March 29, 2024, 03:25:29 AM

Author Topic: Is this Kaiso or Soca?  (Read 2217 times)

Is this Kaiso or Soca?
« on: May 19, 2008, 07:23:37 PM »
Allyuh is this Kaiso or Soca?..ah see one of de posters ask de question

http://youtube.com/watch?v=uUADTDFIl1I&feature=related

Re: Is this Kaiso or Soca?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2008, 08:27:38 PM »
What is actually the technical difference? What I've wanted to know is how do you describe the rhythms in a classical sense. For example for reggae it would be: 4/4 time, accents on the 3rd beat in each bar, there being four beats in a bar, the rhythm guitar coming in on the 2nd and 4th.

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2008, 05:58:02 PM »
What is actually the technical difference? What I've wanted to know is how do you describe the rhythms in a classical sense. For example for reggae it would be: 4/4 time, accents on the 3rd beat in each bar, there being four beats in a bar, the rhythm guitar coming in on the 2nd and 4th.

yuh asking de same questions I want answered..

« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2008, 06:57:37 PM »
that is kaiso i say so because i tend to focus more on the lyrics/message of that song... not the beat....

« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2008, 12:10:45 AM »

A musician once told me dat Reggae beat is 1 . 2.   Calypso is  1. 2. 3. I check wah he was saying but I eh fully agree with him. From way back in the early part of the 20th century and around de early fifties calypso central beat was 1. 2 so I holding strong dat calypso own de reggae beat still.

« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2008, 05:13:51 AM »
Kaiso

« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2008, 12:26:15 AM »

A musician once told me dat Reggae beat is 1 . 2.   Calypso is  1. 2. 3. I check wah he was saying but I eh fully agree with him. From way back in the early part of the 20th century and around de early fifties calypso central beat was 1. 2 so I holding strong dat calypso own de reggae beat still.
According to an interview with Kitch I heard sometime ago he said "reggae has a 4/4 timing while Kaiso is 2/4".

« Reply #7 on: June 04, 2008, 12:39:39 PM »
When soca first came out, I always used to be of the opinion that it was easily identified by the bass line.  Dum Dum....Dum Dum....very repitious, whereas Kaiso would utilise a more traditional bass line following the chord progressions of the song.

Jes a layman's viewpoint.

« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2008, 09:21:53 PM »
When soca first came out, I always used to be of the opinion that it was easily identified by the bass line.  Dum Dum....Dum Dum....very repitious, whereas Kaiso would utilise a more traditional bass line following the chord progressions of the song.

Jes a layman's viewpoint.
yeah these kinda songs represetn ah gray fuzzy area, ah fusion..but i still think it leaning towards soca..
kaiso is more like what chalkie does sing.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=0_a_jwDZBGk
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge