April 26, 2024, 10:48:45 PM

Author Topic: who will be Chelsea's new Manager ?  (Read 7446 times)

who will be Chelsea's new Manager ?
« on: May 23, 2008, 09:12:41 PM »
This seems to be the big question facing fans of the big spending club Chelsea. ..I cant see a problem if they want to replace Grant ...and Ten cate dere ..wha's de problem ?
The problem is that they want to keep Grant on in another position at the club, and Ten cate is his assistant...
If Chelsea want pretty football ..they might already have the answer at Stamford Bridge

Re: who will be Chelsea's new Manager ?
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2008, 09:15:00 PM »
Grant will be at the helm next season...Yuh know it always have rumours surrounding big clubs in the Prem..dont believe anything until it becomes official

« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2008, 09:25:23 PM »
Grant will be at the helm next season...Yuh know it always have rumours surrounding big clubs in the Prem..dont believe anything until it becomes official
Dat Russiam doh make joke you know...is win or Siberia !
He also want to make Chelsea ah kinda glamour team ...I think Grant's job would have been on the line even if he won the CL.

« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2008, 09:32:41 PM »
......would be nice if they would make an approach for Frank.

« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2008, 09:35:40 PM »
Bertile St.Clair

« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2008, 11:55:16 PM »

« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2008, 04:23:02 AM »
Hardest!

Seriously though,

The smart money: Rijkaard
The outsider: Slaven Bilić

« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2008, 06:41:31 AM »
Ten Cate done there..so I guessing Rijkaard. If Mancini does indeed leave Inter, he is a good bet too. I could even see ah old Chelsea boy like Ruud or Vialli getting a second bite at the apple. Grant leaving for sure?

« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2008, 09:59:02 AM »
......would be nice if they would make an approach for Frank.

:devil: :devil: Dance puppets Dance  :devil: :devil:

« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2008, 10:33:33 AM »
Bertile St.Clair

Drogba go had to dry up that perm and cut he hair.

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
Avram Grant Sacked
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2008, 11:03:01 AM »
Just been announced on BBC Radio 5

Re: Avram Grant Sacked
« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2008, 11:21:41 AM »
Just been announced on BBC Radio 5

uh surprise ?

« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2008, 11:28:59 AM »
Chelsea sack Grant

Updated: May 24, 2008, 1:13 PM ET

Chelsea have parted company with manager Avram Grant after terminating the Israeli's contract.

Grant's future has been under debate almost from the moment he inherited the Stamford Bridge reins from Jose Mourinho and his eight-month tenure is now at an end just three days after his side lost to Manchester United in the final of the Champions League.

Despite the constant questioning of his position at the club he has been credited with doing a fine job in taking the Red Devils to the final day of the Premier League title race and narrowly missing out on European glory on penalties.

More follows....

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=538621&cc=3888
« Last Edit: May 24, 2008, 11:33:34 AM by elan »

« Reply #13 on: May 24, 2008, 11:30:31 AM »
unless he did not want the job originally, I think it was premature....jmho
De FLIPPIN man did get them to the First ALL ENGLISH Team CL FINAL........

as some had said...good thing ManU board did not treat Ferggie that way in his early years.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2008, 11:35:50 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #14 on: May 24, 2008, 11:34:32 AM »
I think they could have given him some more time. But, that's how it goes now.

« Reply #15 on: May 24, 2008, 11:40:03 AM »
have to applaud Grant for doing an excellent interim job.

Unfortunately he's not Chelsea quality and I cant see him in the job for a whole season.

the machine had to come off auto-pilot at some point.

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #16 on: May 24, 2008, 11:48:56 AM »
sacking Jose in the first place was a bad decision and i thought the appointment of Avram was an even poorer one........but having said that Avram didn't do much wrong, especially when you consider he was thrown in at the deep end (first game in charge away to Man Utd)

imo Avram deserved at least another season
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

« Reply #17 on: May 24, 2008, 11:50:40 AM »

It official now !

« Reply #18 on: May 24, 2008, 11:59:31 AM »
So the question is relevant ...only took a day to arrive at this one ... De Russian eh easy ah tell allyuh .... man would give ah lot to have a coach get dem to the European cup final...is ah big name coach he looking for an he right ..chelsea's problem is dat de players is big name players ...
Roman go run een to de same problem dat madrid faced when dey got rid of Del bosqiue after he won the league ..... who to pick ..
I like good football so no surprise here .... ah wonder if Pellegrini too small ?

« Reply #19 on: May 24, 2008, 12:02:32 PM »
wasnt really expecting this. he proved me wrong this season. in the beginning i honestly didnt think that chelsea was gonna go this far. he did give a fight in the epl and got to the final of the champions league. i think that he deserves more.

« Reply #20 on: May 24, 2008, 12:12:29 PM »
Coming away with no silver was always going to doom him. he lost the Carling, League, out of FA Cup early and CL. Abramovich is ah imps and I really hope thing keep going downward for him.

« Reply #21 on: May 24, 2008, 12:26:36 PM »
He led the Red Devils ???

Bad move.... Lets see Frank against KING ALEX........

So is Drogba... Anelka and Terry moving on 2???

2nd Place in 3 major finals is not so bad for a "Care Taker"
« Last Edit: May 24, 2008, 12:28:13 PM by forever trini »

« Reply #22 on: May 24, 2008, 12:27:48 PM »

It official now !
Yeh its official..Chelsea administration demanding alot..European cup final and runner up in the Prem is enough to sack a coach..Lets see how well Grant replacement will do

« Reply #23 on: May 24, 2008, 12:35:53 PM »
Why? Chelsea finished 2nd in the Premiership and lost the CL final on penalties.

Hardly a reason to get the axe.

He deserved at least a full season to see how good of a manager he is.

« Reply #24 on: May 24, 2008, 01:15:19 PM »
Go GET FRANK!

Offline TRUwarrior

« Reply #25 on: May 24, 2008, 01:23:24 PM »
I heard on Skysports....dey mention Wim :rotfl:

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #26 on: May 24, 2008, 01:28:37 PM »
I find this a little harsh he didnt do a bad job at all deseved another season.

« Reply #27 on: May 24, 2008, 01:33:08 PM »
I heard on Skysports....dey mention Wim :rotfl:
aye aye
is Wim fault that Chelski doh have a manager now? :devil: :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #28 on: May 24, 2008, 01:33:42 PM »
I honestly believe that this was predetermined and he was never intended to be coaching Chelsea beyond this year.

« Reply #29 on: May 24, 2008, 01:34:56 PM »
 :devil: :devil: :devil: