April 27, 2024, 07:43:43 AM

Author Topic: Sancho looking for laughter, honesty  (Read 6763 times)

Sancho looking for laughter, honesty
« on: July 05, 2008, 11:17:35 PM »
By: Sean Nero (Trinidad Guardian)

Sunday 6th July, 2008

FORMER NATIONAL footballer Brent Sancho says no one should be surprised he's not married, since he never proposed or was proposed to.

But that's not how the world remembers it.

Moments before the Soca Warriors took on England in that's crucial match in the 2006 World Cup, his ex-sweetheart Jana Herbert-Fiu,
proposed to him, through BBC South East Today's Geoff Clark, who watched the match in Kent with her.

Two years later and with their relationship now history, Sancho denied the events on that day.

"It was never really a proposal. BBC was going on the air and she said she loved me. She was quite nervous. She wished me all the best
and I think the BBC kind of turned it into a wedding proposal," he recalled. "I'm not taking anything away from Jana. She was somebody I
would have certainly married at that time. When you spend that amount of time with somebody, eight years, the bond you create is unique."

A woman in Sancho's life has to be honest and must love to laugh. She'd score double points if she could cook, especially is the meal
consists of "a good stew chicken and macaroni pie," he said, laughing.

Sancho considers himself a hard working, positive, thoughtful team player, who wore his heart on his sleeve when on the field.

"I can't wear my heart anywhere else. Not the way I was brought up. I've been fortunate to have two great parents who have been extremely supportive. They taught me right from wrong and to stand up for what I believe in. They taught me that there's nothing wrong with being second, third or last, once I give a 100 per cent."

Describing himself as a professional football player turned "union man," citing his involvement in the soon-to-be established T&T Football Players Association, Sancho said: "Wherever God puts me, I have to give a 100 per cent and I never cry over spilled milk.

"I'm not as rash as I was at age 21, nor am I as gung-ho. I draw on experiences when I make decisions, which have helped me tremendously in terms of who I am today."

Sancho, 31, returned to the UK on Tuesday, where he hopes to get signed to either Wickham or Brighton Football Clubs.

"I've been burnt at clubs that I played for in England. I want to go somewhere that I can enjoy my football. It's not about money. That
will come once I'm happy."

He's clear that relaxing took no better form than when he's on a beach in T&T.

He recalled the pride he felt as a player attached to the Soca Warriors in Germany, back in 2006 and the pains he felt watching T&T
go down to England in an international friendly.

More painful for him was watching T&T go down to Bermuda 2-0 in last month World Cup qualifier.

Letting people know that he's approachable, in a sport where players can be stuck-up, he says makes him unique.

Q&A:

Most unusual present?

A blow-up doll.

One thing you'd never do?

Turn my back on my family.

One thing you'd like to do before age 41?

Back-pack across Asia.

Any children of your own?

No. I seem to be the only member of the Soca Warriors who has not got off the mark as yet.

Looking forward to having children?

Yes. My first child should be a girl.

Do you think you understand women?

Yes.

What do you understand about them?

They need to be treated with respect.

Where did you learn that?

My mother and three sisters.

Biggest turn-off in a woman?

Being loud.

Biggest turn on in a woman?

Excellent conversation skills.

Do you consider yourself a romantic?

When I have to be.

What fascinates you in a woman?

Great legs and torso.

Boxers or briefs?

I'm definitely a briefs guy. Calvin Klein and Ralph Lauren brands.

One thing you must do while in T&T, apart from going to the beach?

Go for snow-cone around the Savannah.

One thing you'd want to change about yourself?

My walk. Being athletic my buttocks is cocked when I walk.

Best purchase you've ever made?

Nelson Mandela's book titled a Long Road to Freedom.

What's your idea of a perfect Sunday?

Waking up to a good breakfast, a hearty lunch and spending time with my family.

What do women love about you?

They say my eyes.

Where do you see yourself in ten years?

Giving back to T&T significantly, whether it's through managing or coaching.

Re: Sancho looking for laughter, honesty
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2008, 11:54:47 PM »
Reporters really get personal boy. asking bout relationship? good job anyway

« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2008, 04:53:57 AM »
Sancho, 31, returned to the UK on Tuesday, where he hopes to get signed to either Wickham or Brighton Football Clubs.

As somebody said, less interviews, more football.

« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2008, 05:11:24 AM »
Dis 'Sean Nero' fella (assuming only fellas still going by de name ah 'sean' deez days) really siddung and aks ah next man if he does wear boxers or briefs??

... anyways, what's with de Wickham and Brighton talk fuh real...wha'ppen tuh Wrexham?

« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2008, 07:41:39 AM »

As somebody said, less interviews, more football.
maybe dere is a method to d madness

« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2008, 07:56:22 AM »
Reporters really get personal boy. asking bout relationship? good job anyway

Brent probably said Wycombe and Nero transcribe it as "Wickham", a clear sign that he does not pay attention to football.

Looks like an entertainment piece, Nero is probably not a sports writer.

« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2008, 07:57:31 AM »
Dis 'Sean Nero' fella (assuming only fellas still going by de name ah 'sean' deez days) really siddung and aks ah next man if he does wear boxers or briefs??

... anyways, what's with de Wickham and Brighton talk fuh real...wha'ppen tuh Wrexham?
If Brighton looking at him for real, he better jump on that. That's a League One team. Unless is some other non-league Brighton I doh know bout.

« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2008, 09:43:42 AM »
Dis is de article and de lady in question...

World Cup player proposes by text 

Jana Herbert-Fiu said she wanted to see a traditional proposal

A footballer's girlfriend was asked to become a footballer's wife during Thursday's World Cup match when England played Trinidad and Tobago.
But the question was not popped by Brent Sancho, 29, central defender for Gillingham and Trinidad & Tobago.

It was asked for him by BBC South East Today's Geoff Clark, who watched the match in Kent with Brent's girlfriend.

Jana Herbert-Fiu, 24, played a strong defence, promising to text her reply to the BBC on Brent's return.

Jana, who runs a nightclub in Port of Spain, Trinidad, said she wanted to see him down on one knee in person.

The footballer from Maidstone had sent a text message to the programme three hours before kick-off which said: "Can you tell her Brent says he loves her more than anything else and would like to spend the rest of his life with her.

"Will she marry me?"

« Reply #8 on: July 06, 2008, 10:59:57 AM »
dis is good news.   ;D pm meh nah sancho! :-*

bless!

Offline R45

« Reply #9 on: July 06, 2008, 11:49:03 AM »
Most unusual present?

A blow-up doll.

I really doh think I wouldda say dat in a public interview lol

« Reply #10 on: July 06, 2008, 01:09:57 PM »
With all the good looking women from TNT  and with them men in position to have  they pick of the 'litter' why them men does turn to foreign so easily?    It eh like I have them men kinda stature and  prominence tuh have women flocking so....... ah doh understand  this with even men like Yorke, Colin Samuel and now watch Sancho gyul.. ummm ex gyul....

me I want tuh come home to roost.....

« Reply #11 on: July 06, 2008, 01:12:04 PM »
With all the good looking women from TNT  and with them men in position to have  they pick of the 'litter' why them men does turn to foreign so easily?    It eh like I have them men kinda stature and  prominence tuh have women flocking so....... ah doh understand  this with even men like Yorke, Colin Samuel and now watch Sancho gyul.. ummm ex gyul....

AY!! Woman is woman.

« Reply #12 on: July 06, 2008, 01:24:03 PM »

Sancho's gyal is Trini I believe

« Reply #13 on: July 06, 2008, 02:40:34 PM »
Some ah alyuh real idle in truth...

Anyway, I met Brent for the first time today. He come across as a real decent soldier and confirm the impression I had of him a long time now. I wish him the best, no matter where he woman from  ::)

« Reply #14 on: July 06, 2008, 04:54:05 PM »
D fella real cool Midnight u correck. Of course is ah entertainment piece all yuh expect it 2 b a football story in d Guardian pleezeeeeeeeeeeeeee

« Reply #15 on: July 06, 2008, 05:23:07 PM »
dis is good news.   ;D pm meh nah sancho! :-*

bless!

Look miss lady...get de line behind me.... ;D

« Reply #16 on: July 06, 2008, 06:22:36 PM »

Like u envyin de Congo Man on de sly