didn't finish."

He gave the assurance that all teams, coaches, officials, spectators and everyone who would be involved in the tournament will be required to be fully vaccinated in accordance with government's 'vaccinate to operate' mandate.

On November 5, the Minister of Health Terrance Deyalsingh blanked a proposal by the Ascension Football Tournament of T&T to have a League played in an all-vaccinated environment. That League was scheduled to incorporate teams from both the T&T Super League and T&T Pro League etc and was expected to be guided by some 30 rules and regulations to guard against the COVID-19 pandemic.

« Reply #137 on: May 05, 2022, 05:41:36 AM »
Declan Marcelle, Kevon Woodley double up in Sweet Sixteen Football
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday).

DECLAN Marcelle and Kevon Woodley both notched a brace to lead their teams to victory in the opening weekend of the Sweet Sixteen Football League at the Ojoe Road Recreational Grounds in Sangre Grande.

On Saturday, Marcelle’s two goals led Mayaro Utd to a 3-2 win over Cool It.

Isa Bramble also found the back of the net for Mayaro. For Cool It, Dorean Robinson and Collin Samuel were on target.

In the other match, on Saturday, Dream Team and Generation Next played to a 0-0 draw.

On Sunday, Wolf Pack easily got past Matura 4-1.

Woodley scored two goals for Wolf Pack and Rayan O’Neil and Andell Allsop were also on target.

Mathias Williams grabbed a consolation goal for Matura.

Futuristic made a winning start to their campaign emerging with a 2-1 victory over Tamana.

Nyron Seepersad and Luve Francis scored for Futuristic and Lawrence Theodore struck for Tamana.

Matches will continue on Thursday with Valencia Utd playing Overcome at 7 pm and Damarie Hill tackling G Madrid at 9 pm.

« Reply #138 on: June 27, 2022, 02:00:02 AM »
Cool It, Athletico notch wins in Sweet 16 Football.
By Stephon Nicholas (T&T Newsday).

COOL IT FC held off a spirited challenge from D'Amarie Hill on Thursday to stay top of Group A in the Sweet Sixteen Football League at the Ojoe Road Recreation Ground, Sangre Grande.

The 3-2 victory was of keen interest to Boys Town who had earlier defeated Tamana 9-1 to stay in contention for a spot in the knockout rounds.

On an uneven playing surface, D'Amarie struck the first blow in the 14th minute through winger Carlon Nicholas who was left unmarked on the far post to head home a right-sided cross.

But D'Amarie's joy was short-lived as Cool It's Keron Cummings responded one minute later with a blistering free kick that went through the hands of the D'Amarie goalie.

Nicholas was proving a handful for the Cool It defence down the left flank with his pace and trickery, but it was Cool It who go the go-ahead goal in the 33rd through some individual brilliance.

Forward Dorian Robinson collected a long pass on the left and before his defender had time to settle, he drilled a low shot at the near post which caught the goalie napping.

Cummings got his second of the match just before the half, racing toward goal from a diagonal pass before tucking the ball into the net after his first attempt was saved.

D'Amarie looked a defeated team heading into the break but they reduced the deficit almost immediately upon the resumption. Nicholas met a right-sided corner with a powerful header which rebounded off the cross bar to teammate Ricardo Bennett who stabbed it home to make it 3-2.

Cool It lost their composure a bit but goalkeeper Kyle Ferreira kept his focus with two crucial second-half saves to repel any threat until the final whistle,

On Friday, Athletico took care of Dream Team 2-0 in Group B action.

Dream Team almost had the perfect start when a defensive mistake resulted in Kern Diaz being sent clean through on goal, but his attempted chip went awry and failed to test the Athletico goalie.

Athletico skipper Jeron Jones had a header flash narrowly wide of the upright at the other end off a Sheldon Nesbit cross.

It was end-to-end action as right winger Akeem Dandrade's outside-of-the-foot pass set up Devonte Felix on goal but his tame shot was easily saved as the half ended goalless.

Athletico made it 1-0 in the 48th courtesy Amiel Weekes who tapped in a low cross in the six-yard box.

Needing to chase the game, Dream Team looked lost on the field in the second half.

Gerald Meloney put them out their misery in the 82nd with an emphatic finish after a pinpoint cross from the left. Meloney, ghosting in unmarked, with a side-foot volley from the penalty spot that gave the Dream Team goalie no chance.

On Saturday, Boys Town beat Futuristic 3-0 and Generation Next defeated Overcome 3-1.

« Reply #139 on: June 30, 2022, 03:59:38 PM »
Ginga, Premier SC set pace in Crown Trace tournament
T&T Express

FC GINGA and Premier Soccer Club lead Group A and Group B, respectively, in the Crown Trace Under-18 Showcase Football League currently taking place at the Centre of Excellence, in Macoya.

Managed by Allstars International Sporting Tours, 11 Under-18 teams are contesting the event; Cantaro Utd, Allstars Int, FC Ginga, Crown Trace FC, Premier SC, Trendsetter Hawks, St Madeleine, Santa Cruz Utd, World-Class Soccer Clinic, MIC Tigers and Chaguanas North Secondary.

Matches are scheduled on weekends, every Saturday and Sunday, from 10 a.m.-4 p.m. with all games being played at the Centre of Excellence turf facility.

Tournament Director, Nicholas Griffith, was very pleased with the level of early competition. “The TNT U-18 Showcase League is more than just a league, it’s a perfect opportunity not just for players to showcase their talent locally here, but to gain access to scholarship opportunities, understand the scholarship, and build their profile as athletes, which is crucial to their success as recruitment process athletes,” stated Griffith.

RESULTS:

FC Ginga 5 vs Cantaro 1

St Madeleine Strikers 3 vs Chaguanas North Sec 0

Premier SC 0 vs Santa Cruz Utd 0

Crown Trace FC 4 Mic Tigers 2

World-Class 3 vs Trendsetters Hawks 3

FC Ginga 6 vs World-Class 2

Cantaro Utd 1 vs Crown Trace 1

St Madeleine Strikers 2 vs Santa Cruz Utd 1

STANDINGS:

[GROUP A]

Teams P W D L GF GA GD PTS

FC Ginga 3 2 1 0 11 3 8 7

Crown Trace 3 1 2 0 5 3 2 5

Trendsetter Hawks 2 1 1 0 9 3 6 4

Cantaro Utd 2 1 1 0 2 6 -4 3

World-Class 2 1 1 0 5 9 -4 1

MIC 2 0 2 0 2 10 -8 0

[Group B]

Teams P W D L GF GA GD PTS

Premier 4 4 0 0 17 1 16 12

St Madeleine 3 2 0 0 6 3 3 6

Allstars 3 1 0 2 6 11 -5 3

Chaguanas North 3 1 0 2 3 11 -8 3

Santa Cruz 3 0 0 3 2 9 -7 0

« Reply #140 on: July 01, 2022, 02:39:41 PM »
Petit Valley/Diego Martin Utd host seminar for junior footballers
T&T Newsday

THE management of the Petit Valley/Diego Martin (PVDM) Utd Football Club hosted a one-day seminar entitled Bridging the Gap: From Adolescence to Adulthood for the players attached to the team ages 16-21. The seminar was held, on Saturday.

The seminar came on the heels of the team’s notable performance at the recently completed Tiger Tanks Football tournament, where they received accolades for the most disciplined team.

A media release by the club, said, “PVDM Utd FC is a non-profit organisation constructed on the basis of integrity, education, sports, health and welfare for the enrichment of the youth in the community. In accordance with its core values, the football club continues to look for ways to keep young people off the streets and empower them to become self-sufficient in an evolving world.”

At the seminar, participants were enlightened on topics such as interview skills: Preparing for the world of work, health and wellness, financial management, effective communication skills, and fraud awareness and choices.

Thought leaders in those respective fields shared their knowledge and insights with the young men, with the objective that the exercise would assist them in their further development.

Pamela Williams of Pamela Williams and Associates, psychologist Denise Jittan-Johnson, Ryan Ottley of the TT Defence Force, Derrick Sharbodie of the T&T Police Service, Aaron Persad of RBC, Terrel Duncan of RBC and Jaron Nurse, who provided entertainment during the proceedings, all contributed. Ross Russell Jnr of local football club Terminix La Horquetta Rangers gave a special testimonial on his journey which was well-received by all participants.

“The management of the PVDM Utd FC wishes to sincerely thank RBC Royal Bank for its support in assisting to roll out this seminar and to thank all facilitators for giving of their time to support the youth of T&T.”

« Reply #141 on: July 10, 2022, 02:28:37 PM »
Rangers, Vision United victorious in Laventille/Beetham Football 7s
T&T Newsday

JOSHUA ALEXANDER scored the lone item to power Rangers to a 1-0 victory over Love and Life in the final of the Football 7s tournament at the Beetham Gardens Recreation Ground. The tournament featured 14 teams from the Laventille and Beetham community as well as Port of Spain and Environs and the East West Corridor over the past six weeks.

It was sponsored by the Miscellaneous Group and co-hosted by the Beetham Gardens Sporting Academy and the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF).

Rangers took home the $8,000 first prize as they held off a stiff challenge from Love and Life before an appreciate crowd of around 500 spectators at the Beetham venue. Isaiah Leacock of Love and Life took home the $1,000 cheque and the trophy for the Leading Goalscorer, while Alexander took away the MVP (Most Valuable Player) award of $1,000 and a trophy.

Love and Life received $4,000 for their runners-up finish and First Touch, who were third, walked away with $2,000.

In attendance was Minister of National Security and Member of Parliament for Laventille West Fitzgerald Hinds, former Trinidad and Tobago captain Khaleem Hyland and Miscellaneous Group CEO Sham Mohammed.

Hinds commended the efforts of the organisers and participants.

“I am very happy to know that this has been organised by the community and supported by Miscellaneous. We have naturally so a lot of talent in this country and most of the talent you will find in communities like these. Laventille produced all kinds of top level talent in cricket, basketball, football.. in all aspects of human endeavour,” Hinds said.

“It really gives opportunity to those who scout to see the talent. It gives an opportunity to those who play to demonstrate their skill and talent but most of all this has a way of healing the community and pulling the community together,” Hinds added.

Albert Sprott, representative of the Beetham Gardens Sporting Academy, echoed similar sentiments.

“I took the opportunity to run this tournament with the help of the people in the community and of course Mr Sham Mohammed who came together with me to host this very successful event," Sprott said. "Definitely this is good for community building. There were so many teams from Beetham and environs, Sea Lots, Belmont, Morvant and as far as Tunapuna. You look around and see so many people involved in terms of providing support which makes it so interesting to have teams coming into our community.

“People view our community with a bad stigma and therefore this is so important to show people that we can have an incident free tournament right here in Beetham,” Sprott added.

Shaun Fuentes, representative of Miscellaneous and Pushing Limits said the group’s intention was to continue supporting these type of community building initiatives.

“These are opportunities we are always looking to create for community building and empowerment. History shows that some of the best talent in our sporting history has come out of areas such as Laventille, Morvant and other similar communities. From (Russell) Latapy to (Dennis) Lawrence, you name it,” Fuentes said.

“The pandemic forced a bit of a break in our hosting of these football 7s tournament as you would recall we hosted several of these events at Sogren Trace Ground prior to the pandemic. We resumed hosting last month with a Football 7s tournament in honour of the deceased Kareem Charles who was a member of Laventille United. That tournament attracted several teams from the Laventille community and we are looking to expand on this sort of interest and progress over the coming months.”

Vision United topped the Kareem Charles tournament table with 24 points from eight matches and later defeated B-Boys 2-1 in a final playoff to walk away with the $12,000 winners cheque. B-Boys received $7,000 for their efforts in placing second in the final that took place on June 12 at Sogren Trace.

« Reply #142 on: July 10, 2022, 02:31:28 PM »
Diaz expects "competitive" Sweet Sixteen quarterfinals
By David Scarlett (T&T Newsday)

CO-FOUNDER of the Sweet Sixteen Football League, Yannick Diaz, is banging a drum of confidence ahead of the tournament’s quarterfinals set to take place this weekend in Sangre Grande.

The competition’s chief praised the execution of the league so far and believes that the bar can be raised in the latter stages.

In an interview with Newsday on Wednesday, Diaz stated, “The tournament has been very successful (so far), especially for the community. We have a high calibre of players in our competition including national players, Pro League players and players from the community who have the platform to play together and share an experience.”

“I believe that the league is the second highest-ranked league in the country behind the Ascension Tournament in terms of the prize money at stake, and the quality on the pitch – this is one of the toughest competitions there is.”

Diaz added, “The tournament also creates an income for the community by providing opportunities for food vendors and salesmen. The entire arrangement is a good initiative for all of Sangre Grande, and this was my vision since the first competition back in 2016.”

Ahead of this weekend’s quarterfinals, the Sweet Sixteen boss noted, “I expect a big crowd (depending on the weather), competitive football and competence from the officials. I know the quality on the field will be high because the teams that qualified for the ‘Big 8’ were solid in the group stages and are truly the best eight teams. No one can pinpoint one specific team as favourites to win the tournament and it is going to be tight from here on.”

The competition’s final eight teams are Dream Team, G Madrid, Mayaro United FC, Atletico FC, Manzan United, Cool It FC, Boystown Strikers and Wolfpack FC.

Cool It topped Group A with 18 points followed by G Madrid (17 points), Mayaro United (16 points) and Boystown Strikers (15 points).

Wolfpack FC finished top of the standings in Group B with 21 points. Atletico FC (17 points), Dream Team FC (16 points) and Manzan United (12 points) were second, third and fourth respectively.

Wolfpack’s Kevin Woodley finished the group stage as the top marksman with ten goals, while Dorian Robinson from Cool It FC scored nine. Devonte Felix (Dream Team) and Che Benny (Cool It) both trail the top two with eight goals as the hunt for the Golden Boot continues.

Dream Team and G Madrid will kick off this weekend’s proceedings on Friday at 7 pm. Following that fixture, Mayaro United will battle Atletico FC at 9 pm.

On Saturday, Boystown Strikers face Wolfpack FC at 7 pm and the contest between Manzan United and Cool It FC will complete the quarterfinal round.

All matches will be played at Ojoe Road Recreational Ground in Sangre Grande.

The semi-finals are carded for July 15 and 16, and the final is set for July 30.

« Reply #143 on: July 10, 2022, 02:39:55 PM »
Nice !!!

« Reply #144 on: July 12, 2022, 11:21:53 AM »
Ginga continue winning ways in Crown Trace U-18 league
By Donstan Bonn (T&T Express)

FC GINGA continued their winning ways in the Crown Trace Under-18 Showcase Football League, via a 3-0 shutout of MIC Tigers last weekend.

In the first match of Match Day 8 at the Centre of Excellence in Macoya, Ronaldo Rogers netted a brace for the Group A table toppers, while Jevaughn Drakes also found the back of the net, taking his goal tally to six in four matches, taking pole position in the most goals table.

In another Group A match-up, host team Crown Trace FC kept pace with leaders FC Ginga after getting the better of Trendsetters Hawks FC by a 2-1 margin, in what was a very close match.

Nichosi Martin opened the scoring for Crown Trace in the 34th minute, only for Trendsetters to draw back on level terms with an equaliser.

However, Alex Pope ensured Crown Trace collected all there points when he scored the match winner with a beautiful finish in the 80th minute.

And having registered a draw and a loss in their campaign to date, World-Class defeated Cantaro UTD 4-1 to secure their first win of the tournament.

In a Group B contest in what was the final match of the day, Chaguanas North secured a much-needed win, and secured a berth in the quarter-finals, coming away 2-1 winners over Santa Cruz United. Karel Wells scored a goal on either side of halftime to pace them to victory.

Results:

FC Ginga 3 vs MIC Tigers 0
World-Class 4 vs Cantaro UTD 1
Crown Trace FC 2 vs Trendsetters Hawks FC 1
Chaguanas North 2 vs Santa Cruz United 1

« Reply #145 on: July 16, 2022, 09:22:29 AM »
G Madrid into Sweet Sixteen semis after dramatic shootout
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (T&T Newsday)

G MADRID advanced to the semi-finals of the Sweet Sixteen Football League after defeating Dream Team 6-5 in a drama-filled penalty shootout at Ojoe Road Recreational Ground, Sangre Grande on July 8

After regulation time, both teams were locked at 1-1 courtesy Dream Team’s eighth minute opening goal from Ricardo Alleyne, which was matched by G Madrid’s Devonte Lewis nine minutes later. The score remained level at the end of 90 minutes and penalties were required.

But during the penalty shootout, the Dream Team’s goalkeeper tried his best to hold on to a shot but the ball rolled over the goalline. The goalie however, pulled it back into his arms.

The linesman waved his flag to confirm the goal was scored but Dream Team players and technical staff disagreed. Tempers flared and the match official was physically assaulted.

The police were called in to quell the situation and according to a tournament official, “That matter is now in the hands of the police”.

Also advancing to the semi-final round are Cool It FC, Mayaro United FC and Boystown.

In the high scoring quarter-final, Manzanilla went ahead via a Jesus Perez strike in the 12th minute. An error in the back saw Manzanilla’s Kernel La Fon gift Cool It an own-goal in the 26th minute to level the score.

Five minutes later, Cool It’s Adrian Francis sent them ahead, but their lead lasted just 60 seconds, as Manzanilla’s Brendon Figuero made it 2-2.

Cool It’s Kendall Jagdeosingh (42nd) and Darkeil Perreira (45th) restored the advantage before half time. Manzanilla’s Darion Robinson scored in the 70th to make it 4-3 but no more goals would come as Cool It held on for the win.

Additionally, Mayaro clawed back from two goals down to seal a semi-final place with a 3-2 win over Athletico FC. Athletico FC held a 2-0 lead after 19 minutes but Mayaro responded in the second half, through Avion Navarro (48th), Jerron Jones (83rd) and Kevin Garcia (fourth minute of stoppage time) to steal the win and semi-final spot.

Meanwhile, Wolfpack FC also won 3-1 via penalty kicks after finishing 2-2 against defending champions Boystown.

« Reply #146 on: July 24, 2022, 08:15:30 PM »
Cool It, Wolfpack in Sweet 16 Football final

COOL IT FC will battle Wolfpack on Saturday for $60,000 in the final of the Sweet Sixteen Football League at the Ojoe Road Recreation Ground, Sangre Grande.

Cool It held off a valiant challenge from G Madrid in the semis on Thursday to prevail 2-0 and secure their spot in the championship match.

Wolfpack had a more comfortable passage, prevailing 4-1 over 2020 finalists Athletico in a game played over two days owing to a lighting issue.

Cool It manager Sherwin "Pigeon" Joseph told Newsday his team is ready for whatever Wolfpack has to offer.

"Wolfpack is a good team. The two teams almost similar. We have a better defensive back. They have a few good goalscorers but we have the defenders to hold them. I'm not afraid," he said.

Joseph was full of praise for his midfielder Che Benny who was on target in the first half against G Madrid. The 2022 Caribbean Games futsal MVP had his imprint all over the first half with some dangerous crosses from both flanks and a clinical finish in the box.

"He is ah monster. All over he go, he does show up. He is a a player that yuh can't give him ah half ah chance - he go punish yuh."

G Madrid would be ruing their missed chances against Cool It including two strikes against the upright and one that rebounded off the crossbar.

The latter could have given them an early lead as midfielder Keron James got on the end of a low cross near the six-yard box but his first-time shot was pushed onto the crossbar by Cool It goalie Manual Nurse.

One minute later, the ball was in the back of the G Madrid net. Benny, drifting into the box from right to left, on his favoured left foot, eluded a couple of defenders before tucking the ball into the far corner.

Benny should have had a goal and an assist after finding Dorian Robinson with a pinpoint cross from the right, but the forward headed wide.

Robinson was again in the action on the end of a long diagonal pass but his right footer flashed wide as the half ended.

G Madrid came out desperate to keep their season alive and had Cool It pegged into their half under sustained pressure. A long-distance strike from Ricardo Alleyne almost knotted the scores but the ball cannoned off the left post.

Cool It tried to release some pressure by bringing on Willis Plaza off the bench and he almost brought immediate reward with some nifty footwork and a low shot that was held by G Madrid goalie Aaron Ali.

There was nothing Ali could do a few minutes later to stop Robinson from bulging his net with a header from a left-sided attack.

Cool It sub Daniel David had two late chances to put the icing on the cake and make it 3-0 but could not convert.

« Reply #147 on: August 01, 2022, 12:58:46 PM »
Wolf Pack rally to win Sweet 16 Football crown

WOLF Pack FC rallied from two goals down on Saturday night to snatch a thrilling 4-3 victory over Cool It FC, in extra time, in the final of the Sweet Sixteen Football League at the Ojoe Road Recreation Ground, Sangre Grande.

The win saw Wolf Pack FC pocket the $60,000 first prize while Cool It had to settle for $20,000.

In front of hundreds of fans, Wolf Pack went hunting for goals early. Star forward Kevon "Showtime" Woodley had a glorious chance to put his team in front but his header was saved by Cool It custodian Keston Aberdeen.

The Cool It defence was caught sleeping again as Woodley was played through on goal down the centre but took too long to pull the trigger as Aberdeen raced off his line to snuff out the danger.

Wolf Pack would be left ruing those misses as they found themselves trailing soon after.

Cool It left winger Brendon Figuero latched onto a hopeful ball over the defence and squared it across the goal for veteran striker Dorian "Bunny" Robinson to complete a simple tap in.

Cool It midfielder and Caribbean Games MVP Che Benny looked slightly off the pace with two uncharacteristic mis-controls but soon began to pull the strings.

Playing down the right flank, Benny cut inside on his favoured left foot and lifted a pass into the danger area where Robinson ghosted in to stab it into the goal.

Figuero's pace and trickery were proving a handful down the left and he almost had another assist with a cross, but Robinson's bullet header from close range was brilliantly tipped over the bar by Wolf Pack goalie Chervon De Sormeaux.

Robinson had another crack at goal soon after but his strike was blocked by a desperate lunge from a defender.

Against the run of play, Wolf Pack pulled one back through Denrick Eve in the 32nd minute. Slipped through on goal, Eve made no mistake with a cool finish past Aberdeen.

And on the stroke of halftime, Woodley struck to stun the Cool It supporters.

From a right-sided free kick, the 36-year-old outjumped his marker and contorted his body to guide a header into the net.

The goal seemed to deflate Cool It as the half-time whistle went almost immediately after.

Wolf Pack manager Brandon Maharaj told Newsday that the early deficit did not faze his team.

"To be honest, we are a team. We don't care about individuals. We always know that at the end of the day, once we stick to what we doing and what we believe, we will always come back – 2-0, 3-0, 4-0 down, that don't bother us. We will always play to the end," Maharaj said.

Wolf Pack came out hungry for goals in the second period and Woodley should have bagged his second on a lightning counter, but his low left-footed strike was drilled onto the outside of the post with Aberdeen frozen.

Woodley almost got the go-ahead goal after a mix-up between Aberdeen and his defence but central defender Perry Parris was there to clear the danger.

Confusion in the Cool It penalty box again gifted Wolf Pack their first lead of the match in the 74th. A long free kick from the half-line caused uncertainty between Aberdeen and his last defender. Woodley took full advantage of the hesitation to get his studs around the defender who was trying to shield him and poke the ball into the net.

Cool It looked devoid of ideas in the attacking third and resorted to long-range shots from captain Keron Cummings.

Their manager Sherwin "Pigeon" Joseph looked a frustrated man on the sideline engaging in a bit of banter with Woodley as the clock ticked.

However, his disappointment turned into glee as Jamal Antoine fired in the equaliser to send the match into extra time.

Wolf Pack were not to be denied, and a set piece again proved Cool It's undoing in the 93rd. Jameel Perry rose highest to meet a left-side corner with a textbook goodnight nod that directed the ball down into the far corner of the net.

With just six minutes a half in extra time, Cool It could not conjure another goal.

Maharaj said Wolf Pack FC, originally a hockey-post team, were deserved winners with better chemistry and style of play.

Asked about his goals and tit-for-tat with the Cool It manager, Woodley said he knew he would score as his two early misses would even themselves. "The game is about out-thinking your opponent, and that's something I'm good at. They tried to get in my head but that wouldn't work," he said.

In the earlier third-place match, Athletico beat G Madrid 2-1 to win the $7,000 prize.

« Reply #148 on: September 28, 2022, 05:38:55 AM »
Roach fires Sam Boucaud to Santa Cruz ‘Big Four’ title.
By Nigel Simon (T&T Guardian).

Akeem Roach fired in a hat-trick to lead Sam Boucaud to an emphatic 8-1 spanking of La Pastora in the ‘Big-Four’ final to bring the curtain down on the 2022 Santa Cruz Touring Team Community Football Tournament at the Brian Lara Recreation Ground in Sam Boucaud, Santa Cruz, on Saturday.

Trevor Charles added a pair of goals for Sam Boucaud who secured the Dale Mc Agency-sponsored $2,500 top prize while Nathaniel Perouse and David Paul also netted together with an own goal. La Pastora which pocketed $1,500 for the second spot got its lone reply from Isaiah Joseph.

In the semifinals at the same venue on Friday, September 23, Sam Boucaud edged Down D River 3-2 led by a brace from Terry Charles and one from Joshua Isaac to cancel out efforts from Jordan Britto, and Kerron Romany.

And in the other semifinal, La Pastora got a hat-trick from Trevon Lester to beat Pipiol 3-1 with Ryan Porter on target for the losers.

And in Saturday’s third-placed encounter Pipiol battled past Down D River 4-3 on penalty kicks after an entertaining 3-3 deadlock.

Earlier in the week, league champions, Sam Boucaud and Down D River were forced to share the Dale Mc Leod Agency-sponsored knockout crown after the match was abandoned with Sam Boucaud ahead 2-1.

In the semifinal, Down D River got a goal from Rene Britto, and an own goal to upstage Pipiol 2-1, with Corie Dhanoolal the scorer for the latter.

In the other semis, Sam Boucaud and Backstreet battled to an entertaining 2-2 draw before Sam Boucaud prevailed 4-2 on penalty kicks.

Sam Boucaud got a goal each from Stephan David, a penalty, and Che Benny during regulation-time while Back Street got items from Karim Pope and Simeon Bailey.

Sam Boucaud had earlier won the $10,000 Monteco Creations league title with 16 points from six matches, three ahead of Pipiol United.

Pipiol collected the Guillen Group of Companies-sponsored $5,000 for the second spot, while La Pastora secured the third spot and got $2,500 which was donated by Massy Motors.

The tournament sponsors included Monteco Creations Ltd, Guillen Realty, Dale Mc Leod Agency, Valley Sports Bar, Joanne David, National Lotteries Control Board (NLCB), Blue Waters, Uncle Beddoe’s Supermarket, Shirley David and Massy Motors.

RESULTS

Final

Sam Boucaud 8 (Akeem Roach 3, Trevor Charles 2, Nathaniel Perouse, David Paul, own goal) vs La Pastora 1 (Isaiah Joseph)

Third placed

Down D River 3 (Jamal Williams, Kerron Romany, Cadeem Jackie) vs Pipiol 3 (Victor De Silva 2, Ryan Porter) - Pipiol won 4-3 on penalty-kicks

Knockout - Final

Sam Boucaud vs Down D River - match was abadoned with Sam Boucaud leading 2-1 - prize shared

Honour Roll - League

Winners: Sam Boucaud - $10,000 sponsored by Monteco Creations and Monteco Cup

Second: Pipiol United - $5,000 sponsored by Guillen Group of Companies

Third: La Pastora - $2,500 sponsored by Massy Motors

Knock Out

Winners: Sam Boucaud - $2,000 sponsored by Massy Motors

Second: Down D River- $1,000 sponsored by Santa Cruz Touring Team

Big Four

Winners: Sam Boucaud - $2,500 sponsored by Dale Mc Leod Agency

Second: La Pastora- $1,500 sponsored by Dale Mc Leod Agency

Third: Pipiol United - $1,000 sponsored by Joanne David

Fourth: Down D River - $500 sponsored by Uncle Beddoe’s Supermarket

Most Goals: Darius Olliviera (Pipiol) - (trophy sponsored by Shirley David)

Most Valuable Player: Stephan David (Sam Boucaud) - (trophy sponsored by Shirley David)

« Reply #149 on: September 28, 2022, 11:25:30 AM »
Never knew it have a place called Sam Boucaud in Santa Cruz.  They clean up the prize money.