April 28, 2024, 05:36:21 PM

Author Topic: Another point for Avery  (Read 2053 times)

Another point for Avery
« on: July 23, 2006, 08:37:05 AM »
From one point to another for Avery
Joel Bailey (Trinidad Newsday)

AVERY JOHN has travelled a long way in his journey as a professional footballer.

The 30-year-old leftback has played in the United States, South Africa and Ireland, at least at club level, but his sights, like his 22 Trinidad and Tobago teammates, were clearly set on the FIFA World Cup in Germany.

“It’s good,” he said. “It’s one of the things that you dream of. You dream of, importantly, making (the team) and actually going and playing in it. So I’m really looking forward to the World Cup,” he said, before the team left for their debut participation.

The soft-spoken defender was philosophical about his hopes in Germany. “You just have to go out and perform to make sure you seal your position,” he stressed. “I think, for me, everyday I come out and I train and I represent the country, I give 110 percent.

“I think, with all of that, the experience and performing, especially on the pitch and off the pitch, I think that’ll take me there,” he added.

But John had a mixed tournament — he was the first player to receive a red card when he got his second bookable offence against Sweden while he was substituted in the first half, by coach Leo Beenhakker, during their final clash against Paraguay.

Born on June 18, 1975 at Vance River, Point Fortin, John was the typical sporting youth, playing football, cricket, basketball and track and field in the rural south district.

“That’s all part of life, growing up and when you’re going to primary school, you start off playing all the sports and then you branch off to one, to one sport in particular,” he commented. “I chose football because I saw it as a way out, in the sense that I always wanted to see the world.”

John continued, “I always wanted to experience a new life and I think one of the main things (for my choice). Football was always on TV, English, Italian every league.

“And I think that became a dream of mine, a passion of mine. And it helped me, with the future, going on a scholarship, making the national team and professionalism,” Avery added.

“It’s a hobby. You’re actually getting paid for a hobby right now. So it’s a love, it’s a passion, it’s a hobby and it’s a way of life.”

Avery’s ambition and temperament saw him lead Presentation College, San Fernando in the Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) during the early 1990s. Even as Malick Senior (now Secondary) Comprehensive ruled the roost in the SSFL during those years, John was voted as the League’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) in 1992.

Determined to make something out of football, John successfully earned a scholarship to the American University in Wash-ington DC where he graduated, in May 1999, with a degree in Business Administration, specialising in International Marketing.

And he also saw the need to market his talents internationally, as he had brief stints with New Orleans Riverboat Gamblers and Boston Bulldogs in the United Soccer League (USL) before moving across the Atlantic in 2000 to their Premier League in the Republic of Ireland.

At the Irish nation, he had spells at Bohemian FC, Shelbourne FC and Longford Town, before he was embroiled in a bitter contractual dispute which threatened his career.

Following a tour to South Africa with the Trinidad and Tobago team in 2003, John was signed by a local club Orlando Pirates, even though he was still contracted with Longford. The game’s governing body FIFA investigated the matter but no action was taken since the Pirates deal collapsed. Without a club, John was unable to sign for teams in England and France (following trial stints at each juncture) due to work permit issues and restrictions on the amount of overseas players per team.

In the end, he returned to the United States where he was snapped up by New England Revolution in the MLS, but it has not been smooth sailing for John.

During his two years at the club, John has been in and out of the starting lineup, and when he has been given a run in the team, he has been used both as a left-back and a central defender.

But he is keeping his options open with regards to his future, at club level.

“That is yet to come,” he said. “It’s something I’m still thinking of.”

« Last Edit: July 23, 2006, 09:54:09 AM by kingman »

Offline ON DE BLOCK

Re: Another point for Avery
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2006, 07:22:10 PM »
Avery it was no joy seeing you get that red card, but I felt proud of your attitude after getting that card, I think it's the calmest i've ever seen someone after getting a red card and at the WC to boot, I SALUTE YOU.

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2006, 07:37:09 PM »
Avery it was no joy seeing you get that red card, but I felt proud of your attitude after getting that card, I think it's the calmest i've ever seen someone after getting a red card and at the WC to boot, I SALUTE YOU.

I noticed that as well. Esp in the context of things - first World Cup, first red card. Avery showed class character. I noticed a Swedish player had scowled at him and told him something unsportsmanlike as well.  :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2008, 01:08:24 PM »
Avery "Blade" John
keep up the HARD work

two years later and I still dont agree with that red card
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2008, 01:13:52 PM »
Avery "Blade" John
keep up the HARD work

two years later and I still dont agree with that red card

Ent WC, all ball, studs showing was the official reason?  Anyway, stay up Avery, bless

« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2008, 06:40:54 PM »
Blade boi u will go down in history 4 nuff tings dat red card included

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2008, 10:47:43 PM »
 :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

man is a class, class act.... always keeping things in perspective.... bless dem warrior...
...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

Offline Tigger

« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2008, 04:54:43 PM »
he needs to get that national call back...we gots no left back.. :shameonyou: