April 27, 2024, 08:54:46 AM

Author Topic: STANDINGS  (Read 2342 times)

STANDINGS
« on: September 04, 2005, 09:02:21 AM »
                            MP W D  L GF GA Pts

USA                       7  6  0  1 14  3  18

Mexico                   7  5  1  1  11  5  16

Costa Rica               7   3  1  3   9  11 10

Guatemala               7  2  1  4 11  12  7

Trinidad and Tobago 7  2  1  4  7   12  7

Panama                   7  0  2  5   4    13  2

WE HAVE TO BEAT COSTA RICA OR AT LEAST DRAW AND HOPW THAT USA BEAT GUATEMALA IN THE NEXT MATCH WHICH THEY PROB WILL AND WE GOOD FUH NOW
D GOAL DIFFERENCE KILLIN WE SO WE NEED D POINTS
« Last Edit: September 04, 2005, 12:22:00 PM by Flex »

Re: sTANDINGS
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2005, 09:48:14 AM »
Guat has two home games left.

One vs. an already qualified America....so it will be tough for TT.

WE MUST GET pts. in our next three games.

Two draws on de road and a victory over a qualified Mex (by that time in TT) might squeeze us by.

But defeating Pan and Mex would be better.

Bottom line we need minimum 6 pts. from our next three games...to have a chance. Anyting less and u have to really hope the Guats play shit.

Yea
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2005, 11:21:02 AM »
We need minimum 6 pts, or hope Guat self destruct.
Still on our hands, I dont want that 4th place, that will give me nervour breakdown.
Guat has 2 hard games, US and MEX.
They potentially could get 4 pts again (draw US at home and maybe beat CR, MAYBE in their last game, and obvioulsly lose in mexico.)
I think Guat will have a hard time even at home vs an already qualified USA.
The possibilities are endless.
That makes it so exciting.
So Guat get 4 pts, if we get 6 we should be at least good for 4th.
CR should be in our cross hairs too for 3rd spot. We 5th now, but CR have difficult games too, including a home game vs the usually solid US and an away game to Guatemala, who will be desperate.
3rd is not beyond us if we can avoid defeat on Wednesday. That is the Key.

« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2005, 11:46:20 AM »
Dat game against CR next round is de hardest on schedule.CR will want to win to 'secure' a birth in Germany and we must get points just to stay alive.Ah hope dat first Guatemala game doh come to haunt us.Panama will feel de wrath of Mexico after dat defeat to de US and home pressure to perform and I'm praying dat although US qualify dey will play for pride and their Concacaf position and ram some goals past Guatemala,de more de better,six will be nice. 

« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2005, 11:53:41 AM »
I dont see Guatemala getting any points in their next 2 games against the US and Mexico. A US 2nd team is still strong and you'll be looking at men who fighting for a World Cup spot.

We need to beat Panama and get at least a draw in CR.

Panama might be demoralized right now given that they stilll have to play in the US and in Mexico (I see their players crying after that last game) and that is something we could take advantage of.

« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2005, 12:21:32 PM »
Marquez threatens to boycott Mexico.
By Reuters.

Mexico defender Rafael Marquez has threatened to boycott the team and not play in the FIFA World Cup if coach Ricardo La Volpe is sacked, local media said on Sunday. Other players said they would follow Marquez's lead following Saturday's 2-0 defeat away to the United States in a qualifier.
The owners of the country's first division clubs are due to hold a meeting on Tuesday to discuss the administration of Mexican Football Federation (FMF) president Alberto de la Torre.
There is speculation that they could vote to throw him out of office, which could open the way for a change of coach.
Although La Volpe has De La Torre's full backing, a replacement could prefer another candidate, such as former Real Madrid and Mexico striker Hugo Sanchez.
"If they take the decision to sack La Volpe, I will pull out of the World Cup," Marquez was quoted as saying by the Notimex news agency.
"This group is completely united and we want to support Ricardo and the job he has done," said the Barcelona player. "I'm with La Volpe and De La Torre."
Midfielder Gerardo Torrado agreed with Marquez, while goalkeeper Oswaldo Sanchez and striker Jared Borgetti also gave him their support. "We're a group and that's how we think," Torrado told the daily newspaper El Universal.
"But I don't think it will come to that. The (club) presidents are aware that the team is playing well, that a good job has been done and that the team has improved greatly with Ricardo."
Mexico, who have beaten both Argentina and Brazil in competitive internationals under La Volpe, still need one more point to qualify for next year's World Cup finals in Germany and are at home to Panama on Wednesday. Saturday's defeat in Columbus was the first in Mexico's 15-match World Cup qualifying campaign.

Re: STANDINGS
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2005, 12:28:02 PM »
What de DUCK?  If only we in TNT could have  the points they have in the standings and be still arguing about the coach's ability?

« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2005, 03:07:26 PM »
Ah read a AP report that says that US will be resting its stars against Guatemala in Guatemala on Wednesday in a view to strengthen its squad for de World Cup.What ah drag !

« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2005, 03:10:33 PM »
Arena announces:

ROSTER BY POSITION
Goalkeepers (2) – Marcus Hahnemann (Reading FC), Matt Reis (New England Revolution)
Defenders (6) – Chris Albright (Los Angeles Galaxy), Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City Wizards), Nick Garcia (Kansas City Wizards), Frankie Hejduk (Columbus Crew), Chad Marshall (Columbus Crew), Greg Vanney (FC Dallas)
Midfielders (6) – Chris Armas (Chicago Fire), Bobby Convey (Reading FC), Clint Dempsey (New England Revolution),  Pablo Mastroeni (Colorado Rapids), Santino Quaranta (D.C. United), Steve Ralston (New England Revolution)
Forwards (4) – Jeff Cunningham (Colorado Rapids), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy), Eddie Johnson (FC Dallas), Taylor Twellman
(New England Revolution)

What kinda chances do you think we could have had aganist this squad?

« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2005, 03:23:42 PM »
dat squad is ah real tough team.  Guatamala cyar beat dat side breds.

« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2005, 04:05:34 PM »
Jeff Cunningham has a point to prove . He real fast and will terrorise opposing defence.

Offline Tha G.

• Anytime is trini time, cyah wait to buss ah lime
« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2005, 11:35:51 PM »
just de other day man was on de site talking bout de socawarriors done, but, up comes LATAS and revive we... we go have ah nice game against costa rica, 1 nill or maybe ah 2 - 1 something... but hopefully stern back to he self and we buss dem up....bigup stern.. ;) even though he is still ah shit hound... but on any given day, he is one ah de deadliest strikers in de reagon :devil:

« Reply #12 on: September 05, 2005, 10:23:44 AM »
dat mostly MLS Yankee side still damn good but I worried about them getting the full 3 points on the road against a Guatemala team in a must win situation. Hopefully fighting to make the world cup roster will be motivation enough.

« Reply #13 on: September 05, 2005, 11:35:36 AM »
Dat defence look iffy