March 28, 2024, 07:32:40 PM

Author Topic: Costa Rica Round Two  (Read 3674 times)

Costa Rica Round Two
« on: September 04, 2005, 12:23:08 AM »
Forumites..

Whoever Beenhakker pick is the best combo to go with but.......Will Dog get dropped vs Costa Rica?

Will Sancho get dropped and Lawrence put back in the fray?

Will all 3 be there and we play a 5 man defence with 4 midfielders and 1 striker.

I ent sure about Dog, Dog try he best, but Sancho was the pick of the back four tonight....he show speed, good reading  make some vital tackle and he put down some professional underlow foul.

I feel Lawrence lorse he spot....to Sancho.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2005, 07:12:32 PM by Tallman »

Re: Defensive decision vs Costa Rica...
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2005, 12:54:38 AM »
Lawrence must play and Sancho too.

Offline Gladman

« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2005, 04:16:57 AM »
Sancho played ight but ,d most Beenie go do is drop Avery John and but he not drop Dog and Lawrence is bac
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2005, 05:40:41 AM »
Beenie has showed a lot of faith in players, especially those with big game, big league experience.

It is unlikely that he will drop Marvin. We'll probably see Sancho, Lawrence and Marvin in th eteam somehow. It would be nice if either Sancho or Lawrence could get a spot in midfield to stem the tide of pressure that we will get in CR but neither of them have great positional sense even as defenders and they might have a hard tim e in midfield.

I wouldn't mind seeing us try it though. The goal in that game has to be first and foremost to settle well and not give up an early goal. if we have to start more defensively to do that fine.

« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2005, 06:54:22 AM »
I feel sancho might play right back and Spann play in midfield.  Andrews had a very bad game but I doubt he will get drop.  lawrence is a liability against costa rica but as someone previously said Leo keeps faith in his players.

« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2005, 06:55:17 AM »
He will hadda be abig man and drop Dog...cite the knee injury or something. Dog need a rest...he working too hard on that knee for the past year and it starting to show now for club and country. He not up to his usual standard and his weaknesses are becoming more glaringly obvious every game

« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2005, 06:59:45 AM »
According to the Fifa site Avery picked up a yellow and would be suspended for Costa Rica so we might need Sancho to play left back with Tallest and Dog in the middle.  
But the FIFA report is not official yet so hopefully it's wasn't Avery.  
If I remember the play in question, there was a foul call as one of the Guatemalans fell to ground under a challenge from Avery.  The ref came over and pull out de yellow, counting 1,2,3 as if it was for an accumulation of fouls.  Then the ensuing free kick was taken.....by Avery.  So I'm still hoping the Fifa site is wrong and the yellow was to the Guatemalan for diving.  We'll find out soon.

« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2005, 07:36:21 AM »
I believe that the yellow was Avery's for something that happened after we got the freekick. I believe that Avery thought that the call was against him and he reacted.

Sancho at left back is something that we tried before and it didn't work. Beenie will definitely have his work cut out for him with this one.

He could play three at the back with Whitley and Edwards holding it down out wide and Spann sitting in front the defence with Yorke and Birchie and then put Latas behind Stern but a lot will depend on how CR lines up.

« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2005, 07:50:02 AM »
Dog will probably play but he wil have to lift his game significantly against the swift Costa Ricans. He has looked subpar for many games now.... If Avery missing for the next game, you will see Spann probably move to the left, and Atiba get draft back to the right. Spann have the skill and positional sense to pull that off. Although I real love Spann and Carlos on that right side. We eh likely to play 3 at the back on the road against an attacking team, and Talles' probably loss he wuk for now...although Talles' and Sancho is the more in form central pairing.

Offline KND

The Costa Rica Keys
« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2005, 09:33:10 AM »
1) First thing first a victory for CR and the all but in the World Cup so you know they comming to win.

2)CR will posses the ball for 95% of this game because, they at home, we playing on Astro Turf and CR have a good knocking side and we are not good in terms of team defense.

There fore we must plan for this senario.

3) The best men on we squad is the oldest men and is travel from Australia Europe to TnT for a hard game to go Miami and then To CR to play a next hard game back to Back. Fitness will play a key part of this game.

If we go with we same 11 we lost because this will be a totally different game.

The Subs will play a big part in this game.
We need more speed in defense

Even though this might sound crazy, if Avery John really suspended we will have to take cyd grey the mad man to Costa Rica because we aint have no body else.

The following Changes is What I will make

Implement a Sweeper.
Let sancho sweep , Lawrence and Andrews Stop in front of Him.

bring back Charles as a wing back (He played good in Mexico but shit in America)
Leave Spann as a wing back for now.

Carlos Birchald Yorke and Whitley In the Middle

And I will Start Scotland Up front and Leave Stern for Second Half.

Reason Being,

Stern not doing nothing in Costa Rica because TnT will not have the ball, It will be like america all over again.

At least with Scotland he does come get the ball and he running at man, he also shooting which is something Stern not doing.

Latapy come on in second half to create the winning goal but we will need whitley for the first half to tackle and win ball.

If we keep this game tied into like 60 mins then Latapy and Stern off the bench can win the game for us.

This game in CR will depend on how well we can defend them.

Re: The Costa Rica Keys
« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2005, 09:34:26 AM »
WAIT NAH ; ent we have Ian Cox in the defensive mix?

Offline KND

« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2005, 09:38:06 AM »
it aint look like he getting any sweat

« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2005, 09:44:31 AM »
 ::) ::) ::)am I de onky mad man who feel that KND should be we national coach? ::) ::) ::)

KND yuh does talk more shit ..........

IF costa rica has 95% possession we deserve to lose by about 7 goals.

dat eh happening.

If latas stay on de bench fuh second half....we will certainly have much lsess possession

so dat eh happening.

if yuh feel stern getting bench fuh scotland to start, yuh madder dan triniman when Birchall get he passport before he.

dat eh happening

and finally if Latas and Yorke and we odder foreign based leave T&T and gorn back europe or elsewhere when we have ah game wednesday den all ah de football admin in T&t gorn mad

somehow ah feel

dat eh happening

« Reply #13 on: September 04, 2005, 11:05:27 AM »
KND is kicks for true yes.
But he right, we will be chasing that game nearly all night.
It will be a very hard game to get a point.

Costa Rica Round Two
« Reply #14 on: September 04, 2005, 12:47:48 PM »
 We are a different team that faced the Costa Ricans in round one. Changes in coaching, defense, midfield and in goal. Could we expect another penultimate performance as we had aganist Guatemala?

What seems to be marking our campaign thus far is that we have a weak beginning  but ending is getting stronger. This  is evident in our  games at the start and the way we battle to the end.

Guatemala experienced a different TNT team but also were leary in heaping any praises our way. As their coach said, TNT were not all  that better than his. " A dejected Ramon Maradiaga, coach of the Guatemala team, was a little sarcastic in his summary of the match.

“I’m am totally disappointed with the outcome; we are sad because we were in a position to win the match and did not.

“T&T won the match in the last couple of minutes, because they took their chances with a big effort at the end.

“They weren’t superior to us in any way on the field and at any point of the match.”

Well maybe for about 5 minutes in the end.

Could this result aganist Guatemala be our 'turning pt?' for not only the entire team but also for individual players? If this turns out to be the turn we needed then Costa Rica is in for a surprise.

Consider, we tied them when we were desperate and had just come off a cut arse; different defenders, different coaching strategies and different style of play. Given some of these factors, the potential for possible success is not out of reach. Cautious optimism as we approach the next game.
Bottom line win all remaining games and let the chips fall where they may. If overall we could end strongly, then the rest should be history.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2005, 03:07:47 PM by AlbertaTrini »

Re: Costa Rica Round Two
« Reply #15 on: September 04, 2005, 01:01:48 PM »
CR is also a very very different team to the stuttering one that started the campaign as well...
New coach too if I am not mistaken.

« Reply #16 on: September 04, 2005, 01:02:14 PM »
we have improved in some areas, and I am hoping we come away from CR with at least one point. But you are forgetting two important factors

a) we playing away from home.
b) CR was also playing poorly then and their coach was fired after the 0-0 tie here in TnT. They also have a new coach, new players and they are also on the up and up. They just mash Panama 3-1 in Panama.

We must remain optimistic, but it will be even tougher than we think if we act like we meeting the same CR as de last rounds

« Reply #17 on: September 04, 2005, 01:10:13 PM »
True dat; No game is an easy game from here on for us. It seems like we need to fight and scrape for each point.

« Reply #18 on: September 04, 2005, 01:15:46 PM »
We play 3 away games so far and have not gotten anything from it.
The road to Germany is making a loop thru central america before it passes back thru T&T.

To be a WC team, u must be able to get points on the road, esp Central America.

CR playing very well at the moment, be we have a big new weapon, CONFIDENCE.

Getting a point in CR will be phenomenal, we have never done that well before.

But more importantly, a point will also restrict CR to 1 pt as well, and we need to look at the 3rd place as well.

« Reply #19 on: September 04, 2005, 01:22:10 PM »
We are a different team that faced the Costa Ricans in round one. Changes in coaching, defense, midfield and in goal. Could we expect another penultimate performance as we had aganist Guatemala?

What seems to be marking our campaign thus far is that we have a weak beginning  but ending is getting stronger. This  is evident in our  games at the start and the way we battle to the end.

Guatemala experienced a different TNT team but also were leary in heaping any praises our way. As their coach said, TNT were not all  that better than his. Well maybe for about 5 minutes in the end.

Could this result aganist Guatemala be our 'turning pt?' for not only the entire team but also for individual players? If this turns out to be the turn we needed then Costa Rica is in for a surprise.

Consider, we tied them when we were desperate and had just come off a cut arse; different defenders, different coaching strategies and different style of play. Given some of these factors, the potential for possible success is not out of reach. Cautious optimism as we approach the next game.
Bottom line win all remaining games and let the chips fall where they may. If overall we could end strongly, then the rest should be history.

The Guatemala coach was still in shock after the game.  Not only in shock but also in denial.  T&T were clearly the better team....especially in the 2nd half.

I can empathise with him tho....he was practically 5 minutes away from WC qualification.  Now he has to play US and Mexico at home and CR away.  Difficult propositions even with weakened US &/or Mexican teams.

« Reply #20 on: September 04, 2005, 01:26:58 PM »
How you think CR feeling having to play us next on Wed.
They must be relishing that game and starting to look for Germany tickets, LOL

« Reply #21 on: September 04, 2005, 01:31:56 PM »
Good we want all teams from here on to underestimate we!!!!!!!!
 We go come in like a late afternoon thunderstorm. Throw some lightening down they arse and wet down the place with goals.

« Reply #22 on: September 05, 2005, 12:04:25 PM »
tHE ONLY CHANGE IS THAT LAWRENCE IS COMING IN FOR SUSPENDED AVERY JOHN NO BIG DIFF