April 28, 2024, 09:21:43 AM

Author Topic: They were called ...'The Brunner Boys'.  (Read 10686 times)

Re: They were called ...'The Brunner Boys'.
« Reply #30 on: July 29, 2008, 01:53:26 AM »
When they say the Golden Age of football, They are referring mostly to club football. The crowd use to be huge. I can say I witnessed some of that. My first game was in 1966. My cousin took me to the savannah to see Malvern vs Dynamos in front the Grand Stand. People surrounded the field. The Grand Stand was full. The atmosphere was electric. I got totally hooked on football after that game. Football and cricket was King and Queen.

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #31 on: July 29, 2008, 10:38:10 AM »
Jack or no Jack, if de football nice, de people will come out. No? Does dat answer your question about de golden era, Trini?

To a point.  Buh lemmeh chook some fire here.

Wha else it had to do in dem days?

Serious.

How often peeps used to get to see Pele, Garrincha and Tostao dem? 

Apart from football and other sports, it had plenty to do in dem days, Palos. Mankind was never short of something to do. Any of the mature heads on de forum will endorse dat.

« Reply #32 on: July 29, 2008, 11:18:48 AM »
Jack or no Jack, if de football nice, de people will come out. No? Does dat answer your question about de golden era, Trini?

To a point.  Buh lemmeh chook some fire here.

Wha else it had to do in dem days?

Serious.

How often peeps used to get to see Pele, Garrincha and Tostao dem? 

To some extent you are right. Even cycling use to have huge crowds.
We were not as mobile with transportation etc.
Maracas and Mayaro was a limited lime, not every Sunday / weekend etc. and the community was tighter.
Every weekend did not have a series of fete, like now where fete have a league  ;D or disco for that matter
Football on TV was limited to Star Soccer. as a matter of fact TV had one and then two channel and it did not come on till 6pm & off at midnight.
Youths now have far more distractions.
In dem days one ball was the only toy for a number of children in a small area.
Most other activities was physical

I surprise when I home and see filed empty between 4 pm and 6pm hardly seeing sweat., grass actually growing.

Offline dtool

« Reply #33 on: July 29, 2008, 12:28:20 PM »

Photo ... who was the keeper.
I believe Allan Cupid was the keeper .... Is he in the photo?

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #34 on: July 29, 2008, 02:21:38 PM »

Photo ... who was the keeper.
I believe Allan Cupid was the keeper .... Is he in the photo?

This team was after de Allan Cupid era. If my memory serves me right, the GK was Dave Reuben.

« Reply #35 on: February 17, 2013, 08:20:03 PM »
Auguste Wooter developed these players from little youths. They were really Wooter Boys. Brunner was a Hungarian from Brazil who took over after Wooter left. Wooter lives and coaches in Maryland.

« Reply #36 on: February 17, 2013, 09:35:15 PM »
Auguste Wooter developed these players from little youths. They were really Wooter Boys. Brunner was a Hungarian from Brazil who took over after Wooter left. Wooter lives and coaches in Maryland.

Wooter is no longer in Maryland. He is back in Holland. As a matter of fact I am surprised that you did not see him in TT last month. He spent a few days there on his way to Suriname.

« Reply #37 on: February 17, 2013, 10:13:09 PM »
Wooter Boys.

« Reply #38 on: February 18, 2013, 08:59:12 AM »
Wooter Boys.

Wooter came first, then Brunner took over. The man who developed most of those players in Point was Doyle Griffith.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2013, 10:19:33 AM by Observer »